paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
245Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 416-781-0991
Address: 54 Wingold Avenue
Toronto, Ontario M6B 1P5
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
sammynacpb Tuesday, June 16th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 31st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
There are not many others but eastie boys, paintball city and Area 51.
Directions
to the Field:
Google map it.
Review: This field is great for gun owners as they now have BYOP running 2 times a week. (Wednesday 6:00 PM-close, Sundays 9 AM to 2 PM). People say its dirty but they actually clean it every wednesday very thouroughly. This can tell you a little bit about how much business they get especially during peak periods like on saturdays and sundays. By sunday the whole field looks like its oil covered due to the fact something like 100 cases of paint have been shot all over the walls. They do their best to keep the field and staging area clean aswell as a steady supply of towels, soap and water to all players who might have been hit during previous games. In general it is very pricey and i wish just one major field would lower their prices on field paint so then that way everyone else would too. this would solve alot of problems, especially for speedball players that can use 100 rounds in 4-9 seconds with certain markers. anyways back to the field. The food is just vending machines that actually dont take loonies and toonies which was kinda weird. The proshop is well stocked and has prices comparable and sometimes lower than canadian paintball and badlands. Honestly though the basic rental equipment is garbage. i have seen people getting better range and accuracy by throwing paintballs. the 98's they have there are decent tho and i have used them b4. this field gets an 8 due to the fact its not noob friendly.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hutch1122 Monday, May 25th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 10th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB City - Ok place to play once in a while, gets a bit dirty on they speedball field.
Eastie Boyz - Best place to play indoor sup-air in the city
Defcon Paintball - Very Small, No theme really... Needs alot of work...
Directions
to the Field:
Located Near yorkdale, pretty easy to find, just check out they're website.
Review: Hours and Location:

Sgt Splatter's is very easy to find, quick drive from the major highways in the city. Tons of room for parking, and there are quite a few restaurants and places nearby to go after a day of paintballing. (my friends and I always go and grab some pizza after a fun day).
They're open 24 hours a day 7 days a week, as they advertise. The latest I've been there has been about 1 am on a Friday night, and they still had games going on.. but I have not been there any later than that.

Prices:

They're prices are pretty standard across the board in compared to other fields in the GTA. They have BYOP times, which are sunday morns and wed nights?..(I think, check they're website). They sell cases of paint in the shop pretty cheap... 35-50$/2000 balls depending on the type of paint. They have membership rates for gun owners which give people a pretty good deal too.

Staff:

This is where Sgt Splatter's really sets itself aside from most other paintball places I've been too. The staff has always been super cool with my friends and I, always joking around or helping us out when we have a problem. They even ask us if we want and food when they order in they're supper lol. The proshop staff is just as awesome, as they always price match any items for me as well as take the time to answer my stupid questions. Hats off to the Staff at Sgt Splatters!

Proshop:

The Proshop is pretty decent as well... Prices are competitive, service is fast and there is a wide variety of products always in stock.. Not much more I can say about the store. A++

Field:

Perhaps one of the best indoor places I've ever played at. Yes it is sand on the ground, and sand gets everywhere... But it is alot better that some of the carpet I've played on. They have added a couple of new buildings over the last couple of months, and from what I hear they plan on doing even more renovations. Definitely a pretty awesome field for anyone to play on.


Overall:

9/10 (only because no place is perfect :P, but its pretty close)
For sure the best indoor field I've played at in the GTA, They've been around forever from what I know.. and that doesn't surprise me. Keep it up Splatters!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment

luke.21 Sunday, May 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DEFCON Paintball - (this is definitely the best field in the North York area. Way better than Splatters, they will have an outdoor field open on May23rd)

Paintball City - (this field is also better than splatters but not as good as DEFCON)
Review: Okay so I have split this review up into sections, before i start I just wanted to say that the first time I went paintballing was here, and I had a blast, but I didn't understand some things ands now I do which I wish i knew back then (2 years ago), okay lets start.


Field - This field is dirty, mucky, humid, filled with sand, every single wall or roof on this place is covered with paint and oil, (has never been cleaned), but its not that bad overall, I dont notice it too much, but it's still a flaw, They should clean it up sometimes dammit.

Staff - Oh my god, I can't stress this enough, there staff is a piece of S***, okay whenever I go there they are always grumpy, never smile or crack jokes, they just grunt and chew on a hamburger, and if you make a mistake they will get frusterated, like one time i asked if I could borrow a tank, back when i didn't own one, they were like "were not letting you take apart our guns", and I said im not touching the gun I just want the tank, he got furious and sort of yelled with temper, "thats still taking apart our guns!"

Other than the people that work at the desk, the referees and the proshop staff are pretty good.

