paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / TxR Paintball Field / TxR Paintball Field / TxR Paintball Field / TxR Paintball Field

TxR Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
7Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 281-357-4300
Address: 15550 Grant Rd
Cypress , Texas 77429
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
coolwhip Monday, March 7th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 6th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Texas Survival Games doesn't hold a candle to TXr
Directions
to the Field:
The entrance isn't well marked so keep your eyes open when you get close on Grant Rd.
Review: This field has the best staff, great fields, plenty of space to spread out. If you play paintball in Houston you should play at TXr.

The only thing I can say they lack is an airball field but as many of you in Houston know if you want to play airball there are few places that offer it.

Be aware TXr is field paint only and that rule is strictly enforced.

Safety is key and safety rules at TXr are strictly enforced by staff and regulars alike.

I shouldn't have to say anymore.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lone Star 135i Friday, December 17th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 11th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
NA
Directions
to the Field:
Grant near Telge
Review: My buddies and I played this field last month for a baby shower (you know, guys get lost and stay out of house). Could of played golf but decided to try paintball. We were a group of 10 so we got the private party rental package. Nobody owns own equipment. We had so much fun we scheduled another visit and had even more fun.

We are mostly 30 and 40 something dads and out of shape. But the field was very enjoyable, Jeff, our referee was awesome and helped explain the rules and kept everyone safe, and overall the outing was fantastic. Everyone agreed it was way better than golf and we will be back.

I have spoken to a few guys at the paintball store on 290 and West Little York and they highly recommend this field as well. They stated it was the best place in town, really emphasizes safety, and was well run with the new owners.

This last visit the masks were all brand new so the new guys had it especially nice. The fields are different and interesting and even with two visits I dont think we have played every one yet. We seem to like speedball the best.

Also the reservation process was smooth and the e-mail confirmations were very helpful. Kelly is very nice and friendly and remembered us from the first baby shower visit and even scheduled us with the same referee as before as we requested.

I highly recommend this field for many reasons - the friendly service, the safety, the great referee (Jeff- young kid about 16 but really helpful), and the nice variety of fields and woods.

I am giving this field a 10 - Obviously I am new to the sport and haven't played others but our two experiences were both great. We will be scheduling another visit next month.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MeatPuppet-Jake Wednesday, June 23rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 19th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tanks Pb.
Directions
to the Field:
you go that way and then take a turn somewhere
Review: I love this feild! I played when it was pb usa and now that #1 pb is gone and its back to what it started out to as; an amazing feild.
20 bucks to get in and byop ( for now)
There is woods ball there is hyperball and speedball. I personally enjoy the speedball feilds. pleantly of parking and camping if there is a senerio. There is fast food and grocery stores close.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballguy4 Friday, June 18th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 23rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tanks Katy PB, Brazos Survival Games, Zone, all cool fields
Directions
to the Field:
Located at the corner of Telge and Grant Roads in Cypress, Texas.
Review: There are three rules in Paintball. Goggles on inside the line, barrel plugs on outside the line, and don't wipe. While TXR undoubtedly discourages wiping, the safety standard that players, staff, and spectators are held to here are above and beyond most any other field. Personally, I believe that there are cooler ways to lose an eye than paintball, and the staff and players of TXR make sure this will never happen at their field. Within a second of a mask pull, refs and players alike are screaming at the player to put it back on, with reason!

Safety is number one in this game, and TXR does not take this lightly. I trust my kids and family to the refs and staff of TXR without hesitation.

But safety can only take one so far. The staff of TXR is what truly makes it a gem to the Texas paintball community. From the Pro Shop staff, to the air fill station, to the rental and gun tech counters, to the chrono range, there is a friendly and knowledgeable staffer ready to help.

Air fills are clean and full, I love the self service HPA stations.

Prices are very reasonable, even the field paint, which is competitive with the big box stores yet much more fresh and better shooting. (Read: spend the extra $5 a case for quality fresh paint; They ain't out if it don't break.)

The field is around 100 acres, with fields to suit woods and speedball players alike. Fields are constantly improving and much better than when ...the other guys... were running this place.

If you ever played at Paintball USA, it's like a family reunion. #1 was a joke, TXR is serious business. Come on out and say hi, might see someone you haven't seen in years.

