paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Action Jack's Paintball Games Paintball Field / Action Jack's Paintball Games Paintball Field / Action Jack's Paintball Games Paintball Field / Action Jack's Paintball Games Paintball Field

Action Jack's Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 641-792-1077
Address: 2216 S 12th Ave W
Newton, Iowa 50208
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
SP1Lover Thursday, June 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ICU indoor, DOA in st.charles, archery in altoona,
Directions
to the Field:
From Des Moines head east on I-35 to the first newton exit, head north to the first set of stoplights and head back west from the stop lights to bottom of hill and turn right to field.
Review: I have played here once and LOVE it. I will continue to bring my business to there new location. Ive never played at the old one in colfax. They are very strict with safety, condoms on the guns outside in the staging area and masks on inside the netting (playing area). Paint is still 20 bucks for 500 balls, 40 bucks with a rental for the day and 35 with ur own equip, very nice staff, very knowledgeable and helpful staff. Free CO2 and air for the day with admission. I liked all three fields we played on. We didnt play the big field or the attack and defend (not enough people till we were leaving). I love the urban field, the spool field has a nice layout. the day i went it had just stopped pouring for two or three days prior so was muddy but VERY fun. I would recommend this field to anyone. Upon asking about the VIP cards, i received a free VIP Card with two entrance fees on it and now get my balls for $18 bucks for 500. Going again on the 20th and many more times. Looking forward to the tourney "Spice Wars" also.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paricite Sunday, August 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 30th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not sure of other fields in the area I drove in from Minnesota to play there.
Directions
to the Field:
You can get them from there web site.
Review: I played on 3 different fields when I was there Woods field, City field (and I think it was called) the Spool field . All 3 fields were very well laid out with lots of bunkers and structures a few vehicles and some very nice shooting lanes there is also some thick underbrush scattered through out the fields and on the edges. Safety seemed to be very important there as well. No shooting within 20 feet was something that I had not experienced before. They were very good at making sure goggles were on before you went on the field and kept on while on the field. They also did a good job of making sure barrel socks were on before entering the staging area. The turnaround time between games was the shortest I have experienced at any of the fields I have played at (5 to 10 min). It is field paint only $20 for 500 rounds and $15 field fee for open play so pricing is not to bad either.

The only thing I did not like about this field was the walk from the parking and sign in area to the staging area. However once you were in the staging area you could buy paint and get air so you did not have to make that walk more than once each way. They also had drinks and candy for sale in the staging area.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spilkerart Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: As a first time Paintball-player, I attended Action Jack's with a party of ten other guys for a bachelor party. EVERY single one of us had a great time. The field was phenomenal, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The fields had great obstacles/fortification, and the layouts were very good. Nice large fields, that allowed for plenty of shooters. I think we had around thirty players on each team at the end of the day. Lots' of opportunities to shoot and get shot!
Safety was also very good at Action Jack's. Rules and regulations for both games and safety were laid out clearly for everyone, with plenty of signs, as well.
I give this field my highest recommendation!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PHONON Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Outlet in Eldora
Directions
to the Field:
Travel down ( South ) Highway 330 until it ends and becomes Highway 65. Right at this point turn left onto Highway 117. Actions Jacks is 11 miles down this road in COLFAX on Field Avenue.
Review: The outdoors area is HUGE; forts, sheds, airplanes, cars, spools, concrete drainage pipes; lots of places to bunker down in and play. For winter play, there is a toasty warm staging area that has people there to help you with dirnks ( hot coffee --> mmm !!! ) paint, CO2 fills. There is also HPA available. The reffing is non-intrusive, the games are limited typically to 10 minutes in the winter.

Haven't tried the indoor area but the tour of the area was also very positive.

Great people, well run, reasonably priced, and full service. Not only is there lots of support there, one of the refs is a savy custom machinist and airsmith.

Bought my first Autococker Sniper Pump here. First game out, got a first hit in short order.

Several Pump players showed up both of the times I played the place. I will DEFINITELY spend more time at Action Jacks.
Last edited on Sunday, January 13th, 2008 at 7:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

redz ion Wednesday, December 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have only played here and in other friends' yards.
Directions
to the Field:
Close to Colfax
Review: The place was awesome compared to just playing at my coarse at my house. The safety is fine. There is a place at the woodsball frields where you wait for the games to get done; the place sell drinks, food, refills tanks, and sells paint there. It also has a huge net around it so the people playing in games won't hit you. At the shop where you pay entry fee and stuff like that there are some people selling speedball paint and renting out rentals. The speedball field and indoor coarse are right next to the shop. The speedball and indoor coarse also have huge nets around them.

Prices: I think it's fair- $20 for 500 paintballs for woodsball, only woodsball has refs
and for speedball it's $15 for 500
The field fee is $10 which includes all day air
Rentals are The field fee+$5
Field hours: Saturday and Sunday 10 to 5
Week day you have to make a reservation of 10+ people and they can have
it during most anytime.
Rules: must have a barrel condom/sleeve no plugs
refs: don't do much they pretty much just watch the game
It's a fun field I went with like 5 friends and we all loved it.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rohlfsen Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Directions
to the Field:
Easy, North off the the Colfax exit on I80 East of Des Moines about 20 miles.
Review: Was really impressed by the woods ball fields and helpfulness of staff. Rates are really very reasonable with VIP bonus cards that help save money. I'd be interested to see how costs are compared to other paintball fields as large as this one.

