paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Red Fox Games Paintball Field / Red Fox Games Paintball Field / Red Fox Games Paintball Field / Red Fox Games Paintball Field

Red Fox Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
47Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 864-386-7304
Address: 1 Red Fox Run
Woodruff, South Carolina 29388
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
paintballer1182 Thursday, November 4th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 11th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC greenville- smaller. However PBC's scenerios are a little better than Red Fox. If you are looking for scenerio, PBC. Just to play, Red Fox for sure.
Review: I played paintball for the first time at red fox, and what an introduction to the sport it was!!! Vaughn, the owner, is great. He gave us all a safety orientation before we started. He yelled at some kids who were messing around. Their "proshop" is a dilapidated (broken down) trailer, so not very impressive... Their paint is a tad expensive, at $22 a bag. When I go, my friends and I combine money for a case, which is $60, so then it only ends up being $15 a bag. Their fields are AMAZING!! They have I think 200-300 acres! You would have to go every Saturday for a month from opening to closing to play every field! They have more than 20!! Refs are great. We were told that if we took off our masks (during a game) twice, we would have the choice to sit out a game or take the firing squad (everyone playing in your group gets to take one shot at you.) Lets just say no one took off their masks. Junkyard is an amazing field! It is in essence a junkyard with old rusty cars and even a German Half Track! Cool field! I also like Silverado, which is an old Western town that has a legit underground gold mine (no real gold.) Then, the kicker is Mile High City. They were the first paintball field to have a city of THREE STORY TOWERS!!! They have a legit HOUSE, yeah house to play on but you have to be 18.

Here is a list of firsts from their website:
Red Fox had the first authentic marine fire base in 1988.
The first actual bridge across a river in 1989.
The first junkyard in 1990
The first underground gold mine in 2000
And now the first three story paintball city, Mile High City! in 2006
THE WORLD'S FIRST FOUR STORY PAINTBALL TOWER in 2006

Overall Red fox is the best paintball field EVER. Only thing is that they don't have speedball. Which isn't a big deal for me, because I prefer woodsball.
15/10
Last edited on Thursday, November 4th, 2010 at 11:47 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sneakylilcreep Saturday, November 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
umm quite a few red fox is better than them all
Review: Red fox is by far the best field around the referees keep every game fair and are nice at the same time the fields are unique and the whole experience is just unforgettable the paint is fairly priced 20$ for a bag that will last you all day. The owner keeps everything in order he is pretty strict but thats a good thing when you have 50+ guys with guns in the same place
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jammer94 Wednesday, May 27th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 23rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have not played at any other fields this was my first time.
Review: I played paintball for the first time this last Saturday at Red Fox Games and it was sick! I was really worried that getting hit would hurt but it didn't really hurt to bad and the sting didn't last long. I had a good experience.

Safety - the owner gave a orientation and told us to keep our masks on. Our ref told us the same thing and also gave us safety tips on the fields we played. The ref did yell at some people who took there masks off so they take safety to be important.

Fields - they are all awesome at least the ones we played which wasn't every field but close I think. Junkyard was cool, Silverado was wicked sick and the wooded fields were way fun. I want to play again so I can play all the fields.

Hours - My friends were to tired to play all day so they were open long enough for all of us.

Prices - I can't compare to other fields but some people say the paint is expensive some say its okay. Like I said it was my first time so I don't know.

Services - they have drinks and order pizza. The pizza was good and they have pepsi and water but need sprite or mountain dew.

Pro Shop - My rental gun worked okay and I didn't buy anything

Staff - Just the owner and the refs, I think their were two refs that day. The owner was okay, I did see him trying to help some guy with a gun that wouldn't work but I don't think it ever worked right

Refs - Again, first time so our ref was the only ref I can talk about. Don't remember his name but he had a cool yellow and black mask and he was helpful to. My gun stopped working and he ran over to me and fixed it while other players were shooting at me. He was all over the field and seemed to do a good job.

Players - One guy in black with a spider man logo was to hyper about the game but everyone else was cool. The teams were pretty even but we lost a lot of the games all being new.

