paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Liberty Paintball Field / Liberty Paintball Field / Liberty Paintball Field / Liberty Paintball Field

Liberty Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
104Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (845)878-6300
Address: Rt. 22 South
Patterson, New York 12563
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
FeXoNe Monday, November 21st, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 19th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: My bro and I just played their this weekend. And I gotta say playing for over 10 years this place is def the most oraganized & professional run paintball field EVER !!!!! I was very impressed with their setup. Heated rooms where u grab yr paint and fill out the waivers. Also food area is there. Cant say i EVER seen this at n e other field ! THe price is more then fair. The fields are great, great bunkers, cool setup and field design. Safety is FORCED HEAVILY ! And trust me, I never have a problem with a place doing this.

My only negatives, they dont play each field twice. Every place I ever been to always lets that group rotate to give the other side a chance to play from that area. Which I think is fair. They dont have enough refs !!!!!!!! As the day gets later and the place fills up the teams get bigger. Not enough refs !!!!Their is a LONG wait time in between games. We sat around mostly while other fields werent even occupied. Def more refs. And last , they had a CRAPPY batch of paint. It was softer then soft. Broke alot of paint through out the day as well as alot of other people their that we spoke to. Also had alot of people just wipping paint. Hence if their were more refs we could have more of them to police what was going on.

Overall I'll def go back, no doubt about it ! Price, safety, and the fields. Cant ask for much more !! Hopefuilly they'll have better paint this time ! :)
Last edited on Monday, November 21st, 2011 at 12:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vertigo_07 Sunday, December 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Paintball In coram- Semi-decent field. However, fields were small and without variety.

All other fields I've played at are indoors, so comparison to them is a moot point.
Directions
to the Field:
Unknown: all I know is that it's at the top of a mountain. Check out Google maps or a GPS if you're driving there.

A note to those bringing a personal vehicle: don't bring anything fancy up this thing. You have to go up a pretty rickety, non-paved gravel/dirt road to get to Liberty Paintball, and your ride WILL get dirty, fast.
Review: I went up here with large group from my college recently, and the following is my experience. I'll break it down into Fields, Facilities, Staff, Prices, and Services (Food/Paint/pro-shop)

Fields: the fields I played on were excellent. Great variety, good layouts, and very conducive to fever-pitched, story-worthy firefights. It should be noted to those playing on the brush field, however, that there's some kind of farm next to it. The local wildlife, it would seem, have the keys to this field. Beware of unusually large animal droppings when diving for cover. Full marks. +2

Facilities: Anyone used to typical outdoor/indoor bathroom facilities, be prepared for a pleasant surprise. This place has a large, heated, indoor staging area, complete with some kind of granite tiled bathrooms with indoor plumbing, CLEAN stalls, soap, and air dryers/paper towels. In short, you would find these at a tourist visitors center in a major city. Just awesome. +2

Staff: Here's a bit of a falling point. Though the refs were nice and informative, they did a terrible job of reffing the actual games. We unfortunately had some rather unscrupulous wiping characters along for the ride. A point for decency, but that's it. +1

Prices: Paint is 70 a case, admission is 25 if you have your own gear, with all day air included. 7 bucks for BT paint grenades. Compared to most fields I've seen, this is a bargain, for the paint especially. +2

Services: Another reviewer said beware the food, and I'll support this. Though I've eaten far worse, I'd advise anyone with a sensitive palette/stomach to avoid their hamburgers and hot dogs. The paint was pretty good (it's their own custom ball), insofar as it shot straight, broke on target, and never broke in my gun. Their proshop is pretty limited; my pistol needed a ball detent of the kind found on tippmann 98's, and they didn't have it. Since this is a pretty basic spare part, I'd say don't rely on them for any kind of repair. They do stock some basic packs, JT masks, and BT paint grenades. Lastly, they have a pretty simple do-your-own air fills. There was never a line for these, as they had at least three fill stations open. Food aside, their services are pretty good. +2

Bottom line: Liberty paintball is a great field, so long as you go in a private party. I can't imagine what walk on play would be like with the quality of the refs. Their indoor plumbed bathrooms are a heck of a treat, and their services and fields are awesome. Go with a private group with experienced, honest players, and you're guaranteed to have a good time.

