paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park

Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
75Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 408-288-6855
Address: 2542 Monterey Hwy.
San Jose, California 95111
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
cmwashere18755 Saturday, July 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I just whent there today.i had no probloms I played intermitate the whole time there fields are a littel small but they are great. What suckes about this field is that if you rent you have to use the house paint.(my dad rents). The more advance playes teach and talk to the new people. you will make friends easy. this park has 5 coures 2 airball, 1 speedball and 2 hyperball. I would give this field a nine because the guy filling co2 tanks would not fill mine because the guy marked my wristband wrong.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zcrotum Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bear creek= better,
Review: one of the main, horrible things of santa clara is that they do not allow zap paint. They claim it is because zap will stain, this is an outrages lie. zap has never stained my clothes. the truth is they monopolized the paint ppl use there by only selling GAP, who is the same company who povided their bunkers. C ANYHTING WEIRD???the refs are horrible as happymadison pointed out a few reviews down the page. they do not catch cheathing, fps increasing and to tell u the truth the miss everything. the field should be a liitle better maintaned. occasionally a paintball will come through the net and in one case nearly hit me (outside of the field) and my friend who the paintball actually broke on (also off the field getting air) i do like their opperation hours, but for night games they need more lights, its jus to hard to c with so many shadows. If u want safety, and better refs, go to bear creek. if u like to jus play paintbal for a half day play at santa clara, but if u want real safety and better reffs, go to bear creek.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005 at 2:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

cmcrob Sunday, May 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
-xtremepaintball(modesto)
-operation paintball(hayward)
-sherwood forest(vallejo)
-bay area paintball(burlingame)
-Santa Clara Paintball(san jose)
Review: this is the best field iv played on in norcal
pros: refs are cool, they help if your gun/tank is acting up, strict with crono which is good
fields are awesome good players and inexpensive too play all day

cons: flash fill is one thing i hate also BIG games unless you go to advance

overall this field is 9/10 one of the best in norcal
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Faraz Friday, April 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bear Creek
Review: I've been to this field once and i have to admit it was one of the best playing experiences i have ever had. What made it so great was the fact that the refs were so kind and genorous, especially the dude who spoke to my mom for like an hour explaing how to get to the field and then driving down and getting her. Hey man wherever u are once again thanx alot ur one of the coolest people alive. Aight back to the field, all the people are taking about how theres alot of dirt with rocks and stuff so u cant dive, they just got the fields fixed and now theres sand in front of all the bunkers so it is possible for one to dive or whatever. I mean i did it, and didnt get hurt. Overall this field was great and i plan on coming here over and over again cause it was just that much fun. the only negative thing i can say is that in the night games the people only have 1 field open, because they dont have enough lighting or waatever so the field gets kinda crowded.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dubels Saturday, April 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
OP, Sherwood, Extreme
Review: They have some good refs but they need to do something about the playing surface. Get some red sand like on baseball diamonds make it easy to slide. Do not slide when its dry. Do not play when its super wet it just stinks.

Pros:
-Cheap
-Decent Air Ball fields
-One great ref that is never standing hes always running
-Somewhat competitive

Cons:
-Rampers (not good if your new to the sport)
-Stench when its wet
-Rough playing surface
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nosstang03 Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Well SCP WAS a good field. Over the year I have played there it has gone down hill... Lately it has had a wonderful aroma of a septic tank! SCP has 4 fields 2 hyper ball and 2 sup-air all of wich are great fields but the cheating teams and poor refs rob it from its better days... When you do get here come EARLY! the space to set up your equipment can taken up quickly! During the summer the field can be a bit on the rough side so bring knee pads and during the winter it has a wicked stench of a septic tank! Although the feild isn't the way it was It is still a good deal and a very safe place to play.

******Wrap-up*****
-Cheap
-Poor Refs(Look out for the white guy with a Fro')
-Winter Stinky Muddy feilds
-Summer Dry rocky felids (bring kneepads)
-COME EARLY FOR A TABLE TO SET UP
-Friday Night games are a blast!
-No Scuba

__6/10__
Last edited on Tuesday, March 29th, 2005 at 9:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

norcalballer925 Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
BEAR CREEK - great for rec, and newbies, good refs
WAP - great field, and tournys, good refs
Extreme - Great field, and tournys, good place for teams to practice
Old tag - good fields, stupid rules(unable to vent verbally), refs... are they really refs? sad
Review: SCP - ok first off i played there the first too weeks that it was open it was kinda crazy with all the peoples there. played there for awhile and it got worse and worse over the time that they been in biz. i played there a few weeks ago, same ol cheatin teams, refs are pathetic except for jimmy good guy probly the only one who really cares about being there.

had some issues with there so-called security. there was issues of theift there and the thought he would go inspect peoples cars. well first of all i have nothing to hide im all for this sport and would never do anything to bring a negitive light to it or my self. this sport is a small community and everyone knows everyone and talk travels fast. but to make a long story short he thought he would go thro my truck and inspect it. wtf. i dont play like that...

my personal over all feeling is this place is the worst. after all they where orginally just staying to make money then leave... to bad their still here
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

bafrank@att.net Thursday, March 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TAG, different with both woods ball and speed ball available. Bear Creek, woods ball only.
Review: Speed ball only . Four fields. Marker velocity limited by experience...beginner, intermediate and advanced.

