paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
245Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 416-781-0991
Address: 54 Wingold Avenue
Toronto, Ontario M6B 1P5
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Doomdeath Saturday, February 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I dont know of any
Review: Well, where to begin,

The field is disgusting. It has probably never been cleaned. It's dark, muddy and the walls are covered in a think layer, maybe an inch or two, of paint.

If you thought that was bad, the staff are even worse. Especially this one guy. I don't know his name, but if you were to go , you would know who I am talking about. He made fun of alot of people, for no apparent reason. For example, he called my friend a donkey-face while he was walking in to the field, called me a retard and made fun of countless other people. There was only one employee in the whole building that was mildly normal.

The prices are horrible, and if you have one of the coupon cards, don't bother trying to redeem it, for they will not take it saying, 'I am trying to get you the best deal', even though you spend maybe a hundred dollars instead of the intended 20 or 30.

The 'VIP' area is nothing special, just a little broken table and two chairs. There is no BYOP, only on Sundays, and if you use your own paint at any other time, they will kick you out and won't give you back your money.

Overall, I would give this place a 1 out of 10. I suggest you spend an extra hour driving and go hit up Next paintball in Pickering, unless you like going to scummy fields that are run by jerks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Snoipah Steve Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball City.
Review: This has been my third time to Sgt Splatters, and the experiance seems to get better every time im there. The playing field was HUGE (for being indoors) and there were so many different bunkers and cars to hide behind, even a couple 2 story bunkers including a massive 2 story L shaped bunker on the lower back wall.

We came as a birthday party of 10 guys, and expected it to us plus a few others. But when we walked in, the place was PACKED. not to say there were too many people, but they also host private games for thoes people who wish to play with their friends. Anyways, we had a BLAST, so many different games to be played on a huge corse, balls flying everywhere, trying to capture the suitcase, or a bunker, or stright out kill 'em all styles. it was a great time. and will probably stop in sooner than last time.

Great staff really organized and helpful, keeping players weapons full of ammo and Air. Wanna toss a shout out to a Killer ref Jay, and Junior holden it down in the shop.

Sgt Splatters awsome place!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phil Hutchings Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball City, Wasaga Paintball, Outlaw Field Paintball, Various Woods
Review: This was my first visit to Splatters, I had previously heard poor reviews of this place but I had a really good time there. The people were friendly and the staff for the most part were quite professional.

Field: layout was condusive to team battle and scenario play, the flooring was sand which i thought may have been an issue with dirt getting into my markers but that wasn't a problem at all and i found the traction to be excellent because of it (no slipping). The walls were horribly covered in paint however and would result in you getting very dirty if you got up close to any cover.

The people: Everyone on the field was quite friendly and game to try out different strategies and make the games fun for everyone. A few players towards the end of my playing session came on the field with full auto modes enabled, with the mix of renters they should have really been made to go into semi-auto mode also. There was a good number of people there for a sunday afternoon so it made for many targets and paint flying, all in good fun.

Prices: I went on a Sunday when of course prices are there highest, overall it cost myself and my friend approx $120 for 1000rds and field admission with air.

This field is very much targeted towards the beginning player, the shop only carries Mil-Sim and less expensive markers by Smart Parts, Tippman and BT. During my play time about 30% of the players had their own markers the rest were renters. Its condusive to a fun afternoon playing paintball in the scenario and team type environment. It does not have a speedball field and doesn't cater to that type of crowd (thankfully i really don't like being machinegunned with paintballs). So long as your not a super serious player and just want to have a good time playing the game with some friendly people you can probably have a good time here I did.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lerex29 Friday, December 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Good field layout.. pretty dirty and dark ,smells funny and refs just dont do anything ( he goes to his ref tower) and byop is pretty good. heres a link to a video where webdog radio crew go and play there for some practise while waiting to play a skyball 6.

http://webdog.specialopspaintball.com/video/sky6/

vid of the field is on day 2 about half way through
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sunkiss Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Good day everybody! I would like to recommend SGT SPLATTERS to anyone who wants to have a blast! As soon as I got there, the staff was very accomodating. I was there with a very large group so you would expect lots of kaos but nope, these guys know how to run a show. Thumbs up boys! Wheter you are experienced or not at this game, you will never feel like you don't belong in this field. One more thing, they have this party room that you can use for free too!

Painball chickie
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

trillthrill Thursday, December 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
umm, i don't any others in the area
Review: I would like to write a review for allow fellow newcomers of this sport. I was at this paintball arena for a corporate function and let me tell you that the overall experience was amazing. The company that I am employed by has been doing this kind of outing for 6 years now and by talking to some of my co workers this has been the best run and cleanest places that they have played paintball at. The food service was good considering it was pizza but they ordered it for us and brought it to us as soon as it arrived. The field was huge and well lit, too many lights if you ask me and i have the marks to prove it HA HA. It was busy but the staff that were there handing out the equipment and paint took it in stride, they were courteous and quick witted never just standing around and always busy either doing speed checks on guns or helping others at the counter.they were so nice that they found me the right size coveralls as i am small by no means, in fact i borrowed a pair that were a personal pair of the larger gentleman, i think his name was junior, no pun intended, at no charge. When I accidentally dropped my paint he even gave me a free bag, and when we decided to buy more it cost us only 10 dollars a bag if we bought a box or 15 dollars towards the end when most of us left. The referee that was in the arena was well mannered and very helpful, ie. strategy and showing us ways to not get hit and routes to get the win!!!!
The only bad thing that I can say is when I left the Arena I needed an escort because i kept getting hit, but i guess in hind sight when there is approx. 50-60 people shooting at each other you are bound to get hit again.

