paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Line of Fire Paintfields / Line of Fire Paintfields / Line of Fire Paintfields / Line of Fire Paintfields

Line of Fire Paintfields

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
42Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 828-891-2399
Address: 923 Gilreath Loop Rd
Horse Shoe, North Carolina 28742
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
SmashedSkunk Sunday, November 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wolverine, it is a lot bigger but the staff doesnt compare
Review: I had gone to a 2-Man Young Guns Tournament at Line of Fire. They were very helpful and the safety of the player comes first. When i walked into the building it seemed small, but there staff made up completely for that. They have a decent selection of guns and accersories. There staff paid attention to me and there paint prices werent over priced. I would rather play at LOF over Wolverine anyday. I also got a drop-forward put on my gun and there Tech gladly installed it for me. There safety and great help makes me give Line of Fire a 10 out of 10
Last edited on Monday, December 8th, 2003 at 4:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment

wardog Monday, November 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wolverine Paintball: Huge facility, but not kept up and the adittude of the staff and refs is poor.
Review: Most of the reviews written about Line of Fire bash it because of the Escape From New York Theme Day/Night. While participating in this event, the obvious problems were the wait times. It was clear that on the 9th Anniversary, this was corrected. LOF offered a Friday night pre-registration to cut-down wait times. Extra paint, air fills, and food were sold at extra stations, limiting the proshop usage to mainly repairing guns, buying new products, and for people who did not pre-register the night before. Games were almost always going at the newly added airball field, (replaced speedball) the city field, and the woods fields. Safety is extremely valued at LOF, making it a safe, fun atmosphere. Reffing is top-notch, and the owner Toby is helpful and very nice. All staff go out of their way to help people. LOF has a great Christian atmosphere, and welcomes noobs. The competition is great, and teams are balanced. As for pump-only players, they are only forced to use pumps because of continuous overkill. LOF is my favorite field and by far one of the best ones in all of paintball. Don't pass this one up!

UPDATE: LOF held another night game last night. (July 31,2004 The LOF Ultimate Night Game: Predator, Borg, Aliens, Terminator) They limited it for 50 players and I thought it went really well. He used lighting instead of the bonfires, the rules were clear, and the game itself worked really well! Thanks Toby for a great game.

I give this field a 10 out of 10.
Last edited on Sunday, August 1st, 2004 at 10:17 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

reo01 Saturday, November 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wolverine is bigger but I like LOF better.
Review: If you haven't been to Line of Fire in the last couple of weeks you need to check it out. I have played at this field for the last 8 years and there have been a number of improvements in the fields and the organization in just the last 2 weeks. I was there for the "Escape From New York" and like others was disappointed. In talking with the staff afterwards they admit they were not ready for the huge turn out. Since then things have been drastically changed. For the 9th anniversary, they used pre-registration and added additional check in locations as well as additional air stations. I waited less than 5 minutes in line, received an immediate safety briefing and started playing. Games were run on all fields with little wait between games. The large wood field as well and the "small woods" have been enlarged and improved, a new airball field has replaced the speedball field. New buildings have been added to the city field. Toby and his staff are the friendliest and most helpful in the area. Prices are competitive even with some of the on-line sites. The level of competition is good. Noobs are welcomed and some of the older guys are glad to give advice. If you want a safe place with lots of variety, try Line of Fire.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 9th, 2004 at 10:36 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Skizothymic Thursday, November 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Locke's - all woods, huge field, practically free but no CA.
Wolv.- more competitive, less friendly
Review: Refs: the refs at LOF aren't great. Every time I've played there they sit on the sidelines and talk and hardly watch the game. They sometimes stop people firing at you if you call yourself out, but not as often as they should for being such safety NAZI's.

Atmosphere: The whole group in the small shop is very friendly. They'll be more than happy to let you use a mask, barrel condom or anything else for free. The problem is it takes FOREVER to get anything and the guy talking to the person behind the desk about his dog takes priority above you, which is very frustrating. When you're trying to buy a $50 piece of equipment and they spend 10 mins trying to find a 50 cent drink for someone you start to feel a certain level of discontent. It's not their fault they're busy, just that their staff is lackadaisical.

Games: The games are great if you're just going to enjoy an afternoon of destruction. I don't think i've EVER played at a field with less of an overall skill level. It's also frustrating when there's plenty of refs but they'll only play one type of game at a time (rather than use both fields). Or when the general concensus (of 12 year olds) wants a game like regeneration and you end up playing it all day. Regeneration has also got to be the least organized game ever. The players end up not even going back to regenerate and it turns into a bunch of people shooting eachother regardless of teams.