All together this place is way cool and I had an awesome time and will be back. On a scale of 1 - 10 I give it a 12 even though the rating only goes to ten
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

burlap1980 Friday, April 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none locally just home field in back yard woods
Directions
to the Field:
great directions on website
www.redfoxgames.com
Review: i wll rate this review on each section on a 1 to 10 scale 1=terrible 10=fabulous

First let e say the only reason i first playedat this field was because of the Web site layout discrpition. so GREAT JOB ON WEB SITE!!!!!!! 10/10

Hours: i get there about 8:30-9 (always people there before me) not sure when they close becase i am ussually exhausted by the time i leave.

Fields: there are Alot best way to decribe it everything but speed ball which is okay by me. also it is a very long walk to some fields and you gotta bring tanks and air to keep playing. the could really use a 4wheeler with a trailer to get you out there and your stuff with out lugging it around over all 8/10

Saftey: they do stress barrell plugs, barrell plugs, barrell plugs. over all 9/10

Players: they have all levels, most of the time they split you up by your guns no all auto teams vs semi teams on occasion they do let you stick with your whole group but dont count on it. Alsoit does have is share of cry babies, which can be expected because of the ammount of people that turn out. over all 7/10

Game Rules: this depends on the ref and the ammount of people you play with. they seem to change alot. the worst rule they have is the surrender rule. the reason i say this
is because they have a course called silverado city which is made up of a whole bunch of little one room shacks(lol best way i can desribe them) anyways all you have to do is put your gun in a window and yell surrender you dont even have to look at the person or people. and they are out no questions asked. i didnt like that at all. over all 8/10

Facilities: poor no bathrooms they have like 1 port-a-jon oh and it is nasty by like 10 am over all 2/10

Food: drinks for sale in the office(which are warm unless its cold outside but they are wet) . they will order you pizza if you want. over all 7/10

Payment options: There are none CASH ONLY. which can be a hassle. over all 5/10

REFS: this is hit and miss when i first started going to red fox the were garbage(the refs) but i have gotton some desent to great refs the last couple of times. 5/10

Prices: little over priced on the paintballs for the quality. what i mean is the price hat you pay for a case of 2000 you could go to the store and get a much better brand for the same price. they have all day HPA which is nice but i would like to see all day CO2 also other han that prices are desent. 6/10

owner: he is a good guy i do belive but is kinda arrogant because he has one of the better fields around and knows it he could use some more customer service skills but over all good guy.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer0808 Thursday, April 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Central (pbc)
Directions
to the Field:
Redfox is in the middle of the country, no lie. easiest way to get directions would be go to the website and check it out. if you have a Gps, totally use it!
Review: Ive played at Redfox for a very long time, im great friends with Vaughn (the owner), Joe and most of the refs. The refs are absolutely amazing, just like everyone there. They really help and show you how to have a good time. Vaughn and Joe are amazing also, they will help you with whatever you need. If you have a problem take it to one of them. Refs will help as much as they can.

Safety- Safety is very strict at this field. If you dont have a barrel plug in at all times(not in game) you will be told to put it in. if they tell you again you get yelled at. You must keep your googles on at all times even in the dead zone. You will be yelled at for that also. Safety first here.

Prices- prices are not bad here, if you have your own equipment its alot better and cheaper but you can play a whole day for about $40. When i play by myself i normally buy a whole case, cause im there from opening to closing time. i pay $78 for all day. Not to bad. if you need equipment they will supply you with that. for $20 you can rent a gun, mask, all day pass, all day air, and 100 rounds of paint. They also provide o-rings, batteries, pods..etc.

Food- they order pizza from a near by pizza place, a box is $10. they also provide you with drinks for $1.

Fields- the fields are great!! my personal favorites would have to be Silverado City, Valley of Doom (with alot of people), Fort Apatchy and Widows creek. they have 13 fields and they all are really fun and great to play on. If you want to see pictures of the fields check out their website.

Redfox is an alround AMAZING field. I love the place to death right along with the people who work there. Everytime I go I always have a blast and meet new people. If you really wanna have a great time with friends and just have fun paintballin, i would seriously recommend RedFox.

***Also if you have a group of 10 or more, call Redfox and let them know. They will have you a ref and everything ready for you when you get there. Its alot better than telling Vaughn you've got a group of 30 and having to wait, which waste time, which means less paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

raythedestroyer Thursday, March 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at least 2 others in the area- don't know the name of them.
Directions
to the Field:
check on the website.
Review: Joe the ref made the whole experience; for me. Very knowledgeable guy, about paintball in general, and the fields specifically. He made sure the matches kept moving, as there tends to be a lot of standing around talking about the match afterwards. We would grab enough paint for 3 or 4 games and hit the fields.

safety- I felt very safe- the call went out after the match to put safetys on and barrel plugs in before the masks could come off. Bubba kept taking his mask off before Joe said it was clear, and he finally got yelled at about it. Safety first.

