paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Jaegers PAintball Field / Jaegers PAintball Field / Jaegers PAintball Field / Jaegers PAintball Field

Jaegers PAintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
79Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 816-452-6600
Address: 9300 NE Underground Drive
Kansas City, Missouri 64161
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
speedballfreak0 Sunday, June 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 9th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
no other fields even come close.their pro shop accountants can help you fix your marker for free!!!!plus they save you money.. they are very honest and will help you with your purchase.
Review: Jaegers is paintball in a cave. the worlds largest caves, mostly for buisness except for paintball.
if you use a rental there you will get a tippmann 98custom semi auto-not the greatest but they all work fine=)they will also put you through a "safety" and they'll tell you everything you need to know.
for playesrs w/ their own markers , you can play on their speedball field ( wich is open everyday and you can bring your own paint to speedball, but not in recball and that will save you a lot of money!!!
there is also BYOP(bring your own paint)night where you go to field 4(the byop field) or speedball.
iv'e never played n thier tounament (their website hhasn't been updated so the tounament fields look different) but i hear they are great !
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

noblemeister Wednesday, February 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only Drop Zone for a tourney.
Review: I, like many, many Jaeger's lovers hate to see this place get bashed by people that have only been there once or twice. Jaeger's was the first place I have ever played, and I love it with all my heart. Now then, for the review:

SAFETY:
If you are there for the first time, or just feel like it, there is usually a safety demo going on. There isn't always one, but you can ask for it if you want. The refs there are adamant about safety, and WILL kick you out if you do not follow the rules. I have heard that they sometimes let the "regulars" slide. I am a regular, and trust me, they do not let it slide.

FIELDS:
REC BALL:
To be honest, I absolutely abhor the rec ball fields. This is only because I do not like playing that sort of game. I am a speedballer at heart, and always will be. However, if there is no one playing speedball, then I will join in for a rec ball game. The lighting, yes, is pretty bad. However, they are spending 20-30,000 dollars on new lighting for the WHOLE cave! It will be much better soon. There is sand, and it will get into your marker and gear. Just clean it out well, you should be able to do so. The bunkers, yes, are 50 gallon drums stacked, so it isn't the best of cover. There are many fields, but usually one one or two are open. You can hardly tell when you hit something, but that should change when the new lighting is installed.

SPEEDBALL:
My favorite by far. If you don't like the field set up, the refs let you change it. It is very laid back, and you can play a game whenever you want. Sometimes, the ref isn't even over there, but thats ok, as most of the players there play on the honor system. Granted, it is small, but they are going to expand it. The carpeting is soft, so sliding isn't a worry. The refs in the speedball area are fun, and kinda laid back. However, if you aren't being nice (ie wiping, ramping, bonus balling), they will not hesitate to kick you out.

PRICES:
It is pretty expensive to play rec ball. At $70 a case, it can add up pretty fast. The field fee is $20, but if you bring 2 cans of food for Harvesters, it is $5 off. BYOP is on Thursday nights, and anytime for Speedball. All in all, paintball is an expensive sport. So not that bad.

RULES:
Generic paintball rules. Don't cheat, have fun, be safe. You know what I'm talking about =).

PROSHOP:
By far the BEST proshop I have ever been to. Very knowledgeable staff, will help you with anything. Prices are very reasonable, and the filling staff is pretty cool.

REFS:
These poor guys have been bashed more than anything. Yes they may be laid back. Yes they may not notice EVERYTHING that goes on on the field. Yes they may joke around. But they are amazing. They are by far the safest and most fun refs I have ever met. I would pay a field fee just to talk to them for a while. They know what they are doing, and they do their job well. You may catch them on an off day, but overall, they are great.

PLAYERS:
Jaeger's is a great place to start playing. The staff helps, and will make sure you have a good time. However, in the rec ball fields, there are a lot of new players that don't quite have the skills that other players have. You need to be patient, and try to help them. Think back to your first time, were you very good? The Speedball players are much more knowledgeable, and have played for longer periods of time. Therefore, they are better. All of the players are nice. However, if you meet an unruly little bugger, feel free to set him straight on the field =).

