paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
245Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 416-781-0991
Address: 54 Wingold Avenue
Toronto, Ontario M6B 1P5
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25
        Next Page
chaz69 Tuesday, March 25th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
RLD games, Funky Town, and Area 51
Review: Sgt. Splatters is an okay field to play on. The setup is nice but too dark.
Thank god I dont have to use their rental guns because they always POP off and go nuts shooting like they are full auto that was jammed on! not a good thing for the kid using it because now he has no paint. but hey.
The thing that bugs me the most is the fact that I have to pay $160 for a case of recycled paint! I mean this stuff is crap and doesnt shoot straight, jams in guns and doesnt always break on contact! Not nice to get hit by a marble at 230fps!

I still play there because it is the closet thing to me, not any other reason!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Offsprog Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball City, it's a much better field.
Review: Pros
The staff at the pro shop was helpful, and the proshop had some decent selection.
The attack and defend games were decent.

Cons
The field uses sand, which gets into the gun and makes basically everything dirty. The field also had horrible lighting, which made it hard to tell who was on your team or not. The rental guns were pathetic, even though I have my own gun, I feel sorry for anyone who had to use the rental guns. Also, the masks are scratched all over and many people could not see at all out of them.

This field only got higher than a 1 because the pro shop was decent.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

canadiancartel Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Adventures (Ham), SOF Paintball (Ham), Niagara Tactical (Ham) and a few more less common places. All were far better than Sgt. Splatters. They need to start over.......
Review: Sure, I can deal with the small staging areas. Washrooms? ah well, ill go before I leave. Service? I come to play, not to buy stuff.

Now then, Paint? Oh god someone call a doctor. I think they store it wrong..... or they just find the cheapest and oldest paint they come accross.
Reffing? Please spare me, the ref just stands there, doesn't reply to paintchecks and obviously doesn't care about overshooting. There were kids in there with obvious hits wiping, im sure the ref saw he just didnt care. I even bunkered someone at one point very close to the ref, the kid didnt call himself out and shot me up.
Its not just the refs either, its the players.
The playing environment? I like how its layed out, but that sand has to be the worst thing ive ever played in. Not to mention all that goop. I bet my friend 100paintballs to put his leg in the goop, it went just abit lower than the knee...... They really need to divise a way to clean the place, any way at all would be better than it is now.

At this point, even if they do improve all conditions, I doubt I will ever step foot in the establishment again unless a friend of mine had gone and told me of his experience and I could trust his judgement. I have left out many other details to how poor of an experience I had at this place, but I feel that I have said my piece.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbt8401 Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51
Review: Read the stuff with the exclamation marks, it tells you alot about them!!!!

The only real reason why I keep going back to Sgt. Splatters is because it is closest to my house. I don't really like the field. The only real good thing about their field is that it is big.

The bad: It's dark, really dark. Pretty expensive. And the reffing pretty much sucks. The way they set up their games isn't great. They don't even out the teams. You can go for hours and hours, and only on team will win the entire time. Sometimes you'll only play the same game for the whole day, for example, you might play speedball for the whole day with no variation in the game except when changing from upper to lower field. They really need to come up with some good scenarios to make it a bit more interesting. They need to clean it sometimes, because it is really dirty, like layers upon layers of paint.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!the worst thing I think that goes on at sgt. is the way they favour some people. I absolutely hate it. If I use my own paint, it is considered to be bad paint, and could hurt someone??? I don't really get it, but If some other older guy with a nicer gun uses his own paint, It's alright? I once got hit by a guy who was using BAD Maxim paint. It was old and hard as a rock. There was only 1 guy using Maxim, one of the older guys, with a nicer gun. I grabbed one of the balls since they weren't broken, and showed it to the manager, and he did nothing about it. I wonder why. They don't understand why people don't like using their paint. It's way too expensive for crap low quality zap paint.

My conclusion, don't go out of your way to go to Sgt. Splatters. Actually, avoid it if possible. It's not a great place. Have fun playing paintball somewhere else!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

-nazgul- Thursday, March 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Indoor: Area 51, Paintball City.
Review: After a considerable look at the available 3 indoor fields in TO here's my personal impression/comparison of Sgt. Splatters (based on a 10 scale).

