paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Jokers Wild Paintball Field / Jokers Wild Paintball Field / Jokers Wild Paintball Field / Jokers Wild Paintball Field

Jokers Wild Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
18Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 12457 Y-Camp Road
Burlington, Iowa 52601
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
oOSykoOo Monday, February 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Good overall, but the balls are a little expensive but then again how can u expect to make some money with out raising the prices. Rules are good, and the staff is very nice, EXTREMLY good shop have all the new smart parts and good inventory. The regular players are really nice. The bunkers are great for woodballin'.The town is great. They have good game variants,and I love to paly out there. I give it a 8.5 out of 10.0
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

codylink Sunday, August 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Chili Paint Ball pits. Chillicothe, IL , MVP in Davenport IA. I have to say they are all great in their own way.
Review: Man I tell you what. its a great field. Jack and the gang are friendly people. You dont get much better then them. They make you follow the rules to a T which is great also. And the people who come and play there, Are cool no whinning and complaining about anything. The prices are every bit as reasonable as any other field ive been to and they've gor some great deals on some awesome markers. So check it out I give em an A+. My names Cody and See you on the Field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

deadeye50 Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: It a good field sure it looks kinda trashy but so what? I mean who really cares about if they have the worlds nicest shop it doesn't have to be perfect. I like the staff well ok Jack can be grumpy sometime's but he is overworked and underpaid{aren't we all ?}
I like the ref ,Jean, he ALWAYS has some funny story to tell about something. It is always fun out their and yeah Jack can be annoying and the paint prices are high like $17 bucks for 500 balls but their is no field fee anymore so its not bad. overall I like and I am down their quiet often. Cya their !

hours 10:00-5:00 {You'll recognize me by what i shoot Tippman A5 with an Egrip and a 13 stealth barrel and I am always head to toe in camo.}
Last edited on Sunday, July 30th, 2006 at 6:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drob Thursday, February 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 15th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
most Iowa fields, some in NC. some woodsball
Review: I realize that my first post shouldn't be this controversial, but I don't care. Compare the expense of Jokers (no field fee) to other fields. Is the paint higher? yes. Why would they do this? To gouge you and make money? OR maybe to teach something? The "old guy" that runs the field is a retired Armed Forces recruiter. He knows battle. Maybe his field is better set up for real-world like situations where one good shot is better than throwing ropes. Use your brain, set up your opponent for one good shot in the gogs, and you will get by for less than $35 on the day. I do EVERY TIME. Yes, i can empty my 200 round hopper in less than 30 seconds. why would i want to when one shot will do?

Also, if you think they are there to make money, you're sorely wrong. Our government takes good care of its retired employees. Gene does this because he enjoys it.

As for his rules they equal to one thing. If EVERY person on the field isnt having fun, someone is doing something wrong.... Paintball, at its roots, is about fun. Not about winning at any cost, not about a pile of regualtions and red tape. Go out there, shoot, get shot, learn something and have fun.

Its PAINTBALL, NOT life and death... thats the point. He's seen the real game.. lets have fun with this one.

as far as the field goes... its awesome. its HUGE.. VERY challenging ghost town (no great vantage OR cover) and great when 60 people show up... how many speedball fields dont SUCK when that many people come in? youre either waiting all day for a game, or out in 3 seconds.

Get your attitude straight and give it a chance.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

XtraSpeed1977 Wednesday, November 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 15th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Vinton, Team Products, Mt Pleasant
Review: Ok, for the past few years here I've read how fellow paintballers continue to disrespect Jokers Wild. I have played at Jokers off and on for almost four years and have reffed for them regularly. If you look around you at Jokers yes you do have a lot of new players and people who like the backyard woods style of play as opposed to throwing ropes in speedball. Dont get me wrong, I used to be a big speedballer and loved the speed of the game. But recently I've got back to my roots and have had a good time stalking people for that one shot rather than lighting them up.
Jokers is just that a field for players to go out and have fun. They are strict in a lot of their rules and for good reasons. So what is Jack would rather shoot a Mag over an ION. People have their preferences. My A5 is more reliable than my Angel. If you have a problem with the field dont go. If you have a problem with the staff dont go. Because and meaning no disrespect, if you cause any of their patrons not to have a good time. They'll probably ask you to leave. So if you cant get rid of the chip on your shoulder, stay home. If ya up for some play look for me this weekend, I'll have GOD on the back of my jersey
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

