paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cousins Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball Field

Cousins Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
31Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 1 800 FLAG 007
Address: 114 Parkway
Hauppauge, New York 11788
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
NoFearKGB Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Long Island
Couple of Indoor Fields
Skirmish
Review: Nice Fields
Nice Staff
Very Nice Setup
The scenario games are great (usually in June)

Never had anything but a great outing with my friends and co-workers, I went to this field about 30 times, played in a rain and snow storms and always had fun.

The shop could use a little more selection, but they have a lot of the latest stuff there. Prices are a little high, but you get quality (paintballs and service)

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zaadicus Monday, November 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBX battlezone

P.A. -> Skirmish Paintball
Global Paintball
Jack Frost mountain (((Splatter Paintball)))

I play at cousins maybe once every month to two months.
Review: I was really impressed wth the quality of everything at cousins in mancester. i went there for the first time with my brother in law and some of his friends for... some gathering hehe : ) the first time there was quite enjoyable since my last at Splatter handn't been so much.. (being used as a human sheild isn't the best experience for anyone)
i remember scaring one of the refs john? jim? because he came to look if i was hit and i rolled over and my gun was aimed at him and he jumped back i felt bad but it was quite comical. I met the owner fred out by the water fountain and he started asking me about my other experiences and shared a few of his WOW hes been playing a loong time.
fields seemed comparable to all the other fields with branches and downed trees in some places as well as wood nailed to trees for a bunker and some structures to climb on and hide behind. I wouldn't bother buying the camo unless you feel you really need it, instead invest in a lot of bug spray since chiggers SUCK (grr) and ticks can give you lymes, but thats just normal woods-type protection that you should always have whenever you go into woods. but do get some sort of gloves whether they are armored or not, gettin ghit in the hand is actually one of the more painful hits. . anyway onto the review i'll pass on the rest of the recollectin gof my first experience at cousins there have been a bunch since :)


the paint was just about as expensive as all the other outdoor paintball places ive gone, skirmish splatter and global were all around 100 to 120 a case of 2k. and those were random brands too. It was Draxxus paint, blue/yellow shell with light blue fill. *fields only combination, you can't buy the same color combination anywhere else which means that everyone is on a fair playing ground as far as that goes. The paint sinve then has gone to blue with white cousins imprinted on it to just blue and white shell. i've seen it break on people when i thought it wouldn't and ive seen it bounce off (*larger*) people when i thought it shouldn't. Air fills were $4 bucks but you can buy a $10 all day air pass if you know you use a lot. i dont remember how much it used to be at th eother fields but iknow that at a shop in town it is $6 per cc02 fill and i think THATS kinda crazy :)


The refs are all very friendly and helpful if and when you ask for their help. some carry around towels and spray to clean off paint after you've gotten gogged. ive even seen a ref spread out his towel and clean off paint for someone who'se dumped their paint on the ground after the hopper lid coming undone://: use as a shield while paintchecking or trying to fix a clogged barrel://: and during field play they use it as a "protector" for themselves instead of a cup for when they get in your way and you shoot them (hey if their in my way i'll try to sneak it behind them. yeah they are nice and all but they are out in the woods enough they should be able to tell the lines that people can and cant shoot when they're behind bunkers.

The shop inside is actually really good if you want to put a few bucks into it. the manager/owner Fred gives you a lifetime warranty on any gun that you buy from him. and if you spend an extra amount you can buy a marker and a goggle system and a whole bunch of other equipment that i cant remember at the moment for a dicounted price. PLUS five free admission coupons. (sell them to pay for your gun or use them for brownie points w/ your friends hehe ;)
the bathrooms are clean inside, and there is a porta-john by the target range

ummm...
oh yeah

sorry that thi post is looking like other peoples... but its an easy format to follow.