FACILITIES:
YES FOR GOODNESS SAKE IT IS A CAVE!!! I say this, because people don't expect a cave to smell bad, or be humid, or be dark. There is a slight smell, but withing 5-10 minutes, you hardly notice it. It is humid, but again, you get used to it. It is dark, but that will be changing soon, with the new lights. There is everything you need: food, restroom, proshop, paint, drinks, players, refs, staff. Everything! It is great.

All in all, I love Jaeger's with all my heart. If I had one beef with it, it would be the distance from my house. Thats the only reason I can't go every weekend, like I want to =p. If you have any comments, please leave them, and I will take them into consideration, and add them to my review. Thank you all for taking the time to read this, and I hope that you will get a better impression of the way Jaeger's REALLY is =).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DarkeWolf Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Private fields, and woodsball. I cannot compare them.
Review: Jaegers has it's good points, and just a few bad points.
One of the really good points is that is a great field for somebody who is just starting out in the sport, or has never played before. They are extremely safety conscious, and give some tutorials for new players, before they go out on the field.

And there are quite a few teams that come thru here too. On their way to tourney's in other states, or other parts of the state, so you get a good mix of players on the weekends.

The staff there is great. Every single time that I've gone to this field, everybody has been really friendly, very helpful, and well...friendly. And even tho I'm not there as much as I'd like to be, most of them recognize me and remember me from previous visits. BIG thumbs up there.

The management is great. I'd voiced a complaint about some players that were cheating the last time that I was there. They had the refs watching the players in question.
Another cool thing that they do (that I havent taken advantage of) is that you can rent a couple of the fields for private parties. They even do bachelor parties there! (tho, I think that would kind of show TOO MUCH of an addiction to this sport if you had a paintball bachelor party...but hey! Whatever floats your boat!).
They also have a laser tag field for the really young parties.

As mentioned before, they rent out just about anything and everything that you would possibly need to play. And if your equipment fails on you while you're there, they will give you a "loaner" from the rentals selection. VERY COOL. You just have to put up your tank or marker as collateral, and they give it back to you when you turn their gear back in to them.

The proshop and the guys back there are great. Granted...they are a bit overworked on weekends, so wait time can be pretty long sometimes. But they try to get you in and out as quick as they can. the prices are pretty reasonable there too.
Granted...their senior tech did make a comment about my marker that I didnt appreciate but that was a one time occassion.

They also have a target range, which is really nice. Tho, kind of small. the furthest target you've got is a 50' range, which is alright, but not good for long range shooting. But I've been yelled at for firing at high ROF back there. Its a target range for heaven's sake, and I was IN the field legal Semi! You'd think they'd WANT you to burn more paint.

The indoor fields are open all year round. which is really great. and since they are indoors, in a cave, the temperature is never killer. Never too cold, never ever too hot. Tho...the fact that its a cave also plays a detrimental affect too, which I'll get to.

They have so much of what you could use. Vending machines, anti-fog, an ample amount of paper towels, restroom, arcade games, just about everything. About the only thing they are lacking is a mcdonalds or something like that, lol.

They also have a very large area where people can watch the players play from one side of the field, behind plexiglass.

BYOP nights every thursday!!! For an extra ten bucks, you can bring your own paint every thursday night.

All day air. Your 15 dollar (10 if you're a member) field fee gets you all day air.

Some of the bad.

First off to me is the lighting. Granted...it IS a cave. So you have absolutely NO natural lighting whatsoever. Its a little bit dark in there. I've been taken out by peeps further down field than what I could see. But I have lousy night vision.
The lighting is also all ceiling mounted. and it puts a pretty good glare on your lenses if they arent perfectly clean. Last time I was there, I accidentally shot one of their refs, because all I could make out thru the glare on my lenses was his shape. Tho it would be a lot worse if the lighting was wall mounted.