New players and old, speedball and woods, kids and big kids, this place is for you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ALLUPINYA Tuesday, June 15th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 11th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Twisted Texas, Tank's Katy PB....all great places too.
Directions
to the Field:
Quarter mile east of Telge on Grant Rd.
Review: This is the birthplace of Team ALLUPINYA. We have been playing here since the first scenario event and continue to do so. I started playing here as did all of my children and their "little buddies". Excellent variety of field play; speed ball, woods ball, you name it, they've got it.
Staff couldn't be friendlier. Safety is the top priority and has been for years.
If you are a new player and want to see what this sport is all about, gather up your friends and try this field out. Experienced players looking for some variety will also love this place for its variety of fields and choices.

We couldn't be happier that the Tx Rangers have returned and that this field has re-opened under the old regime! Looking forward to many more battles!
Last edited on Tuesday, June 15th, 2010 at 1:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

notaplaya4u Monday, June 14th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 5th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Directions
to the Field:
Grant and Telge in Northwest Houston (Cypress area)
Review: We had a group go out there for a bachelor party on Saturday, 5 June 2010, and it was a blast. It was probably my 2nd or 3rd time to go paintballing, and I haven't been in years. A buddy of mine in college sold me a paintball gun years ago that I never got to use...it's an Automag. The staff was very helpful in educating me about my gun.

Because of the size of our group, we had our own field to play against eachother 6 on 6. The ref was very accommodating and did a great job of making sure we all followed the safety protocols for the field.

We all now plan on making a trip out there in a couple of months to play again. We had a blast and would recommend TxR to anyone looking to have a great time.

Very respectful people, and a laid back atmosphere with everyone having a good time. I won't rate a 10 because I don't have much to compare to other than the 1 or 2 fields I've been to in the past somewhere in Dallas, but the field layouts were great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

bushwacker1983 Monday, January 4th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: January 1st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tanks Katy PB
Twisted
SGT
PB Zone North & South
BSG
PB Bonanza
Paintball Mania
Directions
to the Field:
Grant Rd and Telge Rd in Cypress, Texas
Review: This field is now back under the former management from PBUSA days. Darrell McNeill is owner and operator and has brought Bobby back as Field Manager.

Safety: Safety is taken seriously at this facility. Refs are vigilant in maintaining a safe enviroment as are the players themselves. It is not unusual to hear people other than refs reminding players of safety. Refs carry handheld radarchrons...You are going to get chronoed here, so check yur speed and give yourself some leeway or you are going to miss a game turning your gun down up front at main chrono range which is manned by a referee.

Fields: The staff are constantly revamping, rebuilding, repairing, or completely redesigning field layouts on almost a weekly basis it seems. Nothing seems to be just thrown out on the field. Bunkers are thought out in their placing beforehand.
Currently 13 seperate fields are offered, several of these can be combined to make mega fields to accomodate the large crowds this field draws. Woodsball fields consist of Ja-make-a Pipe Field (completely redesigned Pallettown), Bochicaville, Ranger Manor, and Terran Base,
Terran Base is now rebuilt as of this writing. All are distinct in there construction and location on the field.

Speedball: Two Spool fields, Hyper Spool, Hyper Henge (Hyperball), SwingBall (Bunkers can turn 360 degrees), and of course there is the almost legendary Castle Two Castle field.

Prices: Green fee is 22.00 including all day air
TxR is Field Paint Only as of January 1, 2011

Paint starts at $45.00 a case for Field grade
$52 a case for Premium Grade
$60.00 a case Tourney grade

These prices are from their site. TxR is now Field Paint Only - Outside Paint is No Longer Allowed at all

Staff: Focused on customer service and trained. Games turn quickly here you have about 15 minutes to reload before the main group is leaving to play again. Games are split pretty evenly throughout the day.

Players: They range the whole spectrum from the Birthday kid playing for the first time to Highly experienced players. All are generally friendly and willing to lend a hand to help other players. You can occasionally see a real pro player enjoying rec ball here on the down low.

Proshop: It is small but generally will have the stuff you need to keep you going during the course of a day if something breaks. I have been told that the staff will special order anything you want or direct you to one of the local stores that they trust to treat the customer right.

Air Fills: HPA Self Service/ Supervised fills to the 3000-4500 range as well as Co2. They use a scale to make sure you got the correct fill on Co2 bottles. They check hydro dates on tanks, word to the wise don't try to fill an out of date tank!

Rules: There are safety briefings conducted before every game, explaining the game boundaries, etc. The general field rules are posted everywhere in the staging area it seems.

Overall this is an exceptional facility that is run by a group of dedicated paintball professionals trying to grow the sport. Owner and Manager do their best to at least say Hi and ask if your having a good time to everyone they meet during the day. If you are not then they try their best to find out why. Customer Service is what they are about.
Last edited on Wednesday, October 19th, 2011 at 10:55 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media