paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Jungle Games Paintball Field / Jungle Games Paintball Field / Jungle Games Paintball Field / Jungle Games Paintball Field

Jungle Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
69Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 727-937-1755
Location: Lutz, Florida 33559
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
                            
whowouldlie Tuesday, August 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
thunder bay is for big guns
Review: i always have a really great time out at this field. yeah, the owner can be a bit much, but it's always about safety. he yells if you dont have your goggles on or if youre shooting people up for no reason. they are just kids, man, lighten up!
6 years ive been going there, and they have changed there fields a lot of times throughtout the years. theyve got an awesome speedball field with a helicopter and awesome props; the wooded fields is still open enough to see what's going on, but still keeps you in the shade, and i like the feel it has to it. the best thing is that no matter where you go, it is the dryest field in tampa bay. they are packed on weekends that are rainy becuase evey other field is soaking wet- some have even had to shut down because of it.
the refs are a bit much to handle, but i've seen a lot of the come and go. i give a hand out there when i can, sometimes they need an experienced player.

the prices are average. you get $10 air ALL DAY, and $10 field fee. you can bring your own paint which is great, but i dont think $60 is too much for a case.

there is a safety area that is netted off, which is very much just that, safe. you aren't allowed to shoot in the parking lot at all, so yeah, they yell at you like crazy out there. barrelplugs inat the parking lot too, you dont want to get your eye shot out, now do you?

the owner, whose name is NOT lenord, but warren, (aka buck) is a tough one. he's been doing this for almost 15 years and is the most safety conscious guy i know. he makes a lot of money out there, it's been atleast 60 people there, sometimes 80, and he's not going to jepordize his business for some punk kids that think they know everything. if you cant keep your mask on, these other review are right, dont go there. it was the first field in florida- i think he's very protective of the new player.

so yes, if you want to get shot up with big guns, go somewhere else, but jungle games is a place to take the kids. but dont bother going out there if you cant keep your mask on and obey a surrneder rule.
Last edited on Wednesday, August 13th, 2003 at 12:48 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PaintballerX Thursday, July 31st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PaintBallistix in Brandon - still sucked, but it was infinitely better than this one.
Review: Where to start, where to start...

Right as I pulled in to the parking lot I knew that this field was going to really flat out suck. Why? The only thing I could see is a gigantic "speedball" field that must have spanned about 3/4 of an acre. Keep in mind that there were about 30-40 people playing from my count. I don't know about you guys, but having 15-20 people on each side is just way too damned much, even in this big area. The games seemed to go on forever, the refs weren't even on the field to police anything...it was horrible.

Then, I noticed the prices.

$70 bucks for a case of "Big Ball" (I put it in parentheses because it looked a whole lot like PMI seconds to me), $10 for an air fill that only went up to 2000psi...

Nobody made the players chrono their markers beforehand, and general safety was pretty much a joke. Now, onto Buck, the owner:

After I had played my first game and was back at my car filling my pods (something happened with the car as well, which I'll explain in a second), I hear an obnoxious voice screaming at a guy walking off the field. From listening into what their "conversation" was about, here's what I picked up:

The guy being yelled out was the last member still in the game for his team, and was near the back of the field in a standup. About 5-6 other people were still playing on the other team, and ran down the field to see if it was clear and the game was over. As they ran past his bunker in a group containing all of the remaining players, the last guy standing on the other team shot them from his bunker (a good 40 feet away). He happened to get all of them out, including a couple of new players with rentals. So he gets off the field, after what I consider a pretty decent move, even if it was a bit underhanded, Buck begins screaming at him about how he's the type of player nobody wants to play with, how he makes playing no fun for everybody, etc. The other guy is walking to his car, trying to keep his cool, and Buck follows him there, still screaming. He gets in the car and drives off, leaving everybody else to wonder what in blue hell was going on. That was all I heard out of Buck until the car incident, but from what everybody else here has said, that's not a random occurence. Now, onto the car fiasco:

Here I am, walking back from the first of only two games I played (I left in disgust after the second), and I notice three huge splats on my BRAND NEW 350z. I start asking around, and apparently some people saw a couple of kids shoot at my car on purpose. I go over to have a chat, I raise my voice (keep in mind these two kids were new players with rentals), and Buck has the gall to yell at me for being rude and attacking these kids for no reason. I calmly told him what had happened, and he replied with "I don't care! You shouldn't have brought a new car here in the first place!"