Prices were as expected- If you're smart like I am; you can play a whole day on 1/2 case of paint. I chose this method at first out of cheapness, and it's made me a better player. Anyway, you can play a day on $40. what more can you ask for. We played at least 10 matches; and I have over 200 rounds left ( our team won every match).

There are so many good fields- we didn't even get to all of them. Who can beat 6 3-story buildings to play in? The junkyard and silverado city are AWESOME!!!!

No proshop- I have my own equipment; so it doesn't matter. They have everything you would need to play- air,o-rings,paint,etc.

Vaughn owns the field- He is a great guy, really makes you feel welcome. I can't wait to play here again-we drove 3 hours from Greensboro, NC area and played in the pouring-down rain.

So far, all the negative comments about this place have been from people not commited enough to the sport to buy their own equipment. A rental weapon is for 1 time use only, and before I played MY first game, I had my own gun. I have NEVER used a rental- how can you expect to have a decent experience when you weren't the one to clean or upgrade you weapon? I don't get it. I highly recommend this place to woodsball lovers who are commited to "marking" folks out of the game for a win.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

slimduck17 Tuesday, October 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Central - played at old field, but not the new one
Planet Paintball - never played
Weekend Warrior - Awesome field, but no longer open. Still have a shop though
Review: I honestly don't have many good things to say about red fox.

Safety - I see a lot of people saying that safety is very important at this field. However that can't be further from the truth. Refs really don't seem to care about anything there (at least the last 3 I've had didn't). If you decide to play paintball here.....BUY YOUR OWN MASK....I would put money down on the fact that the lenses on his masks haven't been changed in years. It is a good rule of thumb to change your lens every year or so (or every 10 direct hits to the lens itself).
Side note: regardless of where you go and play paintball, I always recommend you taking your own mask regardless.

Paint - His "high quality" paint is the cheapest thing I've ever seen. Throughout the day I would shoot somebody 5-6 times and the paint would never break. I was also hit 10 times throughout the day that didn't break either. For people who are new to paintball, and are afraid of the "pain" this can be a major turn off. When a ball doesn't break, it "hurts" a lot more. Not that it is painful, just that it will hurt worse and leave a bigger bruise for the following days.

Fields - This is the only place that Red Fox can shine. He has multiple fields for pretty much any kind of paintball you are looking for (except speed ball). His fields are generally well maintained, and laid out well. If you like playing paintball in the woods, then this is the place for you. But I like speed ball better.

Pricing - If you rent out a gun, please take an extra 5-10 dollars and get the "upgrade" package. the regular rental is a worthless gun, and for an extra 5-10 dollars more, it is well worth it for a 98 custom. The case of paint I purchased was $55, and I could get the same quality paint from Wal-Mart for about $20 a case.

Overall - Overall I think Red Fox is very poor. That is just MY OPINION though. If he would allow people to bring their own paint (and charge them an extra $40 or something), the this place would be awesome, and I would play there again. As it stands, I doubt I will ever play at this field again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer(()) Saturday, February 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Planet Paint Ball- PPB is cheaper but they never have anyone there and they do not care about saftey. Red Fox is a lot better but a little more expensive.
Directions
to the Field:
Get on to 417 off of reidville rd and then about 3 miles down past the bridge turn onto Lightwood Knot Road and pass a used car dealership then turn left onto Fowler rd it has a faded out sign. Then about a mile down the road you will see it on the right.
Review: Safety- They are pretty strict they do not allow you to take off your mask and read off the rules for each map before the game starts. They make it clear when to have your barrel plugs in and when the game starts and when it stops. Also when you are out the refs watch for you and if some one shoots you on purpose they sit out the next game.

Fields- They have 160 acres and 13 fields 10 out of 13 are great.

Hours- They open around 8 and close around 5 on Saturdays and open a little later on Sundays.