Prices - Lord help me, these prices are unbelievable, $150 for a case! Are you joking I can get a case of Stingers for $40 and Stingers are better quality than there paint!
And like $6 for High Pressured Air refills, are you kidding me, for most fields thats all you need to pay, but every time you run out you have to pat another $6! At DEFCON its free, every refill or your first fill, its free!

Equipment (Rental Gear) - Okay masks are crappy and broken up, my friends mask was cracked andt hey wouldn't let him get a new one, they were like, the mask you get is the one you get! Thats a safety violation actually. And the basic package is some crappy 10 year old pirnahas and you have to pay $10 to upgrade to the tippmann 98 custom which are in crappy condition and are probably 20 YEARS OLD.

Proshop - Okay overall the proshop is pretty good, thye have a wide range of selections from woodsball to speedball weapons, (BT - 4s, Tippmanns, Invert, Smart Parts, ect)
The staff in the proshop are also extremmely nice as well whenever I buy stuff from them.

Overall this field is okay, it's just there staff that are a bit on the edgy side but I think they are tired from working 8 hours, but still they should show some quality of manners.
Also I forgot the lighting in the field is really bad, the field itself is okay, overall I give Sgt Splatters a 5/10.
(which is average)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

helloimlam Thursday, April 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 21st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
The closest one to splatters i know of it PB city.
Directions
to the Field:
google map it...
Review: Location:

Splatters was the first field i started to play paintball at about over a year ago and im pretty impressed at their renovations between then and now

The briefing room upstairs is much larger now and there are windows to look down at the field (the party room up there is like a closet though, sorry guys).

The lobby/staging area is well...like any other staging area with a couple of lockers to keep your stuff in. You don't really have to worry about your stuff getting stolen though, so i leave my luggage in the briefing room (everytime i went to splatters there were a couple of other gun owners and good people who watch over your stuff for you - thanks guys). I don't recommend you keeping your stuff unattended if there are lots of rentals and 'newbs' on that day though...

The field went through a couple of good renovations as well through the year, balancing the game out a little better and from what i remember adding a second-story level at the far end of the field that was not there before. I do not really like the lighting on the field (fairly dark) as it promotes camping 24/7 and cheaters/wipers. I mean come on man, i have a woodsball/scenario setup and i have to rush in on the front lines to make the game more interesting...Pretty much everything on the field is covered with oil from the paint and sand on the ground so bring extra change of clothes when you play there - they should clean it up more often (the lighting may be a negative factor to that)...

Staff:

They are friendly (well at least to me because i know some of the staff there for a while). If you don't like their rough humor (particularly from Jr, haha) at times, well get used to it and open up. They have really long work hours (not saying that they should) and i couldn't blame them if they start nagging at idiots.

The dude at the Pro-shop is a pretty cool guy. kudoos

The refs are a WHOLE different story though. 80% of them are pure trash (I don't even think they are qualified for the job). They don't even do their job most of the time and just sit in the ref balcony talking on the phone or start putting down rentals saying how superior they are to everyone else. I felt like shooting them from the other balcony once to get their act together. These people pay you for something other than doing nothing and verbally abusing them.

Price:

Im sorry Splatters but your prices are just ridiculous. I can buy the same quality of paint for 40 bucks (2000 balls) at badlands instead of burning a hole in my wallet for 150 bucks?

I've only had to fill my 20oz co2 tank once everytime i went there so i never had to worry about refilling prices.

And how about gathering all those 10 year old piranhas and chucking them into the garbage chute and get all 98's? the basic rental guns are pure garbage, all my friends keep complaining about their gun jamming and such. We shouldn't have to pay an extra 10 bucks to upgrade to a 98 either (some of the 98's are pretty bad as well).

So expect to have a hole in your wallet by the end of the day if you paintball at splatters (gun owners and renters alike)

Pro Shop:

The woodsball/scenario equipment/mods are out of stock most of the time...I do like the prices on the cyclone upgrades compared to that of badlands though *thumbs up*. In general though, this shop is not a shop for scenario players...too bad the store at area 51 closed down...

Conclusion:

Eventhough Splatters is my home field and i know the stuff there, I'd have to review this as a true critic. Sorry guys, but you have to do something about your prices lighting on the field, and your refs (THEY SUCK). Everything else is fine. I rate this field a 7/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cossack Wednesday, March 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Flag Raiders Indoor/Outdoor
The Paintball Arena Kitchener
Review: I only went to Sgt splatters once and wil not be returning. While there we played the same game over and over for over 2 hours only changing ends once. The staging area was dirty along with the field, the staff were rude, the field was crowded and boring and was unsafe none of the group I was in were asked to check their velocity and little to no brifing was given. To top off the rest of the expirience a bag was stlen while we were on the field I can honestly say I would have rather stayed home.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spikespaintball Monday, March 16th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gladiators, Area 51 if you want to go really far away.
Directions
to the Field:
Go to google maps. 51 wingold drive.
Review: Heres the review:

Safety- One ref sits up in a building during the game and most people i have encountered at the field are nice. at the end of the game a staff member checks wether you have you barrel condom on or he sends you back to get yours.