woody_wrath Monday, November 7th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 20th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
velocity
Review: All i can say is HOLY COW 1. i went to this field with a bunch of my friends because it was only like an hour away and we wanted to check it out. we go there and we noticed that we were in the middle of some trailerpark with some junky woooden bunkers. If i wanted to play woodsball i could've just stayed in my hometown and not payed $20 for a bag of 500 paintballs and had more fun with less noobs. Even the people that own it are like noobs. he kept saying how he'd rather have a stock automag than my friends ion and my wrath. Im not saying that my wrath is reallly sweet or anything but what kind of retard would say that( especially one that has owned a field/store for a few years)2. This place only had a woodsball field and a really small and poorly put together hyperball field that i could have probably made better my self in my backyard. So my point is if you're into over priced paint, a bunch of noobs, and a stupid old guy, then Jokers Wild is definately for you and you will have a blast, but i dont know anyone who likes those things so Jokers Wild gets a 1out of 10 and is probably the worst field ive ever gone to
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Wagner24314 Sunday, October 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ive played all over the mid west.
Review: To start I played for a long time in South Dakota and Kansas and our rules where two body hits or one head to get someone out body hit didn't count arms and legs either. so people that think a gun hit should count go f your self. Back to point I moved down to Burlington for a job and had to find a place to play so i started going to jokers almost every weekend this last summer and i have nothing bad to say about it. The ref makes great calls they are fun people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

aschro75 Monday, June 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Team Products, Velocity
Review: Ok, before I begin I want to let everyone know that this is review for the tournament we played on June 12, 2005. It was a rookie tournament for many different reasons. So here it goes:

First I will comment on the field. The field is not bad at all. The guy we talked to that was running it said there was about 15 total acres of paintball \which included a lot of woods ball, a very small hyperball field and a ghost town which we couldn't see because it was so far in the distance. Overall, on a recreational day, the field would be fun to play. The guy that was running the place was very nice and really loved the sport of paintball. He was talkative and told us of how they were looking to add on and make it a great place to play. We appreciated the good conversation with him and felt he was a good guy. This concludes my review of the field. Now the day we were there....

First off, the tournament was scheduled to start at 10 am SHARP. They actually had the word sharp on the flyer they sent out. We were driving from Cedar Rapids, so when I called to sign our team up the lady on the phone said to be there around 9:15 or 9:30 so we could get set up and have a captains meeting right at 10. We arrived at 9:20. We unloaded our equipment, paid for the entry fee and the paint, walked the field and were ready to play by about 9:45. Then we WAITED........AND WAITED........AND WAITED.....UNTIL 11:00AM FOR THE CAPTAINS MEETING TO START---ONE FULL HOUR LATE - Why you may ask, because nothing for the tournament was set up. The round robin brackets were not set-up, the scoreboard was not set-up, the refs were not ready , shall I go on? Needless to say, the captains meeting started at 11:00am and finally we were ready to play.....kind of. Now I will comment on the captains meeting-

KEEP IN MIND THIS IS A TOURNAMENT WHICH INCLUDED PRIZES - The woman who spoke during the captains meeting was very very rude. She actually said that if anyone was worried about how much paint they were going to use that they should not even play. NOW REMEMBER THEIR WEBSITE STATED THIS WAS A ROOKIE "BACKYARD" TOURNAMENT. I don't know that many people who play backyard paintball that dont' worry about how much paint they are using---especially when it's $100 entry fee plus 60 per case. I go on. The rules of the "tournament" were the most messed up, ridiculous rules I have ever heard of. I will give you an example:

Rule: Gun and hopper hits don't count. WHAT KIND OG A RULE IS THAT??? SO IF MY GUN IS ACCURATE AND MY OPPONENT IS LAZY AND LEAVES HIS GUN OUT IN THE OPEN AND I RIP IT WITH PAINT--HE IS NOT OUT!!!!???.

