paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Paradise (Regina) Paintball Field / Paintball Paradise (Regina) Paintball Field / Paintball Paradise (Regina) Paintball Field / Paintball Paradise (Regina) Paintball Field

Paintball Paradise (Regina) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
21Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (306) 775-2022
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Canada
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
RYOK1n Friday, April 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Phantom Paintball: Was located in Regina, believe they were shut down.
Hybrid Paintball: Has been a couple years although when I went it was basically an empty field with a couple wooden structures scattered throughout.
Directions
to the Field:
http://www.highpowerwebdesign.com/paintballparadise/Map.html
Review: Paintball Paradise could be a great place with some work to the roads and a cleaning crew. Could be an amazing place with a stack of lumber and and update to all the fields. There is lots of potential for the place but it's not quite there yet.

The Good
-Large variety of different types of fields
-Locker storage for gear
-Helpful Staff
-Refs depending on days you go out (Sunday is best time of week to head out)
-Different types of scenarios for games when Ref is present
-7 Hours of entertainment for $50 if you are able to conserve paint
-Coolers with Pop and Barbecues if you bring out your own food (health safety I guess)
-Free Co2/HP refills (fill em up when you're done)

The Bad
-Litter and debris scattered all over fields (poses a threat to people who aren't careful where they walk)
-Bathroom facilities are basically unusable due to cleanliness issues.
-Roads out and paths to fields are horrible if it rains at all.
-Castle needs to be torn down or sanitized, probably tire town too
-Proshop is overpriced
-Coveralls are basically useless

Road out
These roads desperately need to be resurfaced, unless it has not rained for a week or so you will have difficulty getting out there and your vehicle will become caked in mud in the process.

Pro Shop
Large heated building, lots of room, lockers for safe storage of your equipment. Other than that it is pretty dirty inside and the bathroom needs to be scrubbed down. Overpriced equipment although that is pretty obvious and most people just go to play. Unless you miss alot $45 will get you through the day with 500 Paintballs + Playing/rental fees. It is also pretty easy to just use your own if you are not obvious about it. Depends on how you play but my group has gone out early in the morning and lasted 6-7 hours depending on the day using between 500-1000 paintballs each. Just outside there is a covered building with open sides that has coveralls which are all ripped and missing pieces such as arms or legs as well as caked in mud and paint grease (strongly recommend bringing out your own gear).

Fields
There is one indoor field next to the Proshop which has very poor lighting and lots of hazards to fall on and cut yourself which I have on occasion. I wouldn't recommend using it unless you have a small group. As for the outdoor fields they are all fairly decent except for the interior of the castle which has a rancid smell to it. There is a 1/3 scale town which is currently getting added on to, a field called Tire Town which is full of old tire tractors stacked on their side, a field called orange which is on a slope and includes trenches, tunnels and other forms of cover to hide in and behind, then there's a series of forest fields which all have thick brush and are basically all the same thing with different names such as Vietnam, WWI (basically all the same with variations in the stacks of branches set out for cover). If you own a Ghillie Suit you can have lots of fun crawling through the fields with thick brush and picking people off. If you enjoy Woodsball you will like the fields Paintball Paradise has to offer, if you're a fan of Speedball and want to shoot off 5,000 paintballs with your expensive gun this is probably not the place to go. Also there are not lots of places for seating which seems to be the case for most speedball games (Show your fancy little gun and equipment to everyone you can, go out and shoot off 1,000 paintballs in 5 minutes then sit around for an hour and repeat the same process).

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ichikisu Sunday, November 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No other field. Haven't tried the one near Moose Jaw as of yet but plan to.
Directions
to the Field:
You'll come up to a three lane intersection going north on Highway 6 and turn right. Take Etaples road off of Highway 6, about 20 kilometres north of Regina. At the intersection is an old gas station/ farm house on the northeast corner and you'll just notice the Paintball Paradise sign and Country-Style Wedding sign as well. Travel one mile east (1.6 kilometres) and you'll hit the first intersection. Turn left and at the intersection, you'll see a paintball paradise sign and country-style wedding signs again. Go about 1.3 kilometres north and you should see what looks like a gate and a bunch of signs with paintball team name and logo will be there. Take that road off and you're right into the parking lot of Paintball Paradise
Review: Ok first of all, getting to the field wasn't easy at first but it was decent road at first. Although when it rains, the road literally turns so liquidy that it's impossible to drive without a 4 x 4 or an SUV. However, these guys at the first are kind enough to let you park away from the field and you can pick up a ride from them to get to the field. Very, very nice.

