paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sir Goony's Paintball Field / Sir Goony's Paintball Field / Sir Goony's Paintball Field / Sir Goony's Paintball Field

Sir Goony's Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
23Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 865-675-3262
Address: 10925 Kingston Pike
Knoxville, Tennessee 37922
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
sirsebastion Tuesday, March 9th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Overall i think this field is good. I am used to playing woods ball (i used to live in front of 30 acres) and the Sir Gooneys field was actually the first speed ball course i had played on and i must say i really enjoyed it.

Safety is a big thing over there. They just put up new nets around the field which is a plus. The refs are pretty laid back but they still enforce the rules.

They cater to players of ages 10 and up and its a good place for players of all types and experiences to go. I definitely recommend it and i give it an 8.5/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

powersclan97 Thursday, December 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
players Club Smokey Mtn Paintball.
Review: Have to admit, Sir Goonies may not be one of the top of line courses, but many paintballers enjoy using the field. Really fun to use just after raining. Alot of slip and slidding. Have to admit, along with other review's, It would be a great improvement to pave drive way going to field. Myself and entire family have looked around other fields in this area, Over all not a bad place to play paint ball. Recommend this field for use. Only 2 safety rating issues, No weighing of bottles during fills and after players working on their equipment not having them re chron for safe play.
Last edited on Tuesday, January 13th, 2009 at 1:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pbjunkie94 Friday, December 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Player Club Paintball - Good
KPS - Never been to
Tsunami & Riptide are both closed down
Review: I took about a one year hiatus from paintball and decided that i should get back into playing it. A bunch of my friends were going there and i went too. I heard that Sir Gooneys didn't really have that great of a field, but i decided to check it out anyway. I got there and was impressed by the upgrade they made. They went from having pipe bunkers to airbunkers.

The field is on a slight slant but when you are playing on it you can't really tell and you don't even notice it. The staff are really good people. Safety is the number one goal there and they haven't ever had an accident there. The paint selection is kinda limited, but if you have a good marker that you really care about go ahead and spend the extra ten bucks and get the premium paint.

I believe the prices there are approximatley $18.00 for all day air/field fee, and rec. paint is $40.00-$50.00, premium paint is $60.00. Not bad if you ask me. The rental equipment they have are V-Force Vantage masks, the usual Tippman 98 custom, gravity feed hoppers, and 20oz. CO2 tanks.

Overall, my friends and I had a great time that day and we now go a lot. I'm probably goona be in there league in Janurary. I believe they are planning to build a second field soon so that will be a big plus. I think that this facility deserves a solid 71/2. Go there and check it out you'll more than likely have a good time.
Last edited on Friday, December 5th, 2008 at 1:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bountyhunter23 Saturday, February 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: September 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Farragut Paintball (no longer exists), Knoxville Paintball Sports
Review: The field isnt the best, I have often thought of cheap ways to make it better or bigger. There is plenty of space next to it if the trees are taken out. The road down to there is gravle and not in the best condition. The owner says its the kids pealing out and it cost alot to fix it every time. Im sure with the amount of money he has spent fixing it he could have paved it. Its the closest and all in all its not that bad for a rec ball course. There really isnt much choice around here, so you play with what you have.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CollinsJ Tuesday, February 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
East Tennessee Paintball (Backwoods) - 2 airball, 1 pallet
24 Hour Games Dalton, GA - 32 acre scenario. Closed.
KPS
Review: OK. I'm 35 and I've played both rec-ball with my nephews, and wife's company "team building" event. I was also a member of a regular Saturday league team at Sir Goony's.

Rental Equipment and Air
Tippman 98 Customs, JT masks.
Can fill both CO2 and N2
Offers standard white box up to Neo Splat paint.

The good.
The owner/wife are decent goodhearted people. Fair pleasant couple.
The employees are all willing to answer any questions and help in anyway that they can. They're even willing to give playing tips and tricks to the new players.
Being a league player the pricing was great. Discounts for members.
The kids always, always have a great time.
The equipment is always ready to go and in good working condition.
I've never had a problem with them handling my personal pb equipment.
Willing to work out deal cuts for large groups. 10 or more.
Pricing is comparable to other pb facilties in the area.
The field is low compared to the surrounding area and is closed in by trees. Wind doesn't normally have any affect.

Edit - Now has Sup Air Ball Bunkers. 100% improvement

Recommendations
Expand - the grounds have room for 2 more fields and plenty of parking
Advertise to bring more people in. I live 2 miles away and didn't know they offered paintball until I was invited to a company function.
Update/Upgrade the website with correct pricing information.

