paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fort Paintball Field / Fort Paintball Field / Fort Paintball Field / Fort Paintball Field

Fort Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
40Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 972-442-9777
Address: Dillahey Rd
Allen, Texas 75002
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
mustang2012 Sunday, January 23rd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 2nd, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I will never go back to Fort Paintball again, it is completely unorganized and unprofessional - I will first tell you that the road to get in is in terrible condition, the whole place is run down and dirty, they only fill your co2 up maybe 1/4 full so i ran outa air every match. The refs don't even know the field rules so they tend to just make up rules during the match, they also have a tendency to make calls favoring their friends who are a group of punks that use this place as their home base. The only good things i can say about Fort Paintball is it is reasonably priced and the guys working up front are nice and helpful. This doesn't make up for the inmature refs, the small, run down fields, and the low co2 fills.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dye21 Tuesday, December 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
Across from South Fork
Review: Um these fields here at fort are ok. They have two barrel fields, two lego field , a field that has a fort in the middle and the players start on either side and then finally the have an airball course that is pretty fun. The refs are pretty cool and they do their job. They have a little building at the top and they have drinks up there and you can order pizza from Dominos.

They have a self serve air that is pretty cool. They do sell their own paint which is about $50 which isnt that bad. Other than that the place is fun and i go all the time.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChuckDMac Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Official Paintball Games in Forney
Xdrenaline in Grapevine
Review: A couple of friends and I walked on this past Saturday afternoon and these are my ratings and comparisons to the other area fields I've played.

Safety: They never gave a safety speech when we arrived, but as I said, we walked on in the afternoon and are all clearly past our teenage years. So it's possible some of the younger kids got the speech at another time. They did repeatedly ask people to put on their barrel socks in the staging area and masks on in the field, so safety was a priority for the refs.

Fields: The fields were pretty standard fare. There were two barrel fields and two lego fields, all of which were about 30 yards by 50 yards. Real basic setup. They had a fort that was fun to play, a small structure on top of a hill rising 10 feet above the surrounding field, with the two teams approaching the centrally located fort from either side. More interesting cross-fire opportunities. Overall, though, not nearly as good as either Forney or Grapevine, both of which have larger and more interesting scenario fields.

Pricing: Only $20 for admission and all day air for walk-ons. Very cheap. They were charging $15 for 500 rounds of paint, which is pretty steep, but you can bring your own.

Facilities: The staging area was all right. There were several picnic tables scattered around outside of the check-in counter and equipment storage area. The air was self-serve, which was convenient. Not as nice as Forney but not as crowded as Grapevine.

Refs: Contrary to previous reviews I've seen here, I thought the refs were pretty good. They got walk-on games started fairly quickly with only 5-10 minute breaks in between games. They were quick to investigate "paint check" calls and called the games fairly. High marks for them.


I went out, had a fun time for a cheap price, and got well ref'ed games. I give it 6 out of 10 stars. Good place, but nothing spectacular. Still, I won't hesitate to play there again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KevinIsKool Saturday, January 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Official Paintball in Forney
DFWAP
Xdrenalin
Directions
to the Field:
Take Parker Rd. From plano toward the allen/parker area.
Review: The staff there is really friendly and the owner with her little dog. At Fort they enforce that you have your masks and barrel socks on when at the field. The keep constantly saying "Put your barrel socks on!" The refs are nice and in high school, but they are lazy sometimes. What's really nice is that i went with some friends(12 people) and they let us have the private party fee of $15 for walkons and $20 for rentals. That also included free air. What really sucked is the rentals. The rentals were stock Tippmann 98 customs. They only got off about 3 BPS and curved alot. Other than that the refs have a good sense of humor and make your expierence awesome!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NY Yankeez Saturday, January 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Avoid Fort Paint ball if at all possible.

Pro's:
1. Cheap
2. Multiple choice of fields
3. Self-service air is convenient

Con's:
1. Absolutely no safety meeting letting the children and inexperienced know the rules which is very discomforting considering paint ball guns are EXTREMELY dangerous. There was two occasions where actual refs were walking through the resting area with a full tank and loaded hopper with no barrel plug/bag. There was absolutely no regard for safety from ANYONE.

2. Road leading to field is extremely bumpy. If you do not have an SUV or a truck I would recommend finding a ride with someone who does.

3. The "staff", if you can call them that, were, for the most part, young, rude, and unhelpful teenagers. The young man behind the register exchanging money was the only "staff" member that bothered to do anything.

4. The "staff" thought it would be a good idea to burn excess card board in a barrel in the middle of the "resting area" which was extremely annoying. Thick black smoke coupled with a terrible burning smell isn't the best atmosphere.

5. My small group of 4 was 100% disregarded for a half hour or more and given the run-a-round by three or for different "staff" members trying to find a ref who would either put us in a group or start a group to ref us. We were sent back and forth from the fields twice so the "staff" members could do as little work as possible. When we finally got a game started the ref stood on the side the entire time not moving or enforcing any rules what-so-ever. There was a point where a player was angry at the end of a match for being shot and he took off his mask and began shooting at the opposing team. The ref was oblivious of the entire incident.



Bottom Line:
This place is cheap and you will understand why after you have been there for about 15 minutes. There is a multitude of fields and they are maintained but they don't come even close to making up for the monumental problems with this field.
Last edited on Saturday, January 12th, 2008 at 6:07 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jag989 Saturday, January 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I had a horrible experience at the field today. They have nice fields, nothing special but well maintained (speedball was not inflated).


