paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
245Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 416-781-0991
Address: 54 Wingold Avenue
Toronto, Ontario M6B 1P5
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
dog-of-Dislexia Sunday, December 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51
Paintball City
Review: Pros:

-If you like to wipe, the refs sure as hell won't notice.

-The employees are nice to you when you are giving them money, if you are questioning
what they offer you they get pissed off.

-If you know the guys who work there you can bring your own cheaper, high quality paint.
If you don't know them, then you're going to be shelling out some serious cash for the awful paint they distribute.

- You can get a coupon for free entry, rental and 100 paintballs from their website.

- The guy in the pro-shop with the dreadlocks : Shawn actually knows what he's talking about.

Cons:

-Shawn is rarely there.

- VERY, unsafe! The ref who sat there and made me listen to my 20th 'safety briefing' ,decides while he is standing in between another player and myself while we are shooting at each other, that now is a good time to lift his mask and have a smoke.

- BAD rentals, I won't even try to describe them.

-Rental masks are scratched to hell.

-Paint is unbelievably expensive, and of very low quality even if you are an owner.

- Worst refs in the universe. They sit in a tower and pay no attention to what is going on.

- Lighting is very dark, if you are into fast paced speedball games then this isn't for you. If you are into stealth type playing strategies I guess this could be your thing.

- They don't have enough barrel covers for the number of rentals they have. And if you own your own cool barrel cover don't put it in the bin as you enter the arena, when you are coming back out of the arena your nice cover will now be gone.

Overall:
I would just say goto Area51. Even though the guy in the proshop at area51 is somewhat more rude than the people at Sgt. Splatters, the overall experience at area51 is far more worthwhile.
Last edited on Sunday, December 7th, 2003 at 1:36 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

stealth91 Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Took a look at PBC
Diehard paintball #1 field - BEST PRICES ANYWHERE www.diehardpaintball.on.ca
Paintball Wilderness- ok field, some staff members are a**es

live in windsor.
Review: Horrible Horrible Horrible....

Pros- Had pod funnels
their 1 and only level was large
they had vending machines

Cons- Worst reffing ever. How can you expect to ref from a tower overlooking the field up high. you can see someone getting hit but do you think they will actually listen? When they arent in the tower they dont pay attention at all. Horrible horrible refs, like i ref and i am 14, there is no problem with age its how you ref that makes the difference. simply, refs are just basically specators and do nothing to benifit the players aside from saying what the game is. plus they must be morons because they tried to put sgt. splatters' amatuer team (5 of them) again a pack of like 17 renters and beginner gun owners for fun. like come on please, brains?

-Very Very packed and unorganized. Everyone was everywhere, in doorways, near tables, just asking to get your stuff stolen. some people could probably walk onto the field unoticed.

-SAFETY, SAFETY, SAFETY. I see no point in checking for barrel plugs (if they do) while keeping the chrony shoved behind the counter area where most people arent allowed. No one has masks behind there and you shoot you chrony shots into a paint filled box. like wow. plus safety enforcement in the staging area was pitiful, someone could has a loaded gun there, take off the barrel plug and they would only notice til you got onto the field. plus on the field, very sharp and uncraftsmen field bunkers make for easy cutting etc. while running or sliding into bunkers.

- Nitro Fills. Only fill to 2000psi. or at least last time i was there. whats up with that? if you have a trix you need to get filled every game.

PRICES- shi* son. most expensive field i have ever been to, probably not the most expensive in ontario but ranks quite high. 240 a case come on, thank god it goes down to 160 for gun owners (still high) and down to 150 on halfprice day (10 bucks big whoop). I can also respect the pricing for the rentals being higher for the higher end rentals but at least up keep them so they work properly.

Paint- crappiest paint i have ever used in my life. when it shot (if it did) it would curve. when it broke it would stain clothes and skin, and equipment (ie. brothers smoke freak grips, now smoke with a hint of pink). like my hands stayed pink for 2 days. When we went we payed 160 for the case, huge rip.

Field- Large but they only have 1 field level. Most games the refs did not allow us to go on the 2nd floor. LIGHTING IS ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. if you stand at your 10, you cant see past your 50. setup is mediocre. Everything is covered in paint, like 1-3 inches thick. I know its paintball but come on, wash the field down once and a while here. plus this aint iraq, nothing like war, no comparison, you go for the experience, not experience it like war and in war conditions.

Proshop- Small, had barely anything in stock at a reasonable price. sales lady hadent the clue of what anything was, what it did, and even the price. jus sat there watching tv.

