paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Combat Zone Paintball Park / Combat Zone Paintball Park / Combat Zone Paintball Park / Combat Zone Paintball Park

Combat Zone Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
29Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 530-533-5300
Address: 4444 Pacific Heights Road
Oroville, California 95965
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Impchief Thursday, December 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nfinite Edge - Refs are better at Combat Zone
First Class - Cpmbat Zone Much Bigger (First Class closed BTW)
Review: First off - We showed up to the field an hour and a half too early on a Saturday Morning - the ref that was there filling air bunkers told us that they would open an hour early for us. They did!!!
Second - The refs were the professional, extremely helpful, and very accomodating.
third - WE WERE NOT LIMITED TO ONLY ONE FIELD AT A TIME. IF FOUR OF US WANTED TO PLAY A SPEED BALL GAME - THE REFS LET US DO IT!!!!! other parks(NFINITE EDGE) limit you to only one field of play at a time, and there had to be a ref.
Fourth - CLEAN, FUN, CONSTANTLY MOVING!!!!! Great bunkers, good field layout.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Allextreme2 Tuesday, September 20th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lincoln
Review: Alright, the field is is small, but as I know from Lincoln small field can sometimes be fun. Anyway we got there and first off noticed that the staff was always in a hury and kinda rude, the kept ushering us along and were snappy to alot of questions asked. The refs weren't that helpful either, they had no idea what was going on and made some really unfair calls. Overall if I had a choice would fire everyone and get a new staff, cuz the really did suck. The field itself was small and wasn't evn real airball, it was acually kinda a mix of Airball, Hyper, and my backyard. There wanst really an actually field setup just bunkers setup just anywhere. The field was on grass so that was a plus, cuz I usally play on dirt and the grass was a nice change and easy to slide. No bathroom either whichs sux and mease you have to drive down the road to use one!
Prity Much this field sux and I wouldn't go back unless I had to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

es916 Saturday, September 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WAP, Davis, Midway, Nfinate Edge, Action, VT(closed), Extreme, All of these good fields differ in that they offer at a minimum, an air ball field. Other than that, it was basically similar to nfinate.
Review: Its a bit of a drive if you are comming from sac or stockton area but it is worth the drive. Usually I play airball/x-ball but my friends and I wanted to get away for a bit and play some woodsball/rec-play. Since some of us had never been there before, we decided to check it out. The field itself is very well constructed with great netting systems and the place is really clean. I really liked the whole military style theme at the park, it was interesting to check out some of the old military equipment. The have a nice little office which carries the same things you would expect to see at other fields; like water, sodas, rental equipment., and the likes. The field prices are $23 a person, which included the all day air (HPA), so it wasnt a bad deal. They offer only 3000psi fills but its self fill so you can choose when you want to fill, which we liked. Right off the bat a ref will ask a few questions and then give a basic safety speech and then you are ready to play.

The have like 8 fields or somewhere close to that. They have 5 fields that are woodsball type and each one of them looked awesome. The old army vehicles and equipment really add a nice touch to the play. We only played the front woodsball field and it was an absolute blast. The field management has really done a great job by grooming the area and allowing players to find "hidden" crawl spaces into the more covered areas. We also played the lego and speedball fields and they are about what you would expect. The only downside is that either they dont have teh JT sup' air ball field or it was down. I asked several refs and they seemed to know nothing about it, so I will have to check with the owners about it and edit this later. That was teh only real downside to the fields.

Overall I would say this field is a 9. I really enjoyed my time here and I will be back, for sure. If you want to have a great time with the family or your buddies, then dont hesitate to come by, it was an awesome experience.

P.S - I read the post about the overshooting and I want to comment on it. Since the time of coyote's (or whatever the name is) post, they must have took the info to heart . They were very, very serious about the overshooting and made it clear at the get-go that they would not tollerate it. The refs all day made sure to comment on it before play and kept a close eye out for it. Safety here isnt a problem as they have a ref at the chrono entrance to make sure you all chrono each time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jmatrix Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball by dean
Review: I've been playing paintball for a number of years now, and started at combat zone, and have played touneys there. They have a number of fields that you can check out when you play. the staff is helpful and newbies are always welcome. as for the rentals, they are tippman 98 customs, which is much better than the pumps at other places. Overall i give it an 8 only because of its small stock of extra parts and its size.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

coyote Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WAP, Midway, Woodstock, Rankin, Jungle, Fairgrounds (gone0, Mare island (gone)
Review: Played a TAW scenario there.

The field itself is very cool. The woodsball area gave me ample oportunity play with my stock gun and humble a few ballers shooting spendy rigs. I like the fields.

The lack of safety concerns me. No one checked me at the chrono station. not Sat., not Sun., not ever. On sat. my team captain pulled a guy out tof the trailer to check us. he didn't have the slightest idea what he was to do or why it was a concern. On Sunday we were checking ourselves ( no one present), and some guys playing on the opposite side came out and looked for a ref at the chrono station. Since there was no one present we decided to check each other since we were on opposite sides.

