paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Middle Tennessee Paintball (MTP) Paintball Field / Middle Tennessee Paintball (MTP) Paintball Field / Middle Tennessee Paintball (MTP) Paintball Field / Middle Tennessee Paintball (MTP) Paintball Field

Middle Tennessee Paintball (MTP) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
45Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 1-931-334-9673
Address: 4215 Kedron Road
Spring Hill, Tennessee 37174
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
mtccougar54 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ive played at hollow buzzard and they sucked.
Review: hollow buzzard sucks. mtp is the shiznit. Bill is the nicest owner and very helpful. the refs will help in any way possible. the fields rock and if you like woodsball or speedball you wil find it here. the safety precautions are high. if you are looking for a great field in middle tennessee you should try out mtp. EVERYTHING CANT BE PERFECT SO HERES THE DOWNSIDE. THE PIZZA SUCKS!!!!!!.othert than that its great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaredistheman Saturday, December 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 28th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nashville Paintball
Hollow Buzzard
Review: I went with a couple of my friends here the wednesday after christmas. They have 2 speedball fields, 1 hyperball field and 2 or 3 woodsball fields (which stink badly, of course i've never much liked woodsball). The refs were great, they would let everyone know your out, cause no one likes to get bonusballed. One of the speedball fields layout kinda stinks, it's mainly just because the bunkers are like made for midgets or something. The other speedball field is good though and i love the hyperball field. The staff is fairly nice, we were forced to buy barrel bags becuase appearently barrel plugs "just don't cut." My friend had to help me out with it cause i had 0$ left. Another thing i like is it's byop. Which is way better than my park here. One negative thing is they only fill to 3000psi which kinda stinks cuase i just got a 68/45 for christmas and i couldn't get a full fill. But it doesn't really matter because the 20$ field fee covers all day air. All in all, it's a very nice park. We had to drive an hour to get there, but it's the most fun i've had on a paintball field to date. 9/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Raven80 Saturday, November 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nashville Paintball (the one in Hermitage) - about even, if your looking for woodsball they don't have it, but they do have a car field which is similar
Review: Seeing as how Nashville Paintball is closing tomorrow for the winter I figured I'd check out Middle Tennessee Paintbal and see if it was worth the 45 min. drive as opposed to the 15 min. one to Nashville Paintball. I have to say, MTP has a really nice setup. When I was there they had an X ball field, air ball field, hyperfield and at least 1 woodsball field. The rates were pretty good:

$20 field fee that includes rental and all day air
Paint was about $50 a case, pretty much the usual around here.

I played the woods ball field a couple of times and discovered why I don't like woodsball, again. I hate not knowing where the other players are. The field was huge, bring camo if you want to blend in as there are tons of trees.

They hyperball field was where I spent the majority of the day. It's laid out nicely with a snake on one side and a big bunker (sub) on the other and plenty of bunkers up the middle. I read a review here about the barrel bag rule and it being a pain and i didn't find that. The ref we had was really good about letting us take our barrel bags off as soon as we got set, so we didn't have to rush to do it during the 10 second countdown. The one thing I did find annoying was that in order to get my tank filled they wanted the whole gun, they did not want me to take the tank off. While this normally wouldn't be a problem for most people, I have one tank and two guns that I alternate shooting, so I'm forever taking the tank off and on. I understand why they have this rule, just had to keep remembering to bring back my whole setup.

Overall I had a really good time. The refs were fare and impartial and great about splitting up the teams. The fields are well maintained and built, though never got to play on the X-ball or airball fields as there were teams practicing and doing tryouts most of the day. I give this field a 7 out of 10 only because it did not have a city field, and i love playing city.
Last edited on Sunday, July 29th, 2007 at 10:36 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

raiderballer Thursday, November 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: MTP is an excellent choice whether you're a rec baller or a tournament player. The owner, Bill, is a great guy. If there is a group of rec players mixing in with a group of guys who usually plays tournament ball, Bill or whichever ref is present will make sure and split the teams up evenly. Air fills are quick considering the number of people playing on any given weekend. Most refs I've had experience with treat everybody playing there with fairness. The new Xball field Bill purchased was an excellent choice. You guys have got to come check out this sweet field! I play every few weeks with the MTSU Paintball Club. Bill and the staff are willing to make our experience the best they can. If you play in this area and haven't been to MTP, you're missing out! On top of all this, if you use your own equipment, you can bring your own paint. Excellent place to participate in this awesome sport.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IonFreak25 Saturday, November 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 5th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nashville Paintball, Inc - Good fields, good prices, pretty good service
Nashville Paintball Sports- OK fields, bad prices, not popular
Hollow Buzzard- Very bad prices, not good service, not popular, bad fields
Review: Middle Tennessee Paintball is a very popular place. They have good competition, good fields, and good service.

