paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Velocity Paintball Field / Velocity Paintball Field / Velocity Paintball Field / Velocity Paintball Field

Velocity Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
62Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: Warnock Dr and San Vicente Rd
Ramona, California 92065
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
SanDiegoPainta Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
weekend warriors, pirats grove (open house RULZ, too bad they are closed), SC Village
Review: i was hittin up weekend warriors b4 i every went to velocity and then my first time going to Velocity was like heaven. the refs are AWSOME. there are 2 problems with Velocity though. 1: u cant make ur own rulz with private party, u must follow there rulz no matter what (im talking about stuff like full auto and splat size). and 2: there are about 2 pr 3 feilds that really flood up and ur slippin and slidding in mud and stuff. the x-ball is pretty kool. good for 3 and 5 man's. the summer serries is awsome. i know for a fact my team is going to beat island breed next year in all 3 tourneys (kidz serries. my whole team is 15 years old). we have been practicing pretty much every other week, if not every week. we r getting that dye sponser. any way, velocity is really kool. 9.5/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wgprulez05 Friday, February 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adrenaline, Jungle Island, Mr.Paintball, and SC Village
Review: Velocity Paintball is a awesome field, it has alot of woddsball, 1 X-Ball field, for tournament players, 2 hyperballs, the big one is awesome, but the small one sucks, and 1 speedball. But the service at the counter is soooooo slow, it takes them about 15 mins to finish serving 2 people! It's bring your own paint, but they have paintballs there but cost 5 bucks more. And it cost 1 dollar for 1000 psi, and 3 dollars for 16-20 oz fills, and 9-12 fills on CO2 is 2 dollars. The refs at that field, are mostly the best. Except for some. Like this one that called me out for having shell, but NO PAINT! on my back! She is a complete idiot! Never go after it rains, the fields all get flooded, and mainly the key bunkers. You can buy a 20 dollar air card for Compressed Air ONLY! And that saves you time and money because the 20 dollar card has 24000 PSI. And also it is so much faster. It is always crowded on Saturday, and pros with huge egos come on Sunday. The field makes you watch your language in the novice games because it is a very family field. The owner is very strict about barrel plugs, and dry firing in the parking lot. Also will kick you out if you shoot wildlife. But other then that, One Of The Best Fields In The State And The 10TH BEST IN THE COUNTRY!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

worrcocker Friday, February 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pirates Grove(shut down, but you can still play their), Weekend Warriors, Freedom Paintball, Adrenaline, and Wild West.
Review: This place kicks a**. The refs are awesome. The field are nice. Xball is really good. Concept field are the greatest fields in all of Southern Cali. Hyperball 1 (10 man) is the best field there. The woods ball fields are okay, but woods ball just sucks comepletly.
The only thing that nobodys like is the line for compressed air. It is way too long, but it is worth the lines coming here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CockerDoctor Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Weekend Warriors, OK no airball and have to buy 80 dollar cases
Review: This field rocks ! Velocity paintball offers the best paintball in So Cal. It has a wide variety of fields for all different types of players. Velocity provides 4 different levels with 4 different rulez. The first level is novice. In novice u play the many woods ball courses. No bunkering and about 15 on each team. The second level is advanced u play speedball( spools), hyperball ( plastic circle things ), and mini hyperball (same as hyperball except smaller). No bunkering about 12 on each team. The third level is concept. Same as advanced except u can bunker. The last is airball. Bunkering is legal and the best in So Cal. play airball. 7 on each team very close field. U play as many games as u can in 7 minutes. Overall the best field for all ages and all levels of play. The best thing is it is very cheap and u can bring your own paint !
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JoJo69 Friday, December 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pirates Grove
Review: Velocity is the nuber 1 field that i would reccomend in San Diego, it has the most variety of fields, games for people from first timers to professional, you dont have to be great to play with the big boys, good staff, friendly players(for the most part), good supply of every thing you need, and well planned out saftey. I went to velocity once, played on that field with the big rock in the middle and the whole field was green grass, i came back 3 monts later.....and it was dead, kinda unpredictable weather up there. In the woods fields it can be 100 degrees and there will still be mud on the field, kinda strange to me. It has absolutiely any kind of field u could dream of. The Velocity Tournament series is the coolest thing ever even if your not playing in it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DarthAlan Tuesday, December 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Weekend Warriors (not nearly as good, and way overpriced BYOP)
Pirate's Grove (lame)
Review: Thumbs up to Velocity. My review of Velocity Paintball in Ramona, Ca.
First off, my name is Alan. I am not an employee of Velocity, nor am I sponsored by them. Every time I go to velocity I have a great time. The players are all great. The staff is awesome, and they make sure that everyone plays safe and does not ruin the day for the rest of the players there. I am writing this to let those who have not came to my awesome home field know about what they are missing, and to let those who love the field as much as I do respond with their own praise and support for the field and its staff

