paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / First Strike Paintball Games Paintball Field / First Strike Paintball Games Paintball Field / First Strike Paintball Games Paintball Field / First Strike Paintball Games Paintball Field

First Strike Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
14Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (715) 577-1488
Address: 10327 Highway 29
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin 54729
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
2wreckless Thursday, June 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bubba's , SCP, Zingers, Hillcrest .... all have strengths and weaknesses
Directions
to the Field:
You can follow directions to a bar off the exit and its just a few miles from there.
Review: The Owners are nice enough and and have enthusiasm for the game.

I have never played the woods... unless there is a big game, I'll play woods at home.

SPEEDBALL:
The course is a combo of hyper and SupAir. Not exactly mirrored and on a slight hill. Its good enough to run drills.... tournaments there suffer a bit.

They are one of the few fields open in the winter gotta give that to em. Last time I played there was speedball during a blizzard. Good for those of you who need a quick fix and can't wait till spring.

All in all I give this place props just for having friendly staff, even if its not the best field I think that makes up for it. Tournaments are fun to go to because its a lot of the same people who play everywhere else... its cool to meet ppl 5 years later and see them still playing...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nchittendon Thursday, May 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bubba's Paintball, Hidden Valley Paintball, Back 80 Paintball, Northern Front Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
From north or south of Chippewa Falls, take hwy 53 to xit 96. Head west on Business 29 apprx 2.7 miles. Left side of the highway. Long gravel driveway heading towards the woods that are set back from the highway.
Review: I have been playing on this field for apprx 16 years now. This was my first field ever, and I have enjoyed it, and it's new owners ever since.

The field offers un-even terrain options. It is set on a hill side with an upper tape line running along a flat wooded area. One the lower end of the field is a river which, during certain times of season, offers some interesting options (can't give away all my secrets!).

The owners of the field are awesome! The previous owner was kind of rude, and a bit full of himself, but the recent owners make up for all of that.

The speedball field has a few twists to give you an edge if you know how to find them and utilize them.

All around good field and good pricing. For me, I would rate it an 8 out of 10 (10 being best).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PatriotPreditor Tuesday, February 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Patriot Paintball.
Review: Well in all honesty I have never actually played at first stike. So lets start where it matters the begining. I have had the opprotunity to play with a few of the players from the sugical strike paintball team. First at patriot and then at the spyder cup they have a lot of skill. Not only that but they are honest and professonals that give the sport of paintball its great name. Thanks Lane and Mitch for the great times of playing. I hope to make it out there this spring.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

James - Prodigy Monday, March 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CWPL Fields
Review: Just played here yesterday at the 3-Man Snowball Tournamement.

Excellent people! Great atmosphere.

Everyone is kind and willing to give advice.

Ref's were excellent. Some cases of players pulled by a bounce.

The field was a good set up. HyperBall and Airball Mixture

Starting end of one side was on a slope, not a great layout but wasnt a major inconvienence.

Cant wait to participate in the next tournament.

Gets an 8 because of the Bounce Pulls and the slope.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ericfreakyv Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
hmm. Combat, SCPs new feild, PGI, Splat tag, Frederic paintball, Battle feild are the ones that come to mind.
Review: Well, i will take this feild bit by bit...

Area - The area was very nice. THere was lots of shade and trees sorounding most sides of the feild. The feild was on a pipeline and the Coarse wasnt "level" which was my biggest complaint about it. But there is a very nice veiw of the river. Also There clubhouse is a very nice touch.

Staff - The people running the clubhouse where nice and freindly and whoever i called for directions was pretty cool. They tried to make you happy and it was very pleasant.

Feild - The speedball coarse was a mixture of sup air (very little) and mostly hyperball which counted for alot of splatter. Now im used to playing supair so i would be right on the edge of the bunker waiting to snap out but you would take so much spray the refs would call you out. On three seperate occasions i got called out on spray and my buddy had that happen to him twice. Hyperball can be really fun but i dont really like it for competitive balln'. The refs were really freindly and nice but you cant keep calling people on splatter. Probably the biggest weakness of the feild. although i think this was more of the solid bunkers than it was the refs fault.

