paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splat Action Paintball Field / Splat Action Paintball Field / Splat Action Paintball Field / Splat Action Paintball Field

Splat Action Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
49Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 32155 S. Grimm Rd.
Molalla, Oregon 97038
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
STOCOCKER45 Thursday, July 31st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none ive ever played at compare to this one.
Review: everybody is really nice there the refs are good except this one little guy
the fields are breathe taking there the best ive even seen
there are to speed ball courses im not into that but if you are it looks great
the woods courses are amazing they can adjust to your style of play
theres always ways people there for differnt levels of play newbs intermidate and advanced
good paint never broke a ball with my cocker
go there this is best place to play if u are lookin to travel to get to a great field this is it!


GO PLAY QUIT READING THIS AND GET OUT THERE!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaInTbAlLkRaZy Wednesday, May 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
portland paintball, hit n run forests/ wooded areas
Review: this place is the best, a number of different courses mixed skill levels many many scenarios, a few big days. fairly expensive and alittle out of the way but its worth it.

In summers its the best always people there but sometiems in the winter there isnt many people there and they close early wich is a drag, but thats the case for most places.. another downside is that it is oregon, it is outdoors, it does get wet. but its perfect after a few days of sunshine so i wouldnt mark it down for that

GREAT PLACE
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gypsy06 Saturday, May 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Edge {Closed now}
Hit & Run
Power line
KC Crusaders
Weekend Warriors
Review: The Good
Splat Action is the longest running field in the North-West which means that they have had plenty of time to arrange the field and perfect their business. Compared to some of the fields in this area that have come and gone Splat stands out in many ways with a dedicated parking area, multiple fields, numerous bunkers and a friendly staff. The were the only field in the area for a number of years but recently they have gotten some competition. Tournament style play seems to be the favored game on most days with real stiff competition if your looking for some hardcore ball. On any given day Splat will probably have more players of whatever type than any other field.

The Bad
In recent years the field seems to have gone down hill. The friendly, helpful, attentive, reffing staff has all but dried up only to be replaced by a gaggle of very young and not very interested kids. After being a customer for the past several years I can honestly say that the last couple of time's that I went there I was very disappointed. Most recently I attended the Halloween monster game and witnessed numerous shouting matches, a couple of fights and such flagrant violations of not only the rules but just common decency that I'm not sure if I'll be back. A good majority of these transgressions happened right in front of (and we are talking no more than 20 feet away) the referees who did nothing to stop the behavior or reprimand the offenders. Just before the Halloween game I brought my younger brother down for his first day of play. As it was his first time we played in the woods along with other new to not so new players. I will say that we had a blast but it was in no way the referees doing. He slept on the center flag spool for most of the day while we were left to organize and run our own games. The prices also are a bit of an issue.
Paint, air and field fee have dropped in recent years from their original astronomic levels to the high end of the industry standard. As more and more fields come on line in the area the continued high prices ($65 for Severe field grade + $10 for air + rental/field fee) seem to be more and more out of place. The price for Severe field grade is what RP all star and marb go for in town. Now I realize that this is a business venture and that making money is the game. Considering however the dramatic drop in prices for paintball gear in general and the dealer mark up inherent in retail the profit margin must surely be healthy.

Summary
Splat Action is a field that hit it's peak a few years back. As time wears on it seems that the operators are no longer doing it for any reason other than the bottom line. The warm friendly atmosphere that was so evident a couple years ago is dieing a slow death. That said the field itself has no equal in the area. The layout is fun and provides multiple options for different terrain and game scenarios. With the years of use most of the underbrush is gone which provides for excellent playing conditions. If the new competition in the area can provide the owners with a wake up call Splat will rapidly return to being the king. Otherwise the new competition might just take a look at the good things Splat has to offer and end up hosting a better game and putting this old horse out to pasture.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WarChild06 Thursday, May 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Weekend Warriors (sucky field!)
Various Indoor fields
Review: Since I've moved to this Area, I've yet to find a better field... They really have their shi+ together (usually!) I've seen them on a bad day, and things can get a bit chaiotic... but they always seem to pull it off. I've never had a bad day of ball there. Paint is resonably priced, entry fee is standard & well worth it.... Pay the $10 for all-day air, it's worth it... they'll fill you up before you leave..... I have little experience with their rentals, but the price seems fair to me, they look to be in good condition, and they have plenty of them. They frequently have a BBQ lunch, that I used to consider to be a little pricey, until I bought a hot-dog at a concert for $3.75.... and it seemed okay, as I was stuck there & hungry... you can always drive down the road a mile or two to the local store for a taste of their deli food. The refs there are great (usually) they are there to maintain safety mainly & generally don't intrude on the game unless asked.... they let you play your game.... easy going until there is a problem.
I have played a couple of their "Big-Games" and they are AWESOME! I catogorize them as "Organized Chaos".... meaning that they are extremely organized, considering the chaos involved with running a game with 450+ whiney paintball players! (come on guys... we ARE indeed Whiney!)
My only major complaint is that they absolutely do not allow alcohol on the field... I understand the insurance reasons, but it sure would be nice to be able to crack open a cold-one after a long day of ball.... but, there's a watering hole on my way home anyhow.
all in all, I'd give this field a 10, will be back..... at least once a month, at least until my kid is born. :(

