paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field / Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Sgt. Splatters Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
245Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 416-781-0991
Address: 54 Wingold Avenue
Toronto, Ontario M6B 1P5
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
ragga Thursday, October 5th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 2nd, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pbc, area 51
Directions
to the Field:
dufferin and lawrence area
Review: in my opinion, this is the best scenerio field in the gta!
the staff is very knowledgable and curteous. never have i seen a staff member berate a customer, i've seen players get in trouble for not following the safety rules, rules that are there to protect you.
weekends are always busy, which in my opinion, is a good thing.
even with 80plus people playing, the games are very well structured.
a twenty minute wait to get set up is not unbearable.
refs are well trained, brian on sat nights rocks!
the counter staff are well versed in paintball, most have been playing for many years.
the tech support at splatters is really good as well, as long as they have the time to fix yuor gun(gun owners gun)
the prices are fair, 15 per hundred for a renter/10 for gun owners.
buy it in bulk and the prices drop.
some reviews i read seem to look down on the fact that you have to go through the safety briefing, how else are you going to learn the rules?
players range in skill level from, first time players to old timers like myself.
games are fairly reffed, teams split up fairly.if a team seems to be at disadvantage(skillwise) the ref would change the teams the very next game.
the proshop at splatters is very well stocked! any gun you want they have or can get it in a reasonible time frame.
the hours of operation blow any field out of the water! 24 hours on reservation! wow!
even 9 a.m. till 2-3 a.m. beats any other field by at least 2-3 hours!
like i said at the beginning of this review, SGT. SPLATTERS is the best scenerio field in the gta! did i mention that it is canadas largest indoor paintball field?

i give it a 10/10
haters get a 0/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

whitegoose Friday, September 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none really.
Directions
to the Field:
got them off the website
Review: Safety: not too bad. they were chassing people that were chrono-ing over 230 pretty bad. the ref got mad at me cause on the way out after a match i lifted my mask. he made me sit out a round.

prices werent too bad for owners. i think i spent about $40-50 for 300 balls, my entry and coveralls cause i forgot mine.

proshop was closed when i wnet, but if you wanted something they would open it for you.

staff wasnt too bad. the had some people there that were really good and others that werent.

players were a good mix. everything from renters to first time owners to vets.

bathroom could use some work, but it was ok for the amount of time you spend there. stagging area was pretty big. im not too fond of the sand floor, but all in all it wasnt too bad.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann_kid Saturday, September 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Barrie paintball,p.b.c
Review: This placde is alright , i guess? The employees are rude and they would bite youre head off if you asked them anything. Very expensive considering it looks like crap, i wonder where the money goes. The shop is rather expensive to but there are some good deals. I wonder why i keep on going back to this place. I think its because theres lots of rentals to snipe. Btop is the best day. Byop also stands for: bring your own paper meaning toilet paper. This place is soo cheap they charge on air and co2. There many other fields that fill for free but I don't want to make this plae sound extremely bad.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

~Lusiphur~ Tuesday, September 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51- INSANE FEILD!!!
CLEAN YOU WASHROOMS!!
Review: This place is ridiculous. Only lately have I been kicking my own ass for spending the money for going there.
The manager is so rude to you and I garuntee when you meet this guy you will ask yourself "WTF did I do?
The bunkers and structure are completely covered in old paint, the ground is sand, which will just ruin you gun (unless you own an MR1), to the extent that I saw, the ref just leaves. He does not watch the matches. In other words he's not doing his job which gives other players the chance to cheat.
Their speed limit isn't the greatest. 240fps isn't enough for some people.
One thing I genuinly dislike about this place. Sgt.'s objective is to take every penny from you when people these days are trying to save as many pennies as possible (when going paintballing)
The proshop clerk was very nice and really helpfull. I know because I bought a gun from him, which I did have a few problems with but he was more then happy to help fix.
The prices for parts, markers and/or equipment/apparell is pretty fair.
The only time I would ever go back to Splatter's is to checkout the pro shop.
I'm sorry but I wouldn't break an appointment to come here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

louisrizzi Saturday, September 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pbc
Gorgina
Vaughan
Directions
to the Field:
Duffern and Wingold
Review: This place sucks. The field is full of sand so tou get you gun durty and damaged. The refs dont even stay in in the field while playing so people cheat. The people that work there are so mean ad boss you around. I got my gun taken away for 1 hour cause i putmy hand over the barrle on my gun. Watch out for the big guy. He sucks and is so messed up. NEVER GO TO SGT.SPLATTERS.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

macsown Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: before my review I would like to say that all of my reviews are based on what i have experienced ONLY.

