paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field

Fox River Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
92Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 10389 Fox River Dr
Millington, Illinois 60537
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
the_end0101 Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz, Challenge
Directions
to the Field:
Right past the tracks
Review: I used to really enjoy coming to this field, untill the one day i booked a private game. First off we didn't get to fit that many games in, I don't have the slightest clue why. Just didn't happen. But that happens and that I was okay with that. The rental guns seemed lacking and often had to be exchanged for guns that worked. . Fields were not too bad but honestly I enjoyed Badlandz fields much better. But the main reason i write this, and what really pushed me away from this place, was that as we were checking out and my buddies were returning all the rentals, the woman in charge of recieving rental equipment accused me of not returning a gun. Since the private game was in my name I had to come up with the gun, even after i made sure everyone returned it. I ended up staying there for 45 minutes after they closed trying to convince this lady that we didn't have the gun. It REALLY upset me. She refused to give my driver's license back. Eventually after i stormed out of the office my freinds came back with my license. I haven't been back since.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bird466 Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
While CPX is probably one of the best, most organized, complete Paintball Fields in the midwest (I consider it the Disneyland of all Paintball Parks), it's also priced like Disneyland (when compared to Fox Paintball Field and some other BYOPs --ie.Badlandz).
Directions
to the Field:
Use this link for directions... http://www.foxpaintball.com/directions.html
When you finally convene that your 100% Completely LOST, you'll see the sign for Fox :)
Review: First off, I chose Fox to open up my paintball season because I had a great time last year at a Private Party there (it was BYOP) and Secondly... It was only $15 Opening Day!!!
I took a whole bunch of people there, one of which was my buddy who's birthday it was. We decided that to celebrate his birthday, we'd shoot stones of paint at each other on the Fields of Honor. And I'm glad we chose FOX PAINTBALL field to do it at!

The morning started cold and snowy and the temp was about 26to28degrees Farenheit. We called in advance and sure enough, they were ready to go! When we arrived, we noticed that there were already plenty of other die-hard fanatics ready to play hard in the cold Chicago snow. We headed inside and the Staff was awesome. Very friendly. Very understanding to the many new players I brought with. I'm sure they won over a few more customers with their sincerity as well as with their AWESOME, KICK-BUTT, HILARIOUS Safety Video that kept us involved, LISTENING and LEARNING, for the whole 13minutes and 55seconds that it played. I don't know about you, but even though it lasted nearly 14minutes long, I know from past experience that it sunk into our brains (and whoever saw it) more than ANY other past Safety Briefing or Lecture done before. Great job guys!
As far as hours of operation, you should check up on their website at www.foxpaintball.com to get updated info (they update regularly).
It's normally $30 for admission, but they have many half-off days throughout the year's holidays (Even St. Patty's Day!). Most fields that are FPO charge $90-$100 just for a case of paint. At Fox, you can get your Field fee, equipment rental (SP Ion), and 2000 Blaze paintballs for ONLY $89. That's so wickedly awesome and ridiculously cool that you should already be sold NOW!
There are plenty of refs to help you start a quick game of speedball, or set you up for the next rec game. Service and Staff are excellent.
Again, the day we went, it was FREEZING. Cheap balls normally suck in this type of environment and the new guys I brought with were trying to save a buck by buying cheapies. Well, as expected, they crapped out and chopped every shot. I spent almost 30 minutes cleaning all their crap out of the markers. Meanwhile, they went to the Proshop and the Staff told them to just bring the remaining balls and they'd upgrade for a low low price! Now that's Customer FRIENDLY Service!
There were a number of young bucks playing, which was surprising to my group when seeing kids with ions (typical) being dropped off by mommy. But, these young guns were actually mature for their size & age and were very friendly & helpful to my group of newbs. Did I mention that I also brought my fiance and my buddy's g/f too? They were quickly addicted to the game... that is until they fell in the ice (chicks... ugh.).
Facilities... um... porta-potties. But that's okay, Real men (and women) do it in the woods anyways ;)
They had fresh cold gatorade for hydration and some hotdogs too.

Overall... if you've read this much, Fox Paintball field is a great place to enjoy some Open-Game paintballing or even host a Private Party. Whether your new or experienced, Fox Paintball has it all... a friendly staff, great prices, BYOP, and a SAFE Facility.

It easily gets a 10 out of 10.
Last edited on Monday, March 12th, 2007 at 1:29 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