Fields- One very large field with various houses and cars and there is a two story building at the back of one field for attack and defend games. Not great if you want a true speed ball experiance but it is fun.

Prices-exorbent paint prices ($15 per 100 paintballs) but if you go on BYOP sunday which is from 9-12 it is only $30 to use your own case. Air is $6 per fill and $10 for the day, air for the day is reccomended. I do not no the Co2 prices cause i only use air.

Rules- I go on BYOP days and it is mainly full field elimination until theres about 50 people there then it is attack and defend. Defenders have the two story building and the attackers storm it which is pointless cause the defenders just murk the attackers and its over in about one minute.

Proshop- fully stock with smat parts, kingman, tippman, and BT merchandise and other companies guns plus V1 paint. For some reason they dont sell grenades (?) which are very useful and somewhat fun to use in the field.

Staff- Very helpful but strict staff, If a kid just got a new piece of gear and they dont know how to use it, they will tell the kid how work it and some tricks cuz there nice.

Players- most are nice players and play fair, but some that ive met there do not chorny and never go out when there hit, but they usually get kicked out after a few complaints by players, overall most are nice and are geat players.

Lighting- very dark place could use a few lights being replaced, and some more added, but some players shoot at the lights for target practice before the game and subsequently break them eventually. it is sometimes so dark you cant see were your paint went.

Overall- A great field for big games on byop days but could increase the lighting and tone down there paint prices to increase buisness on days other than byop days
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Poncho Villa Saturday, January 17th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gladiator, Defcon, EAStie BOyz
Directions
to the Field:
Just off Dufferin, North of Eglinton.
Review: Just got in from a day there, so here it goes.

Pricing
3/10
I don't want to heavily slag the prices at Splatter's because they do offer half price entry and rentals all through the week from 10am - 4pm and all day monday, but they do charge through the nose for balls on peak business hours. 40$ for rental kit, $15/100 balls for renters, $10/100 balls for gun owners. Also their pro shop is ridiculously over priced on every thing.

Staff
3/10
The refs at Splatters are really awesome guys who seem like they're enjoying themselves at least a little bit. Thats where the good stops though. The guys behind the counter are short-tempered, ugly little fat dudes, that seem to be angered that working at a field doesn't get them the chicks off the DVD's. The guys in the pro-shop are generally as helpful as the store clerk at a Wal-mart.

Field
4/10
Very large tactical field, with sand base. Many well built bunkers. Totally filthy though. This place hasn't been cleaned since it was built. Every square inch of wall space is coated in an inch of paint and oil. Fun for beginner's though. Lot's of different games to be thrown in, and the level of play is more about camping and shooting blindly over a windowsill so there's no need to worry about getting stormed over.

Overall
Splatter's is forever going to be a mainstay in Toronto paintball. They do a tremendous job advertising and getting their confusing little coupons out in the market. I don't really like to play there but they don't and shouldn't care because for every one person they turn away, 10 more are going to come through the door with a birthday party.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

xPatriot Sunday, December 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBNATION - Nice pro shop Great tech in there named Mike, inexpensive entry, bad field
PB CITY - Excellcent pro shop, random techs, fair entry fee, okay field
Directions
to the Field:
Use their site
Review: I went to SGT Splatters the first time it seems like decades ago. As a young kid new to paintball, I really liked how they took us upstairs, made us watch a saftey video, made us sign a waiver and went through everyhting that we could possibly encounter. It was always that memory why I had such a softspot in my heart for this place and what got me into paintball.

Pricing 1/10

I know when to call B.S, B.S. before I became an owner and visited other fields, I never understood how much more we were paying when we did go paintballing. Their coupon is the equivalent of a bait and switch flyer ad from Futureshop (before it was bought by Best Buy) And with sales reps and refs that felt like they were working on commission. It essentially goes with the saying, "LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION" because of its location, and the type of clientele it receives, it charges more then what it should. Essentially, it makes Paintball on par with golf when it comes to price.

Staff 6/10

The staff is both good and bad, I understand the fundamentals of business. And that people bringining in outside paintballs is wrong. I have seen many a person removed from the field for doing this. And I always used to be one of those people who could not understand why they did this, until I went paintballing other places. To put it in perspective, you know that feeling you get when you know something just ain't right? That is the feeling you get when at SGT Splatters. They have forgotten with all their corporate events and bait and switch coupons, that people play paintball for the fun and meet and greet aspect of it. They care about the almighty dollar. Which is why their BYOP is at Sunday only from 9am to 12pm. 3 hours for 25 dollars. AND if you need, they have 100 dollar a box paint availible.