As mentioned, the temperature in there is great. However, it's a bit humid, since there is a lot of moisture in the air there. (the cave is near a river, alright?) So after a full day of being there, you can see some of the paint getting spongey and soft shelled, if the bags are left open. It will also cause non-thermal lenses to fog up more then if it was outdoors.

Some of those people behind the plexiglass will cheat. And point out where members of the opposite team are.

You definitely notice a scent when you walk in. like I said, it's humid. But there's nothing that they can do about it, and you get used to it after being there for just a few minutes. It's nothing overwhelming or will make you vomit, or anything like that. It's just...musty at first.

The traction on the field is great. they heavily sand it down, and sure footing is never a problem out on the field. The bathrooms however, are slick as hell. Its almost as if they just hose it down before they open the doors, and it never dries out. I literally came out with wet pants the first time I went there because I slipped and fell on my butt.

Paint prices are steep. The main field paint is rps stingers. 65-70 bucks for a full case when you can buy them anywhere else for 45-50 bucks. I understand that paint is what keeps them open, but that's still a hefty pricetag!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ditch1978 Sunday, February 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Home Field: Dangerzone Indoor (Tacoma, Washington)
Directions
to the Field:
Well the quicker way seemed to be locked up so take 435 north or south to exit 55B headed east on Highway 210 to the first light and take a right headed south to first street on the right should be Birmingham. follow til you cross railroad tracks and turn right immediately after crossing follow all the way to the end following signs "Jaegers Paintball""
Review: At first glance I wouldn't know what to say. The setting is in an old limestone mine so I had my doubts as to what this would be like. I was thinking low lighting and an uncomfortable playing environment. Man was I wrong!
So why not I'll rate this as Ive rated others in the past.

Upon entering I was greeted and welcomed....10+
Overall rating I give this Paintball center a 10!
------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------
Pro Shop: I give the air-tech's and employees a 10. They were very knowledgeable and informative and as helpful as can be. Prices were reasonable and fair.
Gear: I have to give this one a 9.5. They had anything and everything you can think of as far as frames, Air source adapters, LPR's, HPR's, anything universal they had. But they were limited to mostly (not all) JT jerseys and gear.
Markers: Holy crap this one goes beyond. Talk about the hook up on prices. I watched a new DM6 with a scratch on the barrel go for $600 I of course being an Ego fan tried to get them to order a few 07's and scratch them up a bit then sell em for $600. No dice!

Paint prices: Very High Priced! They offer Heat, Nightmare and Stinger from what I saw. Their premium paint is offered at $70 a case, but it is heat. Not really what I'd call a premium paint. So as for paint I give this a 5. Id suggest something more like Rampage. $55 a case and a true premium not remelted gelatin.

Safety: High regards for safety are taken. Fire extinguishers are plentiful, emergency escape routes are visible, (in a cave there's really only one way out) First aid kits were accessible. Barrel condoms are a must when not on the field and masks must be worn at all times when entering or on the field. There were a few times I forgot to replace my barrel condom and the refs yelled at me. Not necessarily towards me as it may be misconstrued, but to yell over the sound of markers firing and others yelling.

Refs: I've read some of the other reviews on here and must say...stop your whining. I give them a 10. They usually have 2 refs on the field and 2 or more working the gear rental counter either filling air, chrono'ing markers, cleaning masks and they usually swapped out about every 2 games. Now did the refs miss somethings that happened on the field. Yes, 2 people cant cover 50,000 sq ft and be everywhere at once. The rec ball was more on an honor system. They were friendly. They cared for the other players. They were not lazy. They did stay up out of the way. Sorry this isn't a speed-ball field they don't have to run around in circles for a 20 minute paintball game. They also offered excellent pointers to the less experienced players. Good job Guys!

