paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Wacky Warriors Paintball (Illinois) Paintball Field / Wacky Warriors Paintball (Illinois) Paintball Field / Wacky Warriors Paintball (Illinois) Paintball Field / Wacky Warriors Paintball (Illinois) Paintball Field

Wacky Warriors Paintball (Illinois) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
20Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 636-296-8198
Address: Mine Haul Road
Millstadt, Illinois 62260
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
The Paintr Saturday, May 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gateway, Xtreme (awesome XBALL!), wacky in wentsville, bushwackers (great scenario)
Review: So I went there today and it was okay. The other players there are so awesome to talk to. I went by myself and i made alot of new friends. Back to the feild
-Safety. Wow these guys dont even have a chrono. No one chronoed what so ever. Their only concern is the goggles majorly and barrel plug. They allow full auto too.
- Feilds- The brickyard is nice but Wentsvilles is alot better. The brickyard is basically the only field you play. The castle is fun is you have good players in the castle unlike the group I had. The other fields are pretty good too but I olny played the brick.

I recomend going to Xtreme. Wacky is still good though
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

crix Monday, March 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme Paintball Park - ive been here and i liked it.
Review: Overall rating: 4 / 10

The good:
- nice woodball fields
- brickyard is a blast
- friendly refs

The bad:
- Overfills on co2 (they didnt use a scale the 2 times i got my tanks filled there)
- some fields are messy
- some minor and major safety issues:
* section of safety netting was missing last 2 times i was there
* many players using full auto and no one says anything
* small safety hazards on some fields (i saw small stumps and plexi glass shards)






ok, i found out that a group of friends of mine goes to this place every 2 weeks, and i had never been there, so i decided to go. i brought a friend with me, and it was his first time paintballing. when my friend got his rental equipment, it looked as if it had never been cleaned. there was mud, paint, grease, and dirt, all over the gun and mask (the tank looked new). the goggles were so dirty, he had to rinse them off with the spray bottle, since there is no running water at this place. i bought all day air and had my tank filled. i noticed that they didnt use a scale, but i thought nothing of it. we go out to get our guns chronographed, and i find that there is only ONE chronograph at the entire field. after waiting for a few people who were in front of us, we tested our guns out. another friend of mine couldnt get his gun below 317, but the ref didnt say anything over it. 300+ is enough to break lenses on goggles. the rest of the people in my group didnt even bother testing their guns, and the ref didnt say anything. i was shooting hot, but i shot one shot at 290 or something and the ref said it was fine. i adjusted it a quarter turn down and me and my friend took to the fields.

the fields are okay. i really like their vietnam field in the back and their brickyard speedball field. a big problem when i was there were cheaters, but every place has them. the field are so big that the refs cant watch over everyone at a time. also, dont be surprised when you see people going full auto in open play. they say they dont allow it, but they didnt seem to care much. the fields are also a bit messy. i saw large pieces of shattered plexiglass all over a bunker at one of their fields. they should also do a better job at cleaning the small stumps out of the ground, because it gives a lot to trip on. a friend of mine said that he tripped and ripped a ligament in his knee and had to go to the hospital.

we all played for a few hours and then before we went home i got my tank filled; i paid for all day air, i might as well get my moneys worth. besides, i like to play with my friends in the woods. when i began cleaning all of my gear. i started cleaning the mud off of my c02 cylinder when the burst disk blew, and the tank froze to my hand. i had to go to the hospital, and it turned out to be 2nd and 3rd degree thermal burns. i couldnt feel my hand for a day (that was actually a good thing) . i couldnt bend it or write with it for a week, since i had blisters all down my fingers. i had extreme pain for a week. i now have nerve damage in some places on my hand, and cannot feel the skin (was told it may never heal). that alone kind of bugs me.

