paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / DMZ paintball canada Paintball Field / DMZ paintball canada Paintball Field / DMZ paintball canada Paintball Field / DMZ paintball canada Paintball Field

DMZ paintball canada Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
52Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 905 988 9000
Address: Thorold Townline Rd.
Thorold, Ontario
Canada
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
tugnuts Monday, March 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: February 10th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: DMZ WAS CLOSED THEIR IS A NEW OWNER AND IT IS NAMED DMZ CANADA PAINTBALL SAME PHONE NUMBER SAME FEILD NEW OWNERS

QUOTE FROM MATT

"Yes, DMZ is under completely new ownership and management (myself, Matt Wasilewicz); things will be very different for the better
Both the store and field will be re-opened (store on March 22nd, Field on April 24th for first walk-on)
Anyone who had a membership with DMZ in the past is welcome to come see me in the store for a fresh 1-year membership to the field "


PRETTY SWEET
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

keenan.samuel Monday, September 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
no fields near this one, but i have played at A&D paintball in Coboconk.
Review: The fields are great and fun to play on, but that is where the good starts and ends at DMZ. The staff were lazy and it took 20 minutes between games to start another game. It was also very unorganized and unprofessional. The price was also very high at 160 for a case of paint. They also didn't offer CO2 so i was forced to rent an airtank. '

I give this field a 4-10 becasue the fields are great, but the price is to high, the staff sucks, and they dont offer CO2.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cdman Sunday, May 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Niagara Tactical. Way better then DMZ. Staff are more friendly. Field's are better although there are only three at niagara tact.
Directions
to the Field:
dont waste your time. but its near the falls just off lundys lane
Review: i played at dmz about 5 years ago it was my second time playing paintball, so i spent the entire time hiding behind bunkers. So i got a bunch of buddies and headed over to dmz just recently. figured i would give it another shot. it wasnt worth the gas to drive up. The staff there were very very rude, short tempered and just plain unprofesional. The ref for our game knew a couple of the players and instead of reffing he would be yelling across the field at his buddies, making fun of them and such. At one point i thought someone was seriously injured because i heard someone screaming. But it was the ref. It was frustrating.

Also the variation in game play was non-existant. The First two fields we played it was strictly elimination. which is fine. but there were so many people that you couldnt really move. games were spent hudling behind bunkers trying to shoot the opposition who were hudling behind bunkers. it was basically hide, shoot, hide shoot...for 15 minutes. the third course we played had promise. there was a base on one side. i thought we would do like an assualt defend type game...but there were like six new players who came in, they knew the ref and he put them all on one team. the teams were basically pro's vs joes. i think other then my self there were only two people with there own gear. as well the other teams had probably 8 to 10 players more then our team. but these 6 new players wanted to play some game where there was a bucket in the middle. i still dont know what the point of the game was. the ref didnt explain it. i tried to ask him what we had to do. but he told us to get to the starting zones. no one on are team knew what we were supposed to do. once we got the bucket. it was the dumbest game i have ever played. after getting shot. i walked off the course and left. i will never in a million years go back to dmz. i had no fun. it was extremely disappointing
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

snap Monday, March 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NTAG - expensive.
NPG - good field, good people, good prices.
Review: Love DMZ because they supply a good diversity of game play. As a speed ball player, of course i like the speed ball field, but i still enjoy DMZ's woodland fields.
Safety is certainly one of the main concernes at DMZ, and i find that to be a good thing because getting hurt or seeing someone else get hurt does not equal to a good day of paintball.
The staff is great, helped me alot when i started playing there.
Prices are awesome, as a member the prices are even better.
The other players were good too, good mix of skill level so the teams are usually even.
The area was clean, the sitting area was big enough for everyone to get a good spot.
Each field was clean as well, no sign of garbage and such.

