paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splat Attack Paintball Field / Splat Attack Paintball Field / Splat Attack Paintball Field / Splat Attack Paintball Field

Splat Attack Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
13Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 43719 258th St.
Bridgewater, South Dakota 57319
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Paricite Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Directions
to the Field:
Directions from there website are good. I'm not from around there and found it no problem.
Review: This is a very fun field to play at. There are a multitude of different fields there ranging from scenario style (trailers) to speedball (diamond field) the only thing they don't have is woods but that's OK because there are so many other field types to keep your time there interesting. They have very nice netting around the field so paintballs should not be able to hit the spectators or parking area. I cannot wait to return to this field again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

S/C Splinter Wednesday, October 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I dont know...I was an out of towner
Directions
to the Field:
Easy directions & maps on there website.
Review: i was referred to this field & after a 5 hour drive I was not dissapointed!!!

The pictures on there website give you a pretty good idea of the layout, but in no way can a picture express the feeling you get when you visit this field. It all starts about 5 miles before you get there; you realize that you are in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by endless field and run down farm buildings. As you pull in to the driveway the only reminder of paintball is the 4x8 sheet of wood bearing the fields name, otherwise you would swear that you were in a slasher film…You know, the one where the group of city kids run out of gas in front of the creepy place.

Staff

That is when you meet Neil and can rest assured that the place is legit; just forget about that boarded up old church building, after all you are here for paintball! To call Neil the “head reff” is a little insulting since he fulfills every duty of the day from rentals, waivers, rules, reffing, refreshments & gun tech to swapping stories & keeping the games fresh and moving. One thing that you will not find here is boredom; in fact we had to beg him to let us play the trailer fields over and over. Players are treated as guests & Neil likes to give his guests a full tour of the fields by mixing the games up.

Fields

In my opinion the “trailer” field is the end all be all. It consists of 7 single wide trailer houses set in a figure 8 shape with two large courtyards (the two circles in the 8…well not that kind of 8…more like the kind on a digital alarm clock). All the windows and doors are removed but many of the appliances and carpet are still intact. As you creep down the dark creaky hallways you pass doorways leading into bedrooms & bathrooms complete with closets and toilets. This is close quarter combat at its finest…but don’t forget about those courtyards! At times I found myself in a kitchen with balls ripping in through multiple windows, hearing players talking through the thin walls outside, and knowing that the enemy was in the hallway. Let’s just say that I bit my tongue a couple of times as I chomped my bubble gun in an attempt to stay calm. As if the trailers could get boring they have a twist…toggle switches. Each trailer has a clear plastic control panel with a number for each trailer on it, when you flip the toggle up or down you turn on a little led light under your trailer number, yellow or blue. This change can be viewed from any trailers so the scenarios are really endless.

The “diamond” field is there version of hyper ball with symmetrical diamond shaped pillars standing over 7’ tall. The “Alamo” is a huge trailer house surrounded by cars, fences & wooden bunkers designed for an attack/defend type game. The “crater” field is hard to describe as it has a hill…with a crater in the middle, trenches, tall grass, bunkers & semi truck wind deflectors to hide in. Also there are spools, irrigation trenches, towers, small houses (outside play only) and plenty of strategically placed berms that tie all the fields together into one big killing field.

I give Splat Attack Paintball two thumbs up and recommend it to anyone looking for a unique, realistic but fun paintball experience. If you make the trip remember that it is fairly windy there, so don’t forget your lip balm & plenty of water. While you are making a checklist remember to leave any attitude you may have at home, they don’t play those games out there. Say Hi to Neil & ask him to show you his Sponge Bob Square Pants BBD…

Last edited on Friday, March 30th, 2007 at 11:46 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jtpro024 Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
flags and wheels indoor more scenario kinda style
Review: This is a much larger field than any i've played on, there are actually multiple fields on the whole premesis. They have hpa fill up and co2 u can rent automags or the usual 98. paint was at about 17 for 500 kinda expensive but w/e. big teams we had around 13-13 it was a good time. refs dont really show up and there is usually only one. they make u chrono ur guns-plus. can bring ur own paint and gun which is nice. overall i love splat attack its my fav field ever go there when u get the chance!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DragonFire Friday, May 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Darkside Paintball Arena, Urban Warfare, Air Assult, Al's, and all the fields the NPUC runs through.
Review: I was just there for a scenario event and I had a blast. Arrr. The place is set up so that the rec player will not get board. For the speedball players, there is an air field and a diamond field for speedball. The staff is great and very helpful. The prices are reasonable, although the paint prices might be a bit spendy. But with that come a day of unforgettable times. They put on awesome scenario events as well as providing a great day of paintball. I would suggest this place to any scenario junky out there.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 24th, 2006 at 7:51 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazyjax Thursday, December 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Splat attack is the ONLY field around, in my opinion. I've been by the other fields to take a look, and none of them even compare. Some of them are O.K., but Splat Attack is the only one I play. The reasons:

1.) Friendly knowledgeable staff. Bruce, Neal, and all of the other folks that work at the field know their stuff. If you've got a problem with your marker, and they can't figure it out, they'll loan you one of theirs. They're always helpful and friendly. (even when they give you a bad time, you know it's in fun. For a couple of old guys they sure can talk smack. Problem is, they can usually back it up.)