i told my friend this and he convinced me that it was a freak accident, so i gave the place a second chance and went with them after my hand healed. while i was there, someone stole some of my paint while i was playing and shot up a car next to me. i reported it, and the guy at the front desk seemed concerned about it and i think he reported it to the owner of the vehicle. we played all day and i got my tank filled. this was a brand new never before used tank. when i brought it home and set it in the basement (65*F temp), the burst disk exploded 15 minutes later while no one was in the room. that now is 2 tanks whixh need to be repaired before i can use them again. i talked to some people i know in the compressed gas cylinder business and they said that the tanks were most likely overfilled, which doesnt surprise me since they didnt measure how much they filled it up with. i asked an employee at wacky warriors if they would replace my disk for free, but he refused since he thought it wasnt their fault. he said that i probably had heated the cylinder past its max temperature (which happens to be 130*F). i dont think the people who fill the tanks are "trained personnel" as they say they are, but i may be mistaken. i just kind of gave up on them after that and decided to let it go. i dont think i will be going back there, based on my bad experience.

in spite of all that happenned i did have a good time while i was there, i just dont like the safety issues. most people dont mind a small amount of neglegence, just as long as their having a good time. well its all fun and games until someone gets hurt. i give it a 4 becaue of the safety issues, but i still had a good time at the fields.

if you go here, dont get your tanks filled by them, and park your car close to the registration booth. if you are a parent, i would go to the field along with your child even if you dont intend to play.
Last edited on Monday, March 7th, 2005 at 3:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

hazardplaya Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Meramac Challenge
Review: Wacky is great I went their with my football team and had an excellent experience. It had great woodsball and o.k. speedball.

Best attributes: WOODSBALL and how the refs pay attention to the game and who gets shoot and who doesn't.

Worst: Their paint is very expensive and the rental guns jam alot for being Tippman '98 Custom.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

killer101 Saturday, January 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
xtreme no comparison
Review: Wacky warriors is an awsome place to play, started there loved the brick yard but dont understand why they dont put more wood chips out there, heard about the sup air feild awsome, wanted to know about turf out there. tThe feilds are aswome the crew or refs or what evere u wanna call them there awsome. You get what u paid wat you paid for.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

snipersdad Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None (yet) - played Jagers caves in KC once, but hard to compare
Review: Overall - pretty good fields to play... woods ball has enough variety to keep everyone happy. Some field longs and narrow, others deep and wide... hills and valleys... cover and bunkers. Speed ball (Brick Yard) is too cool - execpt after the rain. Castle field #4 is pretty good - depends on who you're playing with whether you want to be in or out. Supervision outside the fields is minimal - had my truck shot or sprayed two of the last three times playing there - that's unnecessary!! Lots of good heated competition - but if you bring the wife and kids be prepared for LOTS of cussing. Wiping/cheating is rampant and full auto guns are everywhere. Refs seem apathetic - too much goes on that is un called for. Got told that full auto wasn't allowed - good for us, we're all semi-auto - but on the fields, that's another story. Chronographed guns are done on a do-it-yourself basis - hot guns spoil some of the fun. BYOP is the ticket - field paint is too high for us. $5 for all day air is great - but not always getting the bottles FILLED, need to watch who's filling - owner fills, others fill partially (not unless a "full" 9-oz should only fire 150-balls). I don't want to sound too negative because we deal with what comes - but I have seen and heard very negative comment by players on their way out. Need to try Xtreme for something to compare to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

itfchaos Wednesday, October 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bunch
Review: Before hand:
We decided to go for some open play, but it turned out to be the weekend they was having a big game of CTF so we decided to play it! Glad we did!

Positive:
They had all the fields opened up as one hugh playing field. I say the field is somewhere around 10 acres or so total. Lots of woods, man made structures, bunkers, stacked wood chuncks, plywood, trenches, castle, sniper towers, etc... There were plenty of players there the day I went! They fill tanks really good, and customer service it top notch! The have a small consession stand with chips, hotdogs, and other stuff. Nice area to lay out your equipment and set up for the day. Everything is reall easy to walk to and you don't have to hike everytime you get shot! I never got to play open play but looking at all the individual fields I think it would be really nice to play on! A few refs on hand to keep things running smooth. I still seen alot of cheating.