Overall it's a decent place if you are very laid back and dont want a lot of competition. It's a better place to 'go hang out' and play some ball, rather than to play ball and do some hanging out. I give it a 6-7 overall - simply because it's too 'kiddy time.'
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

lude55 Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This was my first time here on 10/11/03 the theme was Escape from New York. When I got there at 3:45pm It took me till 4:45pm to just get my paint and pay for the field. The line was long but it just seemed unorganized. I was only able to play two games until 6:00 then they stopped play till 8:00pm to get the field ready. We didn't get on the field till 8:40pm. This was a night theme but it only had one light source which was a bond fire in the middle of the field. You couldn't see anything, you couldn't determine who was on who's team. I've been shot plenty of times but eight times at one time is nuts and then after i'm out with gun in the air and saying over and over i'm out i'm out I still continued to get shot up. We had no ref support. I wasted 4 hours in driving and $70.00 in money to play 2 games and one unorganized night game. I never wright in to things like this but I hope they fix the problem over there. The people that run it seemed to very nice and maybe down the road I'll try it again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Eric M. Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wolverine. 1000 Times Better!!!!
Review: This was my first and only time @ Line Of Fire Paintball. They had a theme day called "Escape From New York". The lines were incredibly long and it was very unorganized and unprofessional. To give you an idea, We got there at 3:30 P.M. and did not get on the field until 5:00 P.M. This was due to the long lines. After the first game I had to have an air fill, This took another hour of standing in line. There were no outside fill stations near the field. We had a break from 6:00 P.M. until 8:00 P.M. so they could "set up" for the night scenario. We did not get on the field to play until 8:45 P.M. Plus they had said in the description on their web site that each corner of the building on their city field would be lit with burning barrels. There was one big fire in the middle of the city field and no other light what so ever. It was impossible to distinguish between enemy and friendly. My second complaint was with the referee staff. After we finally got on the field that night, we had sat up in a good location where we could see the field of play. We were within the bounds of the field and were in position for about 20 minutes when a referee walked up from out of bounds and said "You cannot play here, this is the referee area and no one can play in this area". Being good sports and trusting what he had told us, we moved. We had only moved one bunker away, when we were shot numerous times from the area where we had just been told to move from. We thought that the referee had shot us, but in reality the referee had lied to us to get us to move, so that he could let the opposing team insert behind our lines and then he let them shoot us at almost point blank range. I was hit 12 times with some of the welts bleeding. Then after we were hit and were walking off the field with our guns up in the air and barrel socks on, we were shot several times again with the referees just watching and not saying a word to the ones who were shooting us. I do not consider this good sportsmanship and will never return to Line Of Fire.
Last edited on Sunday, October 12th, 2003 at 9:33 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

dragunballer655 Friday, October 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball central-Good but expensive, awesome field selection
Carolina paintslingers- Best plase to play ever!
Review: Line of fire is an awesome rec field. They have the city field made out of buildings which never gets old believe it or not. They have a speed ball field which is ok, some of the bunkers are kinda odd. THey also have a woods course which is pretty fun. They have a great selection of paint. There store is well stocked but it sure is small. They fill your tanks for you so you dont have to worry about learing how to operate those valves. Toby Joe, the owned of lof is a great guy. He will fix your gun for free. Like i said this is a great place for rec ballers. On saturday(rec day) the rules are kinda wierd. If you break more than 2 balls on some one you are out to, they play the 20 foot surrender rule. They wont even let you play bunker tag? If your a tournament guy i think tournament practice day is tuesday. The cool thing i like about it is that they are always having something special. Anyways this is a great field overall. Check out there website while your at it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lorquas Wednesday, September 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: This field is great, the people are great, and they have plenty of theme days and tournies and whatnot. Reasonably priced, and the owners are just awesome... they'll not only help you, but teach you how to fix it for yourself if need be... There's a big family atmosphere there, and saftey is # 1. The fields are well designed too.

My biggest personalbeef is that they don't really encourage bunkering... I dunno if this an all the time thing (perhaps allow it in tournies where all the teams concent?), but they seemed to have eased up on that and allow barrel taps sometimes, or foot shots (which is just as good).

The field does need more help behind the desk... they are swamped all the time so trying to get anything done is often a big hassle. Also, the refs tend to be lazy and not care. Its disheartening to see anybody at a paintball field and having them look like they would be someplace else... and when its the refs, thats worse.
Last edited on Sunday, December 21st, 2003 at 8:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballfiend1 Sunday, September 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wolverine-i have played at this select location and found that the staff at wolverine are not as friendly as other fields i have played at and is more expensive
Review: line of fire paintball provides a family friendly atmosphere they allow no tobbaco or alchoal in or on the premises and no profanity will be accepted. also the staff is very helpful and friendly.the fields itself are much more intense and fun then other places i have played before they offer 4 courses City,speedball,big woods,and small woods
all fields are in good condition and are litter free and they offer pump or semi rentals semi-10$ pump-5$ if you own a marker they will rent out certine prts that you lack they also offer at least 7 different types of paint such as midnight,evil etc... this is a well rounded playing experience.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Add Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
wolverine, 1000 times better
Review: First of toby is great however that fields shop is not any shop i would want working on my gun as they have already taken one of my guns from non adjustable to non working.
that was however when toby used ruckus guys to fix guns. There are 3 fields, a woods field which is too small and fun to be any useful and a city field which i found good when in a rec ball mood, there speed ball field is cluttered with bunkers however the style of all the players that learned how to play there is just sit and shoot at one bunker all day. one time there were three kids with an angel and two shockers and these kids would have gotten tour up at wolverine. the only good players i have seen come out of this field are justin laughter, francis gebo, and dirk brackett, with some of the members of 4f. There field has a rule where you have to stay one bunker away from an opponent so all these kids do is sit and shoot all day. This would show in there new team backdraft which just sits too much but will be a good team when they learn to go do someone, for me though i just find the level of competition at wolverine much higher. plus it has more fields and the fields are much larger, plus its the only field in the area with airball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media