Prices- They are expensive. 100 balls 5 dollars, 500 balls 20 dollars, CO2 refill 5 dollars. gun rental 20 dollars it comes with GT 2000 Gun and a 9 oz CO2 tank 100 balls and safety mask. For 5 more dollars you can get the Tippmann 98 Custom.

Shop- The shop sells the things listed in Pricing. They also have sell drinks and pizza that is delivered from a local pizza place.

Staff- The staff is cool. The place is run by an older man who can be a little bit mean sometimes but overall he is cool.

Refs- The adult refs are great they make sure everyone is doing what they are supposed to and they watch carefully. The teen refs tend to sit back sometimes but by no means do they not care, they still make sure everyone is safe. It is sometimes hard to call for a paint check.

Facilities- It is a clean place but it only has a portable restroom(porta-potty) for a restroom.

Food- They have pizza delivered from a local pizza place. They also have drinks.

I play at Red Fox Almost every Saturday all day. I would give it a rating of 10 but, the only thing i do not like about it is that you cannot use your own paintballs. They will send you home if you use your own. I think they are just trying to make a load of money because they know people are going to buy them, regardless of the price. But it really is a great place to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

maizenblue44 Friday, May 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Saluda (which I think is better)
Directions
to the Field:
Honestly I cannot give you directions. It was absolute hell to get there. If you're gonna go use online directions use Mapquest, not yahoo. The field is located on a narrow stretch of road and is only visible by a worn out sign that is hard to see if you don't know what to look for.
Review: I decided to play at Woodruff because it was relatively closer to where I live than Saluda. First off getting there was awful. It was supposed to be a 20 minute trip that turned into a 2 hour affair of stopping and asking for directions. But that's not the fields fault, just don't use Yahoo's directions. However, Red Fox does not use road signs at all so don't expect to know if you're close or not. The owner was nice enough to provide better directions if you just give him a call.

=Fields=

Fields are decent. There is a nice selection. The junkyard, while it being alot of people's favorite, is trashy (people seem to really use it as a junkyard, throwing their crap everywhere) and dangerous. The rusty, jagged equipment will easily give you a nasty cut if you aren't careful. However, there are several other fields to go to and the rest are good. I will say the bunker is my favorite and was nicely constructed. Check the website for their list of fields.

=Staff and Facilities=

This is Red Fox's weak point. The main office/pro shop is a small house. It does not have a nice selection of buyable equipment. There is 1 portoilet. So while one guy is taking a dump, you're stuck waiting or going to the woods. I missed a game going to the woods while my party left. We had 1 ref in all of our games that complained that we were playing too carefully by asking for paintchecks. More definitely need to be added. The head guy is actually nice and he'll fix any problems with your marker.

=Equipment and Prices=

Prices are decent. Paint may be a little expensive but 1 box was enough for me and my friend. Equipment is poor though. They do rent out 98's but they are so O-L-D and not well kept. The person responsible for cleaning them just puts a hose down the barrel. That must be why they don't shoot very straight. The hoppers are also crap, they're held together with tape and the lid doesn't always stay down. Also expect misfeeds to happen regularly. So all in all, just bring your own gun and make sure it works.

=Conclusion=

I gave the field 6/10 and the only saving grace of it was the bunker field. If you go there with a mind set of the only thing that you will enjoy out of it is the paintball, then you're fine. Paintball is paintball no matter where you play but Red Fox offers some nice variation in your play. Just don't expect good facilities and hope that people in your party play on the honor system because they don't like to run and check to see if you got hit. Also to remember that if you actually want to have a good time, bring your own gun. You won't with their rentals.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

andrew2007 Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
ive played at triggertyme in columbia, but the fields and staff are not as good.
Review: well i got there around ten, but they start at 8 so you can get a lot more playing time than i did. i wasnt able to use my sp epiphany, so i used my diablo mongoose. well it was shooting at about 360 so the guy cut the spring some. i was ok with this because i had a spare spring. well it worked fine till i started noticing i would have to aim high to hit someone twenty feet away. i recronoed and was shooting abought 130. so i put the spare spring in and i was ok. I would never let him cut the spring unless you have a spare. the fields are great, but there is only one ref per fieldand its hard to get a paint check. the owner guy is really nice and he prays before they start which is a nice change. the hp fill stations were good and they got my 4500 up to about 4k. all day hp is ten dollars i think. but for co2 its five bucks per fill.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media