paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Barrie Paintball Adventure Club Paintball Field / Barrie Paintball Adventure Club Paintball Field / Barrie Paintball Adventure Club Paintball Field / Barrie Paintball Adventure Club Paintball Field

Barrie Paintball Adventure Club Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
35Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 705-733-3393
Address: 8200 10th Line Essa Twp.
Barrie, Ontario L4M 4S4
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Ravenwulfe Thursday, November 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 15th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Review: Barrie Paintball, while hard to locate, is a very worthwhile field to check out if you live in the South Simcoe area. I live in Bradford, so the 30 minute drive is well worth it once I get there.

I'll start off with getting my nitpicks out of the way first: The refs seem to favour a few fields, so you're left wondering about other ones. I assume it's because they pick the best ones that players like and are easy to keep track of. The only time I've seen some fields was at the Judgement Day scenario game when they opened virtually the entire field for play. While this certainly isn't a bad thing, and there's lots of fields you go to, it kind of leaves you wondering what else there is.

It's a hard place to find. If I was looking for a big sign to find the place, chances are, I'd drive right by without noticing. It's pretty out of the way from view, so make notes of when you do find the place what to look for and how to get there.

Proshop is pricey. They tend to overcharge on a lot of things, but others aren't that bad in retrospect. Almost all of my equipment comes from this proshop, and I wonder where I could have bought the things elsewhere.

If there's a big event, the roads for parking are a nightmare because it seems like it's barely enough for two lanes to get in and out.

Now to the good stuff. The field is fairly big and can take virtually any number of players and make them feel like they're playing a good game. Small groups can have a lot of fun, as there's lots of moments for you hero types to lead your team to victory from some sort of feat that you'll be talking about for the rest of the day.

While pricey, the proshop has a wide variety of good stuff, and I've only had a few times where they didn't have what I was looking for.

Even the chrono range can be amusing. You can find anything from toasters to PC monitors to toilets to tires to little statues in there to test your velocity, aim, and just see if your gun's working, as it's conviniently close to the staging area.

Thankfully, they have pop machines in the staging area and change rooms, so life is extremely comfortable. Big lockers can find your stuff and a couple other friends easily, giving you a piece of mind. Luckfully, there's a fair deal of lockers there, and you aren't forced to rent a lock, you can bring your own. The water jugs that have been cut and trimmed to take paintballs to assist you filling your hopper and pods is very helpful and can get you ready for a game in no time.

As long as you're playing at the field, Co2 and air is free of charge. I often get my Co2 tanks filled for free while I'm there before I go, as it's much more economical than paying 12 bucks at Canadian Tire or home hardware to do it.

The refs and owners are extremely nice people and will make your day very memorable. They love to talk to you about your equipment and their own tastes, the sport in general, and they listen to your ideas and generally make the games a lot of fun. They're fair, for the most part, and will make sure to let people know that you're out if you've been hit so they don't plug you on your way out to the dead box. Overall, I'm very impressed with the people employed at the field, and am always suprised they seem to remember me when I go there, even to the point where the shop keeper asked me if I was the guy who bought the A-5 there a couple months before hand.

The fields are big and varied, my personal favorites being the Cabin and the villiage. The cabin is more or less an alamo with one team trying to get up the hill by surrounding them and moving from cover to cover and the other trying to eliminate the other team to keep them out of the perimetre of the cabin. It's easy to advance and flank in this one, so it's well worth your while.

The town has a tonne of stuff in it, several dozen buildings, all you can go in, a two story tower, two with bridges and platforms, there's several entrances and windows and little cubby holes to sneak in and out, and there's cars, barrels, sattelite dishes, bomb shells, a school playset, and all sorts of stuff.

Other fields include the valley, which is a depression between two vehicles on top of opposing hills with a plane in the middle. One side has a school bus, and the other a military transport truck similar to the ML. It's a favorite, and you can practice virtually any skill there. Another is Vimy ridge, which is a steep hill where one team has to get to the top and get to the road and the other has to stop them. VERY challenging for the attackers. Other fields include the castle, Hamburger Hill, the pit, the speedball arena, and more.

