paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / O'hare Paintball Park  / O'hare Paintball Park  / O'hare Paintball Park  / O'hare Paintball Park

O'hare Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
7Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 630-595-9870
Address: 1071 Thorndale AVe
Bensenville , Illinois 60106
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
badpenny01 Sunday, January 30th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 29th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPX
Badlandz
Xtreme Paintball Park
Sudden Impact
Chili Paintball Pits

The above fields each have their own set of strengths and weaknesses, whether they be price, distance, number of fields, variety, staff demeanor, etc. For those in the Chicago area, OPP wins hands down on travel time. Prices are average. Facility is well-kept, climate controlled, and has bathrooms.
Review: I went to this place not knowing what to expect, having been spoiled by going to CPX for most of my paintballing life. Here are my impressions:

Field setup:

There is one playing area consisting of inflatable bunkers; these are either NPPL style or scenario themed (humvee, barrels, crates, etc.). Their NPPL ones are new, and they are trying to gauge feedback on which setup people enjoy more. I believe they switch out the bunkers every 2-3 weeks or so. The turf is quite forgiving if you fall or slide, yet very safe and stable to sprint on. The registration area is very clean and sports a small selection of equipment available for purchase. This is where you buy your paint, food, etc. There are two main areas for staging, both bordering the netted field, with a chrono range off to a side. There is one 4500 fill station and one 3000 fill station in between the staging areas, along with rentals.

Staff:

Staff was very friendly and involved in the operation. The owner (I assumed) was behind the rental counter now and again himself, not to mention walking around the staging areas making sure things were running smoothly. Refs were good though it seemed at least one of them was new.

Safety:

There was no safety briefing, though the rules are posted. This didn't seem to be an issue.

Prices:

The prices are average, at $90/case for RPS Premium and $15 admission. Having been around the state, I would say this is fair considering the facility quality and overall experience. If you go often, the membership prices are very good, and include significant paint discounts. I also got a whole pizza for 8 dollars, which I can't complain about (looked like DiGiorno).

Clientele:

Big mix of people play here. Sat-Sun crowds are the most diverse, with a lot of rentals and new players. I was informed by the staff that the "older" folks play on Thurs nights (school nights I guess). I did not witness any cheating or anyone complaining about cheating. I'd like to go back one evening to get a better feel.

Facility:

Drywall, carpeted registration, nice bathrooms, good lighting, clean floors, and monitored locker area (bring your own lock).

So, in conclusion:

Strengths- Location, modern facility, nice staff, willing to entertain feedback from guests.

Weaknesses- Little variety over the course of one day. Field cleaning/maintenance is time-consuming between games.

Opportunities- Potential to attract all age groups. Should consider special event games for open pump play, stock class play, pistols only, classic guns, etc, for spectating and well as participation. Should consider multiple game formats to add variety. Indoor setting lends itself to special lighting/effects (cosmic paintball anyone?).

Threats: Wait time between games is noticeable, since they have to clean the field and refill the bunkers often. If they decide to start enforcing chrono-ing on personal guns (as they should) this wait time will be even longer.

Overall, a good field I plan to go back to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

crutches 11 Monday, January 10th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 8th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Chicagoland paintball
CPX
Badlandz
Review: I came over the weekend and it was full. The games where split between novice and advanced players which was good. At one point there where 3 refs on the field but most guys call themselves out, so it was good all around. That was a good group of people out that weekend.

The field is nice and brand new, clean and maintaned. Around 3pm they took a break and cleaned the paintballs on the ground with what looks like a paintball mower. I like those big bunkers please dont change it to NPPL, Im 6-feet, 215lbs and have a hard time sqeezing on small bunkers :)

They sell candy bars, pizza, water and soda at the front desk. There seems to be a camera that is pointed at the field, 2 tv's one with a show and one with the field view. I guess thats nice for those who dont play. I only saw one stall in the bathroom but it was clean.

The crono seems to be beeping past 250fps, the field limit was 280fps (I think) I got hit several times and it didnt felt like the velocity was high so I guess everybody crono on their own, as I said the group on that weekend was a good group. At around the end of the afternoon somebody complained about ramping and the refs where on it. There was a player there that stopped a couple of kids that came off the net without barrel bags on their marker, that is good that other players watch out for each other cause refs can only see so much.

Paint price is the same as CPX and Chicagoland, I hope they have special days or cheaper paint days :)

All in all, I think it depends to the players. Its always good to play with people that are considerate and see paintball as a fun game to play and not some competition that you have to win at all cost.

