paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
245Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 416-781-0991
Address: 54 Wingold Avenue
Toronto, Ontario M6B 1P5
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Tony #1 BUCS Tuesday, April 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wow tons , Paintball arena /Paintball arena2 speedball / Paintball city / Area51 / Outer-limits / Flagraiders /Flagraiders indoor / Theres more but that anuff
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest directions. mapquest.com
Review: First time I was there staff were friendly , Stageing area for walkons was ok clean kinda small / no chairs to sit down on lucky for me I didnt stay too long, Prices were good for me I went on a sunday morning were it is byop $28 to get in from 9am till 2pm witch was good cheapest time to go there with out membership!!!, For the newplayers that are just starting out unless there is friendly walk on gun owners they may not learn much about there gear / sport and tips to play better members have there own area upstairs for themselves witch is ok! But im sure the new players would love to ask the more experianced players tons of stuff so they can have more fun playing with them other then just getting shot at ;), The proshop they had was great lots of new gear good prices friendly salesperson!, Ok on to the field the feild layout itself was great nice shooting lanes tons of cover I enjoyed the feildlay out very much , It was kinda dirty on the field sand floor got all over me and my marker even it parts of it doh! The buildsing were covered with old paint I tryed very hard not to touch things but still came out with a lot of paint on me from ground and buildings , The games were good not much down time between games, Understaffed the ref didnt walk around field at all so there was a lot of cheating not everyone but anuff , Regular prices seemed kinda high, All in all I belive this is the best rec field around area if u have no car!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TGour Tuesday, April 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SOF, Flag Raiders, Cameron Speedway, Paintball Adventures, and there was renegade paintball.
Sgt. Splatters doesn't even compare to the quality of all of those fields(except maybe cameron Speedway)
Directions
to the Field:
highway
Review: this indoor field maybe be the biggest indoor paintball area in canada from what they say, but it is not the best field i have ever been to. The rounds that we played were short, and the refs don't have a full view of the field so you know that you hit someone but the refs don't call them out. The 2 worst things at the field is that the place looks like it hasn't been cleaned since the day it was made, the paint on the wall was unbelieveable! if you leaned up against the wall, it looks like you've just been hammered by hundreds of paintballs and it's all over and smells like crap. Then is the prices. wow, 100 balls for $15 i mean for that price i could buy 500 balls from any pro shop around.
Since mi gun was in the shop, i had to use a rental, and the barrel on the gun looks like a piece of hollowed out metal and is bent by the thread and chops the balls lke crazy.
Plus the ground is all dirt, loaded with the 1 inch of sludge slopping off the wall mixing in with the dirt.

Not the greatest field but... well..... 4outta10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ericrocks77 Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 9th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Directions
to the Field:
map quest it
Review: its was a fair experience. It was way too expensive if you go there bring alot of money. There was the one fat guy who was freaking out to anyone who asked him anything and he was just freaking out on everyone. The arena was very amazing good cover areas and huge but could use more light. When we played it was like 30 on 30 so you could barely move. Half the rental guns they give out have something wrong with them. It was pretty fun tho een tho we got kicked out for using r own paint. I would not recommend it to gun users.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PNTBLLRDYE Tuesday, April 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: BEST FEILD IVE EVER BEEN TOO.And this is why

Although the staff are ass holes at times,

Number 1 saftey

HUGE FEILD could use a bit more light

New buildings every week

Crazy pro shop

The games are good, theres refs on the feild at all times, one thing i dont like is the speedballers. they cant help that tho.

BEST FEILD EVER <3
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

allanderoo Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
niagara tacticle
camerons
paintball city
area 51
Review: This place is really expensive
too dark
the ground is sand and gets in your gun alot
they should cover fire pull stations a guy shot it and set it off

its a fair size
it has its buildings layout really good
upstairs was nice for gun owners

they should have byop and more types of games with less time inbetween
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

christower Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none but im going to go to area 51 soon
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest it
Review: Very very very good prices and amazing field rules are fair the pro shop has some nice guns at fair prices over all i love this place so much out of a rating of 1 to 10, 10 being highest i choose 10 o and the staff are helpful when i was new and guided me with rules and stuff like that
Last edited on Saturday, March 31st, 2007 at 5:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

canada123456789 Friday, March 16th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
?
Directions
to the Field:
i have no clue
Review: The thing with this place is that they charge way to much for paint
The refs will shoot at you
They have complete idiot's that always go there
It is way to small
The lights are always shot out so you can't see
The only reason i go there is beacuse i can walk
Also you can't bring your own paint
(I always have to sneek it in)


