paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / AG Paintball Field / AG Paintball Field / AG Paintball Field / AG Paintball Field

AG Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
54Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 603-529-3524
Address: 158 Deering Center Rd.
Weare, New Hampshire 03281
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
msdamato Tuesday, May 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 26th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
In order, best (#1) to worst.
P&L #1
A&G #2
OSG #3
Canobie #4
Fox 4 #5
Boston Painttball indoor - good speedball, but will not rate against outdoor fields.
Directions
to the Field:
follow your GPS because the directions are hard to follow, even from mapquest.
Review: My rating system is as follows:

Safety = max of 25pts. This is most important.
Fields = max of 25pts. This is why we go back to a field.
Prices = max of 15pts. Paint/entrance prices vary, but no one said this game was cheep.
Refs/Staff = max of 10pts. They keep us safe, but tend to be similar at all fields.
Staging Area = max of 10pts. Tend to be similar but key factors like shade affect the day.
Pro shop = max of 5pts. Typically not a full store, but should have the basics and a tech.
Rules = max of 5pts. Tend to be similar, but an odd blind fire rule can ruin a day.
Food = max of 5pts. Not part of the game, but a factor at any sports park.

Totaling 100 points, which will determine my overall rating for the field. Average being 50% of any point value.


SAFETY = 11 of 25pts
Some other posts talked about lax safey and I did not find that to be true for the most part. They were attentive to masks and barrell bags and tried to help players get off the field without getting hit after being out. I do however think they could be better about chronographing guns. On an 85 degree day one chrono in the morning is not sufficient, I myself was shooting 310fps by afternoon when I checked it on my own, and the guy who shot me from 100ft or so and broke skin all three times turned ot to be shooting just over 400fps. THAT'S DANGEROUS!!!!!!! This was a busy day at the begining of the season. I hope this will improve. Canobie is the only field I know that makes you chrono every time you go onto the field. So overall safety was average.

FIELDS = 20 of 25pts.
Their fields are well mantained and well designed. The five woodsball fields are cleared of brush fairly well and have many bunkers and buildings. This is not a cheep woodsball field where they just tape off an area of woods and give it a name. Castle Anthrax, The Octogon, and The Bridge are well built up and maintained. Look at the pics on their website. Fields are also a great size for even a 60 person game, and boundrys are well defined. there is also one speedball field that we played on. It was nicely maintained with good turf.

PRICING = 10 of 15 pts.
Pricing is a little better than average. $20 for entrance and air for gun owners, and $45 to rent. The renters in my group each split a case of paint, giving them each 1500 rounds (500 with rental and 1000out of the case). That ends up just undr $70 a person and should last the day.

Refs/Staff = 6 of 10 pts
The staff made sure our party of 15 got our order in for pizza delivery, They offered us private games on the smaller fields if we wanted, they took a few pics to post on the website and emailed me the hi-res photos that week.
There were some inexperienced refs on the field but that's to be expected at the begining of a season. One in particular called the game when a player had grabbed the flag and thrown it off the bridge when he was hit. Myself and two teammates protested and he calld the game live again while we were standing in the open. We were of course imediatly pummeld with paint. THANKS for that ref!! I felt it my duty to tell him he needs to make quick decisive and LOUD calls. Overall though the whole staff was above average.

Staging area = 5 of 10 pts.
The staging are was great, pleanty of tables and tents for some shade.

Proshop = 4 of 5pts.
the proshop was well stocked and well organized. The air fill was self serve after a tank inspection and the 4500psi was giving full pressure.

Rules = 2.5 of 5pts
Not much to tell here, the blindfire rules are the same as anywhere (keep your head behind your gun).
The game rules are typical attack and defend or capture the flag, and are explained well before the game.

Food = 2 of 5pts
There is no food onsite which is not the case at many other fields. They do make a large pizza order for noontime and are good about asking everyone if they want any. But be sure to bring your own drinks. This was the only real disapointment at this field, therefore I have to give a below average rating.

overall the field scores 60.5 points of 100. This gives a mathmatical rating of a 6, but after the great day we had with a group of both newbies and experienced players I have to round up to a overall score of a 7. Thats well above average.

