paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Extreme Paintball Field / Extreme Paintball Field / Extreme Paintball Field / Extreme Paintball Field

Extreme Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
51Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 209 571 0210
Address: 7336 Dusty Lane
Modesto, California 95356
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
paintballer5623 Saturday, April 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the area
Review: I played at Extreme Paintball and the field was a decent field. They had a variety of fields including one medium-sized wreck field, 3 plastic tube fields, and 1 blow-up field. The fields were in decent shape, but on the wreck field many of the bunkers were falling apart. On the speedball fields some of the bunkers would move easily, but for the most part most of the speedball fields were in pretty good shape. Now the refs were horrible. The people at the front desk and airstation were very nice and helpful. But when you got the field the refs did not do anything accept split up the game and say 3,2,1 go! They often split up the teams uneven, usually outnumbered while the larger team had the better players of the group. When you call for a paint check most of the refs will stand on the side and look at the guy. I never saw the refs run into the game and actually check the player. They would stand outside the field and judge whether he was clean. I saw numerous times where someone would shoot a guy and the paint would break but the guy didn't go out and the refs were to lazy to check him.

I would rate how nice the field is as a 7 out of 10
But, as for playing at Extreme I would give it 3 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

liveurlife Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Bring water it gets pretty hot out there

The field is very nice it has hills and a lot of objects you could use for shield. All you need is shoes [that u don't mine getting messed up] and layer up but watch out for those foxheads, they can get stuck on you. The workers are very nice. Everyone we played were generally nice and helpful given that we were a group of inexperienced girls [playing against all boys]. We appreciated the owner, Gina, who nicely offered us armor to wear [for free] and she also adviced a worker to check up on us [to see if we were ok].

I would rate it a 9 out of 10 for good service and a fun playing field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spydertboarded Sunday, May 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The one in manteca before it closed
Review: I think this place is really great. The rec field has lots of hills and makes it seem more fun. Their store isnt close to the field at all which doesnt help if you need something. They dont enforce the rules during the games but they make sure everyone knows them (tells players twice a day). Refs are nice encourage others players they see fit to ref to ref (me) However, i signed up for reffing on a saturday and they told me to be there at 9 when the field opened and when i got there they said i had to be there at 7.. XSV plays there often and u can see them practicing and get pictures and stuff like that with them (Rich and Gina Telford own the field) All day with your own stuff is only 20 dollars which is pretty cheap and 8 dollars for all day air 5 dollars per CO2 fill if your tank is more than 14 ounces. It gets really muddy if it rained recently and dont wear anything wth cotton because you will get foxheads stuck in your skin. No grass of the speedball fields meaning no diving to the 50 but other than that the field is wonderful
9 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ypastorbri Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village, Corona
Sherwood Forest, Vallejo
Operation Paintball, Haward
Hume Lake Christian Camps, Hume
TAG, Hollister
Review: I have taken groups of 5 to 20 teens paintballing over the last 3+ years and each field has been a different experience. Of the six places I have been, I was most disappointed with Extreme Paintball. There are some good things about it which I will list first though.

Pros:
=> There are 5 or 6 fields of play at Extreme Paintball. The inflatable speedball fields looked like a lot of fun (see below) and there was definitely a decent variety of terrain.
=> The cost was one of the lowest for rentals and paint I have ever paid, which I thought was a great deal at the time, especially since we got a discount for having a group of 11 renters.
=> Super fast game turn around. Usually no more than 5 minutes between games.
=> The location was pretty far out of town but there was a nice breeze with the water nearby and I didn't notice any "cow patty" smell.
=> The staff in the cashier's booth were very nice and helpful.

