paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park

Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
75Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 408-288-6855
Address: 2542 Monterey Hwy.
San Jose, California 95111
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
boostfed Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball - nice field! love the astro turf, played here frequently, newb - experienced players . i love this field but its a bit small, games aren't back to back

Bear Creek - Nice field, kinda sticks during the rainy season, stagnant water layin around
Directions
to the Field:
Located on Monterey Highway
Review: Well , SCP is about 8 minutes down the street from my house, i was always reluctant to go to it because of the hours they were open and the prices, so every time i played i would drive 45 minutes to Hayward since it was my favorite and the prices were awesome, plus i heard it stinks at SCP from the reviews. So one day i was itchin to play and didn't wanna drive so what the hey, i had some extra paint at home so off we went!!

Pro's :
- Experienced players! if you want to get good play here, you'll get murdered but what doesn't kill you makes you stronger. i felt bad for some of the intro players because they were playing against the more experienced players, but after awhile they seperated the fields and playing experience.
- Big fields, and many fields. on the pro field you have the option of bunkering or not, so that was pretty cool, very competitive!
- Good Prices if you bring your own paint and play at night.
- Back to back to back games, they never end!!! very good times
- Refs will paint check you asap if you call for it
- Helpful staff!
- Play at night for $15 or $20 for admission and air! (depending on the day)
- Fill your own air , no waiting lines.

Con's :
- Paint prices are INSANE!!!! $60 a case ?!?!? i suggest you buy bulk paint and get rps for half that price, i usually stock up so it wasn't an issue for me
- Hard dirt fields. there are some sandy parts, so i slid in one of the softer looking areas and tore my knee up pretty bad , wear cleats!
- They're only open for a few hours at a time, but i guess it makes up for it since turn arounds times are awesome.
- Check-In times , i guess there was a new girl working so the check in time took forever!!! even if you finished first in line , you'd still have to wait for everyone else to get squared away before you play. got there at 4:45pm , checked in at 5pm, waited for a long time, first game started at 6:30ishp
- Orientation - before everyone gets onto the field you sit through a long orientation of paintball safety and regulations. . . . i guess its for the good since there are a lot of new players, but for the experienced its kind of a waste of time, i got pretty bored sitting through it, but i guess, hopefully they'll change that and just make the newbs sit through it.
- Field kinda stinks, i need to find a rainy season field, but from the looks of things ( or smell of things) now, i think it'll just get worse when moisture is added.


i think that's it, hahah, i know i'm a really picky guy, but at least you see it from a different persons perspective. this will probably be the field i'll be going to from now on, the players are way more experienced and give a pretty good challenge. aside from the long wait time, the smell, the briefing and the weird hours , its a really good field .. . as long as you don't slide and bring your paint, haha. see you there!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Maj Payne Saturday, July 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
BA Paintball-not as good, but it has an ac in the building.
Operation-never played too far of a drive.
Directions
to the Field:
The directions aren't right. Tully Road is the adress of WHOLE Fairgrounds. Paintball is in gate D. You go up Tully Road and take a left on Monterey Blvd I think. Then you go down that street and you can see signs pointing to Santa Clara paintball. It took us 10 minutes to find the field and hopefully this will save you some time.
Review: We arrived at about 9:15 and got set up in under 5 minutes. If you have waiver and money in hand with no one in line then it takes less then one minute. I think we paid (20 admisssion 10 all day air)after everyone else so there was no line. You fill tanks by yourself near the target range. The staging area is under a huge tent with about 15 picnic tables. I think the only downside I had was the HEAT. It was around 112. This lead to us missing some games from heat exhaustion and people almost passed out. Tip: Bring a cooler full of ice with at least 10 bottles of water for yourself. I went through 5 gatorades and a sierra mist from about 10-3. Thats not even the whole day. There's pizza at lunch which is good.

So to get on with the field itself. The bunkers were set up in a very nice lay out. Even though there were about 6 fields I think. We only played on two which was a downside. On the intermediate it was huge at one point maybe 18 vs 18. Thats pretty big when the bunkers are made for about 5vs5 or 7vs 7. My best game was a 5on 5 later in the day. Its pretty hard ground so bring elbow pads. I didn't even bother to wear a long shirt since the heat and got scraped up a little on my elbow. The downside was there was no dry firing so we had to walk to target range all the time. I know its for safety, but sometimes it gets annoying to walk all the way over just to tweak a very small problem. I have to say the refs at SCP had to be the best I've seen in my life. At Bay Area The refs are on the side just watching and I have yet to see a paintcheck except from one ref. At Scp I saw a ref go in with a huge firefight going on between the two backs.