OK so you are thinking about going to sgt. splatters eh? Well make sure to bring a flash light and 15 credit cards. This was the first place I ever went paintballing way back before they “sold it” I have gone back and well …… what have they DONE!

The People
Are ok but well they can be jerks. They try to get every penny from you witch can be very very annoying. “hey you look like you could use some paint $15 plz” “ no I’m good thanks” “NO you need paintballs” “um”

The Field
the field my god what have they done to you. When your not swimming in a paint/sand pool you are tripping on exposed concert. The field is just nasty and so is the staging area. Sand every were. Don’t rent guns from them. Friends of mine whet throw 4 guns trying to get them to work. They have a good shop kind of …. Ok it sucks nice staff though.


Over all
they have kill my inner paintball playing child. This field was so good back in the day but now its bad really bad. The paint is way over priced and the paint is crap even my A5 broke a ball. You made me cry sgt.splatters

1 point for being a field
3 points for pro shop staff

sgt.Splatter gets a 4 out 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ethan211 Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Safari Ridge in Kelowna, BC - It was better lit, lots of fun, and cheaper
Directions
to the Field:
WIngold is just off Dufferin, between Lawrence and Eglinton
Review: Prices
$10 / 100, $90 / 1000, $160 / 2000, Taxes not included.
If you are renting, it costs about 50% more, which is pretty steep in my opinion.
BYOP is available, but only from 9am to Noon on Sundays.
Mondays are half price, but ALL paint prices [for owners and renters alike] are half of the rental price, and calculated by the hundred; this mean that 100 paintballs is $7.50, and 500 paintballs is $37.50.

Rental Equipment
The rental markers are Tippmanns [98 Customs, I believe], but are mostly in fairly poor repair; they fire well enough, but feel as though they are not securely put together [ie. feed neck missing one pin and held on with duct tape, bottomline mount loose, etc.].

Facilities
The prep area is fairly large, with metal counters and vending machines. There are several windows with which to view the field, but are they almost completely covered with paint. There is paper towel and some sort of liquid in multiple spray bottles [in my experience, this liquid only causes the field lights to glare on your goggles, making it difficult to see.] The bathrooms are fairly dirty; the last time I was there I had to grab some paper towel from the prep area to clean the piss off the toilet seat, as well as wipe my ass.

Field
The field is fairly large for an indoor field, with multiple building that have door and window frames, as well as two car bodies and several piles of empty barrels. Four of the buildings have a second floor, which is useful for attack-and-defend and adds nicely to the apparent size of the field. The floor is sand, and the walls and structures made of wood. Even though this is an indoor field, I don't think they have Air Conditioning; the last time I was there, I was sweating so much that sweat was getting on the inside of my lense and blurring my vision [I'm 5'9" and 145 lbs so no, I'm not just fat]
The field itself is very dirty and appears to be rarely, if ever, cleaned. There are several areas where piles of broken paintball shells are visible, and all of the structures are covered in paint; the sand has had a considerable amount of paint mixed in with it, making it stickier that normal sand. One of the building on the upper field has two broken steps on the stairs, and both sets of external stairs are covered in a layer of paint, making them quite slippery. The lighting is very poor on the field; the field itself is rather dark, yet the light still shines into your goggles quite a bit, making it difficult to see.