Pros:

1. Air Fills. I know that I have complained about this in the past, but I believe that Velocity has taken the criticism from the past and found a way to make the lines move faster. I don't know the guy's name, but the bigger/older blond ref that does the fills is now always back there. He is able to keep that whole area running smoothly, and I appreciate that even though he is an awesome ref too (One of the most active "rec field" refs I have ever played with).

2. Safety. They have gone out of their way to dig up tons of Eucalyptus trees to make perfectly even concept and air ball fields. I really don't have to worry about sprained ankles.

3. Fields. The new NPPL field is really fun. The X-Ball field is great too. I have to say that I will be sad though if they tear down little hyper ball to put the air ball field there, because I love that field.

4. Refs. Young, but always there when needed. They are helpful. Refs don't stall between games and ensure that even in the winter we get enough games in.

5. Price. I think the enjoyment I get there is worth $20, and I usually show up there at noon. 4 hours of play at $5 an hour is not bad when taking in account the quality of fields they have.

Cons:

1. Distance from civilization. Ramona is the s7iXo|2zs.

2. Mud. There is mud quite often. The muddy conditions in the winter are actually better than the dusty dirt that is there in the summer (I get less dirty when the ground is muddy than when it is super dusty)

10 is for perfect and 5 is for average. I am not one who give everything I have or have done a 10. This field rocks, so it deserves a 8/10, just becasue there are 2 points that coudl be better.

Thatís it,

Alan writing from Downtown San Diego.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 15th, 2004 at 2:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Diekrupt Saturday, December 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: September 12th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC, Outlaw, Tombstone, Jungle Island, Wild West, RJ's
Review: I know there are allready alot of reviews, problably all great but I just played here and had such a great time I just had to add to the reviews, even being there just once.

Pro's:
Excellent Staff - Games are run quickly and in order, no BS
Great fields - Their Rec and hyberball fields are fun with plenty of bunkers
On site store - Their onsite store has the basics of what one would need
but most of all
Great Attitude - No hardcore baller attitudes, very positive and respectfull, rules!
Good general turnout and good quality players of all types
Bring your own paint

Con's:
Only 2 supair (X-ball-Super7) field with apparent not much more room to add more
Limited air fills - $20 for 20000psi essentially, not full day air
Could have limited parking - get their early
Apparently not that much more room to expand.
A tad long lines to fill air and buy at store.

The #1 kick ass aspect about Velocity is the positive, carefull and good spirited environment to play in. Fields like Outlaw, SC and sometimes tombstone and jungle I have seen fights and heard of stuff getting stolen but at Velocity it seems like everyone there was totally cool and there to have fun, not head bunker people to death. I drove 2 hours to play here and will continue to do the same. Every single game I played was fun and a joyfull event. The quality of the players in general was also exceptional and challenging.

I despise most of SC's rec ball fields due to lack of real bunkers but all the rec fields at Velocity have very well placed and great bunkers but are still grassy/foliage and have unique terrains.. They were a joy to play. I have never played woods truly but this comes closest to what it is like. Not like SC and Jungle where your playing in shrubbery. Velocity is not 50 on 50 rec, more of a max of maby 25 to 30 on one side. But 50 on 50 is lame in my opinion anyway.

The hyperball fields (concept) were also very fun to play and everyone there mostly was having a great time (a couple of overshots). They have good angles and lanes and appear well built. I think there are only 4 or 5 but they are working on more. The only negative to their "concept" fields is they allow you to shoot through holes in bunkers which I consider blind firing.

Velocity is no SC or Hollywood park but personally I preferr the size and type of fields at Velocity over any other field I have played except RJ's. I hope they don't become to popular because their facility problably can not accomodate more than maby 200 people I would guess.

The one main negative is its limited air as oposed to all day unlimited air that some other fields have and you have to wait in line for someone to fill your tank. The parking at other sites such as Jungle can't handle that many as well but Jungle has more and larger fields, but that being said Velocity puts Jungle and Tombstone to shame due to the quality of the people playing, the ref's reffing and the attitude. The quick flow of the games, no long waiting to play, cooked food and cold drinks. Good bathroom amenities. Very well organized.

