paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park

Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
75Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 408-288-6855
Address: 2542 Monterey Hwy.
San Jose, California 95111
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
goodnsmall Sunday, March 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
BA paintball
Review: Pros: spaced out
fields are pretty cool

Cons: never go there when it rains or after it rains. it smells horrible! no joke. it is right beside farms with animals. there is like a horse crap pile right next to it. i like to dive crawl watevr, but the day i went there you might as well put horse crap on the fields and thats how it was.

Review: ok it was a good enough place to go. kinda cheap, better than BA. the crappy m98s are their rental guns. not saying 98s are crappy its just theirs are ok. BRING YOUR OWN PAINTBALLS! IF YOU DO YOUR DOING YOURSELF A FAVOR! THEY HAD A BOX OF CRAPPY PAINT THAT COSTS 60 BUCKS! THEY WERE EGG SHAPPED AND SHAPPED AS MY DOG'S HEAD. LITTERALLY. THE 98s COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER IF THERE WAS BETTER PAINT. their fields other than the smell are really cool. they have speedball, castles, and one mixed up field full of random stuff, it was pretty cool. if you are going with a party you can bring your own gun as long as your party says its ok. i highly suggest you bring your own gun and paint. after a wet day evrything is dirty so it will get your gear pretty dirty. WEAR CLEATS OR SOME SORT OF HIKING BOOTS, I WORE (YEA I KNOW PROBABLY WAS STUPID OF ME WEARING IT, BUT) I WORE MY NIKE SHOX, DONT WEAR THOSE! ITS WORTH WEARING CLEATS, DONT TEAR UP YOUR SHOES LIKE WAT I DID! its an ok field, try finding something better.
Last edited on Sunday, March 5th, 2006 at 9:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MC_TP Monday, February 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
USPN, OP, BCP Milpitas,
Review: SCP is one of the best fields in my area. Its close to where i live and has reasonable prices. Unlike OP, you can bring your own paint. There refs/staff are REALLY nice and will help you at anytime. First time I went there though, they were a little strict, but they got to know me more and became more friendly...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DemonAlcohol Thursday, January 19th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I went to Santa Clara Paintball with a group of 12 people, all but 2 being new users. From the time orientation started until we were on the field was about an hour. The two guys who have paintballed before brought thier own markers, only to be told that they can't play with the rest of us who were using rentals. That's understandable.

We got on the field and after about 30 minutes of play, some of us noticed that other people were on the field with thier own markers. We complained to the ref who didn't do anything about it. Me and a friend were put on one side while 6 other guys (a few who had thier own gun) were on the other side, 2v6. We told the ref a few times before the game started that it was uneven teams but he ignored us, and afterward said 'I thought you guys could handle it'. I had to go complain to the office before any action was taken. They took all the rental players to a field that was even muddier than the first, but it had a better layout (castle theme).

Overall we had fun, but everyone was very disapointed by the quality of the fields and staff. The fields are located on the fairgrounds where they held animals for a number of years, so the mud is really a combination of dirt and animal feces. You can smell it when entering the field, and on your clothes when you get home.

If I were to do it over again, I definatly would not goto Santa Clara Paintball. I'm not an experienced paintballer by any means, but I cannot see how any other operator of a paintball field could do worse.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment

aehlert Saturday, December 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 4th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
sunol-pretty good only because i get im sponsored by them :P
Review: I LOVE THIS FIELD!!!
if you like speedball or rec ball they have 3 air ball fields and 3 rec ball fields(i think).Beginner(for those with rentals)Intermeidiate(for those who lack the skill to play advanced) and Advanced(for those who have skill). You should really check this field out i guarentee you'll enjoy it

PROS-
great airball(proto field, xball field, and gap field)
great refs=helpful,give advice
worth the money=there is a game going on every second of the day(except lunchtime)
bring your own paint
the proto field owns
good prices $30 for all day air(n2)+all day and $20 for halfday w/ all day air
you can buy memberships
a ton of tables to put your stuff
9am-4pm
good ground(loose dirt)
CONS-
really long lunches
sometimes run out of food for lunch
if you are good you can be kicked out of intermeidiate which i hate
if your gonna play advanced(their really good)
wiping is strictly prohibited
dry firing in the rest area is strictly enforced
rules are strictly enforced
must have a waiver signed(its a pretty long waiver too)
a lot of bonus-ballers there
team epic owns every1

ive met so many people here and its the best field i give it a 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Newclearwaste Monday, October 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bap(bay area paintball), action paintball
Review: *~Fields~*
The fields are a little bit on the small side for me, they are mabey 20yd x 50yd, thats a pretty normal sized field but i find it sort of small. They have 5 fields, just added the 5th and I can't wait to play on it! They split the fields up into ranking a.k.a: begginer, intermediate, and expert. They have different fields for different players, one field is speedball, one is tubing, one is castle themed, one is speedball/obsitical, and the last is obstical.