HERE'S THE BEST PART:

Rule: If you dropped a pod and it was hit with a paintball, then you were going to be called out.

HERE'S WHAT SO GREAT ABOUT THOSE TWO RULES - I HAVE NEVER HEARD THEM BEFORE EVER...EVER....EVER. NO MATTER HOW ROOKIE THE TOURNAMENT IS - THERE ARE STANDARD RULES TO PAINTBALL THAT SHOULD BE FOLLOWED NO MATTER WHERE YOU PLAY.

What really funny is that they said they would be really strict and that was enough refs to have a ref for every player on the field - which they did - but they did nothing. As an example, one of the rules of standard paintball is that you can't blind fire - however in one instance, a person was warned 3 times in one game about blind firing and never was pulled out of the game - if you're gonna run a rookie tournament, at least teach the rookies how to play.
OK - Enough about the captains meeting - I think you all get the picture.

Now on the to the actual "tournament"

We finally started to get into playing - DID I MENTION THEY WERE THREE MINUTE GAMES??????? THAT'S RIGHT THREE MINUTE GAMES-- HAS ANYONE EVER HEARD OF A TOURNAMENT WITH THREE MINUTES GAMES????

No there were 10 teams total and it was "set-up" that you played each team twice with a total of playing 18 - three minutes games all day long---so we are looking at a total of 54 minutes of gametime for the ENTIRE DAY. For 100 BUCKS PLUS PAINT - ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS! Once we started to get into the games we noticed something about the refs - they were not even watching the games - one time i had to have a ref paint check me and she said "i didn't see it I'll pay more attention." What is that all about- their whole job all day long is to watch the players - and she wasn't watching? enough said about the reffing - absolutely horrible - most of the refs did not even have a clue how to ref - only a few of them even set foot on the field - most of the time they stood out of bounds and watched from there.

Nobody enforced any rules - blind firing was unbelievable - blind firing is very dangerous since they don't know where they are shooting, it could be going at onlookers for all they care - DID I MENTION THERE WAS NO NETTING AROUND ANY THING - THAT'S RIGHT NO NETTING, NO PROTECTION WHATSOEVER FROM FLYING PAINTBALLS. UNBELIEVABLE. Now back to blind firing - Let me ask you something, if gun and hopper hits don't count, and they aren't enforcing blind firing, would it be fair to say i could prop my gun on a bunker and pull the trigger all day long and never get shot? This is what was happening - In a 3 minutes game there were so many stale mates because people would hide and blind fire and would never be able to be shot unless it was point blank - WHICH IS VERY DANGEROUS FOR A ROOKIE TOURNAMENT WHEN PEOPLE DON'T KNOW HOW TO PROPERLY BUNKER SOMEONE. NEEDLESS TO SAY 2 PEOPLE WERE IN THE FACE THROUGH THEIR MASK - DOES THIS SOUND LIKE A SAFE PLACE TO PLAY- I THINK NOT.

I'm going to fast forward to the end of a couple rounds and talk about scoring. They could even get the score right - we had to go back re add our own scores to make sure we got the point we earned - it was absolutely pathetic. NO ONE KNEW WHAT THEY TRULY HAD BECAUSE NO ONE KEPT ACCURATE SCORING. AGAIN PATHETIC.

So we fast forward past the 4 round of playing --- IT STARTED AT 11:00AM AND IT WAS 3:00PM - 4 HOURS FOR 4 ROUNDS OF 3 MINUTE GAMES -HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE YOU ASK? --LACK ORGANIZATION OR FOR THAT MATTER KNOWLEDGE OF HOW PAINTBALL IS TRULY PLAYED. BY THE 4TH ROUND OUR TEAM HAD PLAYED A TOTAL OF 24 MINUTES OF PAINTBALL IN A 4 HOUR SPAN. THAT IS UNBELIEVABLE. AND THE HILARIOUS PART IS THAT WE HAD 5 MORE ROUNDS TO GO- WE DIDN'T EVEN MAKE IT TO THE HALF WY POINT IN 4 HOURS - WE PROBABLY WOULD HAVE BEEN THERE TILL 9 PM IF WE HAD FINISHED. SIMPLY BECAUSE NO ONE KNEW WHAT WAS GOING ON. SO WE PACKED UP AND LEFT