Secondly, when you are at the field, to start playing you have to sign a waiver. I see no problem with this although they do have safety conscious in mind to a point. They then go through the safety rules with everyone in the group (unless you've been at the field many times, you'll know the rules by heart.) By signing the waiver forum and paying your walk-on fee, you've just paid for your insurance.

Thirdly, the refs are extremely friendly and know the fields very well. They do a good job keeping everyone from having to wait to start the next game while everyone is ready. I know a few of them personally and they try hard to accomodate everyone's interest and safety.

Fourthly, their maintanence and shop is very efficient. They have fairly decent rentals which are quite easy to fix when you are going through the safety rules as you're taught how to fix it. They have plenty of rentals in case one rental marker does not function correctly. Also, their filling station is very efficient, quick and pleasant.

Fifthly, as for chronographing, all their rentals have already been chronographed ahead of time but for personal markers (people bring their own markers to the field) the owner usually advises to chronograph before starting. However, he's not always around and is very busy so it's always best to chronograph your marker before you start your game. This is the only thing not regulated at the field.

Sixthly, no off-field paint is not allowed. Therefore, you have to buy paint from the field in order to play on the field. It's their way of making money which pays for all the air, insurance, rentals and such. It's seen as very irrespectful to bring off-field paint and not buy any from them. Although prices can be expensive, it pays for everything so you don't have to pay for air all the time as well. Air is unlimited but the paint is not. Prices are as follows: $35 for 500 (a bag of paint), $130 for 2000 (a box of paint) *I don't remember the prices for 100's or 50's as I don't buy in small quantities most of the time.*

Seventhly, the hours of operation are usually from 11am to as late as midnight in a few cases. It usually closes at 7pm if there aren't any bookings late into the night. So book your times in advance as they'll be opened during those times when people are sure they are going to be there.

Eightly, the variety of fields bring a vast opportunity for players to enjoy all kinds of games like scenario woodsball, capture the flag, straight elimination, Prisoner of War and such. Talk with the staff if you want to try a game if you've never tried it and want to try something different. They'll explain the rules on how the games work and the ref will be there to to help people better understand the game better.

Ninthly, the field has two forestry terrain, thick brush terrain, world war one trench terrain, urban terrain with forrestry and brush on the outside, an indoor arena, a field called Area 51, and last but not least a tire bunker terrain with a few skinny trees in places and a thick brush setting to the south. The sizes are all different and the amount of players is only limited by the size of the field in which a few tournaments I've played at the field used all of the fields when we had around 200 people the one time. Extremely fun so there's plenty of room for everyone to play.

Tenthly, most of the players that usually come to the field are players that know the rules (myself included), play with just about anyone, allow players new to the game to join us and make the teams even to help players understand the game better and to enjoy it. Because the staff is small at the field, the experienced players who regularily come to the field were asked kindly to help ensure people are following the rules and help the ones that don't understand them. We are all safety conscious so it's best to make sure everyone is safe and all the players are quite friendly.

Eleventhly, servicing is quite excellent. Unless you're an expert or very good at fixing your own marker(s) and such, the shop is more than willing to help you fix your marker if you don't know how to maintain, disassemble or fix your own marker. If your marker is out of service, they'll lend your a rental and if you need parts, they'll even order it for you or have it right there! So don't hesitate to ask if you're unsure of your marker's performance or function.

Twetvethly, they serve beverages there but as for food, people will have to bring their own. They allow off-field food without a problem as they encourage it. You're even welcome to barbeque your food out there with their barbeque as the picnic site. If you're having a birthday party or celebrating an event, this is a perfect way to have a party and bring your food in advance.

Thirteenthly, When you enter onto the field, you'll be required to pay a $15 or $10 walk-on fee for non-members. This pays for your insurance, rental marker, goggles and coveralls. Membership of $125 a year will reduce your cost of paint to a flat six cent per ball and eliminates the walk on fee. The membership is a yearly membership, not one of those monthly things. Ask for Les or Brenda and they'll be happy to help you getting a membership set up for you. It's perfect if you play on the field often, like myself.