In all, DMZ is my favorite field in the Niagara region, the DMZ shop is also my favorite.
It's surely a place everyone in the area, or anyone coming to area, should try out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stealthballer Tuesday, July 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ntag (so-so)
Directions
to the Field:
in st.catharines there is a store downtown you could get directions.....or go to dmzpaintball.ca
Review: this feild has a wide varitey of of pro's and newbies.never once have i gone their and the teams have been unfair as far as rankings.this feild is VERY safe and well enforced.umm the prices are excellent ,and even better if you are a member(500balls=20$)....the feild is also fun to pay on with all the bunkers(it kind of looks like a real war scene : ) the proshop sells the best guns for the cheapest price around considering i looked through 6 stores to find a cheaply priced spyder electra and dmz was the cheapest and best insured!!! dmz rules!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wsxqaz30 Thursday, July 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 30th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Prudemms Landing NTAG ----Nice people huge woodsball exspenive and certain refs can be jerks
Review: Ok first field i ever went to and loved it i play speedball there great refs CHEAP! paint staff r strict could be a tad nicer but there all good if ur new the hardcores rnt super helpful but after u go there awhile u get recognized woodsball is kinda small attacka nd defend is a major plus though. I luv the speedball so i ahve to give this a 9
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BravoDog Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NTAG, find the gameplay very static.
Directions
to the Field:
Thorold-Townline Road. Easy to get to....
Review: I have been playing paintball at DMZ for more years then I care to disclose. :) I have played at all incarnations of this field but personally find this the best one.

Field - Being a staunch woodsball player, I find this field has enough variety to keep a days play interesting. Fields as follows :The Woods - A large wooded field with a central fortification and many wooden log barricades. Basic and ol'skool woods play. Attack and Defend - Large base at which a team defends, and another attacks. Intense! Shanty Town - A cool field with many single story small buildings to play in combined with a nice chunk of woods. Paint throwing here is crazy! Out front of the field is an Airball field, for those that need a break from the woods, complete with bleachers to watch from! Finally, the coolest part of DMZ, the Tactical Town. 35 buildings, a bus, wrecked cars, a sniping tower. CQB dream come true! You will NOT be disappointed playing on any of these fields.

Staff - Now on to the Staff. A salty but friendly bunch, the refs are well trained and personable, and most definitely put safety first! I well articulated safety speech is given after the waiver signing and is strictly enforced. Penalties seem harsh but when you consider the consequences of breaking the rules, it is easily understandable. I don't know about you, but I feel much better knowing the dedicated DMZ staff are watching out for my safety...and the safety of all of your kids! NOTE: Barrel Bags are a MUST on this field. Show up without one and expect to fork out 5 bucks to purchase one. Safety first folks!

Players - all around good bunch of regulars. Expect a heavy mix of newbies and regulars. DMZ staff do a good job of making it fair and frequently change up the teams to make sure everyone has a good time.

Prices - Prices are reasonable and you seem to get really good paint for your money. Look into a membership if you plan to play there lots. It is seriously worth the 75 bucks in longterm savings! It was nice to know HPA and CO2 is available free all day. They usually have minor parts available if your gun goes down and the staff is knowledgeable about a variety of guns if you need help. I had a problem with my cyclone which Jay fixed in no-time!

Pro Shop - Shop is much better now it is large. The old shop was cramped. The new one kicks butt! Jerry has a lot of variety in what you can buy right off the shelf. What he doesn't have he can order. Besides markers, look for a good variety of parts from Takamo, Ops Gear, BT, Evil Branded the list goes on. You can also pick up cammies and Speedball gear and often he has old rental markers for sale cheap. Well worth the trip.

Bonus - If you have kids that are too young for paintball, DMZ also offers LaserTag (Ultimate Firepower). I've watched them play and the kids have a blast! Safe and fun alternative for kids and adults alike!

