paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Area 52 Paintball Field / Area 52 Paintball Field / Area 52 Paintball Field / Area 52 Paintball Field

Area 52 Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
29Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 309.359.5252
Address: 702 Smith St
Mackinaw, Illinois 61755
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
WILDCHILDC1 Wednesday, October 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Chillicothe
Review: First of all I would like to say that this review is given in consideration to are geographical area. AREA 52 is a good, fun place to play with a great ProShop for the area. And its not that expensive for a field. If you want to drive to Chicago there are more fun places to play with better facilities and higher prices. But Considering the Peoria Illinois area cant even support a Paintball store, and theres not a single place besides AREA 52 to fill N2O.. This place is great. Theyve always been very nice and considerate.... Ive called and needed something after hours and Ive called and the owner has opened up and sold me what Ive needed!!!!! The field is good for a small local field, the ProShop is great for a field! I dont know about there rentals because I own my own equipment but I know of Friends renting at other fields and having alot of trouble so If Area 52's arent the greatest, thats understandable. As far as the Refs, Ive never been to a field that had more than a couple of older descent refs and then a bunch of kids. Everyone needs to understand that these fields in the smaller towns can barely make the rent without paying alot of money for help. Area 52 is a fun place to play with reasonable rates and unless you want to drive to Chicago to play everyone needs to support it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ColdShot Sunday, October 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mostly at my friends house
Review: When i first heard about Area 52 it sounded pretty cool. When i finally got around to going it was in mid August. The refs were not too great but the building was decent. The proshop was below average. There are two courses there, a woodsball and a speedball course. I liked the woodsball course way more than the speedball course. Ive always been a fan of sneaking around and popping the from hidden spots.All in all I'm going to give it a 5/10. It should probably get a 4 but since i whaled on everybody I'll give it a 5.



UPDATE-I HAVENT BEEN THERE IN A WHILE AND I WAS WONDERING IF THEY HAD FREE CI FILLS LIKE ANOTHER AREA FIELD.IF ANYONE KNOWS THEN PLEASE POST INFO.
Last edited on Sunday, November 13th, 2005 at 8:36 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

D-baller5-20 Saturday, April 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
sudden impact; i like about the same(but im new)
Review: I Have not been doing painballing for very long but ive gradually been learning more about the diffrerent things in paintball. But my aunt and uncle and my father are friends with the owners so i know them. they just recently relocated from the orginal lot. and along with that they have added things to please the whole family whether they like paintball or not you can still have fun there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

toiletstore1990 Saturday, April 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Chili Pits, and another pretty cool one in Ohio called Paintball Village; both of these places were A LOT better than 52.
Review: My friend and I both went to 52 and were very dissappointed. My friend's gun (98 Custom) stopped working, so he went and asked for them to try and repair it, they let him borrow a rental (another 98 Custom, about the only positive thing about 52) about a half an hour later, they told him, they couldn't figure out what was wrong. We played for about an hour more before leaving, after we left we went to his house to clean and oil our guns, and he figured out what was wrong, The safety was on, which makes the people at 52 about the worst mechanics ever.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

quicktoshoot99 Tuesday, August 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Super Splat, Paintball Pit,fox river paintball, and outback paintball in southern Illinois, all significantly better than area 52
Review: I heard great things about the feild and went for my birthday and was horribly disapointed. I have to say this is not the best place i have ever went to. The feild is not at all exciting and the refs....well not the greatest. My freind tagged some guy out like 4 times and the guy wouldn't admit he was tagged and the reffs did nothing. The paint also is outragiouse, $80 for a case. But the feild does have a VERY nice proshop with resonable prices unlike the paint. i give this place a 2 for the proshop; otherwise this place doesn't even diserv the two.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

imwayne002 Saturday, May 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Impact, Chillicothe....
Review: This is perhaps the worst place i have ever been to in my entire life. We arived there at about 3pm and all of my friends perchased a case of paint. After doing so the owner was being very rude and said they closed at 4(before we went we checked the website, said they closed at 10pm) and he only let us play one game!!! which happened to be without a damn ref. This place should be shut down. Only little kids are running the fields, they can barely count ( not kidding). Not only that, they cheat all the damn time, its horrible. Sudden impact is a lot safer and more exciting. The people there are helpful and friendly. If u come down to central IL i suggest u check out sudden impact!!!! I could say a lot more about this place, but just look at the rating and come to the conclusion yourself. DONT GO TO AREA 52!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

shockergod Sunday, April 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
area 52, battlegrouns up for you guys., sudden impact, chilly, level x, and any other field i can
Review: i have got to say something on behalf of area 52 , im out there alot, theres alot of stuff the owner has to deal with,

prices are not the expensive its not cheap to keep a field open so you all can play
80 dollers a case of rec paint is no different anywere else except up north and its what 100-120 a case, theres no field fee iether onlike other places , air is the same 10dollers all day
fields could be a bit better i think, but that takes money and they are working on that


reffing , there is a lack of it but they are working on that

over all its a nice place compared to other places,
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

fieldowner Monday, April 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Battle grounds, Paintball Barn, Level-x (formerly sniper jacks) Break out dunes, and a few other small places I would pick any of these places over what i have noticed at this complex
Review: Field- nicely set up and tidy, the grass and land were a little rough though, and the field seemed to run down hill for the air ball.

Store- NICE plenty of parts and guns, with accessories. Also people who are knowledgable Clean bathrooms are a plus here.

Prices- EXPENSIVE, I believe 80 a case for rec ball. Plus you pay for each fill, which really adds up.

Refs. Well for rec ball, be happy to have one. And be happy if they are over 13. As far as the tourney i recently viewed. I doubt I ever go there to play competition paintball. The refs clearly ripped a team out of I believe first place. The refs, managed to not notice 2 or 3 breaks on a kids leg, nor did they penalize him with a 1 for 1 or points. after the kid lit up, a player who had clearly tagged him out a good 15 seconds before hand. As a viewer, i noticed what seemed to be the field owner even playing in there own tournament which in my view is not right. As i stated the refs and the owner let the above call slide giving, what i belive was a home or close friend team take the win form some out of towners. It seemed a great deal of favortism to keep the money and win at home. So in my opinion its a great store, but a very poor tourney field by any means. The reffing was obviously not very good considering they had a ref for every player, and they couldnt notice three obvious hits (pink or orange paint), and the favortism, and lack of honesty.

but then again the shop is rather nice, with knowledgeable people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

a5paintball Saturday, April 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Chillicothe Paintball Pits=A much better place
Review: This is the worst paintball field i have ever been to. There are nails in a dry creek in one of there 3 courses. u walk rite by a pasture and horses and even a llama come up and sniff you. I'm sure some people shoot them (jerks) so i'm surprised a law suit hasnt been filed. I was walking through a dry creek on one of there courses whne i saw a pile of nails. Very dangerous. also, no refs. Teens that werent playin in our game came onto the field and started shooting us. I told the owner and he didn't do anything about it. They fail to chrono ur guns so u could walk in with a 500 fps gun and start shooting. Worst paintball course ever.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RatImp9 Tuesday, March 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Impact
Review: The fields are all pretty nice. People at the proshop are pretty cool,too. Prices, though, are not! For paint and air, it is VERY expensive. There were no refs at our games we played....so I just hoped no one would cheat or pull anything on us. I guess the proshop makes up for it though. The only fair priced one in the area. Right now, I recommend sudden Impact if you wanna play and Area 52 if you just wanna buy some paintball stuff.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 7th, 2004 at 3:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media