I have talked to my regional manager and she has stated that the search is over for the perfect arena to hold our team building outings,sgt splatters will be getting our business from now on!!

Thank you for the great time looking forward to seeing you all next time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stony01 Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Me and the guys from work went out for my birthday, and had a blast, there were very accommodating to our group and helped us out numerous times and didn't mind when the refs were shot at (accidentally of course). I will go again when we can get a larger group together, because there's a whole bunch of people that I need to shoot from my work and I like the idea of taking the whole field over. The prices were great; some of the other players that were out there really kicked our butts, dam snipers.

Stony Smith
www.Oddballkustoms.com


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

The_Warrior Wednesday, December 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I have been going to this location for a few years now and find the staff very helpful with any questions I have had. Safety is their number one priority.

The field is alot of fun with all it's different elements. The more realistic it looks and feels the more fun I have. Running and hiding behind all the different apparatus...what a good time and lots of laughs!

The people who go to Sgt. Splatters to play are always ready to have fun and I will continue to be a devoted customer.

Their rates make it even more appealing to go.

If you want to have a fun filled time with friends and family.......

I recommend Sgt. Splatters!!

SEE YOU THERE!



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tremulant Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51
Ultimate Paintball
Paintball City/ Badlands
Directions
to the Field:
I get confused every time I'm trying to find this place. And I've been there twice. I live just down the road, and can never seem to find Wingold Ave, or whatever the hell it's called every time I try to get there.
Review: I don't know where to start....

Safety - Masks, Barrel Plugs, so on and so forth. We had one of the guys come up to us and take us upstairs to give the renters who were with us info on how to play, etc. We, being older guys (mid 20's) Pay attention to the rules, because we know how dangerous it can be with no masks on. However, the place was crowded at about 10:30, 11, and there's smaller kids, probably 13-14, running around without barrel plugs/condoms on. Several times we, the players, had to tell them to put their plugs in. That, and at one point during the night, there were 2 people on the field without masks on. The ref shouted at them, but that was that.

Fields - I'm still cleaning the damn sand out of my shoes. I'm really not impressed with the sand in this place. That, and there is this giant 2 ft. drop from one part of the field to the other. Dangerous for people running back and forth who can't see where they're going.

Hours of Operation - I can't really remember the hours of operation. All I know is that we were NOT having a good time and we left by 11.

Prices - Alright. Owner rates are cheap. You have to pay to get free refills. That put me off. Area 51 doesn't charge for that.

Rules - This is what pisses me off the most about this place. That, and Refs. We had this scrawny ref the night that we played who was openly dissing the renters. I know that seeing a newbie play is quite funny, but its not cool to humiliate them. They're paying you for your services and you're walking all over them. That, and he was admitting that he didn't care if people wiped, all it meant was they were wasting and buying more paint, and thats all he cared about. I was REALLY not impressed with that at all.

Proshop - Its clean. They carry some decent things.

Staff - The guys behind the counter were the only good experience I had with the staff in this place. The Ref was arrogant, belittling, and honestly didn't care about anything that happened on the field.

Refs - See Staff/Rules

Players - Mostly younger kids. I don't mind playing with the younger people, but its the staff's responsibility to show them how to properly operate their markers. I saw people throwing their markers around, taking them off field without barrel bags, and it was hazardous.

Facilities - The Staging area gets REALLLY crowded. Bathrooms? LOL. if you can call that a bathroom, sure.

Food - Vending Machines.. Enough Said.


Overall, I don't think I'll ever be going back to this place. My friends and I are starting a 7 man team up, and after recent management changes, and experiences at Area 51, we've decided we're going to go there and practice. After the experiences that my friends and I had there, we've decided that they're not going to get our business again. And we're going to spread the word around amongst our fellow players that this place... isn't really worth the effort.

This place really falls below average. I don't care what perks you have with prices, etc. Having staff that don't care really makes or breaks it for me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment

nick_d Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball City
Review: SAFETY: This field was very safe. The ref kicked out players who took off their masks for even just a second. My friend had to miss a round because he put his barrel plug in while in the refreshment area (where you get the paint, CO2, ect.) Some guy was using frozen paintballs and the ref found the guy, kicked him AND his buddies out of the building.

FIELD: There is one very large field with lots of places to hide and a large L-shaped building on the lower 3rd of the field. The field is made of mucky sand which impedes running and there are many puddles over along the walls. The lights are dim so it's hard to see clearly, but there's enough light to see across the field.

PRICES: I had my own equipment, so I payed $5 for 4 hours, and $10 per hundred balls. My friends both rented, so it was $30 for 4 hours and $15 per hundred. Basically, if you have your own equipment, everything is cheaper!

RULES: Same as almost anywhere.

SERVICES: I guess it was because it was really busy, but the counter staff hurried everyone through and weren't very friendly, but they did their job well and were very helpful. (They showed me how to use the chrono machine because I had never used one before.)

PROSHOP: It is far better than their old one, and the person behind the counter was a lot better (last one I remember was on drugs.) It has many higher priced guns including many BT's. Not many things when compared to Badlands, but it's a lot better than the old one. (The new one is in place of the arcade if I am not mistaken.)

STAFF: Very strict, very polite to those who followed the rules and played safe.

REFS: See staff.

PLAYERS: You cannot judge a place by it's players, because we had many obnoxious players. Some kept taking their masks off, some brought in paintballs from outside the place, some even went as far as freezing theirs. At least 10 players got kicked out for breaking rules and such.

FACILITIES: One small bathroom for the guys with 2 urinals and one stall. Wasn't very big (probably 50 sq/ft) but it was clean, which is very good.

FOOD: Had vending machines for pop and snacks. The proshop sold Gatorade which was great.

This is a very good field for those starting out and those who can't afford to play much.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media