Fields: Only two were open but there was ample room on the rec field for everyone to play. When I first arrived around 10am there were around 15-20 people. By mid day they had between 100-150 people present and playing. The speed-ball field was a bit on the small side. Almost too small for a 3 on 3 IMO. All the fields were well maintained. They were very well lit, the temperature was excellent. and it didn't smell like must. Ok explanations: In prior reviews I read about low lighting. They mentioned that they had more lighting coming in but I for one had no problem seeing where my paint was going. If your holding your marker beside your hip expecting to see where everything is going sorry but I doubt your going to have as much luck as you wish. As for the balls blending in with the walls. Well the fill might since its all white fill but the shells were ranging from green to red to silver and orange...and you cant see this against a white background? As for the smell of old paint and must. Well I smelled must but it ran down a completely different corridor from me then it was gone. Try bathing before you come out and it might not be so bad.

Rules: No Ramping, No bunkering, Semi-Auto Only, Field paint only on Rec fields
Not a bad deal either. Gave the newer players a sporting chance. However I must say that if bunkering isn't allowed the meaning of this to some of the newer players may need to be conveyed a bit more in detail. Over all the rules were set in stone, no one was given the "special treatment" not having to follow them.

Facilities: Well I guess Im a bum. I failed to eat or drink or even use the restroom the 11 hours I was there. They had plenty of soda and candy vending machines available, offered red bull in the proshop and as for the restrooms I never used so I cant say whether they were well maintained or not. There was plenty of open space and tables to set your gear on and even offered lockers and locks to store your gear in. There was also ample parking outside the facility so no need to worry about having to walk far to get to the field.
------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------
Hours Of Operation and Prices:
Retail Store: Open During Field Hours: Monday-Sunday
Office Hours: 1:00 PM - 5:00pm Monday - Friday

Field Times
Monday - Thursday Friday Saturday
Indoor Field 5:00pm - 10:00pm 5:00pm - 11:00pm 9:00am - 11:00pm

Sunday
Noon - 8:00pm
Outdoor Field is closed Monday-Saturday and open Sunday Noon - 5:00pm weather permitting -- 65+ degrees
All Other Times Open by reservation only.

If there are no reservations or sufficient walk-ons, the indoor field will close at 8:00pm.

Accessory Prices
Mask Rental $3.00
C02 Tank Rental: $2.00
Coveralls Rental: $5.00

Paintball Prices
100 bag 500 bag 1,000 (1/2) 2,000 (case)
Indoor Field $7.00 $30.00 $45.00 $69.00
Outdoor Field N/A $20.00 $35.00 $60.00

Member's Prices
Membership: $50.00 first year, renewals $40.00
Field Fees: $5.00
Guest Discount: Up to 6 of your guest get $5.00 their rental package or field fee
Paintballs: $5.00 off bulk paint purchases (500 rounds and up)

All Prices Include Sales Taxes.
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover accepted!
Gift Certificates Available!

All prices and times subject to change without notice.
A Deposit may be required to use some optional safety equipment.

When I left I was told thank you for coming by and was treated like I was when at my home field in Tacoma.
Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 1:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

emjo Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
My son and I went to play at Inferno on a Saturday, but we were the only players. We left and went to Jaeger's. Most field's in this area have gone out of business.
Directions
to the Field:
South on 435 to 210 Hwy. East (or left) on 210 to first red light. Turn right. Drive the speed limit (20 mph) because this town is tough. Drive to the railroad tracks, turn left right before the tracks. Enter the Hunt/Midwest facilities. Drive till you can go no further and your there.
Review: Playing in the caves is cool. Paintball year round in the Heartland. Their main field is cool and big, but their smaller fields are even cooler. Upstairs is nice, even nicer than below because you can use your own paint for just a $10 fee. The owners are laid back old folks and they employ mostly cool folks. There are some young punk refs, but just a few. Most of the refs are cool. The cool refs don't care for young punks or cheaters and they work to keep them in check. On the weekends there are usually quite a few people there. I have a blast every time I go. There are a two refs that stand out, but I am not sure they still work there. The big Hawaiian(?) with the beard and the Oriental guy with the words tattooed on his neck Jaeger's is worth the money. P.S. Dont upset the old guy in the proshop. He looks grumpy.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ovy44 Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Battle Creek Paintball
Review: We drove 2 hours to get to this field and we weren't disappointed. There was a lot of players there and plenty of staff. Only thing I would have liked to seen was more refs on the field. They had plenty there, they were just taking turns on who went out with players. I felt 2 was not enough for amount of area they needed to cover (although there was no problems). Would have liked to seen at least 1if not 2 more on the field with us.
Again they were all really nice and helpful. They helped with peoples gear and did what ever they could to keep you playing.
There pro shop personnel was fantastic. Very helpful and knowledgeable. They even let me barrow a circuit board (for no charge) when mine fried.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