Otherwise, if you go there regardless of skill I'm sure you'll have a great time!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

some person Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
DOA paintball- good, but kinda ghetto (lol) and not as fun as aj's.
my homemade field- not as good
Directions
to the Field:
look on their website they have directions there
Review: I played on the indoor field and it was really fun. its all airbunkers, but the floor is a nasty mud/paint mixture. its really nice being able to play paintball inside when thhere's snow outside. they seem to rearrange their field there sometimes. the first time i went there the field had a much simpler layout and bigger bunkers than when i played in a tournament there (which was SWEEET). for the tournament layout they have a big x in the middle, a snake, a few doritos, small boxes, some cans, and aztecs. for the other setup they had there were 2 huge cans on their sides, some standup cans, a few big aztecs, and a semi-snake like bunker... not realy sure wt it was lol. the tournament layout was much more fun to play on i would say. at the field they have 3000 psi and 4500 psi air fill stations and they have tippmanns for rent. when you just go to play they dont really have refs on the field to call you out, but at tournaments the refs are great. they always check people for hits and they seem to know what they are doing. about the only bad things about the field are the floor and they dont let you bring your own paint like at DOA. anyway, i would definitely recommend going to this field if you live in iowa.

Edit-
I have played on their outdoor speedball field now, which is right next to the check in building. It is nice, the air bunkers are new, and the field is a pretty nice size for 3 or 4 man games. The ground is grass, much nicer than mud, and you can actually dive into the snake without getting covered in crap lol. The bunkers are very small though, and the layout is alright, but kind of open. They are getting a new 5 man x ball field which will be awesome when its here. ill review that once ive played it.
Last edited on Monday, June 4th, 2007 at 11:28 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skemte Tuesday, October 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I think that Action Jacks is a fine place to do some woodsball, I particularly enjoy woodsball more than speedball, and I think they have a pretty nice woodsball area perhaps maybe a little more land but other than that AJ's is a pretty fair place to play, and the people there are great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chinchilla505 Saturday, September 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: September 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
-Lookout's old field, but before it was complete. All they had when I was there was a spool speed ball field. It was alright but a spool field can only be so good.
-It can't compare to AJs
-ACP I went there once and it had an alright woods ball field cause they had this cool tree house things everywhere. Once again there was another spool field for speed ball. The staff there were kind of not smart cause they were burning the grass so that they could regrow it better or whatever, and it got out of control. My friends and i were laughing.. O my it was so funny because these guys were like 18-20 and they were running around panicking.
-Cant compare to AJs
Directions
to the Field:
I-80 east just follow it if u live in West Des Moines
Review: I give AJs a ten

-Speedball- They used to have a hyperpipe field, but they tore it down to incorporate it into the woodsball field. Once they tore it down the immedietly bought out an indoor speedball field which happened to be right next door, but was owned by another guy, you know ICU.
The indoor field is pretty nice, the flooring is sand so that adds an interesting touch. The bunkers are all airball, it's a 3-man field. They have a shop for rentals and such inside it too. The only bad/good thing is that the speedball field is dead, usually. So if u have a team u can have private practices. O ya and u can bring ur CDs and play music through out the field, thats pretty cool. 13$/500 paintballs

Woodsball- Awesome check it for urself. They have 3 fields, which they combine all of them when playing a scenario game; like the famous freddy vs jason which they will be doing again this year. They have a lot of wooden fortresses and such stuff. On a good weekend u can see 60 guys out there playing woods. 20$/500

Proshop- they have one with good stuff and can do repairs.

Overall- Action Jacks is a great place, they have been changing a lot lately and are growing every week. In the future u could expect an outdoor x-ball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

neilhudson Monday, September 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 24th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This field is bigger and more complex, seems to actually let you move around.
Directions
to the Field:
Take I-80 east to the Colfax exit, turn left, about 1/4 mile north of McDonalds, can't miss it.
Review: This has been the best field I have ever played at in terms of set up. I'm not into speedball much but they have an indoor and might still have an outdoor one. The three wooded fields are big enough if you have 10 people playing, anything less is pointless. There are plenty of bunkers, barricades, and trees to hide behind as well as trenches in the land to move about unnoticed. This is a great location to play a BIG game (where all three fields are combined into 1) but they don't do it like they used to. You used to be able to cross from field to field, but now they have blocked off the south path up to the safety net, creating a horseshoe figure which is kind of stupid, not to mention in is a long journey to reincarnate yourself. I have to admit the all the refs except the owner suck. I had a guy from the other team pinned down behind a truck, and the ref was sitting on top and wouldn't move. Not only that, he was getting high AND had his mask off! They have a 20 ft rule for insurance reasons I'm sure (even though u sign a waiver). The rule kind of sucks because most combat takes place in those types of quarters. $35 (used to at least) get you in, a gun and mask, and 500 rds of paintballs. The players there are usually a bunch of kids or young adults who think they get to be in charge of their team, and everyone usually wastes paint. Paintballs move so freaking slow, I once kept ducking in and out, not even pointing my gun, and got a guy to empty about 150 rds on me. When he caught on, he didn't fire, then I raised my gun took him out with 2 shots! It is still the best place to go around here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media