Fields::: *i'll give a little bit of advie for the fields at the bottom o fthe review*while they aren't quite as flashy and technological as a supair or xball field but they definately serve their purpose and if you see it for what it is whether its blown up plastic or branches planks and PVC its still just a bunker to hide behind and block paintballs your game will improve . there are a number of varying fields with its own strategy to each, ..

mm

the village is behind the pro shop and it has little plastic refridgerator-size "huts" to hide in with holes cut into them to look/shoot/get shot out of . and trails to get to each. ** dont go inside the huts, hang a distance behind them to block shots from away and peek out the sides or use the sides of it instead of the inside. --NEverEverEver try to bunker/capture a hut by sticking your gun through the hole and saying "surrender"... stu-pid. if you want to make a hut srrender try to flank it w/o thm noticing and A. shoot the hell out of them or have them surrender (a paint grenade does wonders too)

The Pit.. oh... the pit usually every ones favorite field its sort of like a large bowl. there are hills on one side and trees on the other with a little incline. usually people don't go into the middle beacause its sorta "certain death" (how it was explained to me by a ref)
from the deadzone side people usually go around right with the hill to cover them. its a fun field nomatter how its played though

cross roads..ive only played that field once, it was pretty fun barring the fact that it was mid summer and it ate paint because of the foliage .pretty fun being able to gogg kids in the wooden quad in the middle of the field. havnt played it enough for a real strategy

fuel depo: has changed recently there used to be two towers where there is no w only a pile of leaves and an upturned barrel to mark starting points. larger burm on the perimiter on the far side of field that offers god cover for either playing side.

center flag.. um.. chaos :)

maze hang in the back on the near side, far side use the slits in the wooden palets to your advantage for shooting and blocking 75% of th eballs shot at you

Outback use angles and the wide portion of the field, dont concentrate on being inside the "fort" it really offers no technical advantage because you are blind from so many areas. however if you are shooting onto the fort and cant get a clear shot, remember any shot on the body(or gun) counts... even feet.. wink wink.*

Apache.. perimeters and using trees/bunkers/dirt to your advantage.. make sure to pick off kids who run up into the upper tier of the 'fort'.. for being dum :)

"Speedball" courses... aren't really speeball unless you play them like speedball and with the rules in place for the field they can't be played like true speedball.. dont get freaked out if some of the kids wnat to play there or a ref suggests it.. speedball is actually just the name of the field, but it can be played like any other field just use the snakes and some of the corner spools/bunkers to your advantage.. in either one (barrels or the big sewer tubes)

i forget the names of some of the fields...
the one by outbak with the big downed tree.. never really been able to find a good way to use that field except for not being noticed. its a paint burner and therefore i don tlike it too much but its still fun :D

not sure if i've covered every field so far but i think thats most of them. if you have any problems with my review or want to add aything please add a comment :D



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigshot Thursday, September 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't been to any but i am planing on it.
Review: Kinda lame i know. I have been playing for 2 years and this is the only place i have been to? I would have to say that this place was pretty good. It was the first time i had played a capture the flag match and i was happy about that. They had none else there when we were their but i think that was good. They really enforced the Barrel plug rule which i think is good. I think i misfired twice in the goggles off area. Oops. The refs all had good squeegees if you did have a barrel break. The refs did kind get in the way when they were fixing a gun during the game. They also had a 20 foot surrender rule. 15 is far enough but 20 come on. I also didn't like the 250 fps rule (i didn't follow that rule ether) (thumb crew adjuster). I'll admit that i didn't really follow that rule too much. Their Field shop was ok but i wouldn't recommend it that much. They had Tippmanns as their rentals. The party i was (the adults, the kids all had guns) with rented Pro Carbines which they were pretty good with. They also had some interesting fields. There were some with stationary vehicles. Another one that was a pit. Also there were ones with some "castles". Then the one with bunkers scattered all over. It was very easy to make it to the 50 otb but i couldn't because i ran out of air on the way. I think having Co2 in 50º weather isn't such a good idea. To let you know how cold it was i was getting frost inside my mask and on the outside of my outfit. Some parents were also getting frost in their beards. I was thinking of getting the flag but when i was like three bunkers away i got shot out curled up in the bunker. (frozen paintballs breaking on you hurts). I really like the Field even if i did only play 5 games (we all shared 200 paintballs). I give it an 8 but i really liked it. I think the hour and a half drive was worth getting there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

