paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Galveston Island Paintball Field / Galveston Island Paintball Field / Galveston Island Paintball Field / Galveston Island Paintball Field

Galveston Island Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
6Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 360-731-6550
Address: 9020 stewart road
Galveston, Texas 77554
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
kamacaze7030 Sunday, February 12th, 2012
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 12th, 2012
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just moved down from the North East of the U.S new to the South.
Directions
to the Field:
61st street exit on I-45 south, Right onto Stewart Rd (Steward?) follow until you see the bunkers on your right in a big field.
Review: I ventured to G.I paintball on 02-11-2012 ( Saturday) to get some pick up group rec ball in. I pulled in and there was only 2 cars. The wind was gusting pretty good in Galveston. I went into the pro shop and the owner immediately introduced himself. He explained to me that more players may be in later, and told me to leave my Name and Cell # incase people showed up. He mentioned the field was holding a tournament the following day (Sunday) and the teams will be rec-balling afterwords.

The next day I showed up right after the tournament, turns out the owner is also a player. This is a real positive thing and it showed. Entry fee gets all day air re-fills, so NO nickle and dimeing your wallet all day. Paint prices are Really fair and seemed that it was stored and handled in good conditions.

The field is a really nice speedball field (PSP), and completely netted. there are picnic tables to place gear on and rest. The pro shop has an indoor bathroom which is awesome for any field to have, and sells snacks and drinks.

Only problem I saw was safety inside the netting, players coming on the field with no masks on while markers were "Hot" without barrel Bags on. The Chronograph station was located near a high traffic area, so people would have to wait to walk by or You would have to wait to Chrono. In fairness, When a few new players took off their masks when a game was getting set up, everyone let them know "Put your Mask On!"

The field is well maintained and set up nice, prices are really good, and the Owner treats you as a customer /human, not just a paycheck.

I Highly recommend G.I Paintball, Like them on Facebook to get updates on Weather and events.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Smokeage Sunday, August 15th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 15th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tactical Paintball- Best scenarios around
SGoT- Havnt played here in years. Horribly run in just about every area IIRC.
Zone North- Meh. I dont like the field itself too much. It is run well though.
Zone South- Flood-fields.
Tank's- 6 weeks to fix an A5 and 7 months to fix an Automag.
Splatterhouse- Haven't played here yet; looking forward to soon though.
Twisted- Too much downtime between games.
TxR- Nice field. Well run but Ive only played a few times.
Review: I live in Katy so driving out to Galveston sucks to say the least. With that being said this is already one of my favorite fields.

The owner is an awesome guy and a player most importantly. I think the problem with a lot of fields these days is that they are run by "industry" people instead of players.
He has zero problems sneaking in a few games when things aren't looking busy or to even out a team.

The refs are awesome as well. Its either the owner himself or a member of his team. You don't have to worry about some 12 year old being responsible for everyone's safety at this field.

The hours are something new but welcomed. On Sunday they open at 2pm and close at 8:30. Which is nice because you can sleep in AND avoid a little of the heat by playing into the night.

Prices are great too but honestly I cant remember any specifics right now. I want to say $55 for paint and $12 for air and entry but don't quote me on that.

The office is air conditioned which is great and they also have in-door men's and women's restrooms. Both of these are lacking at almost every field I have ever been to.

The field itself is a little lacking right now because he is waiting on grass to grow in some parts and the field is extremely new. There was only the one small X-ball field when we played today but it was fun to play and well maintained.

He is currently growing grass in the field that is a little closer to the office which will be great; It has several stadium style lights that are lined up to give EQUAL light to all parts of that field which will allow for games that go on well past 8:30.

Tl;Dr- This field is great. I cant wait to watch and help this field grow into one of the best in Texas.
Last edited on Sunday, August 15th, 2010 at 10:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Legs Monday, May 24th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 24th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at Zone South, Zone North, Tanks Paintball and Twisted. All of which holding their own against this field. These fields are all in Houston however.

G.I. Paintball is in Galveston and it's the only field there.
Directions
to the Field:
maps.google.com Galveston Island Paintball :p
Review: Me and my team heard about this field opening and decided to hit up last Sunday. We arrived 3 hours before the field opened and the owners dad actually called him up to let us in.

The flagship field is tight, and by tight i mean small, Xball field at the very front. Incredibly fun field for 2's, 3's and 4's. Hes got a attack and defend field being put up next to it which is playable but still under construction. The field is clean and very close to the beach so after a hard day of play a dip in the ocean is pretty much a must.

The grade of play is high for being a fledgling field and the field paint prices are awesome. 55$ for Premium Gold. The owner having previously played Millennium across seas, is well versed in the sport and is very adamant about handing down his knowledge to anyone willing to listen. Beyond that he still has a passion for the sport, we were fortunate enough to have him step on the field with us. Our overall experience was incredible and we'll definitely be back out there. I highly recommend giving this field a chance and keeping your eye on it as he develops.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FrontMan_7 Tuesday, May 18th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 16th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Zone. Tanks Katy Paintball. Few other Misc. fields. This field is great. Family friendly enviornment.
Review: I've been all over the Houston area competing for more than 5 years now. I live on the Island and before G.I.P opened I had to travel no less than an hour to get to another field for practice(Paintball Zone being the shortest distance away). This one just being opened and still expanding, I'd pick it over any field ANY day. If it wasn't already minutes away, I'd drive an hour to play here at Galveston Island Paintball. Very friendly staff, great prices, nice fields. Reffs call a fair game and don't even mind giving tips and advice to make someone a better player. I'd love to see this field expand. I'd love to see more players be recruited to this field.

Thanks Galveston Island Paintball!!!
I will see you very soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mfuen96 Sunday, May 16th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 15th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Directions
to the Field:
Behind the movie theater that is vissible from the sea wall
Review: The price to the the field is very reasonable, the price also included all-day air or co2, the rental guns at this facility were exeptional, and the staff were extremely friendly and were great with helping young players learn to move. The spools field may be small, but it was great fun. and the airball feild was great for close combat. Theses fields also have lights so it was great for night paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntball3r05 Friday, May 14th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 14th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
its right behind the movie theater. take seawall till your to the movies
Review: Its a awesome field their is just two fields for now but it has a huge spool and pallet field and one airball field. Its really fun and the staff is awesome especially the reffing they are all players. The building has a/c if you get to hot and their is also snacks and drinks for sale at a very reasonable price. You also have a great view of the airport.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media