Overall: A very nice field to go to. I'm only going in the winter from now on or maybe late summer. The best speed ball field I've been to in Nor Cal( Never been to OP.) The refs were awesome about doing paitnchecks and games did go practically back to back with no wait time. Will definitely go again except when it cools down.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zoomie Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at Paintball Jungle which has a better field. Wait time is long there, so I recommend Santa Clara Paintball. Downside of Santa Clara paintball is that check in time is forever! Maybe it's just that day that we had to wait 45 min just to get our stuff, fill our cO2 tanks, sign the waiver, go through the orientation, get set up and hop onto the field.
Directions
to the Field:
The address is wrong. It's not on that street. The entrance is on a differennt street. I don't remember the name of the street, but it's close by. I advise calling this place to ask for specific directions. We spent 10-12 min looking for the entrance.
Review: SETUP:
Most inefficient setup ever. The people that take your tickets are the same people that charge you. These people are also the same people that give you your guns and take the guns back. Basically the poor girls behind the ticket counter (one of which wasn't half bad looking) are overwhelmed with everything and can't take care of all the customers. They need either more staff, or allow certain people to do certain tasks exclusively. Again, it took 45 min to get setup. That was ridiculous. I was ready to never return to this field, but then I found something I liked....a lot.

GAME PLAY:
There is zero wait time between games. Sometimes people are getting on the field while people are getting out. Games start fast and happen back to back. Though this is a great plus, there's a downside......

REFS:
The refs don't do anything. I saw a ref looking at this fingers while he was supposed to be reffing a game. Refs don't look for paint on hit players to call them out. It's basically completely an honor system. To players who read this review: Do not take advantage of this and start cheating b/c this field is good and let's not ruin a good thing.

FIELDS:
The fields have pretty good variety except there's no woodsball. The first field I played was all the inflatable things. I forget what they're called. I'm a newbie. It was combined with wooden bunkers which is a good setup. This satisfies all players preference. Wood bunkers on either end and inflatable ones in the middle. That was cool. The last field we played on (there are 5 fields total) was twice as long. Castle shaped structures on either side. The bunkers were all wood if I remember correctly. Some were shaped like waffles (we nicknamed 'em that) and other shaped like spears. If I'm on the field with you one day and I refer to these bunkers as "waffles" or "spears," you'll know what I mean. And yes, you can laugh at me if you want.

OVERALL EXPERIENCE:
I liked it and I'll be back there. The only reason I'm heading to Paintball Jungle next time I go is b/c my friend want to try woodsball and I just got a pistol and some say it's better used in the woods than for speedball. See you there!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow_Lang Wednesday, July 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not much that I know
Directions
to the Field:
Off of montery highway next to the cemetary
Review: This is an awesome field.
Saftey is like so tight it is like the most safe thing you have ever seen I have not gone there once and felt unsafe.
The six or 7 fields I forget how many but still the four airball fields are great and the recreational feilds aren't my fvorites but thoes 2 are still good.
Hours of operation are pretty good on
Thursday: the night shoot
Friday: night shoot
Saturday: 9:00 in morning - 4:00 in the afternoon
Sunday: samething^^

Prices is where this place starts to be down graded yes it is kinda pricy $30 all day with all day air and that is if you have your own gun.
Rules are the same as pretty much every field even though I can't really say because SCP is the only field I have been to and I have become to know and love.
Service is really good I couldn't imaginge typing this it would take to long.
The pro shop is kinda good I think but the prices are kinda high so the most I have ever bought is a pink bandana $5.00 The reffs is where the prices are forgoteen about the reffs are so cool and actually pretty easy to get to know.
Food is good they bring pizza at 12:00 and the price is $1 for a slice and $20 for a whole box a large. However the gatorade is very expensive $2 for a whole gatorade and to top that all off they are actually pretty small but I guess everyone has to make money right.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Angel7723 Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I am not sure I have just come to know and love SCP.
Directions
to the Field:
OFF moneray rd. Next to the cemetry.
Tully rd.
Review: Saftey is like so tight you can't go there and think you aren't safe.
Feilds all 6 are great.
Hours aren't that great but every weekend 9:00 morning to 4:00. And Thursday + Friday 6-9 at night.
Prices aren't very good.
Rules arent unfair.
Services are good.
Proshop I don't think they have one.
Staff is great and I knkow them well.
Players aren't always the nicest.
Food is Pizza one dollar for one slice. or 20 for a box.
$2 for a gatorade.
Last edited on Monday, June 26th, 2006 at 11:13 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

AyE_JizzLE Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
BAP
OP super fu nand cehap but small
SHEERWOOD they have softer ground then SCP and great xball games
Paintball jungle big game against the hornies
Hollister great price and game play but long drive
Review: i dont like this place!