chris fabiano Sunday, August 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
top gun , fireball mountain,skirmish,rex plex, captain carls, dels hobbies
Review: Fields are great and many to play on. 80 acres of paintball!! I Had lots of fun and everyone is helpful and knows what they are doing. Great fields for woodsball players and speedball players. The refs will be there when u need help and have questions. Everyone is kind and will help u as much as possible. There is about 12 fields now and they are all being maintained well. great for beginners and up
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FiveXX Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: This was my first time at an actual field......and i had an awesome time...the refs were great...field upkeep was insanely good.....and the staff was friendly....only downside to this field is the paint price...$100 a case....but believe me if you wanna have an awesome time recablling then this is one of the best fields in the tri-state...

they have 10-15 fields...and all of them are setup well...i brought my own gun....the rentals are tippmann pro-lites...velocity is set to 280...if you go you will instantly know that this place is based on keeping the customers happy...

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mcdowell2908 Wednesday, June 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fireball Mtn-sucks in comparison
Top Gun-not bad, but not as good as Cousin's
Review: I've been playing at Cousin's on and off for a while now. For a local field, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the fields, and the various scenarios that the refs set up besides the normal "capture the flag". By having other scenarios, it keeps the game interesting instead of getting boring half way through the day.

I played at the "Big Game" this past weekend and it was mostly GREAT. The fields and refs were awesome, I especially loved the scenarios and missions they did. The Tanks and chopper made for a very exciting day.

Now for the one bad part for the day. At the end of the day they gave away prizes, which is good....but not how they did it. They had more than enough prizes to go around, probably enough to go around twice or even three times. Most of the stuff they had they just threw out into the crowd and if you grabbed it away from the mob you got it. But when people are jumping on eachother over barrel condoms and key chains who really wants to get in the middle of that? They had a few contests, like longest barrel and most welts, but didn't pay attention to who already won items and who didn't...one guy actually got both of the guns they were giving away. I know one kid actually got about 12 prizes, most of which were snatched away from other kids when the stuff was thown. Now I don't want to sound like a whiner, but with so much stuff wouldn't you think they would make sure everyone got atleast one thing? Nope, I actually left with nothing, and after paying $55 entry, for one day, and I had my own EQ. All in all, I was disappointed that the people who ran the field didnt use a raffle system in which EVERYONE had a chance of receiving prizes rather than the ones who were petty enough to jump and grab prizes away from other people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

politics1 Wednesday, May 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: I played at Pinelands Paintball or Cousins Manchester and I thought it was horrible. There wasn't enough refs and the fields were man made (Wood fences and old farm equipment). They have one good field call the "Pit." Other than that the fields are a disgrace. When I played at Cousin's Newburgh field in upstate New York it was a great experience. The fields were natural and bigger. There were more refs and less people. For those of you that live in NY it is worth the trip (at least a hour and a half from GWB). If you live in S. Jersey I would go to another field in the area.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 5th, 2004 at 9:28 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

JRoqInc Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Berwick Paintball in NH (I wasn't impressed by that one)... And Cousin's Indoor Field In Long Island...
Review: I Love this FIELD!!! Cousin's (Pinelands) was the first field I played paintball at way back when and I still play there today... I'm not just saying this because I also have been working there for 3 years... I'm sayin it cuz it's true!!! They have great accomidations for beginer players and for those hardcore players out there... i consider myself in the middle... I enjoy both woods and speedball...
YOU DA MAN FREDDY!!!!!!!!
-Jesse
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Willpaint Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skermish Fireball mt Top Gun play fields in Europe , Texas , Fla ,
Review: I have been playing at Cousins ( Pinelands) for over a year now . Im writing this review to corect some of the other reviews I have seen .