My friends and I are trying as many local fields as possible this summer so I hesitate to rate this one yet but will say that I will definatly be going back. It's worth the extra drive past Canobie.
When reading know that all my acounts are truthfull and as accurate as I can be, and that my opinion and ratings on individual fields may change as I visit other fields or make return trips.
Last edited on Tuesday, July 28th, 2009 at 1:35 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

L33TS4UC3 Friday, September 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: September 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: To clarify with Pbsnotbl whatever his name is, The fact that the girl at the counter was having trouble putting on your wristband has absolutely nothing to do with the quality of the field, grow up. I have been playing @ AG since before the new ownership and the changes that have been made are outstanding. The refs at AG are some of the nicest and most real people could ever have a chance to talk to, which you probably didn't take. If you do not have that much experience with the sport of paintball then how do you know whats right and whats wrong. 1. The reason that only gun owners need to chrono is that the field chronos all of its rental guns prior to use, I have seen renters just chrono for laughs and giggles and every time they are spot on where they need to be for the under 280fps rule. 2. When there are three refs on a field generally one stays at the flag because new people have a tenancy to shoot anything that moves, even if they have the flag outside of the castle and have obviously one the games. I personally have seen fist fights break out this way. 3. The ref at the "dead box" is there because people do not listen, a common thought is hey im out of the game why do i need my mask on? And i was there that day and there was a small child that repeatedly took his mask off, jeopardizing his safety. The third ref was a floater and attended to all the players paint check needs. I have never seen her there before but she did do a good job for her first time and i observed many times where her fellow refs were giving her helpful coaching. I am generally a passive person but to explain your constant loss, when Regulars too the field or even staff that are playing think that they have any sort of power over the team making decision and constantly change the teams to their own advantage, it takes ages for the game to get going and you can see a total change in the refs attitude towards the group as in "You're not going to respect my decisions anyways so why bother." Basically the next time you have a problem try talking to someone about before going on a rant about something you have no idea what you're talking about

Hugs and kisses
-Loyal AG Player
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gary12445 Saturday, August 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Canobie (close but not as good)
P&L Paintball (Not safe)
Randolph Paintball (not as good)
AG Paintball (Best)
Directions
to the Field:
GPS
Review: I just came back from a great day of paintball at AG Paintball. Their staff is very friendly and helpful, and their prices are fair.
I have recently played more at Canobie, as it is closer to where I live, but I'd have to say that I prefer AG . AG has a nice variety of fields and a lot more bunkers and obstacles throughout their woodsball fields. Also, it's my opinion that the players at AG are a little more sportsmanslike than those I have experience at Canobie, making for a more enjoyable experience overall. Also, I love the option to play speedball here and there.

I give it a 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bls2082 Thursday, July 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
you can see for your self
Directions
to the Field:
right off of route 114 in weare nh
Review: great place for my first time paintballing after that i was hooked i went out and spent my stimulis check to buy my equipment because if adventure games love the castle anthrax which the renovated and castle II is great to village is very fast paced the bridge if you don't mind getting dirty (knee high in mud no joke) thats a great capture the flag field paints cheap but you get what you pay for i buy my own and bring it in it is byop and 20 bucks to get in and all day air i would bring anti fog for even the thermal mask it does get really muggy and hot if it rains the day before but other than that i highly reccommend staff is great and they have charcol grills you can cook on for free just bring the charcol and your good to go canobie is the same owner and thats another great place just haven't been yet the only thing about canobie everyone don't chronograph the guns and if the do they turn them up on the field ag is not like that they do 280 max
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

speedballin Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
crossfire :( <absolutely awful never go there
osg :( <couldn't be managed worse!
canobie :) <really fun and managed great
Review: This is the greatest field in NE by far!!!! With the excellent new management, the comical/experienced referees, the NEW turf speedball field and respectable and friendly regulars, this place is KICKIN. I've experienced every other field in almost everywhere, yet this park never let me down for a second.
Unbelievable prices on the pro-shop, excellent gun tech, and CRAZY LOW PRICE paint, from Heat to MARBALIZERS its awesome. The Big Game was excellent this year and I never had more fun with so many fields to play on. I have no idea what that guy was talking about down below.... I'd say it was the greatest Big Game of all time! :) I give this park 10 out of 10 because I've never experienced less!!!