Refs - The refs were pretty good at the beggining of the day. When we started the 2nd round robin they let new players join teams which i thought sucked. My team was tied for second after the first round robin then we dropped to around 5th at the end. also read the above for more reffing details.

Price/prizes - The prices were very reasonable. $60 to enter, $60 a case for pretty good karnage that flew straight enough for me, and $5 for all day HPA and CO2 was free, very reasonable for a tourny. Prizes were alright, but it seamed that 1st was so much better than 2nd and 3rd. 3rd was a few hats, 2nd was some t - shirts and 1st was a new pepperstik barrel kit (which was a very good 1st place prize.) Sportsmanship was some barrel bags, and a couple other things i cant remember.

Overall - i know i might have sounded picky but its a really nice feild. The scenery is the best i have ever seen at a paintball feild and the owners are very freindly. i had fun at the tourny (July 23rd, 3-man) and i can only imagine how much fun it would be for a day of rec ball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

the_real_kaz Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Combat Paintball, Splat Tag, SCP
Directions
to the Field:
Between chippawa falls and Eau Clair. Give them a call if your lost they are very nice and extremely helpful in directions.
Review: I went to one of first strikes 3 man's and let me tell you it was pretty good.

First off I'll start with the feild, which was more of a hyperball feild then anything else. A lot of splatter. Guys would get called out on it, but it happened both ways. The feild it's self is located up above a river bank on a pipeline..... I'm sure it's safe just a little something I noticed. Anyway the feild is very uneven. You are going up-hill or down hill. They even call it "Hill side" and "River Bank side" This made the top side a little better then the bottem, but thats just my opinion. The feild all in all was fun with a really long snake which made it a blast.

The refing was pretty good. I've seen a lot worse. Splatter happened ALOT and like I said you would get called out on it a few times but it happened to everyone so it was ok.

Only complant I have about the reffing is that there was a 10 year old kid playing in the open class. The refs over protected him, calling THE ONLY over shooting penaltys when he got shot on a run through and then again later on. It helped there team to have him becouse you couldn't shot the kid! The refs would penalize you! It was my thinking that if he wants to play in the open class and not a young guns or something that then he should be able to be shot. In one of the games against him I went to do a run through on him and a ref ran in my way, stopping me, the kid then pops up about to shoot me becouse I have a ref in my way and I was in the wide open! Luckly another one of my teammates got him 1st.

Over all a pretty good place, I'll be back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

fanky Tuesday, April 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've only played on private land, no comparison
Directions
to the Field:
Just follow Business 29 West from Chippewa and it's a few miles down. The sign's kind of hard to see and it's a dirt trail, but it's by some trees along the road.
Review: This is the first actual field I have ever played at. Some friends and I went there to play some night ball. Altogether, we had at least a dozen people playing. We had a great time playing different scenarios running around in the dark with nothing but flashlights to see each other. We finally wrapped up around 11 at night with a game of speedball which was equally as intense as the woods. The staff there is also very friendly and willing to help you out. The prices were amazing too. 5 bucks to play, 5 bucks for unlimited co2 fills, and 60 for a case of Karnage Tournament paint. I would definitely go back there again, and plan to when my team goes back for tourneys.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattdenn Sunday, February 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jackpine Paintball
Hillcrest Paintball
Splat Tag Paintball
Superior Firepower
Directions
to the Field:
Between Chippewa Falls and Eau Claire, WI on Highway 29.
Review: I am co captain of Patriot Act Paintball based out of Grantsburg, Wisconsin at the Winter Three Man series here at First Strike Paintball near Eau Claire, Wisconsin on February 25th, 2006. I will try to be as concise and thorough in my review as time permits...so here goes:

Reffing:
Reffing was thorough, comprehensive, and attentive throughout. Constantly checked and maintained fps and bps rate of fire and maintained penalty deductions for teams that violated the rules of the field. Referees were not rude and certainly very fair and easygoing. Referees even apologized to me personally after pulling me off of the field too hard after I was eliminated during a particular round. Thorough in checking all players for hits after each game for breaks.

