paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Black River Paintball/BRSportz Paintball Field / Black River Paintball/BRSportz Paintball Field / Black River Paintball/BRSportz Paintball Field / Black River Paintball/BRSportz Paintball Field

Black River Paintball/BRSportz Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
55Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 2500 Carson Gregory Road
Angier, North Carolina 27501
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
BlackRiverBeast Thursday, May 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 12th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Freedom- Its alright..not as good as black river--unstructured
Review: The field is my all-time favorite. It is greatly structured, it has a great staff, and is very safe. It was the first place i'd ever paint balled and went with a friend of mine who is sponsored. I was worried it was going to be all kinds of regular tourney players against all noobs. It wasn't. The teams were always very fair. The staff treats everyone like family. The regulars are always quick to help you. The refs are strict about safety and give a briefing to all players coming for the first time. The shop at the field is pretty good. Paint is cheap, although i've heard its gone up from the last time i went. The last time i went it had 2 speed ball fields, 1 X-ball field, 2 woods ball fields and one extremely large woods field. I have been told a Scenario field has been added. I have only heard great comments from friends that have gone, and played the scenario field. The only disadvantage i've found is that it is a little bit out in the boonies. it is about a 45 minute drive from Fayetteville. I highly reccomend any player to try out with field if you're ever in North Carolina
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pyromaniacs1 Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None. teammates of mine have been to Freedom, and don't rate it well.
Review: Ok. First, I have never been to any other paintball field in North Carolina. I am simply comparing this to what I've been told about team mates and my own experiences at BR.

First Impression:
The first time I heard about Black River, was over the Internet with an employee. He talked me into checking out the website, which was very user friendly and informational. Through the site, I could tell exactly how much money I needed to take with me, not to mention that these were the best prices I had seen advertised for a field.

So, I decide to take the 1 1/2 hour drive (which is completely worth it) and go check the place out with some friends. At this time, I would consider myself a "noob." My first day there was ona Saturday, which is when all the church groups and such go. You could tell who the regulars were, as they were on a first-name basis with the staff. However, first timer, second timer, once a week, what ever; the staff was very helpful to everyone and easy to get along with. The atmosphere here is very welcoming and the competition is awesome.

Changes:
In the 1 year that I have been visiting the River, they have undergone many changes. They moved the fields closer to the parking lot and stageing area so that the walk isn't as bad. Also, where the speedball fields used to be, now facilitates every scenario baller's dreams. Standing there, now, is a fort known as Fayettnam. That makes a total of (I think) 4 speedball fields (1 hyperball, 3 airball), 4 or 5 woodsball fields, and one scenario field.

Safety:
for the most part, the Black River refs and other staff are on their toes about masks on or barrel plugs in. Occasionally they'll let one or two guys slip through the cracks, but those guys are usually the aforementioned regulars. I can't remember a time when I was at the River that I thought my health was put in danger.

Proshop:
This is what gets me. They have about 4 proshops. I am assuming all of them are just as good as the one I frequent (Fayettville shop). The staff at the shop is extremly friendly. A lot of people don't see why this matters, but when you can talk with the guy behind the counter like he is a friend, it makes a pretty big difference. the shop is well laid out, making it easy to navigate for what you're looking for. The best part is, if you wanted to hang out, there's a couch to chill on and paintball movies running the whole time.

All in all, BR is a great field/pro shop with great people. I've been frequneting there for about a year and will continue to visit as long as possible.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dilbertrob Saturday, February 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Tagg - Great Woodsball but closed now.
Real McCoy's - Friendly staff, but needs to upgrade their fields
Gotcha - Great place to play, excellent hyperball and woods.
Review: Just played this field for the first time with some friends. We had an excellent experience here. First of all, the folks at BR were some of the nicest, friendliest people I've met while playing paintball. We played on the last weekend they allow outside paint at BR, on March 1st, they go to a Field Paint Only field. While paying for the day, the lady at the store said she would give me the Field paint price anyway, which was awesome. It's only $10, but that showed me that these guys care about the experience the customers are getting. We were allowed to play a few games of 2 on 2 on the Barnyard field and had two refs with us. They even helped us find a lost barrel plug.

The refs here were young (like most places), but they explained the rules to everyone when we went to a larger game and they were very safety conscious, which is important to me. They constantly reminded players to have barrel plugs and to keep there mask on while on the field. The refs also made our experience cool, by letting majority pick the field and how we were going to play. The refs were also great at helping anyone and were always there, whenever a paintcheck was needed.