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment

PHARAOH20 Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I play weekly at Paintball Nation. Aside from just being cheaper then Splatters, the staff is much better. Over the years, I've played at all the fields in the GTA, including Barrie and Wasaga. As much as I like Barrie, Paintball Nation is the most convenient; the cheapest; has the best staff; and most consistent traffic. I can show up any night of the week and will surely encounter an adequate number of people to play with.
Directions
to the Field:
To Sgt. Splatters... just bring $100 to me. I'll throw dirt on you and bruise your arms a bit. It'll take 30 seconds and I promise you'll be more satisfied.
Review: At 26, I've been playing paintball for about 10 years and owned my own equipment since the beginning. Initially, there were few fields around Toronto and Sgt. Splatters was the most convenient. Although they insisted on everyone watching the safety briefing, once on the field I had constant issues with people shooting hot. The refs always had their friends there, who could get away with whatever they wanted, and they had no issues with allowing bonus balls or shooting hot. Because of the lack of selection and love for the game, I went 2 or 3 times each month for just over a year. Eventually, I had enough of the inflated prices, a filthy field and fighting with the staff's friends. I stopped going.
Having been a weekly regular at Paintball Nation for a year now, I thought I'd check out what's happened to Splatters and went in to play. Not only is it still filthy, with sand that gets into everything (leave your electric guns at home), but the staff still allow their friends to shoot however hot or excessively as they want. You still have to pay top dollar, even for owners. If you're renting, fork over a kidney as well. I suppose the refs could have stopped all the cheating if they either had the interest or the players spoke English.
I played 5 games of 'regeneration' before I was satisfied with being ripped off and went home... muddy...
Also, I don't think they've changed a light-bulb since I used to go all those years ago. If you can't see in the dark, good luck. It's pretty ripe too. If you haven't encountered a memorable stink in a while, you'll encounter a fierce one at Sgt. Splatters.
I noticed that they still sell those coupon books that aren't good for anything. There were several people there who had brought them thinking they'd be good for more than unpleasant toilet paper, they were wrong and very unhappy about it. I honestly can't believe that they're still in business. I don't know a single player who hasn't had a terrible experience there. With all the other fields in the area, avoid this one.
To summarize... It stinks; it's dark; it's over-priced; the staff is rude and you'll be shot more and harder than should be allowed. When your rental gun misbehaves or your mask is filthy, don't ask the staff for help - you won't get it, and they might make you sit out a game for troubling them.
Regarding the date I went, I can't recall exactly. It was around the end of November / early December.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 28th, 2007 at 10:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Pvt. Caboose Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball City (cleaner, has an owners only field)
Directions
to the Field:
Easy to find
Review: To start, I went to Sgt. Splatters this weekend. I went with three of my friends. Two of the fathers decided to come along to. It was not a very enjoyable experience. Not to say it was horrible, we still had fun. However, it was a Sunday which was BYOP. This attracted alot of owners. I think it was almost too many for the field to handle. There was several areas of improvement to be considered by Sgt. Splatters. (Hope you don't mind a long review..)

Safety: This was one of the areas they did well. They may have over emphasized it because while playing with 50+ people the ref ( who was wearing almost the same colour as one of the jumpsuits) was shot. He then shut down the WHOLE GAME so that he could whine at us when we came back 10 minutes later. Safety not bad. They also emphasized having ur barrel bag on VERY STRICTLY.

Field: Umm, only one field which is indoor. It is not a bad size. However for the amount of people there it was much to small. People were forced to bunch up and therefore get shot easily lol. I'm pretty disgusted with the field though. The floor is covered with sand which got everywhere and made me feel grimy as well as making me nervous some of it would get into my gun. The two story buildings have paint caked on about a inch thick. The floors and stairs are very slippery and and dirty too. It looked like they hadn't cleaned it ever.

Lighting: Yes, i had to make this its own category. The lighting was pretty bad. Its way to dim and as said in one of the reviews before causes it to be very glare-prone.