Meetcha'in'da'middle
WarChilD
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rockin2249 Monday, April 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Weekend Warriors, local fields
Review: Sweet place....in fact it is cheap prices..if you are a speedballer and have your accessories i.e. gun, and everything. John is totally cool and works with teams that play there a lot for reduced prices...($45 for a case of standard fp severe and free air) plus $10 entry (for our team). The speed ball fields are fun and very challenging so you have a lot to work with when practicing your game. As for woods ball, I dont do that much anymore except for Civil War, and that is fun....its not that expensive, only $25 if you pre-register and no other entries are more than that (the guy that wrote the last review didnt know what he was talkin about). And the paint is brand name- severe....not as good as RP, but not a no-name. It being out far away is a lame excuse...come on, you expect an outdoor field to be in the middle of Portland...loser...and as refs go, do you need good rec. ball refs? Hahaha no you shouldnt need any....so anyway, its a great field, and I enjoy myself every weekend when I play there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SNWB Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cadilac Paintball Rochester, WA
Review: Lots of Woods * Nowhere for spectators * Field Paint ONLY * People were nice and greet you as soon as you walk in!!

They didn't have enough parking...for the larger events...maybe 100 cars there and people were parking all over the road!

Kinda out in the Boone Docks!! Says park is in Mollola...but its about 20 from there...unless I took the long route?? I don't live in Oregon so I was a little lost :-(

I think fields should start adding areas for spectators!!
I think you should be able to bring yer own paint...especially if its $35 just to play!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xe0 Sunday, April 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball palace, Weekend warriors NW, Albany Paintball
Review: Well, I normally don't contradict what other people review but I'm gonna have to on this one. First off, in no way is splat action cheap! Whoever said that must be a money bags or something. For $25 you get a "rental", mask, camo, pods, and NO PAINT. I'm sorry but pods and camo whoop tidy do!

So I'm going to buy some paint and they only have one type of field paint. Its like "extreme" or some no name brand paint. It was $65 for a case of no name......now, I normally don't think that much of pricing but come ON. I was chopping paint all day with the rental, I had to clean out the bolt tube 3 times!

Now I didn't have my gun, because it was still in the shop, but all my friends had theirs. If you have all your own equipment its $10 entry. So now i'm thinking okay well I guess I overreacted about the prices, thats a pretty good deal, WRONG! Before we started one of my friends needed a refill, $4 for one refill or $10 all day. Now for a 9 oz co2 tank that is beyond ridiculous.

Well I got over all the money problems and just concentrated on having fun. We came in late so we had to catch up with the rec ballers at the bottom of the hill. We got down there right in time for attack and defend. I don't normally complain about reffing but the guy just stood there. He didn't check anyone for hits, he didn't move around the field to watch, he just stood in the middle. After one game of that we were through and went up to play some hyperball.

The hyperball fields were awesome, I was really impressed. So me and my friends went at it for about 2 games. The beginning of the 3rd game and I chop a ball from their rental gun. I squeegee the barrel but it was a break in the bolt tube. So I take it back and they take it apart, clean it, and I miss 2 games. This happened 4 additional times before I had enough and just watched the rest of the time.

Overall they have good fields, bad reffing(unless your a tourney player), poor rentals, expensive no name paint, and friendly staff. I'm going to give them a 7 because this was my first time and it could have been a fluke experience.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

splatballa Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Weekend Warriors NW - not quite as good
Review: this is an awesome field, i recommend it to anyone wishing to have an excellent time paintballing. Expertly staffed, efficient, cheap, and the best environment no matter the skill level. There are acres of woods ball fields for private groups or groups of walk-ons, so there is never a wait for someone to finish using a field, there are 2 excellent speedball fields for all you tournament ballers out there. Its perfect for everyone so come down one of these weekends and experience the field first hand. Also kudos to John and Margie for doing such an awesome job running this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warped Shadow Sunday, March 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Weekend Wariors-Not as good
Paintball Palace- Not as good
Review: This place holds the biggest big game in the northwestern area called Civil War. So if your into woods ball and the big scenerio type games than your in heaven. This place is perfect for big games. Its versatile and very well put together. The place is huge. I went to civil war last year and it easily held thousands of people with plenty of space to spare. The bases are awesome theres fortresses all over and you can never see everything, you always find sumthing new. Besides big recreational games they hold tournaments there and have pickup speedball games there every weekend. The speedball fields are good i like them, but they could use a airball field (all they have is hyperball). Team Exile hosts the O.S.S. tournament there and it is pretty fun, its got good competition. Also if you wanna see some awesome players play sumtime you should go to civil war(in april). You will see The pro Naughty Dogs team, Exile, Cartel, and other players from higher up teams. Yeah its pretty much the best place in Oregon to play paintball so check it out sumtime.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media