Overall, the field is pretty good for my experience. I've enjoyed this field and have brought many people out to enjoy the game. This field is an excellent option compared to the Maxwell Amusement park in Regina although the drive to get to the field is the only disadvantage but it's worth it. It's also a good thing because you're spending time outdoors as well.

As for a rating, I give this place a 4.5 of 5. There are a few minor things they could work on but they'll get to it eventually. They are a great crew with a great field and great service giving you a great experience.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

justinnoob Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hybrid paintall (new indoor and outdoor speedball and bushball), much MUCH better than paradise.
Review: Personally, I do NOT intend to return to this field any time soon. Sure you go there once or twice and you think its great, but after going to a place like the new hybrid and talking with thier staff, I really noticed how poorly managed paradise is. FIrst off, if you have an electric marker or any marker you care about, do not let them touch it..I've seen that the main solution they have to fix guns is dump lube in the asa and shoot (very bad). The fields, I shouldn't even be getting started on these BUT for you people's advantage I will. Keep an open eye and you start to notice hazards such as terrible lighting (indoor course), scrap metal and thorns (most courses), things like broken beer bottles in the staging area and on some fields (indoor is where I have seen it most). THe staff (mainly brenda) are pretty nice and relaxed which is why I'm giving it a 3 instead of 2 or 1. She's fun to talk to and always cheery. The proshop is another downside of this field in my opinion, Les' prices are WAY to high, and I mean WAY. He sells DYE invisions for about $30 more than anywhere else I have seen them, and has a very small supply of stuff for how long they've been around. Now a days whenever my friends want to paintball I ALWAYS get them to go to hybrid, not only is the new location nice heated indoor with new inflated bunkers and a good playing surface, but the staff is alot more experienced with your electric guns etc, turning out some of the lights makes for some fun game play with a bunch of guys. I'm going to give this field -2 for condition of fields (with all that metal laying around make sure you get your tetnis and hepatitis shots), -2 for the cleanliness of the field, and another -2 for the terrible condition of the masks and guns (some masks don't even have any foam left in them!!! I Mean how bad is that???), and finally another -1 for the way overpriced but small selection of things in the proshop...bringing my total to 3.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

snipergirl Friday, August 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
phantom paintball- Lots of sand very scary indoor
Maxwells- very fun.. there one feild
Hybired- needs more feilds
Directions
to the Field:
in phonebook
Review: I have played at paintball paradise the last four years. I have only been out a couple times a year. This year has seem to be the best year.

STAFF>>>First of all I was very happy to see Brenda back at PBP, she is one of the best workers out there. Anyone who talks to her she makes sure they are walking away smiling, and her herself always has a smile on her face even at the end of a very long day. She is very well knowlegde on everything there and always makes sure everyone is being taken care of. I always thought she was the one who owned this place (I have never once seen the real person who owned it). The men who fix the guns and fill the air make sure everyone is being handled and trys not let the line up get very long even on really busy days. The last couple times I've been out there I have had kelly Jo as a referee she made sure every one in my group had a good time, she is very easy going which made it alot more fun but still was not scared to tell some one if they were not following the rules. I never had another referee on the play field with us, but as we were walking down the path I've seen them standing on the path (i dont know how the rules are for them but how do you make sure people are following the rules if you cant see them???). I have also seen other groups walking down the paths without there masks on (which i thought was very unsafe since there is play feilds right beside the paths) Well the referee's were walking way ahead of there group and not paying attention.

FEILDS>>> I love PBP for the fact they have a number of different feilds. All most every time you dont have to wait around for a feild you want (other then the weekends which is very busy) But all there feild a had a really good time on. But the castle was a little smelly. Some of the other feilds had some garbage on them, they all need a little clean up. But other then that i love the fields there.

ECT>>> This place is one of the best places i have been to. The stuff is good. The guns are always working and clean. I advise to you that you bring our own clothes for playing but they do have rentals some times you can find the right pair but if you come later in the day dont expect to find much. The building is very nice, alot better then standing outside in the heat. The prices are very good, it is cheaper to go play paintball then go golfing and stuff like that and alot more fun. I would advise this place to anyone from the age of 15 up. I could keep going about PBP but i think i have wrote enough. I cant wait till I go out again.