....and one last thing, finally a paintball field that is close to the City :)
Last edited on Monday, January 10th, 2011 at 4:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bubbaK Sunday, January 9th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 8th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
operation paintball, splat, fox paintball, sherwood forest, fort knox
Review: My friends and i went to o'hare yesterday for the first time. we had alot of fun with some minor issues. First of all if you are going to play paintball, sometimes you have to pay the big bucks. Yes the price for a case isnt cheap but what are you gonna do? They use good paint, premium gold. the field is very well lit up for indoors. If they change up the field every few weeks, that will make it more competitive. The field has indoor outdoor carpeting and it feels like there is padding underneath for a nice cushiony feel. They could use a few more refs,but the ones we had were good. We could only play six on six,when i believe if they had more refs we could have had bigger games. when there was a problem with the so called pro players the owner threw his mask on and handled the situation. They do seperate the pros from the novice and beginners which i do think is a good thing, this way everyone can have fun at thier own level. One thing that bothers me is that they don't chrono your guns. At least give the refs a handheld chrono to do random checks. They also have 3000psi and 4500psi fill stations and you fill your own tank, which i also like. They do have drinks, candy and pizza. o'hare is a cool place for winter indoor ball, i will go back, i just dont know how they are gonna compete in the summer with the local outdoor fields. All the employees were friendly and willing to help if needed. i rate this field at an 8 out of 10
Last edited on Sunday, January 9th, 2011 at 5:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ace0rz07 Saturday, December 18th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 11th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:

CPX
Fox
Operation Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
North East Corner @ Thorndale and 83
Review: The place is ok..

they dont do a safety briefing, last time i was there we had to remind the ref to chorno us, he also spent a good deal of time picking up paint off the ground and throwing it at the poles, he was also telling his co workers that were playing where the other team was (i know this cause i was playing with them for a few games) it seems like they just hired a bunch of irresponsible kids that dont know much about customer service / professionalism.. they probably pay them in paint..

its a new field, so their is no black sludge that will ruin your apparel.

place is pricey for what they offer (they also charge sales tax for the paint, i dont know of a single place that does this other then them.)
$15 for entry and $90 a case is just not really worth it for one field IMO.
it seems like it would be a good place for beginners, but their is just to many other butt heads that will just beat down on you if your new..

i also think they went over kill with the spray paint job they did for the rental counter.. having "rental" spray painted above the counter just looks like crap.

overall i give them a 4/10

as far as recommending the place to others. i guess it depends on their skill level and ability to deal with bs.
Last edited on Saturday, December 18th, 2010 at 11:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mutatedhat Friday, November 12th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Great place!!!!!
Don't mind the other reviews, those were when the place just opened up. Now it has been running for 3 months, and it has been doing a great job. if you buy the year membership, which is ONLY 100 DOLLARS, you get unlimited admission, and 2000 paintballs is only 75 bucks! They have also improved the bunkers.
This is NOT A SPEEDBALL FIELD, it is a place to have fun. it is as close to one as you can get without actually being one.

This is a place to have fun, not complain about stupid stuff.
Hope you go there some time and check it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Polaksk8er9 Wednesday, October 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 15th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Okay let me start off by saying this is the worst field i have been to. I mean who makes a indoor paintball field with no xball. They have random inflatbles like a castle and log cabins. The bunkers are really a cheap stratgey. There are so much people hiding inside them. The refs are not profesional. They do not know how to referee. The owner never played paintball in his life. So he does not know what to do. The prices are WAY TOO EXPENSIVE!!If i were to get a case and admission i would pay about 120$. That is insane. They do not explain the rules to everyone. Only noobs. It is really hard to know what mode to play on and the fps because they have no signs about it. There is like a 10 year old kid who works there. He doesn't know anything about paintball. Also he doesn't know about refereeing. Overall it is an okay field but it is way too expensive, inprofessional refs, the organiztion of the field and the bunkers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

go-paintballer Wednesday, October 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 22nd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
nothing this is the worst field I have ever been to.
Review: This field was a decent field but not better then average in my opinion. Well first off all the refs have no experience and plus the owner has never played paintball. The field is set up randomly and they use a mix of of random objects. Plus the rules are not clear. The prices are way overpriced. Overall I give this field 7/10 it can't compare to The Badlandz or CPX but it is a decent field if you live close by like I do.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media