diabloslayer_13 Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
fields by my grandmas house
Review: I love this place outdoor fields are the best in sping and fall and winter go to the indoor fields in summer its like 57 degrees in there or something like that staff is awesome one time me and my friend went there in the summer on a tuesday we were the only people there besides the staff and one of the refs took us out to his car and shoot he and his brothers ego at the wall for about 15 minutes he had some spare paintball he let us use so staff and refs are awesome the lady at the front desk is forgetfull bit that doesent matterpro shop will fix almost anything for free if you buy a new gun there they give u 3 months free field fees. prices are high but thats ok.
Last edited on Sunday, November 19th, 2006 at 10:17 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

streetstunna600 Saturday, October 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paint Games Plus
Directions
to the Field:
From Kansas City go 435 north to the 2nd 210 exit when you get off the exit, take a right and its that first right after the right off teh exit... Go all the way down till you see a little Jagers sign that says take a left, take that left, and goo down to where it says jagers, and go up that little hill and your there...
Review: Well, i went on Friday 10/26/06... My friend and I got there around 7:30 and played till close at 11:00pm... There where alot of kids there playing and we just jumped into some games... Paint is usually 69.00 a case of 2000 which isnt bad for playing indoors... Field fee is 15.00 and that includes air... Staff was really nice, we got along great... Pro shop guy was awsome, he adjusted my game face impulse trigger for me cause it came loose durring a game, and wouldent fire... I dont know what the guy under me is talking about, but they had my friend and i chrono our guns before we played... I will defently go back, its kinda close to my house and its getting to winter, so it will be a awsome place to play... We only played the first field, and it was alot of fun.. One thing is i HATE the yellow and blue hard hats that you have to wear to show which team your on... So if i where you go buy a blue and yellow bandana to put on your head. So you dont have to where those umcomfortable hard hats... Well this is all i have to say for now... Thanks, Aaron
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

mavrick_1001 Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The cave paintballing was a unique twist to the normal game. I'm afraid to say that I'll not be going back to Jager's. To say the least the staff acted like they couldn't care less if we were there. Players that brought in outside guns did not get them chronographed, including me. The refs that were working that night were doing a terrible job. The lighting was bad, but it was a cave. A big problem was the paint on the walls was the same color as the paintballs they sell, so you couldn't "walk" your balls into anyone because you couldn't see where they were going. You can't bring your own paint, so you have to buy their $70 boxes. Maybe I went on a bad night or something, but I don't think it was worth all the hype. I didn't try their outside courses, so I can't comment on those. I do encourage people to give this place a try because it is unique to paintball in a cave but with the poor lighting, musty smell and dampness I won't be going back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

alex reneau Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have not played on any other fields
Directions
to the Field:
i don't know how to get there
Review: jaegers is by far the best paintball field i myself have never played on any other fields but what is the point if jaegers is so amazing everybody loves it the staff is so nice and help you and give you tips and they have a lot of experience and the fields are so awesome i advise anybody in Kansas or Missouri to play at jaegers i go every weekend and i it is so awesome and the pro shop has great prices and helps you with you markers barrels and everything else!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media