Over all I would say DMZ is a great place to experience and learn about paintball. Am I a drivelling fanboy? Maybe lol but lets be honest, I have had a few negative experiences there, but they are far outweighed by the good. Jerry is a standup guy and really does go the extra mile to help you out. He started where we all did in 'ball and has grown as the sport has.

Give DMZ a chance, you won't regret it! See you on the field!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PbKid07 Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
NTAG - Nice and big, pretty bad prices. But, They do allow members paint inside non-members guns teehee.
Review: Ok, DMZ was my first ever playing experience, I went once on July 30th 05. Then, this year I got more interested in paintball, got my own gun (4 times.. I had bad luck.. what can I say.)

I started going to NTAG, it was a little more expensive than DMZ. I liked it, but it was only Capture the Flag all day - Boring :S
So I decide to go to DMZ with a friend, it was amazing. They are very good for safety and cheap as well. They have very good quality paint. They are outdoors all year round and are very, very friendly.

Now, i see that everybody gives the owner a bad name. He is actually a very nice guy.
I bought a trigger from him at the shop and it would not fit in my gun. So I contacted him about it and he told me to bring it in and he will look at it. Earlier my gun has been having some problems, so when I took it in I asked him about it. He was very nice about it and gave me an explanation as to why it might not have been working. He said he would look at it anyways. After everything he didn't charge me at all. He was very kind every time I have been in the shop and I don't see theevil mean side of him that everybody else does.

I give this field a 10 because of the price, great quality fields, the kind and humerous refs, and the proshop.
Last edited on Monday, March 19th, 2007 at 5:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fantomasgreen Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NTAG
Review: Well. I haven't checked the field out yet. I'm merely basing this review on the proshop. I live in the St. Catharines area, and before i actually got into paintball, i didn't know where to go about gear, markers, fields, etc. However i always drove by DMZ's proshop (which is hard to miss, considering it's location). Anyway, everytime i decided to pop in & scope 'em out.. they were always, ALWAYS closed. my wife & i one time checked out the "hours of operation" to ensure a trip wasn't wasted.. and yet contrary to the sign.. they were closed.. kinda frustrating. heh. but yeh.. i recently was finally able to find them while open..

the shop looked pretty impressive at first glance.. a fair selection of markers lined the walls.. but the thing that left a bad taste in my mouth was the service. the guy at the counter, instead of answering my questions (which i clearly advertised that i was interested in dropping a fair sum of coin o na new marker) was busy burying his face in the monitor..any questions i had anout the field he responded with "go to the website".
i dunno if it was simply a bad day.. but it left a pretty bad first impression for me.

I still plan to scope out the field one day.. maybe i'll have better luck with the remaining staff..

I usually play at NTAG.. and i have nothing but good things to say about them. i find it shocking to hear Tim(the owner) refered to as a crook.. conisdering the large amount of free paint, marker parts etc that he gives out on a regular basis. when my membership expired he still let me play for free..and i'm not a hardcore regular there, either.. but that's just my experience.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Machnau Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: 1) the safety on this field is amazing, the refs go through everything VERY clearly in the beginning and even during play time, they are always watching and so are the players there, safety is key to having a fun time on the field.

2) the proshop is amazing they have an enormous stock of ANYTHING and EVERYTHING you need for your gun, they repair guns, fill tanks, they do/have it ALL

3) the price is fair, 4$ to rent their stuff, 2$ to bring your own, and 8$ per 100 paintballs is not bad at all.

4) the staff and refs are very nice there they make you feel like your at home, the way they act around you is awesome like joking around and stuff, theyre really cool to be around, but when they have to they crack down, within good reason. they are always fair about everything, and they are VERY experienced and knowledgable about the sport.

5) the many different stages to this field my favourite being the town, i love how paintball brings out the stealth in me haha, dmz has so much to offer i wouldnt change anything except add more stuff the the fields....like...well, i dont even know theyre perfect now....

Overall, the field is very nice to play on, nice layouts, deep back into the woods very nice spot to be.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media