Last edited on Friday, August 18th, 2006 at 11:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RandomFoolio Monday, July 24th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hybrid is new, but havn't been able to contact for a day
Directions
to the Field:
Highway 6 North>Etaples Road>Follow signs
or
Balgonie>Edenwold>Etaples Road>Follow signs
Review: Excellent site which has improved dramatically throughout the years I've played it. The staff there pays close attention to their customers and what each group wants. The responcible regulars are free to roam the area and play any scenario they wish while new and inexperienced groups are taken through the motions of what's tolerated as well as grounds for being kicked off the field. A variety of scenarios from hardcore woodsball to a town and castle seige.

Excellent improvements to the levels and care is seen everywhere HIGHLY RECOMENDED TO MY FELLOW PRAIRIE FOLK!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Roxy Pennec Wednesday, July 12th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: July 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There's a number I suppose, this is the best in the Regina area at least though!
Directions
to the Field:
From Regina, take Albert Street north out of town approx. 23km then after a small sign in the ditch and before a big old farmhouse, you turn East(right) onto a grid road. Don't worry, I have never seen anyone have problems with these roads! EVER! Take your next left north(approx. 1 mile/2.2km) and then one more mile unitl you see the signs and turn right into the parking lot!
Review: This is the best field I have seen!

Rentals:
-->The markers may seem outdated, but contrary to popular belief, they DO take good care of them! While Les(the owner) was fixing my Bob Long Millenium with some nifty customizations, I used a Black Maxx marker that chronographed consistently within about 10fps plus or minus of 290 using co2 on a hot day!!
-->Also, I've found if you're having a bad day out and they feel sorry for you, you sometimes end up using a 98Custom or something similar as opposed to the standard Black Maxx or Piranah markers.
-->My only beef is with the padding on the masks, it's often rather stiff and the elastics can be old, but they're still fully safe and in otherwise good condition!

Safety:
-->As a field regular, the staff usually leaves my crew and I to our own devices and justice; they do, however, usually send refs with newer groups and I have never seen groups of kids under age 16-18 without either a ref or a chaperon out with them at all games!
-->Masks required down outside the MASH area, plugs/bags and safties required inside MASH area at ALL TIMES!!
-->First thing that happened when we arrived and got our stuff prepared before we went out, ALL offsite markers were chronographed to be certain none were hot and all were in good working order! That's important because noone wants to get hit by a 354fps paintball!

ProShop/Services/Staff:
-->The proshop has improved over the years they now have a broad selection of markers and equipment, and anything that they don't have, they are willing to have ordered in!
-->ProShop purchases are all backed by a PBP Lifetime guarentee!
-->What can I say, the owner fixed/customized my marker for me while i was out with a rental! This is a man who cares about his customer service!
-->A decent percentage of the staff were at least members of highly competitive teams over the years! They deffinetly know their stuff and how you can be a better player!

Fields:
-->While some could use a good pressure washing and some fresh paint(castle, town) the fields were great! a full variety of about 10 completely different fields!(3 new ones in the last 2 years) just be careful after a rain! some areas are VERY muddy and boggy!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

scoprius Saturday, May 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at mr paintball in saskatoon and calgary there is only one thing you can really compair is you can choose to play paintball at them all.
Review: When I first started playing paintball the field was actually decent and the facility's were ok unfortunately for the younger groups going out there now the place I am sorry to say has taken a serious turn for the worse. This was my favorite place to play a few years ago but now i only go for a couple hours at a any one time. Now it seems as though the people who work their don't care about your safety i saw five little kids out in the staging area with no masks on and barrel bags off, and when i checked one of the kids guns i found his safety was off. The guns that Les has for rentals are THE actual guns i used when i started playing this wouldn't be a bad thing if they would maintain them and at least make em safe for the kids using them and the people who are around them. THe levels all i can say is they are really poor compared to how they used to be. Also the "airball field" Les has is just some old really leaky bunkers that look like he bought them from a garage sale. AS for the people who work there they are friendly and personable but there a little bit behind on technology, they did know what i was talking about when i said macroline they thought it was some sort of barrel all i could say was wtf?
As for Les himself he isnt that bad hes actually pretty nice but i think hes more concerned about being nice so you'll consider coming back. All in all i have to say if they made the bathroom sanitary the fields safe and had enough people to watch all the groups and got his staff up to date on the past 7-8 years of gear and innovations it would be a cool place again but the place is its alright for one or two time visits but if you're gonna be a return player id ask les if he needs some help updating stuff and fixing the rentals while you're there for the sake of a new generation of paintballers to have fun and be safe while there at it.