Cons:
=> Although there were 5 fields and over 50+ people there the Saturday we went, they only used 2 of them the whole day for the main group. There were one or two private parties there and they were allowed to use other fields but the "beginner's" group never even saw the inflatable fields (which were deflated an hour or two before they closed).
=> We had 50+ "beginners" on one of their speedball fields which was horribly overcrowded. Four to five people PER barrier/snake meant that people had no cover and got out within the first minute.
=> I keep referring to the "beginner" group because they had renters and guys with 5+ years experience all playing in the same group. There were even a few teams playing in the "beginner" group. What surprised me the most was that they called out for a beginner and an advanced game in the morning and after lunch didn't even bother splitting the two up. Again, for first timers and true beginners this was a pretty rough experience.
=> The main reason for this huge group was the refs. There were an average of 5 or 6 refs during the day and for the most part, they had no idea what they were doing or even made the effort to enforce what few rules the field has. I actually watched one "ref," a teenager wearing a Jr. High school PE shirt, pull weeds out of the netting instead of watching the game. Teenagers trying to ref a game with 50+ people just doesn't work and people were verbally frustrated.
=> The rules were pathetic and poorly enforced (although they went through them at 9:30 and again after lunch). I watched as more than once players blindly pointed their guns into a bunker and shot whoever was in there. The result was bloody welts and players leaving the field and not returning. A lack of rules injured two girls who were playing for the first time and they said they'd never play again. That simply goes against the purpose of getting out to have fun!
=> Never saw them enforcing gun speed checks.
=> Lastly, we were told we couldn't have a private party even though we were given the private party rate. Whether this was because we made our reservation too late or for some other reason, it certainly reaffirmed my desire never to go back to Extreme.

Field Rating= 3
The bottom line is this, the field's broken down barriers, ineffective refs, poor field usage, horrible overcrowding and unbalancing of games, and a general lack of rules to ensure safety makes this field not worth it for the beginner, the small group, or those that are out just to have fun playing paintball.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 23rd, 2007 at 11:27 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

ikaba Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Zone- good for rec ball
Directions
to the Field:
Head east on Briggsmore until it ends at a stop sign near cow farms make a right next stop sign (dusty ln) make a left and drive down and make a right into extreme( right before the canal)
Review: The ground is hard but nothing a good knee pad doesn't cure. Only 1 rec field that isn't so great but atleast you dont get thorns and stuff on you plus some times you get to play with xsv on the rec field. The speed ball fields are nice and very balanced and a nice X-ball field. Home to many great teams such as xsv, roddent, bad rats, NorCal Kidz, ect. But besides the great players and great polish dogs the staff isn't so bad to look at. Tiffanys hot, That one girl that works on the weekend that looks hella young is hot, other girls there are hot..Its like an oven there!!!!! oh and Eddie is super duper hot! HA!


but all joking aside, its a great field with great friendly people.

And they open on wednesdays durring pb season(April-Sept). Did i mention xsv plays there?!?! i mean cmon who doesn't wanna try to land a ball on Thomas Taylor?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintboy17 Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: The field is small. The ground is hard and gets muddy when it rains. The refs are helpfull. They are young, but for their age they know what they are doing. The feild could use grass, and when you slide it wares down your eq. When it rains it gets really muddy. Don't buy pain there because it is really overpriced so bring your own paint. There rentals are ok for rentals (tippmann 98). I would give it a 9 out of 10.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 7th, 2006 at 9:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

