paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Barrie Paintball Adventure Club Paintball Field / Barrie Paintball Adventure Club Paintball Field / Barrie Paintball Adventure Club Paintball Field / Barrie Paintball Adventure Club Paintball Field

Barrie Paintball Adventure Club Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
35Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 705-733-3393
Address: 8200 10th Line Essa Twp.
Barrie, Ontario L4M 4S4
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
RAZRBAKK Monday, January 9th, 2012
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 10th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wasaga Beach Paintball - Canada's best, so I'm not going to use them as a reference point.
Barrie Sports Dome - Indoor, Reball, so also not really a good reference point.
Soldier Gear Paintball - Outdoor located just outside of Barrie. Very good field, well run, and has a couple very nice fields. Will be my direct point of comparison.
Eastie Boyz Paintball - Toronto based field, indoor speedball
Paintball City(PBC) - Toronto based field, indoor speedball
Flagswipe Indoor and Outdoor - Excellent fields, run very well. Good staff, very clean, and overall very fun field - Point of comparison.


Directions
to the Field:
I would give you directions, but honestly, I would never recommend anyone going here.
Review: Oh Barrie Paintball. It's amazing how much you have changed over the past 7 years.

My first trip out to Barrie Paintball was on my 12th birthday. It was definitely the field that started me into paintball. I played there nearly every weekend when I was 14, and until I started getting into tournament ball, and didn't have time for rec ball.

I played at Barrie Paintball this past summer, and I have got to say, I was unimpressed.

The Pro-shop still has the same products that they've had for the last 7 years. And I mean the same ones. They don't appear to have changed at all. They still rent Mokal Fokus guns, which aren't bad, but the biggest thing of all has to be that they have not bothered to upgrade a single thing.

The picnic tables are the same tables that were there, the paint is worn off, they're flimsy, and they've got huge spaces between the planks that allow everything you're carrying to fall through. The staff isn't very knowledgeable. Infact, I think it's just Jay and his son there at this point. They're prices are ridiculous. I'm a pump player, and I ended up play 15 cents a ball because I don't use much paint. I understand that this is a point of profit for fields, but they have a sign below the prices that states, "Don't blame us, blame your government."

The fields are crummy. They're out in overgrown woods. Shooting lanes are obstructed, and a lot of it feels unsafe. Too many sharp edges and rusty metal points for a game that involves a lot of running and sliding.

The ref that I had didn't seem to concerned with safety either. I wasn't asked to chrono my gun, my 3.5 oz Co2 tank was overfilled, and his attitude towards the players was garbage. During play he'd be sitting somewhere near the field on his phone, essentially not doing his job.

Now, I used to ref, and i understand how important safety is. I also understand the importance of calling out players who are hit, and making sure everyone enters the staging area safely.

Honestly, I don't know what happened. The field gets no business anymore, which I'm sure doesn't help the prices, or the moral of the workers.

It just plain sucks.

TL;DR?

Fields: Dangerous.

Prices: Way too high.

Refs: Unsafe, lackadaisical, unmotivated.

Don't waste your time here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fishooutawater Tuesday, July 6th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 1st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Safety:
Overall not to stressful rules but is still really safe. Basic rules like barrel bags off the field and masks on the field.

Fields:
16 different fields with a wide variety of terrain and objects,
Ie. Boats, planes, and tons of cars.

Hours of operation:
They are open EVERY DAY ALL YEAR (except Christmas day)
***It is a good idea to call ahead and let them know your coming if your going before 12***

Prices:
The paint is expensive there but otherwise admisson is:
$25 -Includes Rentals like gun and mask and all day admisson
$10--For members

Services:
-Amazing service - Used a rental once and had a ball break in the hopper After the game they replaced barrel, hopper and cleaned it for free
-Always available to refill air, co2 and buy paint

Staff:
They know what there doing
Good at it too

Players:
Mostly locals from Barrie so its usually a good group of people to play with
Beginners and league players so its a good mix

Food:
Barbecue usually after 1:00Pm
Hot dog pizza burgers for $1.60

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Themainballa Sunday, November 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wasaga - better than bpac
soldier gear - better than bpac
srg splatters - worse than bpac
Borden - worse than bpac
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
Review: This is an honest oppion review of Barrie paintball from a speedballer point of view. So take it for what it's worth. First off I checked out their web site after my 5th time going and was blown away at how they approach their compatition. It just seams to me bpac fights dirty. Don't know what I mean check it out your self and see. They slander other feild and paint types. Saying that "speedball paint is lower quality" most competitive speedballers demand higher quality paint. They also say that people freeze paintballs and shoot them at people (basiclly why they don't allow off feild paint, you don't allow off feild paint cuz you make too much money off the 140 a case) if you freeze a paintball it
becomes brittle and will shatter when you attempt to shoot it. Also saying indoor paint is thicker shelled, since when? Indoor courses are generally close range so generally use thiner paint. I guess all I am trying to say here is do some reading and know what you are talking about before you go beleiving this stuff.

