paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sudden Impact Paintball Field / Sudden Impact Paintball Field / Sudden Impact Paintball Field / Sudden Impact Paintball Field

Sudden Impact Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
40Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 309-874-3338
Address: 7290E 550N Rd
McLean, Illinois 61754
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Jonesy2233 Tuesday, April 13th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 11th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban Warfare, bloomington... very limited, its just one indoor field made to look like its outside, very confined and no shooting lanes, they play laser tag there too, its better set up for that.

Review: Sudden Impact is by far the best field in central illinois. Their prices are fair, the staff is super helpful and friendly, they will do their best to take you to the fields that you want to play on. Safety is well managed, equipment is in good condition, and they have a great variety of fields to play, from Xball, to hyperball, and several woodsball fields, there is something for everyone from the experienced player to the person who has never even seen a paintball marker. GREAT PLACE TO CHECK OUT!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Deadmeat99 Sunday, March 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban Warfare: This is an indoor field, I have never been but plan to go and update this review later
Review: I went there last year for the Spring Pump Event, I plan to attend this year's event as well. The event is held around the middle of April and is pump only, Good times great people. Fields are nice. Rained a bit last year and the lower field was quite mushy but the rest of the fields were quite good considering the weather. I had a great time. I would definately reccomend this field to anyone else interested in paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CamoDad Friday, November 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 52 - It is good but not as good as Sudden Impact, thier scenario field is good but not as good as Sudden Impact's big woodsball fields
Urban Warfare - Fun indoor course but play is somewhat confined
Firing Line Mahomet -It is ok but is not open for open play: appointment only
Chili Pits - Big, well organized, but they controll everything, lots of fields but, you play where they say... period
Directions
to the Field:
Easy to find...from McLean go north to Funks Grove, turn left, go over railroad tracks, go to the stop sign turn and left and follow road (it curves right then goes straight) until you reach Sudden Impact entrance in the woods on your right.
Review: It's my favorite place to play. I give it a Strong 9 out of 10! Tomorrow will be my 5th time to play there. My favorite is woods games on the terrific woodsball fields, they are BIG, rolling terrain in one filed, lots of cover for stealth. We have fun on the hyperball field nice size, good obstacles, the corregated plastic tubes make good cover. My sons love playing the Speedball field.
Reasonable prices. Staff is very accomodating and easy to work with, good refs, outstanding safety, rules are consistently applied, almost always a good crowd of players, we are getting to know some of the regulars there, always a mix of newbies to experienced to tournament palyers. The staff does a good job of integrating the groups and making sure that the teams are a fair mix of players on teams. I see alot of groups coming, schools and churches, bachelor and even bachelorette parties, I hear they get corporate groups too.
We usually go on Saturday, which works great. Last time we came on a Sunday, teams practice and have try outs on Sunday, because of that, we never got on the speedball course that day, which was a disappointment. The only other dissapointment we have had there, is when we run out of balls, and when 3:00 comes and we have to go home.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

one4one199 Tuesday, May 12th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Amazing field with some great staff. Every time i go they are extremely helpful.

Safety there is easy, have a barrel condom on at all times off the field, goggles on at all times on the fields, no bunkering of bang rule (20 ft rule).

All of their fields are amazing. 3 woodsball fields, 1 hyperball, 1 speedball and 1 X ball field. Field one and Triangle are 2 of the woodsball fields that are smaller and faster paced with enough bunkers for a big game. Command and conquer is their largest field and the 3rd woodsball field. This field is huge and is great for long games with a ton of people.
The hyperball field is made of plastic culvert piping arranged in a pattern similar to an X ball field.
the speedball field and X ball field are bunkers. X ball is arranged in the pattern identical to the 2009 USPL field.

Prices are resonable, paint is expensive though. $10 field fee which includes free air and rentals. Paint is $72/case, this is where they make their money.

John, the owner is a great guy who is willing to work with you and your problems. The staff is helpful and the refs are fair.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RhinoGBA25 Saturday, April 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 30th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hollywood sports park(CA)- GREAT
Compound(CA)- Intense, great field
Level X- Closed, litter box
Warzone- I love this field, Xball. Friendly environment ,
Sudden impact- IMO best Xball field in Central Illinois
Friendly fire- Small indoor field in bridgeport. I liked this field, very nice turf
Salt fork paintball- Where i was brought up, Woods ball field. I like
Norman paintball- Speed ball field, very fun.
Fly n colors paintball indoor- Nice
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest.com
Review: This field is by far my favorite field I have ever been to. There are so many reasons that I love it.
First, the competition is great. This field is No limits home field. Alot of college teams play here as well. If you are wanting to get good and play with the big boys, come to Sudden Impact.
Second, the XBALL field. May i say more? They have the phoenix layout for the 08 season as of right now. Its in great condition and the grass is nice a thin. Perfect for sliding.
Third, the staff at SI is very professional. They have at least 5 guys working the field and the shop. The owner(John) is very nice and always wants your opinion.
Fourth, Sundays is for TEAM PRACTICES. You bring your guys and its a straight up grind : ).
P8nt is cheap on these days.

http://www.ciapaintball.net/Sudden_Impact.html

Overall I would give this field a 10. If you have any questions about the field IM me or email me
Aim- rtjbaseball25
Pbn- RhinoGBA5
Aol- ryancobras5
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

The 1ntern Friday, April 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None :)
Directions
to the Field:
No idea, depends on where you're coming from.
Review: Ok, so, the place has 7 fields. 5 of which I've played on. Out of the 5 I've played on, there were 3 woodsball courses an inflatable course, and a smaller speedball court. Their smaller woodsball field, which they call the "Triangle field" because of it's triangular shape, is their smallest. They also have a medium and a large woodsball area. I haven't heard of a name for the medium sized one, but their large field I believe they call "Command and Conquer."