Location- is ok, nothing special
Cheating- Um can you say Wipertonville and Bonus Ball City. Darkness doesnt help and the refs dont help about that at all either, witnessed newbs getting pounded and pounded when they repeatedly yelled out (refs stood in their tower watching), it only stopped until it resorted to innapropriate language in front of everyone.

Staff- friendly when you are giving them money, otherwise they dont give a rats ass. unhelpful, sometimes rude.


Simply this field is a bad field, and i had a horrible experience along with my brother. At the time it was around march when we went, i was shooting a 2k2 autococker with some ups, and my bro was shooting a totally tricked tippy with warp, we had roughly 1 years experience. Now we are tourney players with 1 year tourney experience. i shoot an ebladed black magic with halo and my bro shoots a PTP micro emag. We know what we experienced and it was a crappy one compared to other fields. if you are even in southern ontario go to diehard, excellent field, service, fills and most of all prices (85 a case of RPS or Diablo for members ($50 for 1 year) and 95 for non members). This field can eat my a** with a spoon. biggest waste of time and most of all my fathers money who payed for paint for that occasion.
Last edited on Saturday, November 22nd, 2003 at 2:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

JohntheBunkerer Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball City
Review: This is a great place for newbies, as they get taught all about painball, get to play great games and this is the place where they learn to love the sport.

For owners, this is also great because there are always so many (new) people to shoot at. Not to sound evil or anything like that...

I'm sick of everyone ragging on Splatter's. This place is where it's at. Many people complain about the lack of lighting. When was the last urban war YOU fought/watched on tv fought solely during the day. Suck it up guys. My first gripe on the field is that they sometimes let the ground sand get too nasty and it's like playing in an inch of paint and sand. Not a nice mix for running in/slathering on your gun/gear. The staff here is always friendly. But the proshop is rarely open. Secondly, there are always these little boys who work there and tote Angels that they're parents bought for them (I've heard them/asked them numerous times) and these guys ref the games. They suck. Stevie Wonder could ref a better game than these guys. Except for the bigger guy with shaggy hair. He's pretty good. Lastly, owners who clean their guns before and after each use (like me) you gotta stay off the ground or you be cleaning your marker all night. And people please stop complaining that Splatter's is overly dirty because this is paintball, not a school Prom. So what do you expect?
Last edited on Wednesday, November 19th, 2003 at 1:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stupid-old-turd Tuesday, November 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
area 51 paintball park( downsview mills)
Review: This is a old paintball field with a reputation of drawing newbies out and giving them great games.

You may think i have over-rated this fieild but, there are just so many newbies to pick off! its great fun! its almost like a gopher boping game!

You may want to bring a gun that looks old and shabby so that you dont have the noobies suspecting their premature deaths. ( I just put mud all over my evolution II loader and 32 degrees btb electronic, make shure you go and give those newbies hell !)*** if the refs. allow you to change firing modes in game, go for it you turd. i recomend full auto when the refs. are gone!***

Be shure to go on a monday to get half price.
Last edited on Sunday, November 16th, 2003 at 5:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wambet Friday, October 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: From its inception, Sgt Splatters has followed the motto - Go Big or Go Home. The playing field is gigantic. Offering any number of places to hide and stalk your opponents. There are always new elements being added to the mazes which helps alleviate running the same patterns time after time. The floor is a sand base, but much preferred for diving and crawling - think of the last time you slide into home plate on a gravel diamond... ouch !

Safety is at the forefront of everything. It may seem as if the staff is a bit up tight or even fanatical about this - however, taking a popular expression and making it fit the situation - it is never fun when someone looses an eye.

The facility is based around wanting the participants to enjoy themselves and have fun with others. Always wanting to encourage the improvement of the players, Sgt. S. staff will offer advice on improving your marksmanship, game strategies and evasion techniques.

Having the opportunity to bring your own equipment out to play is a rare treat. But the guns and equipment that are available for rental are of a high caliber. The encouragement of the staff to get out there and give it your all is quite refreshing.