the place is full of dirt. it feels like concrete. when i tried to slide i just scrap up my pants and they get messed up. u don't go anywhere. the snake is super short and small. i was crawiling on my stomach and it still got shot. im skinny also. the refs pull u out for bunkering and i didn't know the rules. first field i went to wen theres no bunkering allowed. the field aren't always open all the time. u end u playing o 1 or 2 fields. at night time it sucks the most. The refs can't see anything and if they think ur out theyll pull u out and u can't see the balls comign at u.

the only thing i liked aout this place was the XPSL tournament.
i give this place a 2 our of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

newcastle Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all of them
Review: Why do all paintball fields have a dirt road leading to them?
Overall excellent. Fields were well laid out with lanes set up nicely. The staff is on the ball, and jump in to do paintchacks when needed without always standing in the way. The teams were well balanced throughout, and were chanced quickly when not. This is huge for new and intermediate players, since a lot of fields put their home team against the walkons. Most of the time the home team destroys the walkons untill they leave in disgust. All the staff play and it shows. They were quick to turn around games, and seemed to always be within sight to answer the questions that the new players had.
Some of the bunkers were a little flat, but I have never seen a field where they are not.
We did not get a chance to play all the fields since there were a couple of new groups that played on the castle and back field all night.

9 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippy674 Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball- pretty good place. it has three fields, one indoor, one outdoor, one airsoft. This place is a great field. Nice people, good rental guns, and its also a pretty good pro-shop. so if your closer to Hayward than San Jose, than u should go here instead of Santa Clara Paintball.
Directions
to the Field:
Right next to the Santa Clara County Fair Grounds on Monterey St. down an obvious ly seen dirt road.
Review: This place is GREAT! I had my second game here, and i am definately coming again.

PROS
Nice Players, and Refs.
alot of fields, 5 total.
a huge hyperball field that's as big as two regular fields put together.
Great for begginers, intermediates, and experts.
very safe.

CONS
kind of stinks near a spot on the path to the field entrances.
one field is kind of small, and so are the bunkers. (the red white and blue field)
other than that, this field rocks!

So, if u want to get into paintball, like it, or have been playing for a long time, than this is your place!

Tip: Bring thick layers of clothing unless you take pain well!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sup3rl4m3r Monday, April 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only field I have played at
Directions
to the Field:
Next to Santa Clara Fairgrounds on Monterey Highway.
Review: I played my first rental game here in October of last year and got hooked! I had no problems with my rental 98. Rentals come with HPA. Rental games are at 220fps and self-equipped must chrono at 220fps to play with rentals. Generally, rentals are kept separate. Some adventurous rentals chrono-up to 270fps and play intermediate (self-equiped). No bunkering in intermediate, though, unless everybody wants the rule change. Everything seems pretty even to me. Speed is spot-checked at least once each session on the field. At least a few people have their guns turned up way too high, so this is a good thing.

I never saw any cheating and the refs will run-up on you fast when you yell for a paint check. The refs really watch for masks to stay on, and barrel covers to stay on. Ups to Jimmy, Lenny, Deane and Chris - Great Refs. Also, there are several "staining" type paints you can't use at SCP, so call first! If you are going to rent, buy Bonus Balls for $35 at Frontline Sports in Sunnyvale, rather than at the field. Bonus Balls are field paint, and rentals must use field paint. I found the paint to be round and fresh when I used it. Works great in my Tippmann 98cp.

There are 5 fields but mostly you will play on the red OR green GAP, the Castle, or the large Hyperball field. This winter was muddy and stinky (for you City folks), but I played every week-end since mid-January. This last weekend the fields were very playable with no mud at all. I like the field set-ups and have no complaints. There is an overhead view of the fields on their website, but the bunkers have changed since then. In a half-day the field you play on will rotate at least once.

There are two Gatoraide machines and a Soda Machine. The staff does a pizza run for the players at lunchtime, so you can get pizza for a dollar a slice without driving anywhere. The pizza is Little Ceaser's, so you epicures should BYO.

In my opinion, some of the "veteran" players take themselves too seriously (not very friendly), but i'm 38, not a teen, and I am probably forgetting what it was like to be a 17 year old hot shot. Mostly, if you just talk to everybody, you figure out who is cool to play with and can set up strategies on the field. I like the people and the energy at SCP a lot and plan to be there most every Saturday this Summer!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

snowborder891 Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: This is a grat feild. Everyone is ver friendly. But when it gets whet its pretty muddy but who cares. It is an awsome feild they have 5 feilds and setting up 6 and 7th one. There are 3 airfeilds a proto and 2 gap. They also have 2 hyperball. I strongly recomend this feild you won't regret
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media