The Game
Full-Auto markers are not allowed, but Tippmann response triggers are; I have, however, heard people bragging about getting away with using the full-auto mode on their electronic markers fairly easily. According to the field employee, the paint they were selling was .684 caliber, which will produce relatively poor accuracy and efficiency with the .689 - .690 caliber barrels that most paintball markers ship with.
In my opinion, one of the worst things about this field is the fact that all playing velocities are limited to 230 fps, while standard paintball velocity is 300 fps; this causes poor accuracy, limited range, and an increased likelihood of paint simply bouncing off someone, rather than breaking and scoring an 'out'. It is my belief that they limit the velocity this way in order to create all of the problems listed above, which causes a player to use more paint to score each out, causing the player to buy more paint, instead of doing it for the purpose of safety.

I have been disappointed by all 3 trips that I have made to this field, and will not be returning. I gave it a 2, because it could have been worse.
Last edited on Friday, August 11th, 2006 at 9:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Splatters-Sucks Wednesday, August 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC, Eastie Boyz, Area 51, Paintball Nation, Wasaga Beach, SOF
Directions
to the Field:
Turn Back Home Because This Place Sucks !
Review: THE PLACE SIMPLY SUCKS!

1.) The Workers are Jerks. Nickle and Dime You For Everything. Make you feel like crap, lie to you (told my friend if he could shoot the managers finger that he would get a free membership, and he didn't)
2.) Proshop is a Ripoff
3.) Paint is way too expensive for owners and renters
4.) When they chrono your Gun they make you shoot about 20 Paintballs and you have to do it every couple rounds.
5.) The field is way too dark and you cant see ANYTHING (sometimes you have glare of the light on you aswell)
6.) The sand is way to hard to run in and can get your gun dirty
7.) The place is never cleaned and is always a mess
8.) The refs pick the worst games to play and they cant run a game at all
9.) They say you get a free co2 fill with entry, yet they attempt to charge you
10.) They use the cheapest paint and doesn't break 6 out of 10 times (I caught 5)
11.) They say its half price yet it isn't
12.) They treat the gun renters who don't know anything about paintball soo poorly by given them a bag of paintballs that are dented and about to break.
13.) They presure people into upgrading their guns to a 98 for an extra 10$ by telling them "Do you want to shoot people or get shot" ......... Which brings me to my question, why would you be renting out a gun that cant shoot for crap then.
14.) You cant tell who is on your team because all they give you is a small strip of caution tape to put on the arm which is way to hard to see.


But I wont lie, I did happen to meet 1 oriental person there who was extremly nice to me, gave me a free co2 fill (even tho it costs them nothing it makes me feel welcome).

Other then that i guess this field is alright.

OVERPRICED PEICE OF CR*P PLACE. BRING ON BYOP EVERYDAY AND YOU MIGHT GET MORE PEOPLE ! OR LOWER YOUR PRICE OF PAINT ! YOU CAN STILL MAKE $ ON 5$ / 100 or 20$ / 500 ..............

LEARN TO MARKET YOUR PRODUCT AND YOU MIGHT MAKE MORE $

THATS RIGHT YOU HEARD ME !

CHEERS !
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sn1p3r2k6 Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 2nd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: k who ever says that this is a good paintball place u guys are so wrong u guys must go once a year to the same place first of all its so dirty like wat were they thinking sand comon , the ppl there are they no nothing and they only serve u fast if u have money in ur hand or on the counter and the prices are so horrible like compare Vaughan extrem paintball 35$ for a case of 2000 no tx and 20$ to get in no taxes again


the things that i like about Sgt splatters is that they have a ton of different game Thad's about it o ya and becuz theres like all noobs and rentalers that stay at the back crying cuz there afraid of getting shot
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pizza boy Wednesday, July 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: first off i would just like 2 say i love this place the staff is nice and knowledgeable especially in the proshop the field is nice and so is every thing else.

But the reason i only gave it a 9 is because the paint is 2 expensive and u need 2 buy a 200$$ membership if u want 2 jet it 4 5$$ per bag of 100

There is mostly nice people that go there except 4 the team people or people that have more ego than skill and talk 2 much s***
Last edited on Sunday, July 30th, 2006 at 12:47 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (25):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media