Pros-
Fields are next to your equipment
Netting that is always in good shape
20 bucks for admission/ all day air
BYOP/ good paint for cheap
Great new CFOA X-ball
EDIT: The CFOA X-ball has been removed, but a different airball has been put up to replace it.

Cons-
One ref doesnt really care about whats going on
Takes an eternity to get a game going

Im going to tell you about a horrible experience i had there.

I got there. Pumped up. hadnt balled in 4 weeks.
Get ready, put on the gear.
Ask around for a game...then a ref.
Start the game.
Get someone out.
Hold down the lanes.
Ref yells "Stop! Stop!"
We get off the field.
They tell us theres a storm coming, we all have to leave.
I dont get my money back.
Im Mad.
Ended up it never rained.
Thanks, MTP
Last edited on Tuesday, December 27th, 2005 at 9:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

moocower Saturday, July 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Red River Paintball (Clarksville A+)

Nashville Paintball (Lebanon C-)
Review: We have a group of 5 guys that play every two weeks and have been for sometime now. We normally play at Red River Paintball in Clarksville, TN but they were running a scenario game this weekend. So we decided to try out MTP and see how it is.

I’d just like to start the rest of this by saying ”I will never return to this field.”

Pros:

1: Required everyone to chrono a couple times during the day. I've always felt this was important and have been to a few fields that only require it once.

2: Very good nice Hyperball course. Not well balanced but still good.

3: Large woods ball course that's pretty ok. However I had a tick when I came off and was only in the game for 3 minutes.

4: Fields are very close to staging area. (short walk back your paint)

Cons:

1: WAY too many rules and some are just ridiculous.
1a: You can not remove you tank from your gun after it is initially put on!
1b: You must have a Ref' on the field to play a game, you can not organize your own games.
1c: You are required to have your barrel plugs in (condoms on) until 10 seconds before the game starts and the very second the game is over you must put them back on. Everyone got yelled at a LOT for this one, plus I got hit at the start of 2 games because it took me a couple seconds too long to get my barrel condom off and the game started while I was putting in my pocket.

2: The owner (Bill) is the most controlling and rude field owner that has ever taken my hard earned money. There were a number of games that he stopped in the middle of the 10 second count down so he could Ref' and then ended up moving around the already agreed upon teams to what he felt it should be.

3: The games take FOREVER to start. (20 - 45 minutes) This is mainly due to the overly controlled nature of the field.

3b: One game we were 7 on 7 and standing ON the field for 30 minutes before it was ready to start because the owner told the Ref’ to wait for the 6 other guys that were getting air and filling up on paint. Then right before it was finally going to start the Owner came out and did a ”random" team reorganization... After 10 more minutes of that we ended up with 1 person that was different to the team we had before...We waited a total of 40 minutes standing on the field for a single 7 minute game. With too many people for the field to handle.

4: You will not get air without standing in line for 10 minutes. I filled 4 or 5 times during the day… That’s 1 hour of my day standing in line for air!

5: They only fill to 3000PSI and due the lack of an on site compressor I was only filled to 2300PSI.

6: Airball field is extremely small, 4 on 4 is all you could realistically play with on this field.

7: Spools course layout is really bad. Huge gaps and very hard to play in. The holes in the middle aren't plugged allowing you to see large sections of the field while staying tucked in. Just takes lot of the sport out of things.

8: No access to running water. This was a major problem due to the heat and fact I broke a ball and needed a quick rinse with the hose to get quickly going again.

9: Lot's of kids playing here. I'm all about playing with kids and enjoy newbie’s as well but it can leave the games lacking at times. Don't know if it's as much as "Con" as it is an alert to any players who would rather play with the bigger kids or younger ones who have been at it a while.


At the end of the day I was more annoyed then entertained and almost asked for my money back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

eb1 Sunday, April 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This is a good field. It has a variety of field choices 1 airball field, 2 speed ball fields, 1 hyperball field, and a couple of woods ball fields. The owner and staff is friendly and helpful. The Refs are young and are local tourney players but they do play fair. It does take quite a bit of time to get a game going but so far that's the only negative I have found with this field. The fees are great and rental equip is @ no charge. (very nice for newbies) BYOP is a big plus. If you are a tourney player ther is allot of competition. For a newbie a little rough. All in all a good place to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

natdawg22 Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollow Buzzard- Sucked, for newbs, overpriced, field paint only, spool fields
NPS- Pretty good, but they never have airball up, field paint only
Review: Good-
$20 Admission/all-day air
BYOP/lots of available paint
Bill (owner) is helpful, nice
Lots of refs