staceyis mygun Tuesday, February 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none i go to
i hear take aim is nice
and odyssey is just a piece of crap it looks like
Review: FOX IS AWSOME....Yea
Ive been goin there for about 3 and a half years now and i would nvr go anywhere else.
It hurts me when i miss a mini scenario cause they r so well organized thought out.
The refs are fair and always willing to help if in need. Operating times are awsome.....The are open year round except during Jan. Feb. They only open saturdays. they r workin on puttin up lights in the very vast amount of land they own for some night games and currently have lights over the airball fields for some late night speed. The porto potties and everyone who knows will agree with me are disgusting..But was toilet isnt. They are well kept and cleaned out often atleast. The best part is me being a speedballer its alittle over kill when ur goin scenario up against spyders and tippmans. The players are smart and fair though...Most of the time...Smart when it comes to cheating!! But they catch and suspend those players to its all good. The food is average and cheap so thats a plus. they do have a small shop with a few item in the registration buildign which is nice but 9v batteries cost $3 for one. So yea everything is very well planned and they always have something for u to do wether ur a speedballer or woodsballer.
FOX 4 LIFE!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skatepaint1018 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pekin paintball
Review: I love the field it is great i have been paint balling for three years now and fox was great when i was first starting and now that i am a lot more experienced i still love. I have been there about 10 times and it is always great. The refs are cool i always see the same refs when i go and they have helped me and my friends fix our guns and have given us pointers to become better. The price is great it is always BYOP and only costs $30 for a field. Usually there is many cool players and i have never had any problams with other players. The fields are cool but sometimes the air ball fields are not set up. The food is pretty good and reasonably priced. I give it a ten because i love it and will keep going there as i progress in the game
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KMARCRUM Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
BADLANDZ, FACTORY PAINTBALL
Directions
to the Field:
JUST KEEP GOING. IT'S WAY OUT OF THE WAY BUT WORTH IT. THE ENTRANCE IS ABOUT TWO FEET FROM A RAILROAD CROSSING.
Review: Me and a bunch of my friends went for the Mr. Freeze scenario. I got there late and only played for two hours. It was amazing. I had so much fun, and they let us in during a game. The big field was something to drop jaws. The rental equipment I saw was spectacular. I rented a mask, it was the best one I've ever had, I wear glasses and it fit perfect. The spectrum of players was nice too, there were kids there for the first time ever, and pro guys just tearing it up. It was an even split too so no massacres. Everyone is real helpful too, Ijust bought my nitrogen tank the day before and had no idea how to fill it, a guy on the other team showed me how. And I dropped a pod full of paint and didn't know it, the guy behind me picked it up and and gave it to me and told me I should turn the pods to the side so they fit better. The best field I've ever had the privelege of going to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unseen_Shadows Sunday, December 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I've been playing at this field for 6 years now and have enjoyed each time I go

First of all the fields:

Woodsball: Great variety, lots of brush and man-made cover.

Airball: Not the best selection but the fields are set up well, unfortunatly last time I went one of the air ball was very deflated.

Metal: For those who never played a metal it's about the same size as their airball fields but just metal bunkers. Tons of bunkers, lots of quick action, and

Safety/Staff: Top-notch without a doubt. When I went all the staff were always on top of everything whether it be getting games started quickly or just making sure everyone had barrel plugs in. Even with all the people there (over 100) I still could get a ref to let my friend and I play a quick game of 1v1.

Prices: They finally had to increase open games to $30 from $15 but it's still very cheap considering their BYOP (Bring Your Own Paint) all the time. I go and usually spend only $70.

Food: Great food they always seem to have the grill going with fresh burgers and dogs. They have lots of candy and ice cold pop, gatorade, and water on hand as well.

Players: When I play their I always meet cool people. They're always a wide range of skill level which I think is great to get. Every now and then you'll find a bad apple but just tell a ref and they will handle them.

Overall I recommend this field to anyone who loves to paintball.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper451 Friday, October 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz, Take Aim, CPX Sports, Da Nuke, ROR.
Review: I've been going to various fields all over the Chicago area for the last two years and have been finding myself going to Fox more and more often. The refs are on the whole consistent and involved in the games. Occassionally you'll get a newb ref ,but hey thats life and its only happend to me once this year. Get there early and jump into the first open game for woodsball that you can. If you miss getting out right away you'll wait 25 minuets or so till the next game. The speedball fields are usually easy to get onto unless there is team practice going on in the morning. If you want to play speedball only the field admission price is $5 less than the open games.Not much of a wait for air.. I use 4500 and don't have to wait at all...unless a private game just came back and then its only a few minuets. Paint is at reasonable price, also this is a byop field which is great for me. The facilities have slowly been Improving over the last two years and the owner Tim is a good guy who is constanly upgrading the field. The have great mini scenario and full scenario ganes here. I just did their training day scenario in Sept and had a Blast. Finally the players who come to fox are good people with a lot of regs showing up on a week to week basis. I've run into jerks with attitude problems at badlandz and cpx but hardly ever at fox. The only thing I'd wish for would be that they run the games with the same frequency as they do at badlanz. Fox is a Great field. I'll be calling this my home field from now on.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bears4325 Tuesday, October 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: I take my entire youth football team on paintball outings every year. This is a group of 25-35 players. I had tried the big box facilities, and when I discovered Fox, it was a gem!! The refs are great, fields are awesome, and the atmosphere is user friendly. The entire staff is happy to be at Fox and it is apparent by the treatment you receive when you are there. Since our 1st visit, we have returned at least 10-12 more times and it keeps getting better each time. I like how the referees can turn the same field into a completely different event each time you go out. The staff really makes sure the games are geared for the age group playing, so if you have younger participants they will not feel intimidated. I like the canopies set up around the facility and hope they build a couple more. We set up a camp under one and grill burgers all day, talk with the referees between games, and have a great time.The staff is really helpful with equipment problems, and always there to give pointers to the younger players.Every person I have brought to Fox has had a great time, and we really have never had a single problem or bad experience there. I really feel that the paintball sport has gained many new players because of Fox Paintball. I look foward to seeing everyone in a few weeks for our fall outing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thedeuce Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
blast camp
Review: Very neat field, and this place is huge! Refs were really good (until the last few games at night - they were a little bias and talking to girls). We got there at 2:30, used two paintball usa tickets and had to buy $25 or in paint per person (w/o ticket, $30 to play/$15 for members, and an extra $15 dollars to play from 5pm to 10pm (and we did stay to10pm). The first woods scenario was the hill, this field was massive and killer with about 20 people to each team in a open game! Be prepared to hike on this one! The rest of the fields were all in clean condition, compared to when i went to blast camp. Blast camp just had so much paint everywhere.


