paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / E.M.R. Paintball Park / E.M.R. Paintball Park / E.M.R. Paintball Park / E.M.R. Paintball Park

E.M.R. Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
28Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (570) 465-9622
Address: RT. 706 and T601
New Milford, Pennsylvania 18834
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
deathrider Friday, November 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 5th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
r&m paintball in owego
and i also played at CPX in il
Review: i was there and the fileds look good but the bunk houses are crap they will not hold in the heat and on at lest 3 of them they are starting to slide off the bricks that hold them up and the bricks do not have Steel Rebar or concrete to hold the brick in place and do to them sliding by what i could see in the others non of the doors cloese and in bunk house 1 the door nob on the in side is gone so this will be my 1st and last time i go to emr do to poor maintance on the bonk house's
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

agurish Monday, August 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
EMR stands alone - Very Unique & Interesting.

Skirmish, in Jim Thorpe, PA, is relatively near-by (about 50 miles, give or take) but they don't compare in my book.
Directions
to the Field:
US RTE 81N until you get to exit 223 (New Milford). At the end of the ramp, make a left and proceed int New Milford. At the stop sign in town, make a left, and follow this for short while. You'll see a hardware store on your left, and then further down, "Big Boys Toys" paintball shop - make a right, and follow this road (Rte 706) up the hill. Keep following this until you see the signs for EMR, and turn right onto EMR's dirt road. It's the largest draw for tourists in the area, especially during one of it's scenarios. You won't be able to miss it.
Review: Great field, awesome scenarios. The staff, and managers of the field are top-notch, and the events held at the field are among the best run, largest drawing on the whole East Coast. The "Castle Conquest" events held twice-yearly are among the largest events in paintball, drawing players from across the country, including top names, such as Greg Hastings and Eric Engler. The prize package given out after the main event is enormous, and can't be beat. Vendors from Spyder, JT, BT, Tippmann, Pinochio, etc. have all made a showing at the Spring event in years past, and many offer free or low cost tech-help with their particular brands. Also on site @ EMR is the only paintball museum, featuring multiple displays of every kind of paintball gear you can imagine, all the way back to the roots of paintball in the 1970's.

Putting it simply - EMR can't be beat - you've *got* to check it out!!!
Last edited on Thursday, April 22nd, 2010 at 10:35 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lopez17 Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 14th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The only other fields in Pennsylvania that I've played at are Pentagon Paintball in Erie and the now defunct Fort Splat near Pittsburgh. The comparisons would be apples and oranges.
Review: The field itself is located just outside of a quaint small town. Due to the massive draw of their scenario and big games the town fills up quickly. I stayed at the Blue Ridge Motel, which is decent enough for the price. It's not much to look at but it was a place to sleep. The field also has bunkhouses you can procure for the weekend as an alternative to staying in town.

The field itself is quite amazing. They have numerous scenario and concept fields (towns, villages, the infamous Castle, etc.) We played in a private group that day and primarily played the castle (which is large enough to have a hyperball field on the inside). Our reffing was excellent, the multiple fill stations were also top notch and enabled several people to be filled at one time. The price was quite reasonable for the quality of the fields ($25). The field also had a pavillion with picnic tables for staging/set up etc. It was convenient and centrally located. At the beginning of the day we received a thorough safety briefing and the staff was conscientious about ensuring the field chrono limits were met.

The only downer to the experience was the fact that the paint was $75 a case. I don't mind paying this if only for the quality of the fields, however I would have preferred something of a higher quality than Severe Hurricane. The group I was with unanimously detested this paint. It was oblong, prone to being blown up in the barrel or loader and generally worthless. I've heard that in the 2 years since I've been there, that they've switched to Marbs, which is a much higher quality paint.

After playing, we hit town and grabbed a bite to eat at Green Gables restaurant. The food was excellent, the owner was a heck of a nice guy and the service was outstanding. The beers/food were also reasonably priced so ballers on a budget could enjoy a nice meal.
Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 5:31 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

10-shot kid Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The only other field near EMR that I have played at was Skirimish. I have played at skirmish many times, most notibly their D-day games and battle for stalingrad games. Skirimish does attract more players than EMR for D-day but I found all their other smaller games to have only a few players more, relativly speaking. I found skimrish to be far less safe in terms of people not wearing their goggles and shooting hot. Far more cheating occurs at skirmish. I found EMR's fields to be of far higher quality.
Directions
to the Field:
I own a GPS because I suck at directions, don't ask.
Review: I have played all over the United States, coast to coast. EMR is the best field there is out there. Their refs are of the highest quality as are their fields. My main experience is with Castle Conquest and the now never to be held again Quest for the Holy Grail. EMR always has good reffing, good game organization that doesn't fall apart halfway through the game like other fields in the area, and an awesome player community you wouldn't believe.