Prices: Ridiculous. I have done some calculations on the price of a case of paint at their proshop and paint at the playing area. The price has been jacked up about 3 to 4 times as much as a normal case. Rentals are $35 for everything which is pretty much on par with everywhere else. I seriously suggest buying a case of paint from the proshop before playing. (only on BYOP days tho)

Rules: Can't complain. The Rules were made to be safe and fun. Some of the games we played were actually really good. Make sure to ask the ref there about 'Dodgeball' or 'Slaughterhouse' if you go.

Services: Service was very slow to get the rental packages for some of the people with us. When we finally got started it was pretty good. For owners they filled up tanks free no questions asked. Once again, the slow service was mostly due to all the people there that day.

Proshop: Not very dependable. I was always phoning the shop when i was buy my gun and equipment. They would rarely ever have the hopper or equipment i wanted in stock.
It is fairly small. However, it is pretty clean. Not a bad selection of guns. They tend to be a little bigger on scenario stuff if your into that. I'm more of a speedball player myself. Not a big deal though. There were drinks to buy and different kinds of equipment and accessories for your marker. There was also a small selection of paintball clothing to check out.

Staff: I can't really comment on this section or my opinon would be biased. They seemed to be pissed off 24/7. Probably cuz they were so busy. When i have been there in the past the guys have been better and at times helped me when they knew i was having problems with my gun.

Refs: I guess it depends on the ref whos working that day. But in my experience in the past, there hasnt been that many good refs. The one i had the most recent time i went stopped the whole game for being shot. See, this wouldnt have been as bad if he was wearing bright yellow or even a bright yellow mask. But no, this ref was wearing a grey shirt and pants (roughly the same colour as the coveralls they give you to rent) and a blue Empire Avatar. There was virtually no way to distinguish him from other players if he was walking around. This was not very professional in my opinion.

Players: The players were definitely the best part of the experience. I met a couple of guys there and talked about gear and stuff. Its easy to say i made a few new friends that day. The crowd was mostly scenario oriented players. Again, not my style, but its strictly your preference. The guys there were fun to play with. I saw that the more experienced players were helpin some of the younger guys there which is always good to see.

Facilities: Overall, not very good. Everything is very crowded. The field is an okay size, but the staging area is too small for the usual amount of people that are there. The dead zone usually becomes very crowded in between games. The proshop is also very small. The washrooms are pretty clean. However, not very impressed.

In conclusion, Sgt. Splatters is still a fun place to go. However, it has a lot more potential than its being used for. If the staff there improved on a few key areas of their business it would be a lot better. I don't suggest this place if you are on a budget or are a frequent player because prices for paint are very expensive and field conditions are not the greatest. I would recommend this field if you are planning a party or get together, because the field is the perfect size for a part of about 20 people. For lack good of field conditions and facilities, I give Sgt Splatters a 4/10


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tiz1 Monday, February 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Flag Raiders(Very Nice)
Paintball Adventures(Closed Down?)
Directions
to the Field:
Easy to Find
Review: Well my experience at Sgt Splatters was not the best....this field is very big for an indoor field...it has potential to be a very nice field however they must fix some of these problems....

1. The lighting in this place is terrible..if you are on the second story of the buildings its impossible to see anything...so much glare...and overall its very dark on the field...

2. The staff behind the counter seemed like cool guys but the refs were bad...as seen in some of the other reviews its true some of the refs were jerks....i even saw one of the refs shoot a kid several times because the ref told him to stop firring his gun at the wall....a ref shood never do something like that....

3. Man this place is DIRTY...the floors of the buildings have like an inch of paint on them very dangerous.....and the walls are the same....its like they have never cleaned the place....especially on the top floors of the buildings very muddy from the sand and paint...(floor is sand)

4. The Paint they had there was way over priced and it was terrible paint...one of the worst paint i have ever used...

5. Dead zone area is also very small..very packed when there are alot of people playing..very crowded hard to move around.....

Like i said this place does have the potential to be a good field they just have to address some of these problems....the field would be a great field if they cleaned it up, got better lighting and better refs....its a very big field for an indoor field and the sand isn't to bad as flooring unless it gets muddy....However i will not be going back to this place unless they fix up these problems...I will give them a very generous 5/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media