For a day's pay and 500 paintballs, expect to pay roughly $60. You can buy more paint at decent prices, and the free rental equipment, use of air tanks, combat jackets, and more are more then enough to make it seem worth it.

This is an amazing field and I recommend it highly to anyone. I introduced my friends to the sport through this field and now we're hooked.

EDIT:

My friends and I are on the website now in the photo section. I'm the guy with the complete combats, the A-5, green profiler, and tiger stripe bandana.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 at 11:25 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

metalic eyes Monday, October 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Although i have only played barrie because of where i live i havn't got a chance to go anywhere else (yet) i realy like the staff and people there they were very kind and help full on my first time and now that i have been a couple of times we share some good laughs. the rentals there arent great but they arent crap either. they dont have iron sights or anything but they dont chop too bad. but that doesnt matter anymore because i have my own gear now. What i love about barrie is its feilds they are well thought out and balanced (not all places have excelent cover on some so it make it more fun). What i love about the staff is no matter how busy they are they will take a quick break to help you with any problems you may have. now they might not be able to fix it but at least they will give you advise. Another good thing with the staff they try to keep the teams balanced best they can. realy i have no complaints against barrie and would gladly give them a 10/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

crypticballer Friday, September 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
a few
Review: BArrie paintball is great, They have everything you need, helpful nice staff, great feilds, good regulars. The people you play with/against are fun and rarely fight.

Ref's: They are good, they do their job, and keep the teams as even as possible.

Pro Shop: slightly expensive, but good at the same time.

Rentals: I had to play with them before i bought my 98, and i must say, they are not like
new, but they do not suck royaly.

Feilds: Sigon - A great city, makes for fun times, lots of room, great fun for the experenced and the newbi's.
Cabin - hard, but a blast when played with area 51.
Hamburger hill One of my favorits, it is a blast wheather you are going up or down.
Vimmy ridge Lots of fogging action on this hill, i suggest constant movement, a blast no matter the weather.
Vally Top notch, would have liked it to be a bit bigger, but it is still a great feild. Castle lots of bunkers and crap to hide behind, and a challange to hold the castle, letalone push that flag.
THey also have Area 51 and the pit as well as speed and air ball, they are all great courses.

Oh and as i read in a earlier rating, i must agree 10 out of 10 for aries the rock fetching/eating dog, he makes the day worth wile.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zeppelin75 Friday, September 9th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wasaga Paintball
Review: Barrie Paintball is by far the worst paintball field in Canada. I do not know any other feild that has worse playing fields, staging area, pro shop employees, rental guns, and lack of profession.

Let me tell you why I feel this way so you to can feel my anger.

1. At the beggining of the day I was looking for a new bolt for my Spyder Fenix. The people had no clue what a Fenix bolt looked like and actually suggested I should buy a bolt made for a Mokal Focus.

2. Compared to Wasaga's mega complex, Barrie Paintball really does seem like a giant mud puddle. At least there are picnic benches so we don't have to eat our lunches on the mud.

3. At the end of my day and I'm about to leave the Hell hole known as "Barrie Paintball" a nice set of Dye Stickey Grips catch my eye. I ask the person behind the desk about the price($45) and what gun they were made for. 2 employees tell me that the grips are for electronic Spyders. So I buy these stickey grips 98% sure that they are for MY gun. Half way home, in fine, print I notice that it says "Angel Stickey Grips".

And that is about the time when I snapped. I am glad that Wasaga Paintball is putting Barrie out of buissness because Barrie deseves it. I am honoured to give Barrie Paintball A BEAUTIFUL 1/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
10 Comments - Add Comment

webber14 Sunday, July 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Never been to any others...
Review: This field was great for my first time,
There was lots and lots of scenarious and the paintball's were a good price to handle the entrance fee was acceptable the guns were ok... i guess but not the best...
the ref was nice and taught the noobies about guns and stratagies to use
there are many different game play like; touch the cabin (touch the enemies cabin b4 they touch yours) team elimanation (self explanatory), capture the flag press (get the flag in the castle and bring it to the enemies base to win) then theres the vimy ridge course, if you were on the top u had to get to the bottom of the field.. and vice versa, if you play wisely with your paintballs 200 can last u 3 hours (like me) and my friend lasted 1 cuz he was patheticaly stupid with them (but i bought him more XD )