for example my secound Quest I played a special charecter, the black knight, and had to be shot in all four limbs. In a couple hundred player on me fire fight, with boxes of paint in the air, the minute I called out when they got me a ref ran up the small hill, taking countless hits, to signal everyone I was out. I have never seen that anywhere else bar one field (cousins of Newburg).

EMR also has players bunkhouses that teams rent out. Some established teams have turned these bunkhouses into immaculate houses. Places you could acutally live. Their is this amazingly strong, welcoming community that is unlike any other field I have ever been to. Blue, the owner, is a great guy and a player not a business owner.

On the negative side of things EMR is not a place to let your minor kids stay at night in my opinion. While kids under 21 are certainly not allowed to drink, and will not be served/allowed at the players lounge, it is a very adult enviroment at night. teenagers do stay overnight commonly, and don't drink, but I wouldn't leave my kids there personally. If your ok with your younger than 21 year old kid being around lots of drunk adults and booze feel free. On that note there has never been any brawling or dangrous behavior as a result of drinking as I have seen at other fields in the area.

While friendlyish to pump players EMR doesn't treat their special games very well. Pump v. semi castle was well reffed but they didn't take the 20 minutes they do at every other castle to allow players on the waiting list to defend. They also just moved Pump pandimonium without announcing it anywhere except their schedual. A couple people have nonrefundable plane tickets. EMR recently had problems with retards tossing smoke grenades inside the castle with a couple hundred people inside so those are now banned from the field. On the other hand I have never almost been burned to death from hot smoke setting the field on fire like I have been at another field in the area.

I would strongly recomend this field to any player. It's the safest, best built, highest quality field in the nation, if not the world. It's castle conquest is like a huge hyper ball game and is the most intense paintball game I've ever been to. It's community is unbelievable and is the reason many players, including myself, still play paintball.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

harleyfiremedic Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not sure, I am from MA
Review: WOW,

We just returned from Castle Conquest and it was a blast. The staff at EMR are one of the best I have had the pleasure of dealing with. They always have an answer for you, always have a smile, and seem to be really concerned about making sure that we all have a great time playing. Where else can you find the owner running up and giving you a high five and making sure that you are having just as good of a time as he is, even when he is on the other team. This was our third trip to EMR, and the first of three for this year. The refs lean very hard on safety to make sure that we all go home intact at the end of the day.

It is obvious that they take very good care of the field. Every time that I have been to the field there are lots of improvements and other work going on. I have never minded paying the prices at EMR because it is obvious that a lot of money is pushed right back into the fields.

With over 1000 people playing this weekend, I am sure there were some issues,but myself or my team never saw any. All the people that I ran with, beside, or away from were great to play with. As Blue himself said, this is just like a big family.

Here are the ratings that I would give the field for specific areas:
Staff = 9.5 (only because nothing is a perfect 10)
Fields = 9.5
Bathrooms = 7 (only port o potties)
Staging area = 9
Prices = 9 (higher prices than some fields, but worth every penny)
Food = ? didn't eat there this trip, but it sure smelled great
Overall = 9 (again because nothing is perfect)

Also you can't beat a field that provides free bunkhouses and dry camping spots for the players.

The only less than great things that I can find are:
A little smoother road into the place would help, bottomed out once on the way in. Not bad, but nothing is perfect.
Real bathrooms would be a plus, but I am not sure you could make them work for the crowds that they can get here.
The air fills were not ready on Friday afternoon, this is an easy fix.
Always use the outside registration area, it got very crowed in the pro shop on Friday. made it tough if you wanted items from the proshop
Maybe provide some seating and tables in the staging areas. I know that this may be difficult due to the number of field at EMR, just a thought.

As you can see, the down side stuff is very minimal and it took me and the wife almost half and hour to figure these out.

This is one field that I would suggest that every paintball player try to play at. Come join in one of the big games and see just what a great time you can have with a few hundred other paintballers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

papaintballer15 Friday, February 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rockys
Charlies indoor
Stonemak
Review: This field is awesome. It has over 28 fields on over 128 acres, and many other things. Bunch of bunk houses and camping spots. Great fields, most are big and very fun to play on. Staff is awesome, very easy to get along with and joke around.Blue's the man he believes in the sport, and shows what its about and will do whatever he can to help people out.