Final rating: 9/10

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

moses688 Monday, November 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox 4, Executive, Matts, ASP.. almost everywhere in MA and CT I forgett all the names over the years.
Review: Based on 1 trip to this field I would say it's decent, I definitely had fun.

Pros:
Well organized
Never had to wait Nitro fills
Large staging area
Allow people to grill / picnic
Allot of fields, with interesting layouts.

Cons:
Team sizes exceeded 40 on each team at times, on such small fields that all the games were a mess.
There were 4 to 6 reffs in every game, but just not enough to police the amount of players.
Wiping was ridiculous and blatant.
Paint was expensive ($70 a case), and severely out of round which effected accuracy.

I'd go back to this place but I'd prefer a field with smaller game sizes, or bigger fields for those team sizes.

I was with guys that said the place usually has more people than that, but this is my review based on one visit.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jawshoouh Monday, September 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 26th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Could be some, I'm not sure...I try to play here on a monthly basis, and have only played at Skirmish, PA and once at High Velocity (my review of HiVi here: www.pbreview.com/fields/reviews/1169).
Directions
to the Field:
www.libertypaintball-ny.com/directions/
Review: Fields: Western Village is probably my favorite, followed in a close-second by The Village. The Crypt is also fun but only if you have a decent-sized group, as it's one of the larger fields. Nine fields in all, although two are very small (one is airball, one is speedball). 9/10

Game Customization: If you go with a private group, they let you make your own playing rules (like no gun-shots, elbows-to-knees only, surrender vs no surrender, etc.).10/10

Paint Quality: The price of the paint and the quality you get for it is fantastic. I've never had a ball break in my marker, I've never observed any paintballs with dimples in them out-of-the-bag, and the paint actually marks people you hit with paint rather than bouncing off them and doing nothing. 10/10

Price: Reasonably priced, at least compared to the other places I've played at (a smidge lower than playing at Skirmish, quite a bit lower than playing at High Velocity). Cases of paint are $70 each, or 100 paintballs for $7, 500 for $25, 1,000 for $45); $25 registration if you have your own gear (includes free air); $30 registration if you're renting (includes Tippmann 98 Custom, goggles + mask, and 50 paintballs)--$5 discount on registrations for groups of 20 or more--$5 for camo jumpsuit; $5 for harness + tubes that hold 200 paintballs. You can only use their field paint, but if you have any left over, you can bring it back (most of the time, it's been like this 100% of the time when I've played there) the next month or next few months and use it. I normally go through a case to a case-and-a-half, so for a single day, it cost me $125 (get the $5 discount because I go in groups of 20+ and normally I buy my own case and go halvsies on a second case with someone else). People who have come with me in the past who have had to rent end up spending approximately $70: $25 ($30 for registration but knock off $5 for the 20+ people discount), $10 for camo and harness/tube, and $35 for half a case of paint when they go halvsies with someone). 9/10

Safety: Emphasized often. "Goggles on, barrel plugs in" is pretty standard nowadays. Also made sure people with their own gear were chrono'd properly and moderately enforced after the fact (beginning of the day, there's normally a ref at the checkpoint before you go to the fields that checks your wriststrap for the "C" marking stating you've met their chrono spec, but as the day wears on, they tend not to check as often. 10/10

Services & Facilities: They make hamburgers and hotdogs that's decently-priced and drinks from vending machines, but to be perfectly honest, I wouldn't eat their food again with my enemy's mouth. I'm not sure what kind of mystery meat is in the burgers (maybe a mixture of the farm animals and wildlife in the area?), but for those with weaker gastrointestinal systems, you may find yourself in the bathroom shortly after digesting it. I highly recommend bringing your own lunch. There are plenty of tables to eat their food (or your food) at inside a covered building or outside at picnic tables dispersed throughout the parking area (which is nice for people who want to hang out by their cars, listen to some tunes, mingle with their group/other groups). Also there are plenty of trash cans around so people don't litter, although people do anyway.

