paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Urban Assault Paintball Field / Urban Assault Paintball Field / Urban Assault Paintball Field / Urban Assault Paintball Field

Urban Assault Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
51Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 724-926-9000
Address: 1217 Laurel Hill Road
Mc Donald, Pennsylvania 15057
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Aussie_kid54 Tuesday, May 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
operation, TRP, PSA, Urban, My woods
Review: first of all, they need to clean the crap out of that place. second of all. one time i went there, me and my friend, only 5 people there for open game, we go up for paint, lady is talking on her cell, i get a case which it said on the menu thingy, she gets a case, opens it and gives me 2 bags. all for $99. then when im ready, 3 people already left so we play 1 game of hyper ball. then they leave. wait there for 20 minutes, play a game with coconut (who is a cool guy). then he leaves. but at the same time this rookie team is practicing and they didn't have enough players and they asked us if we could play with them. so i ask the lady behind the counter if me and my friend could play with them, and she said NO. now NO ONE ELSE IS THERE. and she wouldn't let us play with the team practice kids.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tipmannsurvivor Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
no other fields that compare with the indoor one.
Review: PAINT-$$$the paint is way to much money its $90 for a case$$$

SLIPPERY-don't try to run around or you will get seriously hurt because you slide about 15 feet if you try to stop suddenly, if you don't mind getting a few bumps and bruises just run into the bunkers, its more effective than stopping suddenly. The stairs to get ontop of the catwalk are slippery as shat, if you walk on them you fall, you are better off jumping down them.

REF- The only time that I went they only had one ref that didn't pay much attention to the game. There were people starting out on the middle of the catwalk so as soon as the game started you would get hit.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

«“NQŔ»R“R Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball - Less expensive
Paintball X-treme - really cheap, best place around (listed on pbreview as paintball extreme)
Woods - cheapest of all :P
Review: To start off my day, I walked in the door to find a sloping wet staging area, that is indoors. Yes, it was freaking raining in the building because the roof leaked like every foot. I did manage to find a dry spot, and went to get my paint and air filled.

The paint is outrageously expensive. 90 dollars for a full case of 5-year-old crap that is misshapen and horribly dimpled. I could find better stuff on the ground at some other fields. Biggest rip-off I have ever seen.

Second, the girl who filled my nitro tank filled it WAY too fast. If anybody is knowledgeable in this area, you know that you have to fill it semi-slowly or you could damage quite a few things. But noooo... full blast she goes, fills it up in like 1 second flat, luckily nothing on my tank was broken. Fills are 1$ per 1000 psi. Also co2 fills are like 5$ for a 20oz.

Ok so after I was thoroughly mad at the place, we started to play. The ref came out, saying that it was his first day working there. He weighed about 400 pounds, and was wearing like 5 sweatshirts. I asked him if he had ever played paintball before, he said no. I have never, ever, seen a paintball ref that hasnít played paintball before. Anyways to make a long story short, he kept standing in all the wrong places, blocking everybody's view at the person they were shooting at, and generally being a sucky ref.

Now about the field. First they make you turn your guns down to 230 fps, because of the close ranges, which is kind of hard (and a pain in the arse) when you have your perfectly regulated gun set to 290. The indoor part seems sweet at first glance, but donít let that deceive you. They have an x-ball field when you first go in, which half of the bunkers are half deflated. It doesnít matter though, because none of the rental kids ever want to play it, so with the 1 ref youíre pretty much stuck with the other part of the indoor field, which is like a big fort. The upper level is so encrusted with a million paintballs that anything you touch you slide right off. People fell down the stairs going to it because its worst than a damn ice rink. I fell twice, and then vowed to never go up there again. Somebody is going to be seriously injured sooner or later.

When we were done playing I came out to find my bag full of water, obviously the roof sprung a leak right over my bag. Argh... this place just gets on my nerves, I would have had more fun playing paintball in my garage than at this place.