For 2006 season he's offering ATV weekends for people to come and ride around on trails, and also having Airsoft events now to attract crowds that are new to it, just want to play and that won't goto the field maybe due to prices.

Priceing is understandable for how big the field is and what it offers. 5 dollar entry on thursday night open plays. usually around 15 for weekend and other play. Most events run 30-45 dollars. And price is 75 a case, which is respectable considering its custom made by RPS/PMI and its marbs (by far one of the best paints ever made).

Also have 3man Deuces Wild tournaments, and teams can come and practice if they want for a very cheap price. I practiced 7 times last summer, and got some pmi premiums to use for 40 bucks so i cant complain there.

I highly recommend playing open play, getting a group together or playing some big games here, the environment is awesome, and some really good players there. And bunch of great guys overall.

Edit: Played Castle Conquest this weekend. It was a blast despite my bad luck, not having gear. Then being late, gun breaking down twice (luckily company was there and replaced my internals for free.). Lots of great teams there, very intense, us defenders lost... attackers got the objective 10 minutes before it would have been over.
The paint shot great at castle, was some cheating going on. Noticed some people getting gogged and playing on, and Greg Hastings was yelling about it. He shot one kid like 6 times in the face, and kid kept popping up and shooting at both of us. Some other guy greg shot a few times, and guy came running up started trying to shoot through the window and greg was yelling at him to get off the field. Finally guy ran back and called himself out.

Overall the refs did best they could, game was very intense.... cant wait for the magazine articles and movies :). Another Great event for EMR. Cant wait for Wake Island and Fort Worr.

Also like to think the sponsors (ones i can remember) P&D,APP,BT paintball,Tippmann pneumatics,Tiberius Arms,Pimp Magic,Gunslingers,PMI/Evil,Ambush Alpha,Engler,End Game products.
Last edited on Sunday, April 30th, 2006 at 11:27 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Aqua Tuesday, September 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish USA
Review: To set the record straight EMR is an amazing place. My friends have been going there for 4 years and have raved about it ive been there 4 times already in 2005. The events have been awesome the 26 hour game was amazing and the PMI Extravaganza this past weekend was spectacular. EMR lets players bunk for free, camp for free, and if you get yourself in good position even build your own club a bunkhouse. The staff is great and they are constantly adding new and great things. Everyone has been talking about there Severe paint they no longer are with severe they now use PMI paint (custom marbs). The paint is great and the conditions of the field are also great. The fields themselves are very unique and allot of fun to play in events or just open play. If you have been to EMR and didn't like it I suggest you give it another shot at the fall castle 2005 on October 1st. 10/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CockerFanatic Monday, January 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paradise, Indoor Arena, Cedar Ledge, Rocky's Speedball. They don't really compare.
Review: My opinion on this field has gone down some. I had one bad weekend of solid rain though that doesn't affect my opinion, wet yes but loads of muddy fun! But the last two years seem to have hit a decline. Last years Holy Grail seemed awful weak, but maybe thats just because I'm comparing it to the Spring Castle Conquest which always seems so alive and fast paced. I shot Blaze the one year, castle 13 I believe, which they said was an old batch. No complaints there the paint was nearly the best I'd ever used. But they switched to Severe, which they had two different qualities of and I saw little difference between them. They didn't chop in my cocker though they did make neat spirals but did in all of the flatlines used on my scenario team of which there were four. It could have been poor paint/barrel matches, some had no problem at all. There are only a few porta potties at the field but I never minded that. Ok enough of the bad. The refs were incredible at every event I've participated in with the exception of one with a massive hangover, but you can't blame the guy :). They chrono everyone and check regularly throughout the day. I have seen some issues with burst and auto mode but anymore even semi auto can throw half a hopper before the first ball hits. The fields are mostly huge and well laid out if not always 100% balanced which is a good thing in my opinion, requires smart thinking to carry the day. The Castle is plain enormous and changes every year. Blue, your a GENIUS! My first time at EMR I said hello to him and he stopped what he was doing to come over, shake my hand and chat with me. I instantly liked the man and spent a few hours I should used setting up to help rig the nets for the chrono station. I had some problems with my Warp Feed while I was there and I had a tech and one of the booth helpers spend an hour to fix it for no charge, and they even gave me a new tank cover for my HPA. Any of the staff will bend over backwards to help you. This should be tried by everyone if they can make the trip. Tippmann even loaned me an A-5 when they first came out for a free test run in a game along with the Aradus barrel. I just cannot say enough how great a group these people are. It is expensive, but worth every red cent. Try it.
Last edited on Monday, January 31st, 2005 at 10:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