They have one X-ball and one super--7 supair field where pro's and ballers from SD come out and play so if you or your team is looking for game, they have it here. I am not a big fan of supair but the hardcore ballers who want action should be able to find it. The games are also well run on their supair fields. No wandering or wondering (SC-Outlaw) to find a game.

I think alot of the issues people noted in other reviews such as field mis-management of grouping advanced (concept) with novice (rec mostly) has been taken care of. None of the games I played in, and some where large, felt over filled. I played in novice and concept and felt that the sides were never unballanced. Most of the hardcore ballers were playing supair anyway. There is bunkering in advance but thats because advanced plays concept (hyperball) the entire time. I was not shot out much but I never heard of or felt that someone was overshooting or shooting hot. The games are ref'd very well and everything is organized well.

Conclusion:
I have not had as much fun playing paintball in over 2 years than I have had playing at Velocity. I will be driving 2 hours just to play there again, its worth it. Their woods courses are really nice in the trees, feels like authentic woods. Supair and hyperball while they could use more fields, are still a great blast to play.

UPDATE:
Ok well I have been playing here for many years obviously and just have to make an update.

PRO's:
They no longer use air cards and only charge 5 bucks for all day air which is a good deal. Still fun as ever, still super nice refs and staff, always good games.

CONS:
They only have porto-poties still, never kept in good shape, always urine all over the seats. I don't think they go in an clean or check on them, so TP runs out quick.

With their name being "VELOCITY", one would think they would be more professional on checking the velocity of players. The last 4 times I have played, my velocity was never chronoed, nor was anyone else. Today I was shot in the head at 303fps, thus the update of my review.

I tried to request to the peeps to please, get some hand held chrono's and do spot checks out on the field. If players new they were actually being checked, everyone would chrono themselves in. Due to the uncecessary big huge welt on my forehead, having to knock the rating down a few notches.
Last edited on Saturday, September 12th, 2009 at 7:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

XxWGPxX Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mr. Paintball USA
Weekend Warriors
Jungle Island
Review: I love this place. So far I think this is the best Paintball arena I've been to. The refs are serious and funny. They are on the safety of the game too. And willing to go where ever it takes to make sure the game is going in the right direction.

RENTAL----------------
I didnt really like their rental equipment. I didnt use it though. They had Pirahna GXT black maxx, which was okay because only beginners use rentals, and those are beginners guns. I think and reccamend you leave your, Nitro/Co2/Pure Energy at home. Because if you rent one there, you get free fill all day.

Fields-------------
X-BALL is the best. I loved that course. Nice bunker picks. I LOVE THE SNAKE. also the X in the middle. Got alot of good shots there. I was using my mini mag 68 (classic) and the range was perfect. But that was a little over a year ago. I use WGP products and one Angel Ir3. Speedball is about the same thing. Great bunker choices. The only field i dont like is the wood course. Poor bunker choice, so that is what brings this field's rating down.


***OVERALL***
This field is awesome. Lunch, Bring your own paint (optional) everything is awesome peace out. Any questions on WGP? i-m me on AIM american idiot42
or just leave me a comment. I check my reviews daily. Later X-ballaz.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

WDP-Pride Thursday, August 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
camp pendelton, mr paintball.
Review: Velocity is the best field in san diego period. Mr paintball has awsome ppl who work there but only 1 good field. (2 if u include the new airball but only for tourny and pros) (its pretty sick though). Camp pendelton sucks all around.

Velocity- i ref there whenever i have time, im there with all the pros every weekend.
best thing about velocity is that pros go there, not just a bunch of walk on idiots who shoot ppl cuz they dont know how to put a barrel plug in. They also for teams have a different sign in where u dont have to chrono with the walk ons u dont have to have a ref to play and u can use ne field u want. This place is awsome to practice at. If they gave u free all day air this field would be perfect. 10/10 though.

dont hate cuz the paint prices are high, thats why they let u bring your own paint and if u cant afford paint u shouldnt play paintball
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbcornholio Thursday, August 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
weekend warriors mr paintball
Review: well to start off Velocity is a great field they installed a new xball course it rocks!
the other corses are fun and pretty big woods ball kinda sucks cuz to many trees
also it has a good tech people to fix your gun finnaly the rental guns are great spyder victors this is the best park in san diego in my opinion.


pros
good staff
x ball
tech center
lunch cart
dont have to buy their balls


cons
very hot in ramona! bring lot o water lol
woodsball blows



i hope u liked my review

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media