NadeMagnet Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Zone in Waterford. Only went there once and no one was there so went to Extreme.
Directions
to the Field:
Heading from Modesto or hwy 99 take Brigsmore to Welsford. Brigsmore turns into Parker but stay on it untill it dead ends at Welsford. Take a right at Welsford then left on Dusty lane. Its on Dusty lane so look for the small sign next to a canal
Review: I've been meaning to write a review on Extreme for a while now but never got around to it. What finally made me get off my butt is reading all the unfair reviews Extreme is getting. I keep reading stuff about refs. The refs were good and helpful, no they sucked and wouldn't do paintchecks, blah, blah blah, and so on. People, the refs at Extreme like many if not most paintball fields are volunteers. There are those who ref because they like it and those who just want free entry and a case of paint so your going to get the good with bad. I've been playing at Extreme on average every couple weeks for over a year and a half and I've only had problems with refs around 20 percent of the time. That in no way makes the field any better or any worse since it's the luck of the draw.
The field itself has 1 airball, 4 hyperball, and 1 medium sized recball field. The airball field is wiped and taken down every day. The hyper and rec bunkers on the other hand are never washed and are very slimy. The airball field is netted on 4 sides and the hyper are netted just on the sides between each other.
When it rains it gets very muddy. If you've done any digging in the central valley you've probably come across compacted dirt called hardpan. 1 time I even had to rent a jackhammer because I wasn't getting anywhere with a pick. Water has little chance of seeping into ground like that and the puddles that cant find cracks in the hardpan especially around a lot of the bunkers pretty much stay until they evaporate. Oh well sometimes it's fun to play in the mud. What the ground does when it rains also makes it next to impossible or at the very least really expensive to keep grass alive so the speedball fields are on dirt. It can make for some hard slides and wears out your gear faster.
Everyone is required to chrono at 280 but the refs only check the groups in the morning and after lunch. If you were the type of A hole that would want to try to hurt someone by spiking your velocity it wouldn't be that hard to sneak by and get away with it. That was until yesterday. Thanks to pbreview refs are now issued with hand held chronos. That should drastically increase chrono safety. Good job guys.
1 of the coolest things about playing at Extreme is that it's owned and operated by Rich and Gina Telford. Well operated mostly by Gina. Rich gets to have fun and fly around the world while Gina does most of the work, lucky dog lol. Gina is 1 of the nicest people I've ever delt with on a retail setting not just in paintball. Rich has had XSV and other pro teams and players at extreme more times then I can remember. It is so awesome to watch how they do their drills and scrimmages. I even got play with Thomas Taylor once for a few games when he played with the advanced group after his practice. He is something else to watch. He was going from back left to back right and back again no body could touch him lol.
The food is pretty basic with hot dogs but it does the job.
Paint sold at the field is marked up to the expensive side but that's why you buy paint from their store. Plus cases bought at the store comes with all day air or 1 fill of co2 tokens.
Entry is 15. All day air is 6. I forget what co2 fills are it's been too long. From what I remember of the rental packages I think it's 30. That comes with a tipman 98, 200 paintball filled gravity hopper and mask. I think you have to buy their paint with rentals but you can bring your own paint with your own markers.
Barrels plugs are not allowed only barrel condoms. That makes the staging area a lot safer since barrel plugs can be shot out if the barrel if the barrel has blocked or no porting. They sell them at field for 3 bucks.
There is no running water but there is filled spray water bottles and paper towels. No running water also means portapotties. Luckily I've never had to use 1 so I dont know how bad they are. Knock on wood.
I can't think of anything else so I'll just say, all in all, I love playing at Extreme. Even with the few problems, I've never had a bad day there even when it was sprinkling. All you haters just have to ask yourself. If extreme is good enough for pros to play there but not you, what does that say about you? I give Extreme a 9 out 10. A perfect 10 field has to have grass or some sort or turf.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

hellhammer321 Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 15th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Directions
to the Field:
if you live in turlock just take geer out ill you get there, or if in modesto just take yosemite to albers then to dusty its a bit far out
Review: ok for this area, its a fine field, small but still good. but it has a few issues.
the safety is loose but they keep it up and no injures that I know of. the entry price is average for a field, they have the usual foods there. the refs are young but seem to know what their doing. the players there seem to always be on the younger side (from 11 to 15) which i don't have a problem with unless they arrogant like some seem to be. the courses are very small, This isn't Mister Sniper's dream course but much rather CQC. if you don't have your own equipment and paint, don't go here. The paint is ungodly over priced from such horrible paint that breaks every other ball. and the rentals are always poor quality and seem to shoot an average of 20 feet with a 5 foot spread.
in other words for out here fine place if you have your own EQ. dont go there to rent though
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

infamous_alias Sunday, March 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 8th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crossfire paintball in manteca (closed now =( )
sc village
velocity paintball (sd/poway)
Camp pendleton (spelling?)
Review: Pros - they let you play your own games if you seem like you know what you're doing, ok prices, food and drinks available for purchase, decent hyperball fields

Cons - Refs kinda lazy, dont always do a paint check when you ask for it, you cant play on the xball field unless your a team? Could use another air field (maybe psp or something), not enough field games

Overal its a decent field. Some issues with mud but other than that the problems are understandable. I play there regularly and all i can say is im very satisfied. For whoever was complaining about group rates, they are usually done in blocks, 10-20 players or something like that...if you drop under a certain number you get a different price, dont complain. Its kind of in the middle of nowhere...and you can get lost if you arent sure where you're going.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbdad1 Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: February 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Zone- Deffinintly not as well ran as Extreme!
Review: OK me and my son both play paintball at Extreme in Modesto. He plays their every weekend and i play sometimes. Every weekend when he comes back he is always sayin how fun it is. He never has a problem with the reffs, he says their friendly and very helpful. When i have gone at out their the reffs are doin their best, friendly and willing to help. Ya the reffs sometimes do make mistakes but their kids what can u expect. Everyone makes mistakes, You can't do anything about it. I have met Rich and Gina personally and they are two of the nicest people i have met. They run their business great. Gina works really hard into making the field and store the best it can be. My son has played at other fields and i have gone with him and none are as well ran as this one. This is one of the best fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media