SocraticB Thursday, September 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Poco Loco, Del Hobbies, Fireball Mountain
Review: I recently went to EMR's Severe Extravaganza, put on by Divine Craft Paintball. I can heartily recommend EMR for regular play, but there are some caveats for big games that newbies and non-team players should be aware of.

1. Refereeing

Refs were courteous, helpful and safety-consious. They were in the thick of things and making calls. Unfortunately, there were many instances during the big game that there were no refs in sight, but that is a function of their number and deployment, not the individual refs themselves. Rating: 8.

2. Safety

Surrender rule allowed, which I think is a must for a rec field. Chronographing was strictly enforced. At least one ref carried a hand chrony to check hot guns. Play was fairly clean, so I didn't see any refs having to boot people for overshooting. Rating: 8.

3. Support Staff

Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The air shack staff was safety-conscious and competent. Rating: 9.

4. Clientele

Great people; local/sponsored teams were all over and were friendly and helpful. Met a bunch of Canadians who go to EMR regularly (Canadian Contingent, woohoo!) and many people from all over the eastern seabord. Some newbies, but many old-schoolers, too. I saw no wiping, fighting or arguing with the refs. Many of the clientele would go out of their way to help out a fellow paintballer. One of the best aspects of this field. Rating: 10.

5. Fields

WOW! Amazing fields; several castles, a ditch/high grass field, some villages, several rocky/woodsy fields, and Castle AAAAARGH! must be seen to be believed! Easily the best woodsball fields I've ever played. Clearly marked, well-maintained, imaginative, fun to play and unusual. Rating: 10+!

6. Facilities

EMR has standard player facilities (small proshop, shooting range, port-a-potties, parking near the main building, etc.), as well as some unusual facilities (rec house, musuem, camp ground, swiming pond and bunkhouses). Camping/bunkhouses are free, and appeared clean (we did not stay in them). I do not know if there were lockers for equipment and belongings, however.

The museum was great - it was very cool to see all the old markers and pieces of equipment. Food was available through vendors, although I don't know if they'd be there for non-big game events. Many people brought their own tents and canopies, as there is little shade from the sun otherwise. There were a number of tables and benches under a free-standing roof, and a pair of commercial-style sinks there as well with running water. Like most places, lack of a true bathroom hurts. Rating: 7.

7. Pricing

The pricing for the event was good ($25 and a free jersey), and paint prices were a bit higher than I'd like to see ($80 for Severe). $80 is the norm for many places (Skirmish, Poco Loco, etc.), but it's a bit hard to swallow for just Severe. Prices at the pro shop were fairly standard for a brick-and-mortar shop. Air/CO2 was free. Rating: 7.

8. Field Paint

Severe was $80 a case; the paint was fresh, but had a little dimpling and accuracy was good, not great. I've had worse field paint and I've had better field paint. It seems to be more of an industry issue and not a field issue.

Overall, EMR is a great field with some of the best playing fields I've ever been on. The only caution is big games; the home/sponsored teams were all on one side, and they wiped the field with the rest of us. They were given grey jerseys and we had red jerseys (can you say "target practice?"). I didn't see any favoritism on the part of the refs (who were local team guys), but the lopsided nature of the competition caused a lot of red team members to leave early, leaving the rest of us to be repeatedly pounded by the greys.

Therefore, I'm going back to EMR, just on a regular day when the teams might be more even . . . .

Overall Rating: 9
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamYellowFever Sunday, August 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Charlie's Indoor Paintball Arena, Rockies, Landons
Review: I have attended several Castle Conquest Games and, just recently, a Quest for the Holy Grail Scenario. The Fields at EMR are amazing and my hat is off to Blue and the refs for their very competent running of the grounds. The variety of fields never gets old and castle aaaarrrg is the coolest paintball course I have ever laid eyes on. My only complaint is of the quality of paint. Warped and deformed balls is like a way of life there and $80 for that kind of paint seems a little rediculous. Other than that I can almost garentee you'll have a blast.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media