*~Bunkers~*
The bunkers are designed differently for different fields, I think the bunkers are put in good places, a lot of space for the back players and a lot of close up bunkers for front players

*~Location~*
It is located right at the Santa Clara County Fair Grounds(its technechaly in San Jose)

*~Staff/Rentals/Refs/Paint~*
Their staff is excellent, they take care of your everyneed(that has to do with paintball), the refs are really strict; there is no wipping that goes unpunished, the rentals are all tippman 98 customs(as is at most paintball parks) and they give you air tanks(yay), not co2, and finally there paint...its a lil costy starting at $50 for a box(2000 balls), its pricy for me because i go to iisports and buy a box for $30 so that would be a $20 savings, so i usually bring my own paint.

*~Over All~*
There overall rating is a -9- because I would like to see a change in there paint prices, but other than that, their fields, bunkers, location, and staff/rentals/refs are very good! I recomend this park to all! I hope this was helpful, message me if you think it was!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

seanrquinn Monday, September 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
dunno, only field ive been to so far
Review: Pros:
-Refs are nice guys unless you tick them off
-The new castle field looks cool
-Nice shaded area for chilling between games
-Most refs know about guns incase urs screws up and u have no idea what to do
Cons:
-EXPENSIVE field paint
-crappy field paint (in my opinion)
-Deflated Airball
- Last time i went there was a bunker that was untied and rolling around, really annoying
-No zap paint

This is my local field and it is nice enough for me, since im not pro or anything. The castle field looks cool, but the bunkers are poorly arranged, and not enough vantage points from inside the bunkers. The airball is generally ok, but like i said, there were bunkers rolling around while i was doing a 1 on 1. If your just havin fun, or havin a party, go here. if ur a pro and want to practice, go somewhere else, cause were here to have fun :-D
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

justintime219 Tuesday, September 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
a friends ranch
Review: PROS
niiiice fields
refs arent bad as they use to be
air station is awsome
prices arent bad
meet some new friend

CONS
dirt,, i mean cmon now,, u all seen all there air bunkers n waht not? they should at least put some grass in there maybe even SAND

wehn its wet it smells like.... nuff said

some ppl there are real jerks speciallt the ones that try to show off.. ill let them up thoe

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dye.Nastey Monday, August 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sherwood Forest
Review: I just went to this field about 2 weeks ago. There are some problems but overall it was a good field.

Pros:
Cheap Admission Fee. Airball isnt bad.

Cons: Not enough lighting when you play in the dark. The ref thought i was a jackass for not putting my barrel plug on. Paint is expensive. only about 4-6 fields (i forgot how many). Not enough water to clean your mask and gear. Hard ground! Deflated airball. Takes about 30 mins for the speech and they still didnt teach the noobs how to operate their model 98s. The tanks werent filled and when my friends got them filled they were only filled 1/4 of the way. Guns are a mess and they are crap rentals (whatd you expect). Hoppers falling apart guns.

Not a bad field for the airballers. Bad field for the noobies.
Other than that, its an okay field, they can do better though.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

P-Nut Friday, July 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Cool field, but when the ground is wet it smells like day old diapers. There is now 5 fields, but the 5th has no dead box, so you get shot standing there waiting for the next game. Sometimes the field is over crowded 20 vs 20 on a 7 man field, bathroom is kinda far. Out side of that it's cool. Refs are fast when you call for a paint check. Games are back to back. So it is a full day of game play. People here are overall pretty cool.
8 out of 10
Last edited on Sunday, July 24th, 2005 at 2:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

darth lyle Sunday, July 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bear Creek
Real Action Paintball
Review: Dont come here expecting a fair game of paintball. A lot of people here wipe, and the refs dont care if you payed a lot of money to have fun, they would rather waste time bullying you about 10 year old stains on your shirt and not allowing you to use paint that a normal person can afford. They have terrible rules about banning the use of zap, and the co2 filler spent an hour figuring out how to fill my co2 tank half way. Also they dont realize that 20 vs 20 is a few people to many for a 5 man field. The solution isnt opening one of the 5 fields not being used, no they would rather waste time with pop chrono tests. Which they dont realize co2 sometimes fluxuates in different weather so i have to go and laeve the game for an hour because the co2 guy cant figure out how to fil my tank right. Although this field has alot of problems, it can be fun if there arent a lot of people, and the refs pay attention.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media