Refs......
The average age of the refs running around had to be probably 13 or 14. After checking in and paying the field fee I had to wait maybe an hour for one of the 10 ref's wandering around to feel like actually taking a group out on the fields (they wouldn't let you go by yourself). The ref's try to promote an attitude that they're having to go beyond their job responsibilities by actually walking a group to a field and maybe starting a game.

At one point several of the ref's started throwing plastic piping into a fire they had in the staging area- the smell was rank.

Pros:
Price

Cons:
Ref's are incredibly lazy
Very slow between games
Ref maturity level is lower than their already low age (14-16).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RedHead7 Friday, March 30th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Madd Dogs, Official (in forney)
Directions
to the Field:
Near South Fork Ranch
Review: Has Great Refs =]
all the people there are really helpful
Speed
This Place is heaven compared to Forney or Mad Dogs for instance if u go to forney u have to pay like 35$ to rent a single gun =[ and its 4 hours of playing time =[
HERE AT FORT
its 20$ if u brought ur own stuff and 25$ if u wanna rent a gun and its all day and u can stay as long as u want
ANOTHER plus side is u can bring ur own paint =] un like forney =[
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

tippman warrior Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Forney, WiseGuy's, and Mad Ivan's. I like this one a bit better for the price, or maybe because of the people i went with today.
Directions
to the Field:
Close to Southfork Ranch.
Review: I really like this place for several reasons

1. The price: this is probably one of the best places to go if you don't want to spend too much money.

2. The service: I thought that everyone there was pretty nice and quick about doing what they needed to do. i did realize that they were a bit lazy though. most of them just ended up hanging out somewhere that you couldn't really reach them. they are really good about trying to help though. my gun got a leak today (or something, i don't really know) and although they couldn't fix it, they gave me a free rental. i didn't have to pay even 1 dollar.

3. The fields: they had several fields of all sizes that were well set up. they had a "Storm the Fort" field that i liked a lot. they also had 2 barrels fields, 2 Lego fields, an air ball field, a trench field, 2 mound fields (which may have been part of the fort field) and i also heard they had a woods field. for the price, this is practically a dream come true.

4. The players: they had a bunch of people there playing, which were pretty nice and also competitive. just to put this out there though, newbs should only play with their own friends, unless they have some sort of amazing natural talent. just about every group has their "god" for lack of a better term. there is always the one guy that kills 3 people and ends up in a standoff with the other "god". Also, single triggers are not the best thing to use. BRING YOUR OWN GUN!!! when mine broke, i got a rental, a tippman 98 custom (hence the name tippman warrior). I got slaughtered, lets just say that.

negatives

1. Rules: they are not enforced. I was out there shooting 367 fps (i didn't know the max, my friend said it was 400, it was 300) and nobody said anything until one kid got hit and asked how high i had my fps. The one thing they do enforce is the barrel plug. they yell if you don't have it on.

2. Food: they have NO FOOD AT ALL!!! I walked up to get some lunch and asked, "hey, what kind of food do you have here." they said, "none." the only thing they had was a banner saying a number to call to order pizza. they did have Gatorade, water, and soft drinks though.

3. Safety: they have one little bit of net blocking off the little recreational area. no others whatsoever. i was even walking along the path and saw a car get hit with 2 paint balls. i went ahead and wiped it off, but i was still thinking that they should do something about it. also, the net has several very small holes in it. no one was hit through them, but it seemed to be a problem.

4. Facilities: they should have water fountains. also, they have 3 outhouses, which i guess wasn't too bad, but they were extremely dirty. There was 2 cigarettes in the toilet, and the toilet paper was everywhere but the roll.

total, i gave it an 8 because even with those negatives, it really wasn't bad. i had a lot of fun and for the price i think its great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bilal320 Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Forney and On the Run
Directions
to the Field:
near southfork ranch
Review: Place has definantly improved since the first time i went there two years ago. Price is great and BYOP. The refs dont ref unless u have a large group but u can bribe them. Very nice people willing to fix guns and stuff for free. Many profesionals hang out and use the xball fields like Garcia Brothers and gk Army. I do not recommend this field for newbs....only for Amautures, profesionals and experienced rec players. Rules arent that strict but can be inforced. There isnt really proshop i needed a new straight elbow and they didnt have one instead they gave me duck tape.Isnt really organized we played a 12 vs 12 on a small xball field which was a combination of profesionals from gk army and rec players. theyre isnt any real food the best thing is to order pizza from the sign there but there drinls are well stocked. Field paint is affordable. Staff is friendly and nice but lazy.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

severepb Monday, October 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
terry's paintball town- Terry's is way better than Fort-just my opinion. I highly recommend Terry's- terryspaintballtown.com
Review: safety-good. people are always told to put on mask- don't have a safety speech for noobs
Fields-ok. I like some of them
Hours-good hours- not long enough though
Prices-high
rules-good enough
sevices-good except they don't fill c02 tank all the way- when i used c02
proshop- not enough gear to sell
staff-they're ok- let me get a water with out paying right away- let me pay later when i got money
refs-F, don't always ref- they just sit there or not ref and eat lunch.
players-good people
food-none

the road to get there is bumpy
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media