Price of play is comparable to other speedball fields. Refs are generally good. Frequent chrono requirement on field is good idea. Field is rocky and very hard when dry, recommend knee and elbow pads. When wet, footing is very slick and smell is similar to cattle feed lot (but, it is on the Fair Grounds, so the aroma is not unexpected) Rocky surface does not get better when wet.

Rules are, for the most part, well enforced. I have seen players ejected for bunkering after warning. Gas refill line is slow and not manned sometimes. Office staff is usually helpful. Ticket and equipent rental line are the same, at least in night games, which makes for sometimes VERY slow sign in. Female cashier very inappropriately dressed with unzipped/unbuttoned pants that she keeps checking to make sure they reveal as much as possible. Parents, buy the passes for your younger kids to avoid letting them stand at the window wondering how low things will go. Teenagers boys love it. Adults will have to strain to maintain eye contact.

But, the gaming is excellent and challenging. Opportunity to get better fast is there if you want it. Layout of fields changes every few weeks and and in three or four hour sessions you will rotate through all four fields...good experiece. Night play presents whole new set of challenges hard to find elsewhere.

Rental equipment is good. Rental costs are reasonable but they will push you quickly into realizing that you need to buy your own equipment. Field paint works well enough in rental equipment and is required for rental equipment. Become self equiped and bring your own paint to save a lot of money.

Mid session, the company provides pizza (daytime). Is good but not enough. Bring a cooler and lunch with drinks. Don't carry your marker with you to the restrooms. Restrooms are away from field and staff says we are subject to arrest if carrying marker outside of immediate playing/staging area.

This field is one of the best and most enjoyable to play. You'll make friends quickly there. Comradery between different age groups, pre-teen through adult, is very good. All around good time with older kids helping those less experienced.

--Update 6/10/05--

Field is improving by leaps and bounds. Good sand added to the main airfield (the one used at night). Sliding is now easy and less painful, but this red sand actually stains your clothing a bit. One field with hard bunkers has been changed to a field with parts of castles: walls, buildings and towers, but all at ground level, with small windows through which to shoot. A real hoot!

Lot of effort to fill in low spots that hold water. New larger field with hard bunkers and grass...at least until it wears away. New set of airbunkers. By later this year field is supposed to move across grounds to new location. Additional fields will be added then also. Speedball at SCPB is the best!

--Update 9/17/05-

The half dressed cashier has been missing now for several months. A disappointment to some, I know, but makes for better family play.
Last edited on Saturday, September 17th, 2005 at 12:04 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

BandGeek1049 Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Zone (before it closed)
Bear Creek
Review: When I first arrived, it looked really cool. As I stepped out of the car i got a first whiff of cow sh!t mixed with paint and mud smell. This was the only major problem with the field. In the summer, it gets HOT and sucks to slide because of the small rocks. In the winter, the smell and puddles suck.

PROS: 4 fields (2 airball, 1 speedball, 1 hyperball)
very good refs
shaded tables + nice players
keep groups separated by ability (pros, intermediate, newbies)

CONS: inflatables run out of air
$5 air refill (just buy all day air for $10)
No ZAP paint of any kind.
Dead man zones are crappy protection

Overall, the area is very nice. All outdoor and you'll never feel unsafe. Good games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gundamzaku Sunday, February 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extreme Paintball Field - Modesto
Woodstalk Paintball Field - Santa Cruz
Review: one think i dislike about the field is the way it smells. there are always puddles around the fields the causes the stench. also, the field is too hard to slide on...unless you don't mind having your pants tore up after one or two games. also, i think the fields are too small. the field i played in Modesto has better fields and softer ground to slide on. when i watch people that play here frequently they usually have torn pants due to the rough grounding.

staff is very nice and very helpful. also other players are also very polite and helpful. even though the field is located in the Santa Clara fairground which is known for shootings, the environment feels safe.

i would give the field a 5 due to horrible field conditions, but the staff is very nice, so a final score of 7.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media