Last edited on Monday, August 1st, 2005 at 11:51 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

druideater Wednesday, July 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wasauga
Sgt. Splatters
Area 51
Review: Rentals: The worst I've ever seen.. Thank God I Have My Own Marker 4/10
Fields: Town, Hamburger Hill, Cabin.. the list goes on and the fields never fail. 10/10
People: The people at Barrie are always helpful and friendly its kinda creepy. :P 10/10
Refs: What can i say Refs will be refs.. but i seem to tolerate these ones... 8/10
Pro Shop: High priced but free repairs to all equipment bought there final verdict 7/10
Aries: Is my home dawg! a dog that eats rocks! what could be better? 10/10
Airball: Easily the best ive ever played... you just cant top that quality! 10/10
speed/hyper ball: Not bad by any stretch of the imagination though not amazing.. 7/10

In conclusion... I'm sure there's room for improvement, but Barrie Paintball is still the best field I've ever played! Hands down... No other field (in my opinion) has anything on Barrie Paintball!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Drew777 Thursday, March 31st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wasaga Beach Paintball Adventure
Review: I came to this feild once... it was okay.
The feilds were...okay
the refs were...okay
the prices were... okay

The bottom lin is that this place isn't horrible, but it is not amazing either. The feilds were all like the ones at Wasaga Beach that I didn't like (at the old area.) The feildS wern't that unique and didn't make you fall in love with them like at Wasaga.

There is Nothing horrible about Barrie Paintball but there is nothing great about it either, it is liKe every other paintball feild out there.

I have only been here once and wont return unless they have some sort of crazy deal on prices. Otherwise I would rather play at Wasaga

IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR AN AVERAGE PAINTBALL EXPERIENCE THEN GO TO BARRIE PAINTBALL, IF YOU WANT A MIND BLOWING, BEST PAINTBALL OF YOUR LIFE EXPERIENCE, GO TO WASAGA BEACH PAINTBALL ADVENTURE
Last edited on Thursday, March 31st, 2005 at 8:24 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Maniac2 Wednesday, February 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None to speak of
Review: Well to put things simply this is the only place I have paintballed at...sad but true anyways Barrie Paintball has helped me along quite a bit through my newbie years sharing strategies with ref's be more accurate when I had to use there horrendous rentals (only bad thing other then the pro shop which is WAY overpriced) The fields are great and the ref's are helpful except for Andrew him and his CP namecalling *cries* in closing You have your own marker you will probably mop the floor if everyones using rentals there but once some of the regulars show up your in trouble You'll see what I mean I'm the guy with the blue Profiler and a Misfit (Misfit has beem retired for killing baterries on a weekly basis)
Last edited on Saturday, March 5th, 2005 at 9:30 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

A_xSNIPERx_C Sunday, December 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: This is a great place to paintball if u like to hide and cloak.Which I like.

Pros(good)
•BIG AREA(huge)
•refs are decent(exept wen they dont catch the wipers)
•nice little target practice place(just outside the "safe zone")
•rentals are decent(until u get dirt in it,then ur screwed unless u hav a squeegee)
•losts of different places
•lost a scenarios
•counter people are friendly and helpful
•fair prices
•3 zone speedball
•ref explain rules good
•pretty even teams
•refs make sure u have condoms on before you go into"safe zone"
•oh ya,theres a cool dog there that eats rocks and fetches them too(halarious)

Cons(bad)
•refs watch the game but dont really take people out wen shot
•hiden roots in the ground can cut u then it hurts
•like i said the rentals are good unless dirt gets into the barrel
•prices for guns in shop are rediculus(tippmann m 98 is like $350,canadian)

I strongly reccomend this place.I'm planning to go again. 9 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

grimace47 Monday, November 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ultimate Paint ball
Review: All in all this is the best scenario field i have played. Good refs, great staff, awesome fields. Refs actually walked around the game and they make sure that there is no cheating going on. Hamburger hill is set up beautifully with an amazing fortress set up at the top. Rental guns suck large, if your an owner it's not to bad and paint is pretty cheap and it's still pretty good paint. I love playing and am planning on going back many more times in the future, and I would recommend it to anyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media