2.) Terrain, and field. This place has the best terrain around. Trenches, Trailer houses, and bunkers galore. I just wish he had one nice forest plot, but I can do without too.

3.) Camaraderie. I started my paintball experience at Splat Attack, and I've never regretted it. These people want me to have a good time while I'm there, and they want me to be safe. What more can you ask for?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

sfbpplayer Monday, August 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Played them all, this one is the best
Review: This place is the best. You have fun, the two guys out there always are ready to help you if your gun breaks, like mine has. OK, it's a bit of a drive, (30 minutes) but well worth it.
What can ya say, it's the best damn paintball field PERIOD!
Last edited on Monday, August 30th, 2004 at 6:40 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spencer14 Monday, March 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played/reffed the local paintballl field in Sabin and this field is much better. It is better because it had a nice air ball setup and the Diamand field is awsome.
Review: I played on the airball and diamand field in a paintball tourny. It is a very fun field to play on. If you are ever in the area come and play on this field! It rockes faces off. This field has good size and a lot of play styles to choos from. although I only got on 2 fields all of teh fields looked very fun. It is a very good place to hold a tourny and i cant wait to play it agian next year. I hope that it is as good as it was last time. This guy knows what he is doing at this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skov_82 Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played at Dark Side paintball in brookings, and a self constructed speedball course for my buddies and i to practice on. splat attack is way better. more fields, more styles of play, and the guy running it (Bruce i think), knows his stuff.
Review: this field, as i stated before, has several fields, accommodating any type of player. they even have tourneys and events here if you are really big into paintball. the only problem is the road trip there, a couple hours for me. but if you want a good paint flinging time, i recommend this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cedryc Wednesday, October 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at just about every field within 500 miles.
Review: First of all I will admit that this is a biased review. I learned paintball at Splat Attack and I am a founding member of the tournament team sponsored by Splat Attack. I am good friends with the owner Bruce and a better proponent of the sport I couldn't imagine.
The fields are varied and anyone should be able to find a favorite area with ease. For those who like slingin paint like a madman there are the two speedball fields. The "Diamond Field" (my personal favorite) and the Airball Field wchich is made up of inflatable bunkers. For those who enjoy creeping and crawling the Main Field or the Crater Field are well suited to that particular style of play. If you would like a mix of style there is the Speedball Field (we really haven't named it yet).
The equipment is first rate. I usually end up using a rental at tournaments when my gun breaks down. That says alot when a rental can be used against some of the top end guns around and believe me, the rental gun can definitley keep up. Bruce supplies CO2 and compressed air to ensure everyone has juice for their gun for all day fun. The paint is top quality. It may be a bit more expensive but I have played all over and find Splat Attack's paint prices comparable to any other field around. Just remember, you get what you pay for. Bruce supplies top quality paint at reasonable prices, and if you are dissatisfied with the paint Bruce will do everything in his power to rectify the situation. By the way, the paint he sells the common customer is the same paint we on Team Demolition use for tournements.
Sportsmanship: this is what really seperates Splat Attack from the rest. When you go to Splat Attack you can expect to play with/against some of the best players in the area who just happen to be really nice guys. When Bruce recruits for his paintball teams he looks for more than just talent at slinging paint. Attitude is everything. Every sponsored player brings that upbeat attitude to the field when we practice or show up to help out. Many a time I have loaned my own gear, including gun, to a newbie and we are always ready to hand out advice to those who ask for it.
All in all, Splat Attack is the place to go if you want to experience the best paintball has to offer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DilbertSD Thursday, September 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban Warfare - not near as good, but MUCH cheaper!
Review: Overall, this field is excellent. The variety is spectacular, you NEVER get bored or tired of doing the same thing. They have great obstacles (trailers, great course design, etc...) and also there are many fields (5+ fields??) to play on. The people are really friendly and also very welcoming if you happen to be a newbie (the first time I ever played paintball I went there and they got me hooked on it). Like the other reviews say, they do have many rentals, CO2/CA fills, paint, and anything else you might need. They even have neck protectors for sale! The past few times I've been going there, there haven't been many other people; you end up playing 2 vs 2, or other small team games. Also, the prices are a little high. You have to pay a $5 entry fee and then another $10 if you use your own paint. If you have the money, the place is spectacular. If you're short on cash though, try Urban Warfare at Dell Rapids (www.Siouxfallspaintball.com). It's not near as good or have any of the variety of the courses, but there are always people there and the prices are very affordable (free admission, wholesale on everything else). So, if you can afford the much better course at Bridgewater, then go for it. You'll have the time of your life. If you can't though, give Urban Warfare at Dell Rapids a try. You'll still have alot of fun; and it's a heck of a lot cheaper. In the end, you get what you pay for.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media