Restrooms
To my dismay, First Strike did not have any flush toilets despite having a rather nice indoor facility in the woods located near the speedball field. They had a blue porta potty which I really don't like at all but when I used it on several occasions I noticed that they had done a very good job of at least making sure it was clean and as fresh as possible during the game. The field was back in the woods a little bit next to a cornfield so this may be the reason why a flush toilet was lacking. No biggie, though.

Speedball Field
The field initially looked something reminiscent of Splat Tag's field in comparison, however when our team got on the field we learned that although it wasn't on even ground the field was fairly well weighted and very thoroughly cleaned and the referees constantly wiped paint off of the bunkers that were on the field during breaks in the game. The field also consisted of a few black ribbed stand up tubes which were rather loud when hit by a barrage of paintballs, but most of the field had speedball inflatable bunkers so this was not a problem. No apparent field hazards that I could see while playing.

Safety
As stated above field constantly checked for obedience to the 300 fps rule. Referees were very observant throughout of areas off limits to markers and enforced rules.

Prices
VERY reasonable. A case of Karnivore there costs approximately $55.00 which is pretty good for a case of midrange tournament paint. Fees very reasonable. One of the players on our team noted some of the paintballs were slightly dimpled but he did not experience one break all day long during play and never needed to clear his barrel once. I personally experienced a couple of breaks at most after 10 games of play. Watch out; don't shoot any of their signs our you will be fined $1 every time you shoot a sign on their field (I didn't have a problem with this...just keep it in mind.)

Services
Full air fills. Prompt friendly service. Never had a problem with a tank being underfilled and they will notify you if you have a leak in your marker or any other technical dificulty in filling your air tanks. You have to drive down a short trail next to a cornfield to get to the field which is located on a hill next to a river. They offer rec play as well I do believe although they prefer that you call in ahead of time. During the winter games they do provide wooden spindles for players to set their equipment down on and they light fires to keep people warm although smoke in the face is sometimes a small issue.

Players
Very competitive mix of teams, ranging from fresh rookie teams to teams sponsored by local businesses such as Scheel's with more tournament experience. Was all in all a very satisfying day of play. No problems with other teams.

Comparison to local fields
First Strike blows Splat Tag away in terms of tournament play (hands down) in terms of organization, pricing, safety, rules, and refs and is definitely on par with Superior Firepower in terms of organization and prices. Superior Firepower in Superior offers a flat field as opposed to the uneven field that First Strike offers but I really enjoyed them both as First Strike's bunker positioning guaranteed an even player distribution and nullified any advantages. MUCH cheaper than Splat Tag, and possibly a little cheaper than Superior Firepower.

Final Rating
Suggestions for First Strike Paintball: try to get an indoor bathroom and do away with the porta potties sometime in the future if at all possible. Reffing was magnificent and prices were very reasonable. Staff very friendly and informative.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

combatpaintball Saturday, November 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 13th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SCP, Combat Paintball, T's Paintball, Jack Pine Paintball, Pendleton Paintball Park,
Review: First Impresion is that it was clean and you could tell that they take pride in there fields.

The Porta - Johns were extreamly Clean

The bunkers were cleaned periodically throughout the day as needed.

Owners and Staff were friendly, helpful and were not rude.

Only played on the speed ball course that weekend so I never got to check out the woods course. I enjoy speedball and the day was supposed to evolve around speedball any way, so It was a good time.

Fair prices and did not have a problem with their paint. They were also able to fill compressed air all the way to 5000 psi every time, A++

Over all I had a good time and I am looking forward to going back next year.

Oh I just about forgot they had a smoothed gravel driveway and parking area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lxlthorlxl Saturday, October 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bubbas
Review: Well ive been to First Strike alot but it was a year ago i had a great time at the coarse. The owners are very helpful and friendly. I really liked the wooded courses great lay out with plenty of bunkers and open shooting. Their prices are good and id pay them again and again to go back just because im so pleased with the service and playing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media