Staff: I know several cases where the staff have singled put people or ever removed people who did nothing wrong. Solely because the other person involved was a friend of the owners. They are short tempered and only put up a nice front if you have a membership.

Feild: not bad for Rec ballers

Safety: nit bad considering they threten to charge everyone with assult (read their website)

price: not the highest but not the lowest either

facilities/proshop: meh

players: good for milsim types

hours and refs: hours are ok refs on the otherhand well if you go you will see.

Food: that's good

basiclly I was let down they trash talk all the local feilds the whole time I was there. They are not paitent unless you hold a membership and they will charge you with assult for bunkering someone which is part of paintball


1/10 yea that's a 1
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SSBCHAMP Friday, April 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
There is a little sign on the road leading to this place, you turn there.
Review: I wen't and played here during the 12 hour scenario game where all the fields were joined to like one giant one, I believe they called this day Judgement Day.

Safety
This is probably the safest field I have played at, the staff reminded players like every five minutes to keep your barrel plugs in and barrel socks on while off the field, and to have the safety on, and to have masks on before you enter the field.

Prices
It's like $20 if you use one of the rental guns and $10 if you have your own gun, paintballs were really expensive I think it was $140 for 2000 rounds, but it did say Barrie on the paintballs and I thought that was kinda cool.

Staff
Probably the nicest staff you will ever meet at a paintball field, Barrie paintball is family owned, They work on your guns for free and give you free O-rings if yours are busted. they replaced all the O-rings in my old Zap ZXS 400 I was using. That didn't fix my gun and they didn't know what was wrong with it, but don't think they don't know how to fix your marker. They let me keep the O-rings to eventhough it wasn't fixed. I did get my gun working the next day though:)

Proshop
The proshop was full of equipment and gear, but I did find it kinda expensive.

Refs
The refs were fair, if you were out you were called out and if you were still in they kept you in. They had chronographs with them to check the players Feet Per Second(FPS) to keep the game safe.

Players
Paintballers are usually a great bunch of guys/girls and at this tournament we all treated each other with respect, anf good sportsmanship.

Facilities
The facilities were good and clean, and you could go in there and rinse out your barrel if you needed to.

Hours Of Operation
When I was thre for Judgement Day, we started playing around 8:30 and then the tournament ended 12 hours later, that was an amazing day, haha I could hardly move the next day.

Food
There was a barbecue around 1:00 and you could buy hotdogs for like $1.50.

Rules
Pretty much be safe on and off the field, use barrel socks/barrel plugs, and the safety on your gun must be turned on when off the field, and wear your mask at all times when on the field.

Fields
There are to many fields to list but there are a lot of them and they are really good, they have old cars and an old jet and many other nifty things.

Services
They serve you good at Barrie paintball and they are really nice, and they know how to fix markers.

Conclusion
Barrie Paintball is an amazing paintball place if you are ever in Barrie you should go there and play a few games you will love the fields, and the sincerity of the staff. I give Barrie Paintball a 10/10 because it was an amazing paintball expierience and well if you read the review it lists all of the other reasons.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mandog98 Thursday, November 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wasaga Beach Paintball Adventure
WBPA for short
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
Review: I have been here many times and, what can i say? It was great!

Safety- Very safe, the ref's there allways remind you to put your barrel bags in, and so do the players.

ProShop- Well, personally i have never purchased anything from there and I am not sure why.

Fields- I love the fields there, they have so many i cant even begin to think of all them, they have fields for small all large groups, they have "The Town" which is a huge field filled with cars, some buildings, and barrels. They also have a small speedball field, probally for queck 3v3 games, about 7-10 bunkers.