That brings me to the best part of the day: Fayettenam. We went there to play Woodsball, but after playing the Fort or Fayettenam, we were hooked. This field is simply the most enjoyable field I have ever played on. The field is kind of an urban setting with a fort, four sniper towers, a moat and about half a dozen cars strewn throughout the field. The field was used for both regular matches as well as Attack and Defend matches. The field was very unique and you could tell it was laid out strategically for the maximum amount of fun for the customer.

I will definitely be back to this field, even though I don't like the Field Paint Only decision. I would rather pay more to bring my on paint, but I understand why they do this. The only downside to the day was the field paint that my buddies bought. The white box version (which I believe was Stinger) was pretty dimpled and they spent alot of time squeegeeing throughout the day.

The prices at the field store were very affordable and the snacks and hot dogs were very reasonable. Overall it was a great experience and I look forward to returning to the field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

daemon9777 Saturday, February 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have heard nothing good about the other fields near Fayetteville. But read the reviews on this site about black river....should have paid more attention to the details. But the guys i play with sware by command decisions field. ( i'll find out for myself next week) but its way to the west of here.
Review: Ok let me start by saying this was my first time to the field and it was in their defense a really crappy weather day. That being said......

The facts (or opinions) as i see them:

1. Their field paint did not work well with our barrels. As a matter of fact we bought one full case of their low, medium, and high grade PMI field balls. They all shot poorly and wedged in the barrels the low grade was definately low, with softspots and multiple flat areas all around the circumfrence of the balls i know paintballs aren't truely round ..but man i wouldn't even throw those balls much less shoot them. Ok so i don't like their choice in field paint. BUT you have the option to bring your own (which i suggest you do if you have a tippmann with a J@J, BT, or true flight barrel). Until i think march when they go fieldpaint only. (check thier website for exact date of switch)

2. They are not for woodsballers. I've never been to one of thier big games or scenerios and i'm not referencing them. I'm going based on the regular weekend days. The fields we were led to were not what i would call woodsball fields by any stretch (we weren't taken to the "large" woods area.... one of the refs said it would have been to large and unfair... but seeing as how there were at this time at least 35 people walking onto the field i didn't see his logic behind that statement.) Their small woodsfield is not clear of any type of brush and is basically thick wood with boundries taped around it. The other fields are essentially all bunkers with trees ...in essence speedball fields with some trees in them. the "urban" setting didn't seem to be complete and was again basically a speed field.

3. I've seen others in here say their refs need to get in there more....and i think thats true. But with the exception of one kid ref....they were all polite and friendly and really i liked the folks..they tried to make the best i would expect out of a bad ...and i mean really nasty weather day.

4. about the details..... i should have paid more attention to the posts in here.... speedball....almost all the posts are by and about speedballers. So I think i have myself to blame for a fair share in this. Because we...were looking for woodsball. We came to speedball land.

I gave this field a 5 its middle of the road rate, not good not bad and b/c they advertise their field as catering to both woods and speedball....really they are leaning WAYYYYYY more towards speedball. Their stores are great and the people are great and friendly and can't say enough about that...but they need to work on their woodsball if they want to advertise and leave that graphic up showing them as both types of field play...in my opinion. And thats what we found ....half of what we were expecting.....great people, great looking place, just not for woodsballers or those whose barrels don't like thier ONE BRAND of field paint...sorry guys...i'd still buy from ya'll first ..but i'm using the stuff somewhere else...i'm not a speedy.
Last edited on Saturday, February 18th, 2006 at 9:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sobriety Monday, September 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Tagg: Completely different ball game... Can't really compare the two as far as field play. Great for Woodsball and for humbling Speedball players.

Real McCoys: I've played a couple of tourneys here.. Their secondary fields aren't any good.. BR is better overall for Speedball, but you can't find a nicer owner than Junior.. That fact alone places RM second to BR for Speedball.
Review: I have played in several tournaments, and have played rec ball many times at BR. Overall I would have to say that this is the best place to play Speedball in the area. Their paint prices are a little better than Action Tagg's, and their "white/brown box" variety generally seems to more often be over runs of the higher quality stuff up until recently.. They made a switch to Blue Arc "Charge" for their white box level paint, and the stuff shoots good, but seems to have gone back to being on par with Real McCoys and Action Tagg's White Box Paint.