Needless to say, I packed up my things and left then and there.

Take my advice: if you're going to play in this area, do yourself a favor and try Orbital; I hear it's a great field.

Mike
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Magister Monday, July 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Oribital Paintball, Thunder Bay Paintball
Review: I went to Jungle Games only when I started out and was learning the ropes. Except for the hot lady at the check in counter (orbital has a hotter one) the staff in whole I didn't like. Where to start though. The staff was very rude and they yell at you for non-sense. For instance long time ago I had a piranha so to let the air out of it after a long day I dry fired it, as I did a hail of yells came at me "NO SHOOTING IN THE PARKING LOT!!!!" even from the lunch lady who rips you the hell off, 2$ for a little can of pringles, bah. But the lunch lady isnt the only person, they sell a case of Big Ball for 70$! Tell me thats not a rip. For the fields I hated them, their bunkers are old fences and 1 land rover. Their woods field is so bare you can shoot across the damn thing without hitting a branch. I suppose this is a good field to start out on since most are all newbies but don't expect a warm welcome or much help with your gun troubles. Again Orbital, which I recently go to now has a very very helpful staff, so this is a much better place for help but don't expect you won't get lit up on your first play there.

PS: They know nothing about fixing guns, I gave them my piranha to lower on pressure because I didn't have the right allen wrench and the next thing I know the needle is off the chart and my bolt is jammed and spring broken....
Last edited on Monday, July 28th, 2003 at 7:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

18-BRAVO Monday, July 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gator, Thunderbay
Review: My 7 month old cat could run a field better than this. The owner is an absolute fool. If it weren't for certain laws etc, he'd be missing several of his teeth right now. He dropped my cocker once, then complained that I "handed it to him wrong", he yelled at people for no apparent reason, and was just all together disagreeable. The two refs, along with the owner made up the three stooges. The refs were a couple of brain dead pot heads who had a hard enough time communicating, let alone reffing a game. I almost felt sorry for the team I was playing against, since i was with 2 angels, and a bunch of high end cockers and electros, against a bunch of 5 foot tall youngsters with rental guns. The refs justfied this by giving them 2 or 3 more players than us. People were shooting their guns in the parking lot, taking masks off on the field, it was a mess. The field was ok, but there was only ONE. We playede 5 hours of games on the same 1/2 acre sized field. About 1/4 of it on the far side was totally unaccessable, do to about 3 inches of standing water in most places.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RAT_Impulse626 Wednesday, May 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Orbital paintball (formerly known as Weekend Warriors)
Review: Where can i start? The people that work there could not be any ruder. The owner of the place, Buck, is a complete jerk. Me and my fiend had just been tagged out of a game, and we saw a guy wipe, so we told him that someone wiped, and he got pissed. He was like If you are going to complain then "Get the f*** off my field." And i replied by saying, "buck, come on man. We are return customers, you don't have to treat us like that." And his next answer was "I don't ever want to see you ***holes at my field again." And he said this infront of my ten year-old sister. This is one sick man, regardless of what you hear about him being "nice and informative", this only happens when he gets a reeeeaaaaally big, and pure rock that day. He and his whole staff abuse customers. If you go to this field just know what you are supporting. And another thing is that his fields are not even that good. Don't abuse yourself and your friends, if you want to go to a good field go to Orbital paintball on highway 301, because Jungle Games is like a big S & M fest.
Last edited on Tuesday, September 23rd, 2003 at 10:20 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