Bad-
Referees are kids that play there
Most of his employees are kids, that play all day
Not enough tables, chairs
Takes FOREVER to get a game
Small airball field
Most referees dont pay attention
All the "target" shooting (showing off) gets annoying after they waste paint all day.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 25th, 2005 at 12:55 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

flatfoot Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
grace, franklin(closed), Hollow Buzzard(the worst field in the history of paintball, which i think is finally closing...YEAHHHH!!!!
Review: MTP is a GRRRREAT field i'm their every weekend. Bill, the owner, is probably one of the nicest guys i have ever met and goes to great lengths to help everyone he can. Oh yeah now that im thinking about it just to correct GRIDIRON MTP IS set up to accept debit/credit cards. And now that they have an Airball field they have two very nice speedball fields and 4 other good recball fields. The pro shop is pretty decent and Bill is able to order in pretty much anything. The reffing staff is very helpful and good only with a few exceptions (HMM, HMM, Vinny HMM, HMM... jk) and on good practice days their is very good competion their like AXIS, KILLSWITCH, SHOOTERS, AXIS KIDS, and on occasion CK,( well maybe not any more). Oh yeah they have the best gas station pizzas around for lunch. the playing cost is also very reasonable, $20 pays for field fee and all day air , and the paint prices are very reasonable. if yor a recballer just be sure to check the website befor you go and make sure that there isn't a tournament that weekend. overall i give it a 10... an f'n 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gridiron Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Red River (Clarksville)
Grace Chapel (Franklin)
Review: MTP is a really good field that is about 80% of the way to being a GREAT field.

Pros:
Great people, including the owner and most of the staff

Very safety conscious

Good prices, incl. $20 for field fee and all-day air

Lots of different fields

BYOP

Cons:
ALWAYS long lines at the shop, whether you need air refilled or just want to buy a soda, or to sign your waiver and pay field fees. Expect a ten-minute minimum wait, with very few exceptions.

Some of the refs are really good, some of the refs are nothing more than glorified spectators.

Only one 'good' speedball field, which is constantly in demand to be used.

(One time when I visited, a group of 20 of us 'rec-ballers' had to sit and wait a good twenty minutes for 4 'Tourney-ballers' to play one game. One of the four players was out of air, and had to go wait in line for a refill, which held everyone up. We asked the other three to let the twenty of us play while they were waiting; they refused. We complained to a 'Ref', and he did nothing, so we all sat there cracking jokes and cutting up.

This caused another problem when the game finally got underway, as one of the tourney players took exception to us talking while him and his three buddies were playing a game, and he began screaming at us to shutup, which promptly got him shot in the head by one of his opponents.

He got so mad about that, he stormed off the field and began shoving one of the guys and screaming in his face. Once again, the 'Ref' did nothing. The fight was only broken up when Bill (the owner) heard about it and came out of the shop to settle things down.

That was a totally bad situation that could have been handled a lot better. )

There are 2-3 other 'spool' and 'crate' speedball fields that anyone can use, but they are all on an uphill-downhill slope with very little cover. The spools are small, thus making it hard for a 6' 1" man like me to get down behind one with a teammate or two on either side, and not stick out.

The second woods-ball field is great, but in the late spring/summer it is near impossible to use because of all the foilage and weeds that grow up, you can't see 10 feet in front of you. Bill said he keeps it that way because the hardcore woods-ballers like it, but it didn't suit us very well. To each his own, I guess.

If you happen to show up on a day they are holding a tournament, you can forget using the 'good' speedball field. This was our own fault, as we didn't check the website first, but it was still disappointing.

There seems to be a small shortage of tables and such to place your gear on; generally speaking, if you don't get there early, you don't get a table. In addition, most of the tables are old spools, with nary a picnic table or bench in sight. Sometimes you're just tired and want to sit down, but there are very few places to do so.

Neutral:

Be sure to bring cash, since the field is not set up to accept Debit/Credit cards, and the nearest ATM is 5 miles away in town. I've seen lots of folks show up and want to play, only to have to send someone back out to the ATM. Bill is usually very gracious about this, helping out however he can.

Overall:

Bill is a great guy who runs a great field, but there is room for improvement. All of the regular players there are great guys-n-gals, and there is plenty of parking. His prices on paint are reasonable, and you are always treated courteously by the staff.

If they would just concentrate in three areas: Speeding up customer service, adding a few more tables/benches, and improving the secondary speedball fields, this place would easily rate a 10/10. For now, I'll give it a 7.5, rounded up to an 8.

Gridiron
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media