Management- My parents know the owners so i find that pretty cool, but anyway, they are realy nice, one time i brought shorts and they gave me a rental pair of pants, :)

Rentals+Price- The rentals arnt too good but hey, im a gun owner so, I dont care, and the prices for paint is expensive, but, so is practicly all the other places with good quality paint. Owners its 10$ and renters 20$

Players- Some players are nice, others, I am not too fond of but, eh what can you do?

Overall this is a great field, I recommend it to anyone who enjoys plaing paintball and if they are in the area. I give this field a 9/10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hell_hunter Saturday, September 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
wassaga beach paintball adventure
borden paintball
Directions
to the Field:
take 400 to hwy 90 (AKA dunlop st), take why 90 to 10th side road, its on the right, between 2 hills, the sign is small so its easy to miss :P
Review: Well this it i think my 8-9th time to barrie paintball so i thought it was about time to review this amazing feild.

Barrie paintball is where i played my first game of paintball, an i must agree, it may be the most addicting sport out there.

Safety: As with all good feilds, safety is first and formost. The standard masks on signs and constant rememinders from the Ref's and staff about barrel bags keep players safe. Also their is not smokeing outside of the "no shoot zone" due to the posibility of forest fire.

Feilds: AHHH one of the best reasions to play at barrie, on the one side of the stageing area is the "hill feilds" such as hamberger hill and vimmy ridge, these are steep hills with wood and log bunkers up and down the slopes. Im persionly not a fan unless im running DOWN the hill cuz im lazy. On the other side (and my favorite) is a junk-yard setting type feilds. These include the vally and the town. You will find cars, planes, barrels, box's, snadbags, bukers, crators, castels, trees and just about every other item that can provide cover on the feild, makes for a great urban warefare setting. And last but not leat, the air stip....clearly the best feild out there. In the middle is an old Cf-100 air plane with various building (including a control tower) around the plane. Very fun map. Its also worht mentioning that they have a NEW FEILD under ciunstruction, below the air strip. This feild is a maze like setting with high walls and an open space in the middle...if you like room clearing this is the map for you!

Hours: Open weekends and weekdays for groups of 8 or more....see website for more detailed discription of hours

Prices: Par with other feilds, 10 for owners 20 for renters, 140 for a case of 2000. They now use "Barrie: brand paint (yes it actuly says :BARRIE: on the paintballs). This means that (yea your reading this right) YOU CAN BRING BACK BARRIE BRAND PAINT, and use it again! You just need to get the reff to check the paint first to make sure its not frozen.

Rules: No full auto, no ramping, semi auto only...tippmann RT, rocking and e-grips (on semi) are allowed. Mercy rule is in effect, watch language as there are a lot of younger kids that play here, dont shoot the ref, obay the ref, only barrie brand paint.

Services: Free CO2 and HPA for players, they provide CO2 and HPA fills for non players for a small fee, they will fix any marker or other eqipment bought at the proshop for free. Clean bathrooms, running water, first aid kits, lockers and self-fill HPA station.

proshop: Good selection of common gear, lots of barrels, some markers, barrel bags, toher stuff. Overpriced but i havent found one that isint.

Staff: AMAZING staff, its family owned so the staff are friendly, polite and helpfull. If you blow an o-ring they give you one for free! My slide check broke and the guy let me borrow his tools to take it out of the line..good service.

reffs: Good ref's. They call hits and the "he is hit, let him out" wich is always appreciated if you have 4 ppl shooting at you. Ref's are fair and will help new players with gun malfunctions (such as "your gun is out of air", hey we all did it out first game)

Players: i find paintball players at all feilds (for the most part) to be a friendly bunch of people, meeting new people is a nice part of the paintball experiance. At barrie in particular, the crowd tends to be a bit younger 12-14, as it is a "family friendly park". There are people of all walks of life from speedball to mili-sim. All follow the rules and respect each other.

Facilities: Clean and tidy, washrooms, tables, lockers, change rooms.

Food: candy bars and vending machines for sale all the time, hot dogs and hambragers for 1.50 at lunch 1:00-2:00.

Overall an amazing feild, its #2 on the best feilds ive ever played on (number 1 is wassag because i LOVE blackhawk town), good feilds, nice players and amazing staff....keep up the good work guys!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann_kid Saturday, September 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None that can beat this place
Review: Aww man where do I start this place is sick. Many fields, lots of players to play with. The proshop is decent and there are some good deals if you look for a bit. The manage ment is very friendly and they are willing to help you out if your gun has some problems. Props to you Andrew for being a good ref. The prices are affordable, even for the penny pincher. If you want to have a good time go to this place. Trust me, you will want to go back asap. What else can i say.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bond77770 Tuesday, September 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51, Sgt. Splatters
Directions
to the Field:
It is pretty hard to find so you have to keep your eyes peeled for a very small sign. There is no other sign then the one that is right beside the driveway.
Review: I just wanna say something, WOW. What an amazing field.