White Box variety:
Black River: $45 at field tax included / $40+tax at store
Action Tagg: $45 at field tax included / $45+tax at store
Real Mccoy's: I think its the same as the other two

Tournament Grade Paint:
Black River(Soon to be FPO): X-Ball brand (great stuff) Bronze:$50 Silver:$55 Gold:$60 at the field Tax included / $5 bucks cheaper at store+tax
Action Tagg(FPO): Blaze:$55 Inferno/All-Star:$60 Evil/Marbilizer:$65 Tax included / Same price at store+tax
Real Mccoy(Charge for non field paint): I dunno any more

Refs:
Black River: They generally have 3-4 refs Sat & Sun For Rec Play. Tournament days they have 3 teams reffing, and hardly a call is missed :). Rec days from my point of view need some improvement for reffing.. They have the numbers, but the refs generally stand on the sidelines and make the calls they can see from there. Granted a Speedball field is fairly manageable from the sidelines, but they should be able to get in the mix some times to get a better vantage point.

Action Tagg: Rec days they generally have 1-2 refs for an open game. For their Big Games they have 5-6 refs. Depending on who the ref is they usually stand near the center of the field so they can at least get a vantage point for the majority of the field... They need more refs than 1-2 for the woods because the average size of each field is more than triple a speedball field. They do what they can, but they could use some improvement in that area.

Real McCoys: The refs do pretty well there, but on rec days you generally have to rely on the honesty of the players.

Field admission/air:

Black River: $5 admission $10 ADA (Compressed Air)
Action Tagg: $5 admission $15 ADA (Pure Nitrogen)
Real McCoys: I don't know anymore.. it's been too long for me to say.

Store:

Black River: They have the best prices generally speaking.. and will work a bit with you if you buy in bulk.. I understand they have some type of rewards program with their new OS in the stores.. So, pretty good deals there.

Action Tagg: Their prices are higher than BR.. and they don't stock as much "stuff," in their defense they stock what they need for their target audience. If you want to get a better deal then just ask for the owner to work with you on price... he usually will.

Real McCoys: I haven't ever bought anything there, but he has TONS of guns and "stuff."


Well there you have it...

BR Gets a 8 out of 10 overall... If the refs get in the mix a bit more then that rating would be a 9 of 10.
Last edited on Monday, September 26th, 2005 at 11:51 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

IronCorps Saturday, July 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None that i play at, cuz they all suck compared to BR.
Review: All of BR's speedball courts are intense, and well balanced. Thier 1/2 size court is insane! Their most popular woodsball field 'the barn' is a fantastic setup and provides a good challenge for most players.

Staff is commonly friendly. Drinks and snacks are availible at the field. All day Co2 is availible. Good rental package (thier rental C98's use HPA).

Its a good field. My 2nd favorite in the entire nation, my 1st being Rogue Paintball in Standish, ME.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

L337m3d1c Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
mainly california fields, blow this one away. only other field i played in NC is freedom paintball, which this one is much better than.
Review: I'm not too fond of teh speedball fields here, the set us is sort of decent but the bunkers arent that good. They did have some decent paint (shot pretty strait in my timmy and didnt break any balls). The woods ball field is pretty good, even though im not a big fan of woodsball. if they got some tournement style blow up bunkers (mainly jsut larger ones then some of the little blocks that they have) the speedball field would be much better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

emagfrenzy Sunday, June 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Tagg-Great Woods Field, but the Store doesn't have anything in stock and reffing can be good some days and bad other days.
Gotcha-Poor Staff and Management, Only go for Big Games
Aim Straight-Smaller turnouts but very nice staff, As of recently I believe they may have gone under. I am not sure though so check their site.
Real McCoys-Smaller turnouts but very nice staff and GREAT inventory. Fields weren't too bad, but they were basically in the middle of nowhere.
Review: I have played at Black River a few times and have mostly enjoyed my experiences.

Pricing-$5 to get in and $10 for all day air is great. One of the cheapest places to play in the area. Their paint is also well priced. I have only been to the Fuquay store and it seems to stock plenty of items and the people working there are very helpful. Black River probably has some of the best prices in the area.