unclengsupa Monday, April 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Thunder Bay, Rock Creek (Gainesville, FL)
Review: Jungle Games Paintball Field had good and bad points(as do all fields). First the good. I liked their speed ball field which was covered with interesting cover such as a helicopter, trucks, vans and fences. About one quarter of this field was enclosed by a wooded area which added a nice touch of variety to just the open area shooting. There was also a woods field that others with more experience with this field told me was nice. There sticklers about safety which is paramount in my book. The prices at this field were pretty good. Ten dollars for a field fee after you tell them you saw their coupon on the website and Bring Your Own Paint is always a plus since everyone hates paying jacked up prices for balls.

The Bad consists of the fact the fact that most people like playing on the Speed ball field and we (me and my friends) never once got to play in the woods. They took a vote and we lost so we were stuck on one field for the day. I think as an business establishment they should play a few games, or at least one, in the woods to satisfy the minority of players that likes playing in the woods since we payed to have a good time as well.
As far as the personnel that was working there I have only a small beef which is only slightly specific to my experience. First off the owner of the field was a nice man who was very informative and helpful, genuinely concerned about making sure we had a good time. The only problem I had was that of a portly ref who decided to come down on me after I asked for clarification about a certain rule. I do not appreciate being treated some little rude punk. Berating patrons for asking you to do your job is not a civilized or professional way to behave.

I'm going to treat that as an isolated incident though and give him the benefit of the doubt, maybe he was having a bad day. However, as the shampoo commercial tells me, "You don't get a second chance to make a first impression." Other than that, okay field, good prices, nice owner equal not a bad but not a great time.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

767fixer Friday, March 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
weekend warriors
gator paintball
the paintball park ft myers
Review: the fields they have are pretty cool. the refs are not. on our third time playing here the owners (or maybe it was the high management) had some referee troubles (appeared they did a walk off ). the owner or manager (whoever it was) enlisted some players to be refs. one off these gentlemen was a complete idiot. he selected teams on who were his friends and who was not. that alone did not bother the group i was with. during the woods game we were playing he kept pointing out where our team members were hiding.(started getting bothered). one of our team was told he was hit by the refs. the ref came to do a paint check and found no paint on our player. but during the paint check some one shot our guy anyhow and this joker of a ref called our player hit. the ref had him out of his bunker to do the check.( getting real bothered now) . it took all we had not to bathe this supposed impartial ref in a hail storm of paint. now the kicker. we went up to the owner/manager and complained. we were even trying to be polite. this gentleman proceeded to throw us out. saying if we don't like it don't come back. we tried to explain all we wanted is not to have this kid as our referee. we went up against a flurry of a mouth. he would not even let us explain what the problem we had was. you'll recognize him there. a plumping little fat fellow. excuse the expletive's but now i am completely bothered. we were in the process of filing complaints with the better business bureau but decided that would be wasting our own time when we already know we will never be going back. the crew at Weekend warriors was way too cool and we will be trying other fields in the Tampa general area
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Excel 5.0 Phil Saturday, March 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
I havent played at any other fields
Review: Jungle games has lots of old cars as bunkers. It also has a chopper and range rover as bunkers. On the speed ball field three quarters had bunkers and stuff and the other quarter is forrest. Jungle games also has three forrest fields but I havent played on those yet. The refs do a pretty good job on paint checks and calling people out for blind firing. I would advise people who live in the Tampa Bsy area and like paintball to try this place out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

griptmf Sunday, March 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: They now have 3 woods, and 1 speedball. They do a great job mixing up the teams. Also don't have to wait a long time for the next game to start. People there from all skill levels. No one watches the chrono. Also, it's not that expensive. The parking isn' t all that great at the field. The speed ball course is fun becuase its 3 quarters field and 1 quarter woods. The speedball field also has lots of vehicles in it for instance 2 old fire trucks, 1 helicopter, 2 vans, and somethin else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media