WHICH BRINGS ME TO MY NEXT POINT - THE STAFF OR HELPERS OR ANYONE WHO HAD ANYTHING TO DO WITH TELLING US WHAT TO DO:

The staff of woman working the concession stand, or just walking around the staging area would constantly yell at everyone to hurry up and walked back to the field to get ready to play again because they were so far behind-- I do not appreciate being treated like a 10 year old. I am 25 years old, know how a paintball tournament works and did not need a some grey hair lady with a cigarette in her hand giving me the 3rd degree as to why i was not standing readily by the starting point-- we had just got done playing for one, and for two we were packing up our stuff and leaving - that was just plain uncalled for. SHE WAS VERY DISRESPECTFUL. And a side note, the lady in the concession stand that kept telling everyone she had hotdog s that were warm was very very annoying as well. SO WE LEFT -- HERE IS MY CONCLUSION:

I WILL NEVER RETURN TO THIS FIELD ON A TOURNAMENT DAY OR A REC DAY, AND I WILL MAKE SURE THAT EVERYONE I COME IN CONTACT WITH KNOW THE POOR EXPERIENCE I HAD. FROM READING THE REST OF THE REVIEWS ON THIS FIELD, I GUESS I SHOULD BE KICKING MYSELF IN THE BUTT FOR EVEN ATTEMPTING TO GO -- BECAUSE IT SEEMS OTHER PEOPLE HAVE HAD BAD EXPERIENCES TOO.

The tournament was the saddest most poorly run event I have every seen- It was not even worthy of backyard paintball simply DUE TO THE LACK OF ORGANIZATION, HORRIBLE REFFING, RULES THAT AREN'T TRULY A PART OF THE SPORT OF PAINTBALL, AND THE STAFF. IT WAS THE MOST HORRIFIC THING I HAVE EVER WITNESSED - AND AGAIN I SAY THAT I WILL MAKE SURE MY VOICE IS HEARD.

WHEN THIS FIELD DECIDED TO OPEN IT'S EYES TO 21ST CENTURY PAINTBALL I THINK I MAY SEE PIGS FLY.

Inc conclusion, if you have a field that is local to you or one within a 50 mile radius - CHERISH IT, LOVE IT AND APPRECIATE IT, BECAUSE THE REGULARS AT THIS FIELD TRULY DON' KNOW HOW REAL PAINTBALL IS PLAYED.

My final comment will be this - The guy that was chronoing the players coming off the field was a great guy and we enjoyed chatting with you about your indoor field idea - but before you guys decide to invest all that money, make sure you have some people who can make it a little more enjoyable - The ladies that were refs, at the staging areas, at the front counter when we paid and in the concession stand should be banned for life - they were the most rude women i had ever met.

By the way, we were team firestorm - if the owners would like to call for some suggestions, my contact info is on the sheet - give me a call and i'll fill you in on paintball rules.

If I have forgotten any of my terrible experiences at this field i will be sure to edit and add it to this review.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

delzell24 Thursday, May 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Salem field,alright a couple others...
Review: This field is good but some prices are high but the paint is now $62.00.No, FIELD FEE. Jack isn't bad.Some people are getting over reacted.I give maybe this a little bit above average.This is supposed to help you. All is good though at Jokers Wild.....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

priebe Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
privately owned fields (i just rec. ball).. jokers wild is my favorite out of them
Review: The place does look like a dump when u first get there, but it isnt too bad. The shop is decent, I got my otp-g1 barrel there for $35 marked down from $90. The bunkers in the field arent the greatest either but they work. The town is fun, lot of buildings to hide in. I think this field is awesome it does have it's down sides but awesome. The employees are nice, jack can be a little cranky but cut him a little slack, hes older and I bet if you had to deal with a bunch of kids that dont know how to keep their gun tuned right then you'd get a little pissy too. Hes nice to the regulars that go there, like my buds and I. But Jack and the refs are pretty cool once you get to know them, a little strict, but cool. The paint is a little pricey but isnt too bad, of course we always go in a group of at least 18 so we get discounts. Overall, field and employees are good enough to have a lot of fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media