Fields-They have 2 Airball fields and ? woods fields. I haven't bothered playing the woods at Black River because I get plenty at Action Tagg. The Airball fields can play a 7 vs 7 game at most. Anymore than that and you are doubling up on both standups and some laydowns. Unfortunately, both fields aren't inflated until at least 11 AM. Also, it is difficult to get into games sometimes. There is often a group of people standing around waiting for everyone to run out of air and paint so they can jump onto the field. The refs don't really coordinate who gets on and off the fields, they just make sure the teams are somewhat even. Both fields are a short walk from the parking lot. It is not something that tires you out but it does force you to play on the field until you MUST go back to the parking lot to refill. In between the fields and the parking lot is an open area you must cross. This is where a lot of kids shoot their guns in the woods (to show off) but not everyone has their mask on. Something (barrel plugs in or masks on) needs to be enforced in this area, but I'll discuss it in the refs section. Overall the fields weren't too bad, but they could be inflated faster and constantly kept inflated.

Staff and Refs-The people working behind the counters are wonderful people. They are incredibly nice and will help you with whatever you need. The refs are your stereotypical 14-18 year old kids that aren't always doing their job to the fullest. I saw several different refs all day, but never had a ref on every single game. All they did was start the games for us. Only once did I hear a ref say "Put your mask on" as we were walking out to a field. Barrel plugs were rarely on in the parking lot and kids were constantly dry firing their guns. I even saw a few people empty a hopper from the parking lot into the woods.

Location-Black River is located south of Fuquay. You have to go beyond Angier and then take a few "back roads" to find a small farm. You then have to take a dirt road down to the parking lot. This is how a lot of fields are. If you have a truck this road will be no problem but if you have a BMW etc you may want to go slowly and be careful on wet days. Black River isn't too far for me but for some people living in Northern Raleigh it may be a bit of a hike. Decent fast food restaurants are in Fuquay and there is a McDonalds in Angier.

Overall I'd give Black River an 8/10. If they worked on their fields and safety it could be one of the best speedball fields around.

**EDIT**: I recently played at BR just this past weekend and was very impressed.

When I arrived, I was greeted by friendly refs. By the time I was done setting up (10:30'ish) they had the X-Ball field inflated. They also had a Hyperball course set up out there. It was not in the back of the property like before so the walk was much shorter. I was filled up to at least 4K everytime I gave them my tank and all the staff members were friendly except one guy. They had 2 private games and 40 rec players so they were completely swamped that day but did very well to keep up. Even safety issues were adressed several times that day.

BR did a great job. I am now converted and you'll see me out at BR more often. My rating now goes up to a 9.
Last edited on Monday, September 19th, 2005 at 12:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

PBturtle Wednesday, February 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None worth mentioning!
Review: My review is more of the store than the fields, although the fields are in my opinion are the best. I recenty shopped around to find a retailer for all of my paintball needs. I checked with the cheapos..aka Walmart, Kmart, etc. Price wise Black RIver Paintball is the best. Selection is also another reason that I continue to shop Black River Paintball, if they dont have it, they can get it, and in a reasonable time frame too. Their staff is knowledgable and willing to help. I walked in on a tuesday needing some parts for my Spyder E-Marker and they did not have them in house. I left my name and number and within a few hours they returned my call to inform me that they had what I needed! Do yourself a favor and shop them, you will not regret it!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dj_paintballa Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gotcha-Nice Fields, prices kinda high
Paintball Central-my second favorite field in the area..nice fields, people, decent prices
Aim Straight-First place i ever went..hyperball sucked, not my favorite placee
Action Tagg-Only Woods, if your into that kinda thing its agiht
Review: Black River is my favorite field in this area. Right now they have 5 fields with a 10 man SP field that i tihnk was new just last year, a 5 man and a 3 man..they also have a variety of woods fields, one of the woods fields is huge. This is a great place for everyone from noobs to expereienced tourney players. They are getting 4 new 10 man speedball fields within the next month. This Includes one X-Ball field. This field is great right now but when these new fields arrive this will dominate all paintball in the triangle area. The owners are very friendly and can be seen at the field often helping out with stuf. Refs are great and actually know what theyre doing. Plus there prices are great..5 field fee and 10 all day air. The proshop is great too, they have 2 proshops..one in fuquay on main street and one in fayettville. Prices are great on everything in the proshop too.

If you live in the raleigh area this is the best place around.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media