1. The playsite and staff are about the best you will find anywhere. ( I was in the army and played all over the world as well ) Helpfull staff who dont look down on new players . Fields that are kept clean of garbage Cousins have 12 or 13 playfields not 4 and heck I see them wash the target range at the end of the day ! They have 4 nice clean holding pens/ observation / safe zones to head to between games ! How bout this one .. drinking water, cups, lockers , benches in all safe zones . Reffs all have a radio if I need something and call a golf cart guy to come get me !! Reffs all have a squeegie and lens cleaner to keep my equipment in great shape .Reffs are all in uniform which is nice to know who works at the place . When i play at Cousins we always have at least 3-5 reffs on the field I never seen that at any other field ,

2. PRO SHOP is well stocked with most needed items . Prices are fare and not out of range . Of course you can always find cheaper on the net but you get 0 customer suport
pro shop guys will install anything you buy for FREE I like that because i cant even install a screw without striping the thread ( done that to my matrix )

3. Check in was done in a clean well maintained building ( not dirty trailer or chicken coupe) Check in was ez and fast even with a few hundred players there.

4. Priceing I been playing paintball over 15 years ( love it ) In 1989 it cost 20 to play or 30 with rental gun ( pump ) Guess what ??? Cousins has not raised prices in over 15 years ! Paint was 150 a case and now is 100 Other parts of the world maybe cheaper due to cost of doing busness ( cheaper land than in NJ ) what do you think 80 acers cost ? cheaper or worse yet no insurance . NJ as we all know has the highest insurance rates in the free world .
Its simple overall cost ( Paint , rental . air ) is reflected by what you are really getting for your money .. Safe , clean , well staffed and fun playing site .

5.Bring your own paint play sites .
From a players standpoint I will not play at a bring your own paint field ever . Its good to see the quality of what some stranger is shooting at you be controlled . Some brands are hard as rocks . Some brands are ment to perma stain clothing . Some players think its fun to freeze there paint the night before they come to play . Some paint the 40.00 stuff will not shoot at all and make you have a crummy day of paintball .
From the owners standpoint . I would not want guys to put junk paint in my gun and than cry when it dont work and say that i have crummy guns to rent . Owners need the paint revenue to pay for lots of staff , clean site , real check in building , taxes , insurance . parts for guns .air systems incl scuba compressors. porta johns , garbage pick up dont forget payroll /unemployment . state sales tax advertising ohhh and guess what the owners need to show a profit at the end of the day or why bother to do it .
6. 100 paint omg .. well guess what I was in a club the other night and payed 4.00 for a Budweiser that i can get 6 cans for 6 bucks , After that I went to a diner and got 2 eggs 2 toast some home fries with tip was 9 bucks . My wife could have made it for under 2 bucks no tip :) so whats yer point ????
Btw Cousins offers a PLAYER DISCOUNT CARD I own one . My entry is 10.00 to play and my PAINT is 74.88 a case I dont take shots for the sake of shooting my total cost for paying a day is about 55.00 - 59.00 .. 1/2 case and entry 2 fills .

7. To sum it all up Cousins is not for everyone ... If a big date out is Dinner at Wendys or Micky D's play someplace else . Maybe be insured maybe have reffs maybe have a clean place to relieve yourself maybe see threw your rental gogs maybe get 6 games in .
But if you looking to have a good time , rent top noch equipment , get lots of games in most time 12 + games . have great staff on the fields PAY FOR WHAT YOU GET play in a safe environment play at Cousins ( PINELANDS )
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

gameface Tuesday, October 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Top Gun, On Target, and Fireball Mountain
Review: Cousins (formerly Pinelands) is a great field for rec ball players. I have been going here for a few years now and it is just a terific place to be. The parking lot is well maintaind. They have indoor bathrooms that are always kept clean, the equipment is kept in good condition. The staff is excellent and very knowledgeble. The manager always personally greets and checks on all players to see how they are doing and if they need anything. Definatly the best play for rec ballers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media