paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
245Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 416-781-0991
Address: 54 Wingold Avenue
Toronto, Ontario M6B 1P5
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  Last
        Next Page
MastaMinD Sunday, September 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
area 51
Review: Pros - great staff
great play area

cons
puddles of mud AND paint
bad rentals (thank god i own)
bad refs

great place to start Pbing, and if want to run over a few people who have very little experiance casue chances are their rentals wont be able to reach u, or they have horrible aim

i say try it once just for the experiance
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Teena Friday, September 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51 - not as friendly
Paintball City - staff was preoccupied with their own needs and not with customers needs
Review: Sgt. Splatters had extremely helpful staff. I entered their environment with very little experience and received great advise and tips from the staff. As a female new to paintball I have felt intimidated walking into other paintball fields but at Sgt. Splatters they actually sympathized with my lack of experience and helped me to get set up and kick some butt on the field.

The field itself is spacious with two levels and lots of props to provide cover. I recommend this field to both the newbies out there and the hardcore experienced players. It is well organized, clean, friendly and perfect for anyone who is just out to have a great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

goodgirl Thursday, September 25th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wasaga Beach
Review: I have found the staff to be extremely helpful especially since I am new to the sport. Also David Stevens has been particularily generous towards the organization that I work for offering his sevices to our charity.

Getting to know the staff has only helped me to become even more enthusiastic towards paintball.

As far as the field itself, it's well equipped, many hiding places, multi-level buildings, etc. Great paintball atmoshpere.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer_356 Monday, September 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball City
Review: This place is the best......i dont know what other paintballers are saying, there stuff is NOT overpriced, and the staff are ALWAYS nice to me........the playing field is all sand......SO WHAT, its paintballing, its not like you going to some high quality french restaurant for sunday supper................ i own my own gun so i dont care about rentals, but for noobs...this is the place to go!!
Last edited on Monday, September 15th, 2003 at 6:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vinyl86 Wednesday, August 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Paintball Arena - Kitchener
Flag Raiders - Kitchener
Shoot to Splatter - Elmira
Review: The Good: The field is kind of cool because it has some interesting things like multi-storied buildings and cars

The Bad: The staff when I was there were very mean and uncooperative. My friend had to rent a gun but their policy is that they dish out the guns at random, not first come first serve, so we ended up waiting two hours before we could actually play...and I mean LITERALLY two hours. When we got in, the games were kind of fun, but it was a bit overcrowded (not really Sgt. Splatters' fault) but the sand got EVERYWHERE!

The moral of this story: I would recommend many other arenas, but not Splatters'. It is nowhere near as amazing as their ads make it out to be
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bear_Claw Sunday, August 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paint Ball City. (Better)
Review: Pros;
Large field filled with a good assortment of cover objects including cars and many single buildings, and some barrel stacks.
Refs were fair.
Cons;
Filthy on field and in staging area.
Field was extremely muddy. (be careful when running, you may lose your shoes!)
Rentals were by far the worst guns available.
Staging room had very little room for your equipment.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ludicrous Sunday, August 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball City, Area 51, Wasaga, RLD
Review: PROS:

Excellent field, lots of neat stuff like 1 story huts, a 2 story building complete with ladders and stairs, old cars and minivans, and some barrels. Oh yeah and this the biggest indoor field I have ever played on.

Indoor, means weather is not a problem, and you can play all year around.

Good off-field staff. If you go to any off-field staff members with a problem, they will look after it. Weather it be "my markers's not working", "Can I see whats in your pro shop?", or "There is no way that guy is shooting 230fps!!!"

These guys pretty much stay open as long as you want to play, and there are people there, I mean you can show up at 10pm with friends and get to play untell am1 and 2am, with no worries of them closing on you.

CONS:

Field cleaness. There are inch deep puddles of paint in the corners and along the walls of the field, and I don't mean mud, I mean nothing but liquid paint!!! I mean for god sakes through a little sand in those areas every once and while!!! Every entrance to the huts and buildings is pure mud, and around most walls is like this too, which is to be expected on such a highly used field, but again I think a bag or or 3 of sand on the field a little more often would greatly improve the field. Every inch of wall in this place is coated with an inch of paint, which is not a big deal, but it might help to have them wiped off more often. I mean if you want to be camofalged when you go in, don't come in army combats, come in wearing hot pink!

Reffs!!! All good people OFF the field, but many should not be reffing!!! Some of them do nothing but state the game, the rules, and call end game. If there is a problem on the field good luck gettin hold of these guys!!! I swear that some of them leave the field during the game and then come back only at the end of the game. The reffs have excellent reff towers, but in many cases are either not using them, or are sitting down below the walls so they can't see anything that is going on. I mean I don't expect the reffs to be able to check everyone for whipping all the time, or to be able to see owners who are jacking up their velocities, but when they can't even be bothered to see that the defenders are not in there building, or that when buildings are ruled as out of bounds and people are still going in them and then up to the second floor, well its just absurd, and when there is a constant bunch of cheaters (people who are whipping) and it's obvious because everyone on both teams is complaing about it, people are decideing to go home instead of putting up with this crap, the reffs have got to stand up and either kick them out for the next couple games, if not off the field for the rest of the day!!!