Staging Area ( 6 out of 10):

It's not that bad; has a decent look and layout with good amount of tables (upstairs/downstairs), an arcade section (waste of space IMO), small pro-shop a small bathroom and the main desk/counter. Could get a bit crowded with 20 plus players but that doesn't really bother me. Where it begins to loose it's points is it's cleanliness. I realize indoor paintball isn't a clean sport, but even if you take that into the consideration the place is just horrible. Day old boxes, bags, broken paint, barrel condoms and add sand to the mix and you've got a place that just isn't easy on the eyes. Bathroom blows, tiny room maybe 3 feet by 6 feet usually clogged with a small leaking sink and a busted door.

There's alot of wasted space here, which, in my opinion, gives you that unfinished look to it.

Field ( 6 out of 10 ).

As all reviews agree here, the field is big - but not huge, don't get your hopes up expecting an indoor stadium.

Field layout is not bad, with a two level building (L shapped) running along the south and half of the west wall, few 1 story bunker-buildings, barrels and 1 two story tower. A concrete step runs down the middle of the field rising the other half of the field about 3 feet, where you'll run into some more of the same; bunkers, cars, barrels and 1 two story tower - nothing that really strikes you as special. Cover is good, not too crowded giving you good angle shots and wide scenario potential.

Like it or not, the walls are slimed with old paint, and the floor is sand. However these two factors are no-issue for me as, for 1.) all indoor fields are covered in old paint and 2.) both sand and gravel share equally bad cons -- just don't drop your marker.

My biggest beef with this field however, is the lighting. Probably due to the low ceiling height (another negative on my list) they seem to use standard fluorescent lights, which lack the power, are badly distributed half of which are busted or ready to burn out. With anything other than a clear, scratch free, anti-fog lens (add a 20/20 eyesight) you'll have trouble spotting your marks or trace your paint trajectory.

Staff ( 6 out of 10).

These guys are friendly and helpful when you catch them on a good day, but often seem tired and over worked. Haven't bothered with the pro-shop in ages as I usually deal with another store near my house so my score doesn't reflect that aspect.

Replay value ( 5 out of 10):

Eh, it's just another paintball field, I'll drop by occasionally during winter. Players here are generally ok, with the occasional wiper here and there. It suffers from bad refereeing (actually almost non-existant), and not many memorable scenarios ( you’ll play full field elimination - no second floors, attack and defend, a lame version of speed ball on the ‘lower level’ of the field, and the very rare center flag push).

Rental equipment ( 5 out of 10):

I’m an owner so I may be a little bias here. However, from what I’ve seen, there’s not much to expect. Markers are just lame -Winchester Durangos (comparable to stingrays), old, dirty, scratched masks - Scott Bigfield I think. This is definitely not the place to take your first-time friends.

Theme / ‘cool’ factor ( 3 out of 10).

The "city under siege" theme and "Hollywood set design" is just a BS marketing scheme. Buildings/bunkers are your run-of-the-mill plywood boxes, with ~ 3 scrapped cars, barrels, and ceiling support-columns. They put a little more effort in the staging-arena decoration, but it’s obvious they were on a very tight budget here.

Conclusion:

Srg. Splatters is probably one of the longest operational fields in Toronto and even though it has seen some changes during it’s life span, it’s just more of the same old, nothing befitting such a long lasting field. Frankly, to me it has that ‘stagnated’ feel, as if it was long forgotten by the owner who’s leeching the profits while the overworked staff is struggling to keep the thing safe and operational. The limited nature of its old warehouse building is a serious handicap to any serious revamp in the future, however simple thing such as a new powerful lighting system befitting a paintball arena, a decent bathroom, some tippies or spyders for the renters and a someone on cleaning duty would go a long way for a place such as this.

Final score: 5.2 out of 10
Last edited on Thursday, March 20th, 2003 at 6:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Musashi Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51 - compared to splatters Area 51 is heaven
Badlands - comparable but cleaner with friendly staff
Review: Sgt. Splatters was the first field I ever played at.... At first I thought ALL indoor fields were like this one.... was I wrong.

The Good.
The field setup is actually quite nice and has potential. Very easy to travel to via TTC. (city folk without cars know what I mean) Wednesday's bring out some good competition. The on field ref's do a great job during game play.

The Bad.
Where to start.... The place is filthy (We all know something has to cover the ground) but I don't think they have ever washed the walls or changed the sand. The employee's that work there think they are god's gift to earth. Very rude and make you constantly feel like a newbie if your not friends with them. The washrooms are disgusting. The staging area is usually too crowded and there isn't really a good place to leave equipment during the games.