>>>>>>>>> An overall excellent park<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

INCLUDING _ Excellent service with excellent prices and not to mention the excellent experiences and memories that come with it!!!! AG PAINTBALL
Last edited on Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008 at 2:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RappidFire1 Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
OSG, Crossfire, Nashua indoor
Review: after playing at AG Paintball's most recent big game and having a great time i am furious that someone would give this field a bad review! the big game was run smoothly and refs were very easy to find! i have played in big games before at many different fields and just due to the amount of people they tend to be harder to run and play in.
i have played at AG before and with their new ownership they have been amazing. this big game was my first time back for the season and all i can say is wow! they have been making changes at breakneck pace! their speedball field has new sod grass and they have been revamping some of the old fields including the big castle.
the staff has always been great but now they have a boss to back them up.
overall i found the big game great and i look forward to seeing what they do with the place in the near future. if you haven't played at AG RECENTLY go give it a shot. you will be pleasantly surprised.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigSdaddymac Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Canobie Paintball, OSG.
Review: During most of my paintball expirence, i have played at AG paintball. Before the new management of AG paintball, i thought it was ok, i had fun. But ever since then, it has been a greater expirence there than i could have imagined. The prices have dropped, the staff is great, the people there are friendly and fun to play with. The Big Game in my opinion was well run, and was a great time. My friends and I had a great time at the Big Game. Any reviews that say that the refs were nowhere in sight and the timing was off is completely wrong. Every where you go you could easily find a ref, they were all over, and they were ready to serve. Ive played at other big games before and its really impossible to judge a field based on a big game, but i have played here before and any other day is just as good. And on top of everything, the paint was $35 a case, which is amazing. If you havent been to AG, go there right now and play. Its my favorite field in all of NH in every way. The staff is friendly, the rules are fair, the players are cool, and the game expirence is amazing. I recommend that to anyone who plays paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

habu58 Monday, June 2nd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I would like to say that the Big Game that I and some of my friends attended on memorial day was a bit disappointing. We started the day with an updated start time of 10am versus what the web site said to be 9am. The 1st game was supposed to last 2hrs and was called early at 1040am for some reason for which i asked and was not given a reasonable answer.
During the morning game it was difficult to locate most refs who were not either sitting down near a flag station or at the reinsertion points. The on field refs were in my observation not near most of the action or were bunch together observing the game rather than helping players with paint checks or getting them out of harms way.
Safety in my mind was hit or miss when it came to over-shooting or wiping and playing on. The ref staff didn't seem all too concerned with what players were doing in this respect. I asked more than one ref about these abuses and was told this is a big game , it happens.
When the secon game started Red team went in force to Castle Anthrax to attack and I observed no less than 5 Refs standing in the 3rd story of the back building watching the game rather than making an effort to ref or help any Yellow Players exit the castle safely after being shot out. A group of players yelled at them to come down and do their job but to no avail. This just doesn't make sense to me or any of my friends that played that day. I have observed this during regular days of play as well on a smaller scale.
I played this field many years ago when Tom owned it and Stopped when Cynthia took over but some folks urged me to give it a try now that the new owners are here, but
i guess they need to work on safety too. I'll will go elsewhere for my paintball thanks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

jrobi44 Saturday, April 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
osg some cool fields but not better than AG. Canobie owned by the same guy but fields arent as good.
Review: From the previous owner to this owner this place is amazing.
- They are really safe and are on people constantly about masks and barrel bags.
-Their fields are amazing and there is some cool new stuff going up.

-Their pricing is unbeatable:
Entrance $10
All Day Air $10
Paint $45 a case

-The rules are pretty basic like any other field and their staff and refs were very happy to help people with and questions.
- The players their are all real nice and are easy to get along with.
- They dont have flushable toilets but i can put up with Port-O-Johns for a day.
- You can order pizza for $12 delivered and they sell hot dogs, chips and drinks.

Overall the field is really great and i cannot wait to go back and play again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintslinger54 Saturday, April 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
OSG, Crossfire indoor, NH indoor, Planet Paintball, Monster Paintball, Canobie, Boston Paintball, EMR, Cape Cod Paintball.
Review: AG is under new ownership and all i can say is the changes that they are making are incredible. They were bought out by Canobie paintball at the start of last year and have turned the place around in a big way! Every time i go something is new! last year they added a really nice speedball field and village.

The staff at AG is fantastic, they are very helpful and above all SAFE! They know how to teach new players the ropes without sacrificing safety.
Inside the shop they have a nice pro-shop and check in area. Their gun tech can also fix most gun problems on the spot.
after reading some of the other reviews im stumped as to why people are still talking about the pricing as AG is one of the Cheapest fields i have played at. with paint for $65 a case on sat. and $45 a case on sun and with BYOP every sun you can play on a budget.
over all this field is really cool, it has an amazing staff, cheap prices, and fun fields. All combined i had a great time!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media