The many times I and my mates have played at this field have always been enjoyable. Most highly recommend.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Degauss Wednesday, October 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I'm not from T.O.
Review: First of all, I would like to say that this was probably the worst paintball experience i've ever had. The only good thing about this place was the guy with dread locks. He was probably the most helpful person

Pro's:
-The guy with dread locks. he was the only one who knew what he was talking about.
-They're huge on safety in the waiting area

Con's:
-The field was very poorly lit
-The field was unbelievable dirty, paint everywhere, if you were shot, you'de never know because if you rubbed up against a wall you'd be slathered in paint goo. the sand is rotten and gross.
-The ref for my game was terrible! He was actually 12 years old, or thats what he told me when I asked, perhaps he was lying, either way he was horrible. If the ref is shot during a game, he ended the game. While the game was in process, he would run back and forth between bunkers like he was playing the game and when I asked what he was doing he simply replied, "Practicing". So the ref ran between bunkers like a player practicing for HIS game's yet, if someone mistakes him for a player due to what he's doing and is shot, he ends the game? Sure... thats fair..
-The Rental equipment was terrible (I was unable to bring my equipment with me when I flew to Ontario) They are Zap Point Zero. I had to manually push the trigger forward every time I wanted to fire because it would stick.
-The paint was terrible
-The ref didn't seem to care a whole lot when people wiped, ever after being hit 2 and 3 times
-The proshop is tiny, and the person who was in it could tell me almost nothing about any of the products they had in stock.

Overall, like I said I had a very bad time, and will probably never go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball_JJ Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball city(alot better)
Review: First off this place has to be the worst place i have ever played in my life! here are the reasons you SHOULDN'T got here
1:terrible field its dark , full of paint, and has sand on the ground
2:the staff ignores you it takes like 8 mins just to get your balls and stuff
3:they don't chronograph your gun i got shot by a gun that can break hoppers literally
4:their proshop is pitiful
5:they rent the good guns and crap guns for more or less money
6: there paint is the worst i have ever seen not one left my gun intact and i have a pretty good gun
7:way over crouded they had like 60 people in there at one time

these are all the reasons not to go to sargent splatters
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dogkicker Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlands - Outdoor, ok
Combat Valley - Outdoor, excellent
Review: This field is one of my first few to play on. The size for an indoor field is phenomenal, and the employees are great.

Prices are average, the fact that it's pretty much always open is a bonus for those of us who don't sleep :)

I can live with the sand, and the paint on everything, heck, it's paintball. You're not SUPPOSED to come out clean, but the ramps, and corners could get a little work done. Almost lost a shoe there. Guess I should wear boots.

All-in-all, the staff is helpful, don't quip about o-rings and CO2, they put my buddy's new maglines on his spyder in no time and didn't even charge him for other than the parts. Pro-shop is a little understocked, but prices aren't really as bad as people are making them out to be. Everyone's entitled to a profit.

ON field staff is another story, and can ruin the experience. Refs not paying attention, calling games, tossing out people for safety violations, etc. Not a good thing if you have some new guys wanting to learn the sport, and showing problems like this.

I've rented there, and had the marker jam on me a couple times, but it's easy enough to fix. Only rental problem I had was the masks. Scratched so bad you can't see half the time. Then again, it's a rental and hundreds of people use them.

Lighting kinda sucks, but I can live with it. It would be better if there were dark areas, rather than everything being pitch-black. Otherwise it's pretty cool. The buildings and object setup is also really good, and I have a lot of fun dodging, running, and diving behind things. And there's a lot of it to do.

While I'd love to give this field a 9, I can't justify it with the lack of concern for safety by the refs (volunteers maybe?). Maybe I'll change my review if things change. I would hope so, because it's also located dead-centre of Toronto and is easy to get to for anybody.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

buckles Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball City (Safest)
Diehard Paintball (Best Field, Best Price, Best Service)
Ultimate Paintball Adventure (Most Friendly Refs)
Niagara Tactical (Most Friendly Teams)
Review: Well Sgt. Splatters is the first paintball place I played at and I thought it was awesome. But now that I have played at other BETTER fields and have gotton some experience I realize how bad it is.

The Good: The only good parts of this field are its location, and the size.

The Bad: Well where do I start....
The Field has the worst prices every for the worst paint imaginable
The field is over-crowded and the staging area is small
The pro shop is small
The field is disorganized
Dangerous
DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY
and the refs never pay attention to the game

The only reason why I'm giving this field a 1 is because it started my fascination with paintball, im never going there again unless I have to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Khera1 Thursday, October 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51, Soldier Of Fortune
Review: Pros: Bring your own paint Sunday's before 12:00 (very cheap)



Cons: Rental's are bad because it is old, Pro shop is ok but it is never opened, Staff are very strict about things,it is very dark so u cant see anything,the sand makes all your clothes dirty.



I think there are better places then this but it is cheap on some days.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media