The Ugly.
After going to so many other fields indoor and outdoor I have come to the conclusion not to bring my friends that are new to the sport to this place. Sgt. Splatters is the type of atmosphere to turn a interested player away from paintball.

Personal Fields of Choice are :
Area 51 Paintball (indoor)
Ultimate Adventure paintball (outdoor) in Milton (best atmosphere hands down Thanks Larry)
Wasaga Beach Paintball (outdoor)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jetstorm66 Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlands - better
Wasaga- not indoor but better run
Review: This field is the perfect example of what happens when you have a successful paintball field, make some money and then leave it to the dogs. I hear the owner is a pretty nice guy but you wouldn't find that with the ppl he employees. From what I have experienced the customer counter is rude as heck, the reffs are useless and the pro shop, well lets just say one day I had to wait until the guy behind the counter was done his computer game before I got severed. Now lets talk about the field. Dirty is not the word to describe this field, dank is more like it. Three year old paint on your gloves followed with you cocker sounding like sandpaper grinding metal when fired does not make for a pleasant experience. I know you need sand or something for the floor but if you even considered the avenue that A51 took you'd find that there is such a thing as a clean indoor field.

pros- field lay out is sweet, lots of angle and sweet spots, fun to play if cleaned.
first five ppl on Wednesday nights get 500 rounds free


cons- dirty
ppl that work there are nothing but rude and disrespectful
staging area....I go out side to my car
proshop needs a kick in the butt
the bathrooms make me gag
Last edited on Tuesday, March 18th, 2003 at 8:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Doug_7 Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only this one
Review: I know I am not experienced but you guy's are dreaming some of this stuff up or at least exagerating. I agree that the refing is questionable. They stay in one spot the whole game, once the guy was at the back of the feild behind some barels with his head just sticking out. I think he could maby see 1/4 of the feild and that was the part that no one was playing on because of the senario. But it's recball, if you are shot of the game because some jackass is running around shooting people pretending he wasn't hit, even though he has been hit like 10 times, just leave the game there are always more games and if you are pissed, take it up with him in the parking lot when he is leaving. But they don't ware ski gogles, some ware ref gogs, which is just the goggles, no face protection, which is fine if no one is shooting AT you. It also takes a long time to get paint or pay your feild fee's, but once you get on the feild it realy is a great feild. the buildings make it look realy realistic. Who cares about the bathroom, go before you leave home. So if you want a good playing experience and are willing to bare the staging area it is a great place. And if you go on a week day it is realy cheap, 15 bucks for rentals and 7.50 for paint. That is a hell of alot cheaper than area 51.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jwong Sunday, March 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area51, Paintball City, Soldiers of Fortune (Hamilton), Paintball Adventures (Hamilton)
Review: I would agree with most of the reviews.

The Good:
Large play area
Interesting layout with 2 story buildings
Interesting bunkers
The staff is generally helpful

The Bad:
Small staging area - when they have > 60 people, finding space in the staging area is next to impossible
Poor lighting in the play area
Sand - will get into the gun and mess up mechanical and especiallly electro markers
Poor paintball quality
A few scuffles have broken out in the staging area a few times - the refs and management did not do anything about it. They appeared to have left it up to other players to settle them down. I think at other fields, management would not tolerate such unsportsman like conduct. It takes the fun out of paintball. This has never happened at the other fields that I've played at.

I doubt I will ever go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Chrisb Wednesday, March 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area51 only place that will get my business indoor, Wasaga Beach #1 for outdoor
Review: A group of us would drive to this place (about 2 hours) a few times over the winter just to get some playing time in. The last time we decided never to go back, the staff except for a couple refs where terrible, rather talk to there friends in the back room then help people at the counter. The balls where the poorest quality seconds I have ever used broke balls all night. Although the preferred customers where shooting some other brand, but when asked at the counter for different balls they stated that's all they had.
The bathroom was in very bad shape, friends had to go and drive somewhere to find a bathroom. The main lobby was very dirty, and they only had coin lockers which got very expensive. They didn't even have a bottle o-ring that a guy needed for gods sake

To that last guy that posted the review, its too little too late, so what if they decided to put a little money back into the place, its much too late, they probably only did it because most of the customers stopped coming back.

If your looking for a good indoor experience stay far away from this place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media