The refs on the field didn't seem to have a clue either. the field apparently has a policy against fully auto, but the refs don't enforce it. I approached a ref after I witnessed a player get overshot badly. the shooter was using an RT tippman. it was very clear by the noise it was cranked up so the player could sweet spot the RT. i asked the ref about fully auto guns. he said they were not permitted. i asked him to listen to the Tippman (not far away). The player with the tippman burned of about 50 shots. his rythm never broke. It was very clear that the RT was enabled and craked to F/A I told the ref he needed to go check this guys trigger. I shouldn't have to do that. I am playing, not working.

Overshooting was constantly permitted and ignored. I talked to a couple of friends that were there that played opposite us. They told me they didn't play Sunday because the were tired of being overshot. the final battle was played on a field much to small for all of the players involved.

This place has real potential, but I won't drive for hours and pass 4 fields that are safe to play here.

Future improvements might help my rating. I don't like to offer hatchet jobs, but the safety here is below avarage and that need to change. i would hate to see someone get hurt here. i don't want this place to disappear, I want it to improve.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Old paint Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Since this is the only field I have played at I can't compare it to others. I can say these things though:
Don't bring your team here looking for a challenge unless it's tournament day, you won't find it.
Don't come as a walk on and act like a punk (bunkering little kids, showing off all your four letter words, and making excuses why you didn't win after all the trash talk), no one will play with you.
I have read all of the reviews for this place and I have played there probably 20 times. Most of what has been said is true: good people, small airball, lego is fun but falling down, mainly newbs/recballers.
Some days the refs are telling stories and not watching the game or not even on the field, other days they are into it.
Actual restooms would be a huge improvement over the busted up porta potty.
The shop is pretty minimal, but its there mainly to collect fees and patch up the rental tippys.
It's not totally isolated like someone suggested, there lots of stores and such across the highway from there.
The prices are pretty stiff even though you can BYOP. I say that because you'll need to bring 80% of the people you want to play with beacuse the turnout is unpredictable, but usually less than 15 walk ons.
If your going alone or there are less than 4 of you, call first to see how many WALK ONs are there. Just because there is a group of 10 at the field, don't assume they will play with you.
I do like the promo days where the field fee is $5, makes it affordable for me to bring my whole family out (5 players).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

masterjoem1 Monday, November 8th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
soep
kerby
private fields
Review: Dont ever go here ever. we live in oregon and were planning to go down to a tourny there well that was supposed to be oct 17 but no he cancelled it and moved it to nov 7 no big deal little pissed but at least he told us right, well here comes nov 7 were all ready to go and less than 3 hours before we leave and drive 300 miles and i find out from a friend that they cancelled it, they didnt even bother to tell us and when i called the next day they didnt even tell me why so never go there ever its bad for you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Mad-Medic Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All over the country, East coast to West coast. I would say that most were compareable to this field.
Review: Well to be honest we got to the field a bit early and were debating on leaving to go to a different field instead. However we did wait and before you know it there were over 30 different people there. Now it should be noted that this was on a Sunday. The turn out was great, We played all day from opening to close. There was never a problem with the refs, or other players. The games went very smooth. The Lego Field was alot of fun. It could be bigger but it was great especially with the smaller kids we brought with us. The Hill games we played were very intense and a lot of fun. NOTE*** The Sup'Air field was down, but they should have it up and running by next weekend. I would like to give a special thanks for all their support and attention to detail to Terrance, Sean, Derek, and Shelly. They were of great character and were always helpful and sincere. I have been playing now for 20+ years and I can honestly compare this field to many many others across this Great Country. I will most certainly be coming back to play. This field may be small compared to the HYPERball fields with their 8+ large fields and the Sup'Air only fields. But with the offer of different styles of play offered at Combat Zone makes this place a place to go back to many many times.

Thanks for a great day of play and for making the play FUN.....
Last edited on Thursday, January 6th, 2005 at 8:41 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sirsaechao Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Misc, woods
Review: Airball
Woods
Lego
Speedball

Chrono

Tournaments
Scenarios

Tech
Shop

Overall this is a great field...I know there is potential in this field to being better but I have no room to speak...it all comes down to them...most of the time there is lots of people from novice to experts...nice wide range of age group...
Last edited on Monday, March 7th, 2005 at 11:12 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GShoaf Saturday, May 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sykes = great people and refs lots of turney guys down here on the air ball
Deans = n00bs like no other
WAP = you and your thousand best friends, to crowded with n00bs and advanced. need more staff need smaller games.
Review: Ok so they have air ball....well no, it is never set up they may say once a month but it's just not set up.
The lego....always falling down. same design for ever. From what i hear it hasn't changed much since it was put together. They need to place double lego's on the field so people don't camp and wait. cause they look through the holes To long and to narrow.

The managers.. Terrance and John. props to both of them for having to deal with the owners. Surplus City needs to wake up and realize what they are doing to the paintball field there. They are under staffed and under funded.

So what if the HPA scuba fills from the compressor looks bad...Dude it's a compressor and it fills my tank as well as yours. I think i have proved my point.

So in review...the lego field gets a 3 for lack of design and constant breaking
the air field...gets a 0 for not being up ever
the Owners get a -20
I wish i could give different rating for the field and the owners
oh well if u like playing small games with mostly n00bs then i would say go ahead it's cheap to play there, if your looking for competition go to Sykes.
Maybe when the owners realize that they have not done anything for this field and that is why they don't have the business then they will change.
till then peace
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media