Negatives:
You have to use their paint during this event which was $60 a case of RPS Bigballs (not bad, but not good either). Lots of cheating (very hard to find a field that is on them! Smak zone is one of those fields that are tough on cheaters!).

Final:
I give this field an 8 out of 10. It is difficult to get a 9 or 10 out of me, and an 8 is great in my book. I think this field needs to work on their reffing during a big game a little more in the action, where the cheating is going on!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

veedell26 Monday, March 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extreme, Wildcat, Paintballtogo
Review: 1st field: thick woods, not the game i like to normally play, but its ok. 2cnd field: large speedball, could be fun, but there are sections of woods on both sides that are in play and kinda ruin the whole speedball type game (it never fails, someone runs into the edge of the woods and hides). 3rd field: large woods, big hill, bunkers could use some work, but overrall fun field. 4th field: speedball village, could be funner if they would fix up some of the bunkers, and again, the woods guys i guess over the years have pushed the bounderies to the point that there are small sections of woods in play.(there hasnt been a big effort to do upkeep on the fields, not good on a field that is suppossed to be speedball). 5th field: thick woods again, i have only played it once and didnt even venture out to see what it was like. Brickyard field: excellent speedball field featuring small valleys on both ends, cement bunkers, narrow field, flag station in middle. Games on this field are fast and furious. Overall a great field. Only big enough for maybe 5-7 per team i guess.

Overrall I think this field is pretty good. Some delays between games, but not bad. I haven't ever had any reffing problems nor have I witnessed any. (except once the ref was hung over and fell asleep on the field.) hehehe. I give it an 8.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ice-Child Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bushwhackers, Wildcats, Xtreme, Fearless and Wackys west Field.
Review: I have been playing off and on since 86. Have been playing pretty heavy since 96. I have seen a lot of fields in my day. So with playing with teams and doing the tournament circuit for awhile. I have to say that out of the other local fields I have played. I prefer Wacky's fields the most. I agree that at times a field can have bad service. Maybe you were there on a tournament day. Its funny how people always say bad things about a place when they show up once and its on a really busy day. Complain about service, and say the field sucks. When you only go there once you have nothing to compare it to.

I have no major complaints about either of Wackys fields. They are ran rather smooth I thought. A couple of the other local fields are bad, with both service and attitude of their employees. I yes I have been to just about every field in a 100 miles at least once. Only one I keep coming back to is Wacky. Nice thing about these guys is that they are also owned by the same guy that owns the best St Louis area paintball stores. You need something, call them and ask him to have it at the field on Saturday and its there. Saying that he knows who you are at least. But with their selection of fields and with the people that work both the fields and stores. It is a well run establishment. Just go there more then once and find out for yourself. And if its tournament day and you have never been to or around a tournament. Don't judge it by its cover. Anyone that has ever had to work a tournament will completely understand. Its a total mad house. I gotta give it a 9. Reason is for all the local fields it is the best. Cant give it a ten, since I don't feel there is a field on the planet thats a ten. Not even Challenge Park.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

melonhead Thursday, March 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bushwackers - far better service, but smaller fields
Review: The good -- Even though their fields are old, I prefer the woodsball that most of
them cater to.

The bad -- Paint has always been expensive.
The refs are poor at best. Its pittiful for the paying customers to actually
have to prod the refs into starting the next match.
Lets actually chrono some of the players guns once in a while.
Getting obliterated by somebody firing a hot gun is not my idea of fun.

After bringing a group there a few times and receiving poor service and having to deal with apathetic refs in open play, I have not gone back. I hope they will improve if they want to keep their share of the St. Louis area business.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Ramstang Sunday, March 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme paintball park
Review: Woods ball!! all woods ball, and one speed ball. Open play is BYOP $10 +$5 for air. Good parking, lots of rugged hilly, the way woods ball should be played kind of courses. Sat. open play lacks hours they go 9am-1pm, sundays is until 5pm though. They do have crummy paint prices $90 case!!!! Ouch, but they gotta make money somehow. Don't listen to the nay-sayers, you must try this place at least once.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media