To start off, the prices were very good and affordable. $10 for 100 paintballs, $45 for 500 paintballs, $80 for 1000 paintballs, and $150 for 2000 paintballs. It also costs a $20 admission fee for owners and renters. Just to let you all know, these are really good quality paintballs they are Diablo Bronze and they popped on impact well. (unlike so hard paintballs I have used at fields before.) Also all c02 and compressed air is FREE.

They staff were friendly and helpful, the owner spoke to me on several occasions about my Gillie suite. They got through the crowds quickly and filled your c02 tanks quickly.

Some of the rules are, Mercy rule IS in effect, barrel bags must be worn you can also use barrel plugs. you can't shoot cars, or wild animals. The speed at which your guns are allowed to shoot at is 300fps. All the other standard field rules are in effect.

There were many range of players. Most of the people had rental guns some people had Ion's, tippmans, I saw an MR2 as well.

And now for the fields. They had many types of fields. A Vimy ridge style field, D day style, there were 2 cabins were you start from so ideally, attack and defend. And there was my personal favorite, a massive town. It really wasen't a town, it was more just piles of boxes and crashed cars, sheds, some 2 story catwalks, trenches, foxholes ect.

Overall, this was an amazing field. I would recommend it for any skill level of player, whether you want a challenge or you are just a beginner this field is perfect for you. I would rate this field a 10 out of 10. It just cant get any better then it already is!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lewisfhg Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
so far i have only played
Sargent splatters
Barrie paintball
Directions
to the Field:
it was a bit of an adventure to get there .
if your coming from south of Barrie paintball make sure you get off at high way 90 not exit 90.
Review: HOURS OF OPERATION- me and a couple of friends went at around 2 30 in the afternoon. the refs allowed us to play as long as the sun was up and there was people to play against.

PRICES- Barrie paintball is way more affordable then Sargent splatters. you don't have to pay for equipment or co2 just the 20 insurance and field fee. if you go with a couple of friends like i did you can split the cost of 2000 paintballs. you can play all day for under 75 dollars that way.

FIELDS- there are many fields on the 20 acre lot Barrie paintball has. i played the town which i found amazingly fun, valley which is long and narrow and very challenging, vimy ridge which was weird as we played capture the flag on it, cabin where we spent most of the time trying to get to the opposing teams cabin or attack and defend and lastly we play a couple pf speed ball rounds which im not a big supporter of because you can us a tone of paint in a little bit of time. over all the fields offered different Teriann and made you adapt your strategy.

SAFETY- Barrie paintball is big on safety every time you get to the waiting area you must have your safety on and barrel condom on. and after a game you cant take your mask off until you are in the waiting area.

STAFF/REFS- the refs and staff were very polite and helped when ever they were needed. our ref mike was cool and gave pointers on how to improve your game play and skill and took my small group out for some attack and defend.

PLAYERS- there was a wide range of players from renters to guys in Gilly suits and automatic guns.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shwag Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Next Paintball
PB Nation
SGT. Splatters - Never go there again!
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest.ca
Review: Well, where to start off? Great place..

I wanna start off with the Refs, Gary you did a great job accomodating our group with teams. I was very impressed with how you handled it.

Fields
Vimmy Ridge- Great field to play, bar none my favourite.
The Valley - Large field, long and narrow. Great to have a fast playing field.
There are so many more but those are my favourites..

Rules
Very well enforced. But if a rule was being broken, it was never taken out of proportion. We were told and it didnt happen again.

Proshop
I was going there needing a few pieces for my cocker, I was slightly dissapointed that there was nobody there to help me find a set screw for my 3way.

Staff
Courteous and friendly. I will definitely go back there again just on how our group was treated.

Players
You know what? The players there were great! Nobody with cocky attitudes, and nothing but sheer respect on the fields.

Food
GREAT BARBICUE!!!!!!! But get the drink machines fixed...

Overall, I was very pleased with the whole day there, I will go back again for sure! This place is a must visit. Make a day, go up north and have a blast.

8 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media