Speaking of the covered building...used to be a few years ago, going into the bathroom/changing area was a daunting adventure, but sometime in early 2010, they renovated and have dare-I-say NICE bathroom facilities now. Stalls (with hooks on the inside of each door to hang a bag on) with indoor plumbing, working sinks, and paper towel dispensers. This may sound pretty common for most bathrooms, but as far as paintball facilities go, this beats any others that I've been to in the cleanliness department (at least early-morning to just before lunchtime, then human nature takes over). There are also two vending machines for ice cold drinks (bottled water and Powerade) and snacks and they usually have a free cooler with cool water nearby.

2/10 for the food, but 10/10 for the facilities. Being that I pack my own lunch now, I'm giving them a 10/10 for this one.

Staff/Refs: The staff there is excellent. It's normally pretty busy when I'm there and they seem to be able to manage the chaos quite well. Friendly and courteous has always been my experience with them. The refs are good at their jobs, too. They take safety to be the number one priority, but making sure we have fun was always a close second place. Granted, I've only played with walk-on's a handful of times and was lucky enough to not play with any unruly types, so I think we also made the refs' jobs easier, too. 10/10

Total: 68/70 (97%)

Summary: I try to play here once a month from September to June (July and August are just too hot). Maybe take a winter month or two off, depending on how cold it gets. But my core group and our friends/friends-of-friends who go here have always had a great time. Great staff, great service, and great ROI for what you spend to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShOtZ Tuesday, September 7th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 5th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
high volocity (long island)
Directions
to the Field:
used gps. fyi- dont take a fancy car cuz u will have to drive a mile up a very rocky dirt road to the top of the mountain @ 10mph
Review: Admission was $20 because we had a group of 20+.
Regular admission is $30.
Case of paint was $70 (2000 count).
Cheese burger $3 each.
Gatorade $2.
note- if you have ur own compressed air tank you will have to fill it your self at there fill station.
fields are huge. to the point that 10 on 10 people where getting lost. wish we could of played 20 on 20.
refs were alright. didnt do the best with getting us on the fields we wanted but they were fair.
i realy liked the fact that the parking lot was very close to the rest area. on our break everyone just hung out by there cars, ate and listen to music.
worst thing about it was noone inforced volocity. i have huge bruses because people where shooting well over the max.
othere than that had a great time.i will def. return to this field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SirBarnabas Monday, August 9th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 8th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish USA
Low Country Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
We used a GPS. We were on the Saw Mill Parkway to I-684 which I believe turns into 22. Its right off of 22. You enter in by a ski slope which you drive up and around.
Review: I recently played in one of their Big Game events and I have to say it was overall a great experience.

PROS
-The prices were reasonable, the hours were good.
-The fields are exceptional mainly because they were extremely well kept minus the large amounts of animal droppings.
-There were a couple of transport vehicles which inserted people behind enemy lines. -Most of the players were really friendly.
-The set up for the scenario game was really creative and the various missions they set up were a nice way to change the pace of the game.
-I had no paint break and I went through about 1000 rounds.

CONS
-The refs for the event were quite poor. During the morning session we were told that the defenders were going to be reinserted every 10 minutes. Well, the ref at the dead zone said that she was waiting for someone else to give her the go ahead but nothing happened for 20 minutes so we basically let ourselves in. Since they kept the defenders from reinserting while the other team was reinserting every 5 minutes, you could imagine how badly we were beaten. To make things worse, I saw on MANY occasions, refs sitting on the side lines talking amongst themselves when they should have been on the field stopping players from overshooting at people they had already gotten out. Overall the refs were really unbalanced and disorganized.
-The teams were also unbalanced. It looked like they put all the walk-ons on one team while they put the pre-registered players on another (of course this is speculation). We had a lot of very young kids on our team who sat around the back shooting at this tin building. That's fine if they don't want to get shot but they were counted the same as all the experienced players were and it just felt really unbalanced.
-The use of generals was kind of lame because they let anyone volunteer to be in command. They should have had experienced staff members be the generals for the event like they do at Skirmish USA.