As for the raods going out there Les has nothing to do with there poor conditions its the local municapality they dont want to grate the road every two weeks so it gets really horrible also if it has rained alot recently you might want to postpone your trip as i have actually gotten stuck in my 4x4 F-150 diesel on that road and my dad almost got stuck in his F-250 trying to pull my truck out.
Last edited on Saturday, May 27th, 2006 at 11:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

spedx Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
splatter paintball
Review: safety- good stuff, very strict on the mask on, and barrel condom on in safe zone. not to
junk laying around. a microwave on the outside of the castle map. the indoor field
is a little dark but not that bad.

Prices- good fair price of $10 including marker, helmet, paint (50 balls per round), c02

fields- lots and lots of fields. many options and you get to pick which ones you play most of
the time. I enjoyed the castle and town fields. I think they have something like 11
fields or something.

Good stuff. I enjoy this field due to all the fields they have
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Po77InAtOr Thursday, March 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 25th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Phantom Paintball - Good thing that place closed down. Not only was it a safety hazard to then players, but also to anyone walking past the front door.
Review: Well, I'll start with the good. Les is smart and can fix anybody's paintball gun (except for his own rental markers it would seem, but more on that later). Also there is a large variety of fields...as long as you want to play in trees, trenches, and castles. Oh ya, I forgot about the mud pit that has stacks of old tires laying around that's supposed to be a "Tire Town". Well that's the positive.

The first time I played at this place I got sprayed with more paint out of my own gun than I did by any other person. It would have been more effective to just take the paint out of my gun and throw it at the people. At one point CO2 started spraying out of my gun and covered my goggles so I couldn't see. Not that I could see anyways. My goggles fogged up so bad I got lost just walking to the field.

But you won't have to worry about any of these problems because chances are you'll either get lost trying to find the place, or if you do find it you'll probably just lose your car in the mud trying to get there. Last year my friend was driving us out there and as we were driving the car was slowly sinking more and more into the mud. I was afraid we were going to simply sink right under the "road" and never be found again.

But how about that registration building? It was really nice of Les to put up 4 boards of wood to shield people from the wind. Because that's about all it is. Oh ya, and there's also a bowl of water to sh*t in that he calls a toilet. But how can it be a toilet if it doesn't flush? He also tried making it more homely by putting a couch in there. That thing would fetch a good price on the Antiques Road Show if you could ever find it under the pile of cans and bottles that are covering it.

And last but not least I would give you a warning. Get your tetanus shot before you go out there. There's more rusty metal laying around out there than at the IPSCO factory. I once ripped a fender off a rusty car that was laying out there and used it as a shield to storm the castle. Unfortunately that didn't work because I tripped over another piece of rusty metal that was laying in my way. Quite the field...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

papa boner 99 Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: July 8th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hybrid Paintball - some box with paintball crap in it
Maxwell- nice waterslides, best ones in regina
Directions
to the Field:
On the road 2 southey... some gravel grated back road...then u get 2 expierence the saskatchewan swamps as u make your way to the entrance...
Review: Paintball Paradise cud be improved greatly
Fields well the best field is the town other than the pieces of cars lying around.
THe castle, the inside of that thing is unsanitary like the toilets they have in the main crib. Personally id like some more quality fields maybe some barriers in ther rather than hiding behind some bush or a tree. A bunker/pill box wud be a nice addition.
THe price of pballs breaks the bank ... but i guess thats 2 be expected with all the upkeep and renovations they do ... not.
the staff are good ... friendly
facilities as i said the bathroom = unsanitary ..just piss in a trench ther not good for hiding in anyway.
Food well u do the birthday thing ask for the barby and hes got no propane and not hotdogs so u can scratch the food idea.
Bottle collectors notice > attention many beer bottles scattered threw out levels.
The entrance 2 the place needs 2 be fixed its a large muddy slew wen it rains... and vehilces get hit by idiots in ther 4*4's.
As a last point this paintball field needs heavy improvement the main reason most people go 2 it is because its the only paintball field thats close 2 regina .
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media