All in all, if you can make a trip here (about an hour and a half from chicago), do it, you won't be disappointed!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Racer X Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Challenge, Operation Paintball
Review: UPDATE!!!!!!

I went back to Fox last Saturday, Aug 12th, played open and had a GREAT TIME!!!!!!

Starting from the top of what I posted on the 20th.

The waiting. Much better. I think they could be a bit more firm on last call for open games but that is just be being picky. From when I was ready to play till the actual start of a game was down to 20 minutes. That is pretty quick.

All the refs were great. There was one ref that was new and when he didn't have the answer to one question we asked he got it for us right away. When we called for a paint check the refs would SPRINT over and check.

We played a few games of speed ball and had no issues. We were allowed to play against each other. That was a lot of fun.

I have upgraded my tank to a 4500 psi tank and there were 3 fills stations available for it. Only once was a station down and it was fixed in under 5 minutes. I lent a friend my 3000 psi tank and he never had to wait.

The chrono station I complained about was changed. It is now netting instead of wood. This is perfectly fine for a chrono station. I still think the netting could be tacked down to form an angle because there was still a bit of splashing from the paint. However it was vastly improved.

The team management was great. At one point we rolled over the other team and it was taken care of right away.

Every issue I had mentioned was addressed. That is pretty amazing.

We are planning another outing in October and we will be going back to Fox regardless if it is a private game or not.

Oh, the Gatorade is ICE cold and only $1.50 a bottle.

Bottom line, great field to play at, BYOP is awesome, refs were great, lots of fill stations that work, the drinks are ice cold and last but not least management that listens to the players.

____________________________________________________________


I have only played private games at Fox until last Saturday. The private games were excellent and the refs were fine since they had little to do since we always well organized and cheating isn't an issue. This time they were fully booked for private games so we had to play open.

BIG MISTAKE!!!!! 1st off the wait between games was getting excessive until we started complaining. At one point we switched sides, this does not mean going for more air and paint just swapping sides, and then waited 45 minutes before the next round started. They claimed they were running 2 open games at a time. This seemed like a waste of manpower since I always saw refs just sitting around doing nothing. Also some of the refs didn't have radios which really slowed things down

For the most part the refs were simply there collecting a paycheck. The one exception was a ref that has a pony tail and his mask had ref painted across the goggles. He was outstanding. He was going so far as to police pods that people were tossing. that is above and beyond. The other refs wouldn't even do paint checks so wiping was getting out of control. I hit one guy right in the goggles and he wiped it right in front of a ref. I don't know if they were friends but when I called the ref on it he ignored me and let the guy play on.

At the speedball field the only ref there was only letting people play against a team that needed to practice. We had enough people in our group to play 10 on 10 and he wouldn't let us. After that we were stuck with woodsball.

The lines at the fill station were long. This is because only one 3000 psi station was working. I waited 20 minutes just for air. On the plus side they did have 2 4500 psi stations. Good excuse to upgrade my tank.

The chrono station right by the entrance was poorly built. The back wall was maybe 10' away. So every shot splattered you with paint. It would not have ben that hard to have built the wall a bit farther back to prevent this.

The other big problem were the teams. At one point the teams were so lopsided it was ~20 on ~50 or more. I know it can be a bit tough to organize big groups but that is a bit much.

I will probably won't go back there unless it is a private game. I heard the same thing from the other 19 people I went with.

I gave the field a 4 for open games. I will say that for private games it has always been a 10. I like the fields and the refs were pleasant. I WILL go back for private games and plan on trying to book one for July.

EDIT: I have decided to send an email to the field so I have changed my review from will not go back to might go back. I think it is fair to give them an opportunity to respond to my complaints.

EDIT #2: I sent an email to Fox and already have a reply from Tim, the president of Fox PB, addressing my concerns. He doesn't try to make any excuses. Instead he thanked me for the feedback and explained what he would to to try to remedy the situation. That is a pleasant surprise

As I said before I would wait for a reply to my email and now that I have it I will give them another try. No one can be perfect but admitting to it goes a long way to fixing the issue(s). The least I can do is return the favor.
Last edited on Monday, August 14th, 2006 at 12:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media