OVERALL
I had a fun time because my friends and other team mates worked really well together and didn't take it too seriously. A few of the refs were good and helped keep things moving. It was a little chaotic but of course it will be like that when there are about 400 people playing in one game. My rating is 7/10.
Last edited on Monday, August 9th, 2010 at 1:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bob5457 Monday, November 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
nyc paintball
Review: This is a nice field. It's a huge woods field (I'm told over 300 acres) and it also has a little bit of speed ball. The woods fields are nice but watch out for animal leavings because the farm next to it lets there animals roam the fields. But other then that theres nothing eles to watch out for.

The games here on the weekends can get up to over 50 on 50, but they don't separate the high tech players from the noobs with rental guns so the games are really one sided some times. But when a woods game lasts about 2 minutes the refs are smart enough to change up the sides so the refs are good.

The only complaint I have is about the owner. The first time I went there they used green paint. But I didn't go to this place in around a year and they had switch the paint to a custom ball. Then the owner was going to make my buy a another case for $70 when I had already had a bad with 500 paintballs. So the friend the was got into a big argument with him entill he finally let us use the paint. So everyone out there if you have green paint from Liberty Paintball be prepared to argue with the owner because the only thing he cares about is making money off his very highly priced paint.

Overall I like this field but every time I go I just avoid the owner. So my rating is a 8
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

lstratos Saturday, November 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 31st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Neuburgh, Top Gun, Cousins (Long Island), Skirmish
Directions
to the Field:
You can find it on their site
Review: The place is not bad, a lot better than some of other surrounding field.

This place has REAL bathrooms, not the pooper portable potty. Running water to clean your sweat or paint off.. There are grill services during lunch. Also local deliveries will go up the hill

The staff will give you paper towel to clean as needed. Strict on barrel plug/condoms and masks when on/off the field.

I noticed the fields have changed a few times, looks like they were improving or moving things around so it does not feel boring if you play a lot.

They do chrono heavily, field paint is pretty cheap.. If you notice people jack up the gun in the field, just mention it to the refs, they'll kick them out
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SnipaMike92 Sunday, July 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 19th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High velocity.....Long Island
Directions
to the Field:
Website.
Review: Ok to start off this field is great. Today was the first time I played there with all my buddies and I had a blast. We arrived at like 845 for registration and we had no waiting to register and get briefed. The refs did an excellent job briefing every new player. Safety seemed like the number 1 rule for Liberty. The refs were very strict on masks on walking to and from fields. Paint checks were often and the refs are chill during the game. Game time waits are short and gives u just enough time to refill air and reload paint. An hour lunch break is great to relax and talk to other players. The fields are awesome and very strategically layed out. World War II is the best field in my opinion or the Western Village because of all the sniping oppurtunities. The games started out 6 on 6 then eventually exceeded to 20 on 20 by the end of the day with more and more people walkin on into the game. The refs did an oK job evening out the teams, but there are always those guys with high-end electros on the other team when we have a bunch of newbs so we had a bad record today. The pro-shop stocks hoppers,harnesses,goggles, everything except guns. Very go0d food available at good prices. And the thing that I like the most about this place is the walk to the fields are equal because the base is right in the middle of all the fields, so they are all an equal walk away. The prices are good for the quality of paint that they have. The rental guns are pretty good as my friends have told me from their experience.

OVERALL-
This field is a go0d woodsball field and I really want to try the speedbal field as I favor speedball. a very good place to try out....please do....you'll have a good time...the only reason I gave it an 8 was that one guy really mouthed off to my friend and there were surrender problems on the field that the refs I think took care of.....nd some games were to big and hectic with too many people on one team....so an 8 is suitable....this place is GREAT!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer7193 Tuesday, May 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Madness, and im going to Yankee Paintball soon
Directions
to the Field:
www.libertypaintball-ny.com for directions
Review: AMAZING field...Refs are chill.the big game was the best game i've almost ever been to. The owner Frank is really nice. Kind of pricey. Even though the Big game was in the rain and muddy it was just an amazing experience. This place is DEFINITELY worth going to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media