The only times I've played out there are on Sundays. They're open until 3 P.M. on those Sundays I've played, but they usually let you play your paint until it's out.

Their number one priority is SAFETY! They have lots of signs there telling you when to put your barrel condom on and when to put your goggles on also.

Their rules are:
1) Barrel condoms on in the rec-area
2)Goggles on past their nets
3)20 feet rule. You can't run up to someone and shoot them within 20 feet.
*All rules are explained when you get there and each time you enter the playing field.

They can repair your gun, I think it's $20 an hour for that service. They don't have much food, just some soda and chips.

Their fees are $10 admission, rental equipment (if you need it), and all-day air. The paint costs:
$5-100 paintballs
$10-300 paintballs (if paid with admission)
$20-500 paintballs
$40-1000 paintballs
$72- 2000 paintballs
*$65 for a case of paint after the 4th purchase of a case (in one day)

The players there are friendly.

A few times I've been there and they shoved many people into a group to play (like 30 altogether) to play because they were short-staffed. Yes, we played speedball with all those people.

ONLY ONCE HAVE I PLAYED A REINCARNATION GAME. They usually play elimination all-time. Elimination matches are on their speedball courses and ctf/elimination on their woodsball courses.

I'm going to give a 9/10 because I haven't played anywhere else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sarge1986 Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Chilli Paintball Pitts excellent field with a variety of playing areas.
Challenge Park when it was in Custer Park, great field too bad they moved to Joliet.
Review: I reached the filed at around 9am and players started showing up after that. Players continued to show up all morning and afternoon. I was given an overview of the safety rules, field maximum velocity (285), I purchased my paint and had my air tank filled. Prices were very fair $10.00 field fee (includes free air refills) and paint was $72.00 per case. Their was a chronograph their to insure proper speed limits. Teams were chosen and arm bands given out. Our ref was young and seemed to be experienced with the games and the rules. Our 1st game was on the Hyper-ball field. A totally new experience for me as I was used to woods ball. I had a ball, shot lots of paint, lots of players, and made some new friends. Parking was great, the staff very helpful, and the playing fields were great. Safety was a major factor and is stressed through out the day. I will be back!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hotfilles9 Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Great Field for anyone. They have around 4 speedball fields, with usually at least 1 airball field set up a day for team practice and whoever really wants to play on it. They also have what looks like a big timber for open play(even tho i have not played on it).

Prices - Cheap, Team pracitce is great !

Staff - all the staff is great and the owner is a really nice guy.

Players - almost every Sunday you can go and find someone to play agaisnt.


One of the best/friendliest places i have been too.

9/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballfanatic16 Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 52 (never been)
Chilli Paintball (never been)
Take Aim (ways away, but good)

Directions
to the Field:
Take Veterans pky. / I55 South out of Bloomington/Normal and exit at Shirley. Take a right off of the ramp followed by a quick left onto a highway. Go about 8-10 miles on the highway and take a right into Funk's Grove. Take a left at the T. Follow the curve and take a right, right after you go up a hill. (you will see some air bunkers on your right, right before the turn)
Review: I Have been going to this field for over 6 years. They are extremely safe and have very good rules. The owner and refs are very polite to players of all skill levels. They are open on saturdays and sundays from about 9am-3pm. Their prices are pretty good, 72$ for a case (paint is not crappy). On sundays you can bring your own paint for team practice. Entry is 10$, unlimited air. If you have an equipment problem, they are happy most of the time to help you fix it. They have snacks, usually not food though. If you have not been to Sudden Impact yet, try it. They have 2-3 speedball fields and about 4 woodsball fields. This is a great paintball facility for all levels of players. They also host big events like big games and tourneys pretty often. Check it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

fanresk Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Directions
to the Field:
not quite sure... but i think you have to follow veterans parkway a while out there. then you have to get onto another road. im not sure.
Review: I have had my own gun for about a year. but in the past sinse like 5 grade i would go paintballing a few times a year with my friends here. the rental guns are not the best. but they get the job done. and the retal fee for equipment only being 5 dollars. and even if you have your own equipment and you pay the 10 dollar admission you still get unlimited refills on co2 and nitro(im not sure about compressed air but probably, but i don't use it so i don't know) they have 3 woodsball coarses. one of them is about 1/4 of a mile long or so. the others are not as big but there is a lot of cover so it makes for a very good game. they have 3 speedball coarses. one that has all barrels, another will black spools(i guess that is what they are called they are long tubes with ridges), another is an airball coarse. though i am not too big for speedball it is still fun to play on those coarses. the staff there is always cool. if you have any gun issues they are all glad to help you. but they do get a little angry when you break the rules. mainly when you take your goggles off or if you go within 20 feet. or sometimes they just get mad if you shoot them. especially if you shoot them many times... in the back of the head... if you are looking for a great time paintballing weather you are on a team or if you and a few friends are just looking for some fun. this is a great field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media