Rental guns are worse then normal. Most of them have lived their lives and need a revamp or to be replaced. No accuracy beyond 5-8 feet (not all of them, but most of them) and you can't shoot more then a ball second before you end up having to recock the things. This means renters have to rush if the want to hit anyone, but if they rush chances are their gun will fail them and they will be toast.

Suggestions:

Consider putting more sand on the field at regular intervals. Of course it would be better to replace the sand, but I am sure just adding some would be just fine. Maybe if the field had a better air flow the sand might dry quicker improving things greatly.

Got to do something about the reffs. Even if it is just having them be evaulated by the players every now and then. Then the reffs who are doing poorly or rather doing nothing at all, would start gettin noticed and start doing what there are suppose to be doing for whatever incentives they are receiving. Many times I find the experienced paintballers on the field do more reffing then the reffs do.

The field itself should get a perfect 10 because it is the best indoor set up I have ever played on.

Off-Field staff an 8, they are excelent people but they all look like they really don't want to be there, which can really kill the mood when having a good time.

The reffs......... I hate to say this especialy because I know they are in pretty much volunteers but.... a 3 is very generous.

Over all I say 6.5
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andrew742 Saturday, August 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51 (Toronto)
Paintball city (Toronto)
Review: Pros: Arena is very well layed out, many places to hide and sneak up on people.
Pros: Many tables and space, upstairs and downstairs, to put together your gun and whatnot.

Mixed opinions: In the past i have run into very friendly and knowledgeable staff who obviously love the game, but on the other hand have met employees (or volunteers) who don't ref the game, and couldn't care less about the players. It just depends on who's reffing when you play.

Cons: Arena is very dark and it is difficult to see other opponents...weather on your team or not! (I've been shot in the back by my own players a couple of times)
Cons: The floor is sand. I much rather prefer gravel.
Cons: The arena has been very rarely cleaned out..if ever. You often come across deep piles of mud and in some corners puddles of paint.
Cons: Attracts many newbs, good for beginners, but the fun of killing 6 people a round wears off after a while

In all, Splatters has a lot of potential, but currently is on the bottom of my places to go list.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

green_cat Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51 - Very nice but a little far.
Review: Pros:
- Closeby

Cons:
- Sandy floors
- proshop often closed


Now for a bit for all you naysayers. This may seem bad but having volunteered there myself we are doing the best job we can. The reason it seems so crowded is that people line up and eventually we run out of guns and the people and complaints pile up and we get a large crowd.

As for the players being favoured if they know the employees. Many of these guys are employees. or volunteers like myself they ref from time to time and they are generally a great boon to the refs cuz they help us quiet down the newbs.

The rentals were replaced with black draguns and somer crap plastic guns. But the draguns are awesome and they are generally in good repair.

As for the paint, well I can't defend that. They sometimes get paint from area 51 or paintball city and being that they are competing businesses, the paint may not be top quality. So ask for better paint, generally they give some team colors to owners. If you're a renter get a friend who is an owner to buy it for you.

The teams that play at the field are good, but given that they are the ones with angels the refs are sorta powerless to do anythign else. The teams are usually split up but as more and more poepl come and go the balances get screwed up and it's really tough to cope. Some of the teams give you ther courtesy of practicing early morning.

The fact that volunteers can't sell you paint is something you have to cope with , we can't touch the register. Tough rocks. We do give free HPA and Co2 on a good number of occasions so don't act like we're totally gyping you. We reaplace burst baggies and even spot you a few extra if your hopper falls off. We do our best just don't shoot the refs.

all in all, imperfect but local.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Capt.insane-o Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
hmmm trying to to pick which field to go to between area 51, paintball city and sgt splatters is like picking the best of three devils, but up to me its paintball city with the edge
Review: Well of all the indoor places in toronto Splatters has the best layout, so now that we covered the good things. Its grossly over priced, the rental guns are horid (thankfully i have my own gun), the lighting is dark and the only reason that it is a problem is because you can't tell who is on which team since there is nothing to mark the teams except a thin piece of orange tape. The field is disgustingly muddy and i don't think the buildings have ever been cleaned as the walls are caked in paint. As for employees, the good employees are really good, kind and helpful, but the majority are rude and don't care about the game. Favortism is rampant amoung regulars as they can bring thier own paint and their guns are rarely clocked and often shoot way above 300 fps (trust me i have the bruises and split skin to prove it). I wouldn't go there again except there isn't really any other decent place to go. Splatters has so much potential, too bad the majority of employees don't care about the place, the game or the patrons. Long live WASAGA!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media