Field 7.5/10

In the beginning I loved this field, and that's because my mom used to do my laundry and buy my clothes (give me a break I was like 14 or something and it was the early/mid 90's. When this place opened up and we used to go and get dirty and we were renters so the markers didn't matter. It matters now. Sand?!? More like quick sand, but they do clean up, so I will give them that.

Final Thoughts

Essentially, this place is for people who want to go paintballing once a year or less. Its not for the weekend warrior and or the die hard paintball fan. Keep in mind, I never had an issue with this place until I ventured out, and saw how bad we were getting ripped. What I used to spend one day at SGT Splatters I can now used for 3 to 4 days at most other fields. When something like paintball which in many people's view is still a fringe sport, with relationships and sportsmanship important to maintain relationships for repeat business, I have to say SGT fails. This is not to say that they don't have a great business model, that there is no doubt, out of all of them, I am sure they are more profitable then all the other fields in the GTA combined. (See location location location above and pricing) It is my opinon that they have taken the heart out of the game, and that can be witnessed by watching their sales side operate on any given day. As much as I loved it and thank them for introducing me to Paintball, I doubt if they will see my patronage again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dbowman70 Tuesday, November 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 31st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Paintball Arena (Kitchener) - brighter, solid surface, cheaper
The Paintball Arena (Guelph) - strictly speedball, brighter, solid surface, cheaper
Outerlimits (Stratford) - outdoors, cheaper, multiple playing fields
Review: This was an interesting place to play and I'm glad I can say I went but I won't go again.

Pros:
- unique playing environment since it's like being on a desert at night
- large field with lots of room to run
- multiple playing levels since some of the buildings have 2 floors

Cons:
- price of balls ($15 / 100 plus tax for renters and $10 / 100 plus tax for owners)
- the playing surface is covered in sand and 1/2 the field is saturated with the oil from the paintballs so expect to take home a souvenir of your adventure, which is hard on everything it touches.
- extremely dark so expect to play the spray and pray way since everyone camps the entire game. For example people were able to stand 50 feet in front of you fully exposed at times and all you see was their LED light on their hopper and the sound of the balls slamming beside you to know that they were even there.

Like I said in the beginning I know that me and my friends won't go back but this may be right up your alley depending on your playing style.

The Proshop there is very nice.
The staging area was very small.
The counter staff was decent.
The referee was nice but listened to his MP3 player away from the action.

Happy Paintballing
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Da Fish Sunday, August 17th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: We used this pbReview.com forum to determine the best fields in our local area to visit. The reviews we read about Sgt. Splatters were glowing. But when we visited Sgt. Splatters today for our first paintball experience - it was a very painful and costly learning experience and one that I do not want other people to encounter.

So, first to the financial pain:

As first time paintballers I brought a group of four 14 year old boys to celebrate my son's birthday. I brought along a couple of "two for one" coupons that were available from the Sgt. Splatters website, hoping to save a few bucks. When we arrived we were charged $38 per person for the gear to play for 4 hours - $158 bucks total. We received 100 balls each and went through them in the first 10 minute game. Ouch! I explained that we were new to the Sgt. Splatters staff, he said "too bad," and proceeded to purchase another 800 balls at a cost of $135. Afterwards, I found out from the gift shop staff person that balls could be purchased cheaper in bulk... thanks a lot (sarcasm there!) to the Sgt. Splatters staff who knew we were first time users and failed to inform us and help us to save money.

Next to the ignorance of the staff:

Then, to add further insult, when the guns were getting low on CO2, after playing 3 rounds for about 15 minutes over the span of an hour and a half, the boys asked the Sgt. Splatters staff to have their CO2 checked. The guns were confiscated from two of the boys and the balls removed from a third boy because they had found an external ball in one of the chambers. Since we have never been paintballing before, I cannot fathom how we could be accused of bringing in outside balls. The balls we used were the ones they sold us.

The discussion I had with the Sgt. Splatters staff member showed him to be both rude and ignorant. I asked him to please return the 300 balls that he had taken so that we could finish our gaming. He accused me and the boys of bringing in outside balls and threatened to have us ejected from the facility. I explained that we had purchased all of the balls from him and he refused to discuss this with me. When I suggested that he could lose us as customers he said "fine" and pointed to the door.

We left. We will not return. We will encourage all of the people we know to avoid this facility. Please be mindful of this ignorant type of behavior and be careful when visiting Sgt. Splatters.
Last edited on Sunday, August 17th, 2008 at 2:02 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media