Ahh wait, I forgot the best part. Somebody there had the brilliant idea of playing with absolutely no lights on except for a disco ball at the top. Yea real great idea there. You canít see a foot in front of your face, not to mention a person on the other side of the field. You just run around and smack into walls because you cant see them, and then notice that there is someone in front of you, and upon shooting them realize that they were on your team, but it is impossible to distinguish who is on your team and who is not, because it is completely DARK. Whoever thought of this idea is a complete MORON!

This place is a complete death trap. Inexperienced employees, especially the ref, hazardous playing area, and kids that do incredibly stupid stuff, like shoot other people in the back of the head on their team before the game starts (btw the ref didnít care), leads to a very unpleasant atmosphere. This place should be condemned. DONT GO HERE, IT COULD BE THE LAST THING YOU EVER DO, and btw if you hurt yourself, tough sheet, and cause you just signed away your rights upon entering the door!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

parker18230 Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball extreme, woods behind my house
Review: It has insanely high prices, $90 for a case of cheap paintballs and $8 for 100, You cant bring your own paint either

The indoor is alright, there is to much stuff in it though.

Ive been there about 6 times over the last 2 years but never been on the outdoor.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballerz13 Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
my backyard, my friends woods
Review: this place is pretty fun, except for the fact that when you pay for games, and you have to buy their own paint, make the prices a little less. Its 95.00 for 200 rounds! thats a joke, i like the castle and trenches field, but the hyper ball field is gettin kinda old, make a new one, i mean it already looks like it was just made 20 min ago! I wanna try to play on the air ball field, but they never seem to let us go! Another thing, this place has to many little kids running the show, i mean they say we get a 20 min game, and when i counted, it was only 8 min because the little babies had to get a drink of water, and couldn't keep on their masks! They also baby the kids to much, i mean, i got shot it the nuts, and fell over, on the ground laying their for the rest of the game, but when i shot this kid in the chest, while he was wearing a chest protector, he cried and they stopped the game immediately! The kids there are really good so its always good competition, even though i've only played 2 times, i don't know that much about paintball, this place is kinda good. i have never been to the indoor field so i don't know what thats like. i had a pretty good time, and i recommend you sneak paint into your pockets because they check you if your kinda jumpy and all.
i give this place an seven!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PAinTEagLE 11 Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
My property (woods)- because you can play how you want to
My friends property (woods)-good for the same reason
Urban Assault Indoor-writing review on
Urban Assault Outdoor-writing review on
Review: The first time i ever played paintball was with my best friend's youth group. We went to the outdoor field which had an outdoor speed ball field, an urban field (construction tubes set up like somewhat of a town)<-kinda hard to explain, a storm the castle field, and a forest setup(i didn't get to play that). For my first time this was not bad. Three of the refs were around 17 but the rest of the employees were around 30 so the service was pretty good. The guns (which are the same as the indoor) were mostly piranhas and were average (i just stuck with it instead of upgrading to a better gun). The fields were in good condition and the staging area was nice. The only real bad thing is the paint...its too expensive i cant remember how much but i think it was close to 90 dollars for a 1000 count, it was pmi which is fairly good paint. It wasn't to bad because everyone in the group pitched in only around 5 bucks each to get the case, but i wouldn't recommend going there without a group to help pay.

The second time i went to Urban Assault was also another friends church group (and some people he recruited from school to come), and we went to the indoor field. By this time i had already purchased and used my own gun several times, so i brought it along.The service here was a little worse, like 12 year old's behind the counters and 1 25 year old ref. This time the church group had reserved it i only had to help pay for the first case of paint, which wasn't bad. The co2 refills were also free due to the reservation. The field (i didn't play the speed ball) we played on had a 2 story complex built in side and the floor was gravel there were also tons of barrels and plywood bunkers. Other than the top floor of the complex(which was extremely slippery) the entire experience was alot better than the outdoor field, and if you plan on visiting urban assault go to the indoor one first. The place would be alot better and safer if it was hosed down probably once every 2 months. For the outdoor field i give an 7 and for the indoor field i give a 9. my rating is both averaged