Edit - Update as of May 08 Sir Goonys now has AIR BUNKERS. They apparently purchased around 80 bunkers made by Sup Air Ball from a local field re-ball field that had closed. They look and play great. No more marshmellowed plastic drums.
Last edited on Tuesday, May 13th, 2008 at 10:32 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rio258k Friday, May 26th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tsunami (Closed, moved, changed name to riptide)
KPS
Review: Okay. First off, I am an employee. I am 17 years old. I have played there for 4 years, and worked there for 3.

Second, I am committed to a completely unbiased review. I will only post facts, unless otherwise indicated.

I. Prices (Updated May 2006) available here... http://sirgoonys.net/paintball.htm Paint is no longer brass eagle (Nel-splat now) and no longer 100 dollars per case.

II. We fill both CO2 and Nitrogen up to 4500 psi using a cascade style fill station.

III. There are 2 options on paint. Field Paint (as priced above) or Bring Your Own Paint ($20 dollars, plus the cost of your choice of CO2 or Compressed Air)

III. It is true that if it has rained, the field will be muddy and wet (as expected since it is OUTDOORS)

IV. Paintball Leagues are offered several times a year, usually one summer one winter.

V. *This field is geared more towards recreational paintballers, as well as beginners. Tournament players may not be as enthused with the field layout and structure, but for recball, the field is more than adequate.* PERSONAL OPINION

VI. No airball as of May 2006 but plans are in the works for a lighted airball course. (Will Update if situation changes).

VII. We will NOT screw up your tank if you get it filled here (as stated in one review), all employees know how to use the fill stations properly.

VIII. Walk ons are welcome.

IX. We use Tippmann 98 Customs for rentals along with new JT masks.

X. Paint Prices changed as of 06 an all reviews on this site at the time of this writing are dated 05, so please visit the website http://www.sirgoonys.net for the most up to date information, as well as waivers.

Please Comment on this review if you find any discrepancies or bias.

Thank You


UPDATE MAY 2006=========== Summer League Starting June 10.
Last edited on Friday, May 26th, 2006 at 9:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

pb playa Tuesday, December 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 6th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
not many mostly this one its really fun!! well for the beginner
Review: I have really enjoyed playing at this feild. Its exciting and very sporty. Its not for the most advanced players but is a real fun place for beginners. If you have heard that they only run co2 thats a lie they do offer nitro too. The rental markers are 98 customs. There are a ton of bunkers which i enjoy. They have a snake which is tough but if your good its nothing. They also if im correct have a "T" Which is fun but watch your hopper its a low rise bunker ill give the field a 5 just cuz its a fun place. The staff there are really funny and are fun to hang out with. If you have heard about the airball field ive heard a little of it but im not for certain. They do have two leagues summer and winter we just played not to long ago but it was cold and it was a bummer. So if you want to play soon go to gooneys its worth it
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

wprice Saturday, December 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 3rd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
riptide,tsunami,backwoods
Review: Alot of people say that sir goonys is a crappy place well alot of those people havent been there in at least 2 to 3 years and alot of things have changed.Like staff members that do know what there doing,like myself, and we also have had alot of leagues and things . we are also looking into an airball feild to put off to the side to have two feilds. and we're really looking to try to upgrade alot of things to get more credit in the paintball business, we have nitrogen now by the way, and we have had it for about a year now for all you people that said we havent so just come play again and see how you like it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HeadManBG90 Friday, October 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
My friend's back yard, carter shooting supply(only once though)
Review: Well I actualy went here about a year ago and kept coming back cause it was the closest one to me, but just now wrote the review. Anywho I still go here some but its pretty bad the bunkers are like old plartic tubes randomly stuck into the ground and they have alot of cracks in them.

But I can deal with the field because its pretty close and really not that bad but the thing that puts it really low is the prices on their stuff ,the play pass and free air are cool but good God its like 7,8 bucks for craptastic brass eagle paint last time I was there

I guess its an ok field but if you can find a better field GO THERE. All in all I'll give it a 3 cause its close and... well its close thats pretty much it.
Last edited on Friday, October 14th, 2005 at 2:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

A-5paintballpro Monday, June 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
tsunomi paintball; it just depends if you like long fields or short fields. this field is longer(sir goonies)
Review: Overall i give this field a 4/10 rating. It is pretty long and has alot of bunkers.DON'T GO TO THIS FIELD AFTER IT HAS RAINED. It is very nasty if you go after it has rained. They rip you of on paintballs. They are cheap paintballs too. So unless you like cheap paintballs don't go
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media