I recommend bringing your own gun to the field and that unless your with people to help pay...bring a lot of money
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nscarnati Sunday, May 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBX, Three Rivers, everywhere in Pittsburgh basically
Review: This place is horrible...
- ZERO customer service, it's basically run by kids who treat PAYING CUSTOMERS like kids...
- they set policies, scream at people who don't follow them, but they feel that they themselves don't need to follow their policies...
- about $100 a case for paint (PMI premium i think)
- they actually try to sell used paint (paint that's been shot, then picked up off the ground by their staff)
- they don't care about building any kind of good relationship with the teams that practice there, so if you're a team, go somewhere that runs a more professional business and care if you come back to their field
- the staff their actually fights with each other in front of the customers, and complain to the customers about other staff members... a little hint, WE DONT CARE, do your job

- the only good thing is they can fill 45k tanks
- they have a lot of fields outdoors to choose from if you like variety

also, good luck not blowing out a tire or dropping your exhaust on the horrible road to their outdoor field, not their fault since they don't own the road, but they need to work on calling up the city or state to fix it
Last edited on Thursday, May 13th, 2004 at 11:42 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Finalblink41 Saturday, April 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Urban Assult is a decent facility, extremly unkept, but decent. However there are some major issues with how Urban Assult is run. First of just in case any other paintball field owners dont know... IF YOU HIRE INEXPERIENCED CHILDREN (yes little kids basically run that place) YOU WILL RECIEVE INEXPERIENCED RESULTS! I was furious with the ref job during some of these matches! 1 ref. for 40+ people, that's a joke. Calls are RARLY ever made. Many players simply continue playing with a body full of paint, like nothing ever happended! Im a back player for a 3-man team (D.O.A.) and we practice at Urban (only because of location!) and I see all of this going on during live games. Paint price is an absolute horror, I hope you just hit the lottery to pay for the 95+ $ a case YES a case. The fields themselves are ok, they offer many out door fields, which are nice. The indoor air ball is much to small but good for practice. The out door X ball is very nice and put together. Over all the fields are nice but the aggrivation will send you home quickly. Urban Assult better hire some real PLAYERS to ref REAL PLAYERS, if they plan on bein open much longer.
Last edited on Saturday, April 3rd, 2004 at 8:34 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

s5150 Wednesday, March 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Three Rivers - Great Field
War in the Woods - Awsome
Review: The refs at Urban Assult are terrible, they look bored out of their minds. They blew the whistle and then hid. One day we were there hthey had like 30 -40 people for an open game and there was only one ref. They say that you have to use field paint but when the ownere isn't thier you can use anything that you want. Their prices are way overpriced. Most of the players that go there are spoiled little brats with 1000 dollar guns who refuse to leave once they are shot because they don't like being shot by someone with a tippman or spyder.

The place is also in dire need of being cleaned. The whole place smells like a sewer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bzktmoto Saturday, February 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The overall facilities are nice, the fields i like alot especially the outdoor since there are soo many different kinds to chose from. Most of the Staff are nice but some are retards. They sell used guns that they say are 99' Autocockers but is really a 95' so they rip you off. The prices for paint are really high they say they are a "special" mix that is washable, most every paint is washable. The guys who fill your tanks are dumb becuase u ask them to fill ur tank to 4500psi and they only fill it to 3000 and make u pay 4 bucks for the 4500 fill. The punisher store is a great addition but they only carry everything but autococker things, when u need an autococker fixed they have to send it to a guy that only comes on a tuesday and he still doesnt even know what wrong with it so they send it back so overall it takes 3 or 4 weeks for your gun to get back to you with absolutly nothing done to it. But the prices at the store are really reasonable and if they cant fix something they dont charge you for it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media