paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Liberty Paintball Field / Liberty Paintball Field / Liberty Paintball Field / Liberty Paintball Field

Liberty Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
104Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (845)878-6300
Address: Rt. 22 South
Patterson, New York 12563
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Soul06 Tuesday, April 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Within 1-2 hour radius to me:
High Velocity (=) slightly more creative fields, especially the castle, but also more expensive
Cousins (<) Virtually ALL woods fields.
Top Gun Paintball (<) Nice fields but could be alot better
Skirmish (>) Just due to sheer size and number of fields, available equipment for rent and/or purchase, knowledge of techs
Review: This was my first trip to Liberty. I had visited the website many times and was eagerly anticipating visiting. I must say that after the wait to check this place out........I am NOT AT ALL disappointed. If anything I wish I would have traveled there alot sooner.
My cousin and I went as walk-ons so my review will be from that.

Pros:
Clean facility with working indoor plumbing and staging area. (I don't know of any facility with indoor plumbing. Atleast not since Skirmish changed their staging and registration area to the field location)

Creative large scenerio fields
I loved playing these. Especially WW2 and the field with the fire truck in the middle. I understand there a few of other fields that I didn't yet get to play yet.

Refs
I have to say I was impressed to see refs so adament about not only making sure the players kept their goggles on but searching, both pre and during games, for players using illegal paint. Also they really to extremes to make sure games were called fair. Hit players being called out and all that.

Prices
$25 to play with my own equipment which included air. And when you are use to paying $100 a case only having to pay $70 is BEAUTIFUL. Add to that that I only shoot about 1000 rounds a day. Its not the greatest paint; DXS something, but it had no dimples (atleast not in my two bags) and I had no breaks in my SL8r. Plus my shots were pretty much dead on so I'm happy.


Cons:

Chrono Enforcement
Though it was announced numerous times over and over, "Private Guns MUST be Chrono!", it wasn't truly enforced. Though I did chrono my marker I could have easily slipped into walk-on play without having done so. After chrono'ing just a simple mark was put on my wrist band (which also wasn't throughly checked). I think a better idea would be plastic wire tie around the macro house. Its far more easily noticeable and can be easily removed at the end of the day.

Wait time btwn games
I fully understand why it took so long between walk-on games. New players needing to be briefed and added in. players needing time to reload and all. But still I have to be honest in that I did find it to be an annoyance waiting between games.

Lack of knowledgable techs
(not a major problem for me) I guess I am spoiled by Skirmish in this area. So far no field as really been able to keep up in this area. But I have grown use to the techs they have which have, in my experience, been able to fix virtually any problem brought to them; rental gun or personal equip. Again I say its not a major problem for me because I can tech my own equipment but others might need the help.
Gettign shot in the back of the head by your own teammate at almost point blank range
OKAY this has NOTHING to do with being the fields fault. I'm just still alittle salty but so noob shooting me in the back of the head...lol

Conclusion:
All in all I would recommend this place to any player that likes both scenerio and woods fields. Fields are well put together and alot of fun.
Last edited on Tuesday, April 21st, 2009 at 5:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

PureTrash Monday, December 8th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Directions
to the Field:
Look it up
Review: Pro's
-great fields
-great refs - we had a young hippie kid in a scarf who was mad cool and let us do whatever we wanted
-we had a private group so we got in a lot of games - try not to be a walk-on
-food was cheap and ok
-price was decent
-every staff member always reminded you to have a mask and cover on - good cause 1 of the guys almost shot himself in the face
-Great staff over all

Cons
-Paint Paint Paint - lots of dents and ovals
$70 is a decent price but if we had the option I rather pay more for better paint
-owner had no clue about gun repair but the other kids working there did-


would be a 10 but the paint really sucks
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gary12445 Wednesday, November 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in the area, (out of towner from New England)
Review: Pros

This establishment has the best fields I've ever seen hands down. It is really an amazing display of excellent paintball field investment with plenty of well constructed bunkers, lots of creative carpentry and the layout is great. I love the World War 2 field with the tanks carved out of wood. I have never been to a paintball park with so many good fields.

Also, safety seems really well under control at this field.

Cons

This place drew a huge crowd of walk-ons the day that I went and I was very impressed with the turnout but I couldn't believe that they do not keep the rental gun players and noobs separate from the more experienced players with upgrades. It was just a hodge podge of about 40 on 40, all different skill levels. Why not break it up so the noobs don't get trounced and experienced can actually bunker someone without getting booted from the game? It seems like a no brainer, but my guess is they don't want to pay for the extra on site ref or 2 for this to happen. What's with that 10 feet mandatory surrender rule? It seems ludicrous. Just keep the electros away from the rentals and all will be happy. I mean once you gut more than 30 on 30 you really should break the walk-ons up.

At one point, the manager walked away from his loud speaker to announce to everyone that they should not plan to come around noon since they will have to sit for a while due to mandatory lunch. Are they kidding? Does he not know that some people travel over and hour to get there and 9:00 am arrival just doesn't work? Why not just keep the games rolling and let people sit out a game or two of their own choosing to eat?

Also not a fan of the rec grade DXS paint. The bore is way too small, they shoot terribly compared to RPS stinger (about the same price) and the field paint price of $70 is highway robbery. Hey, I know you guys need to make money, and paint is the way to do it, but $70 a case? That's high compared to many other fields.

In conclusion, I would say that this place has the potential to be one of the best fields in the country, but the management decisions are hindering it. Don't get me wrong. If you haven't been there, this place is worth the drive and definitely a field that is worth going to for the field bunker eye candy alone. I'd give it a 7, but a 10 would be easy for this field to get if they made some changes.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

mateonunez504 Friday, June 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
hogans alley, splatter zone, strategy plus
Directions
to the Field:
route 22, use mapquest
Review: my favorite field. There's always at least 50 walk ons, always open, refs have energy and there are plenty of them. Paint is way too expensive, but id rather cop a seventy dollar case and have kids to shoot at with it then grab a fifty dollar case and play with a few noobs. A lot of down time between games is the only problem I see. they really need to pick it up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Soskel Saturday, May 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Don't know
Directions
to the Field:
map quest
Review: This is a good field. I would rate my experience a 7/10

Pros:

Refs are strict about people being safe.
pretty good fields/courses
staff are very nice and helpful - They will help you with marker problems
The manager is very nice.

cons:

waiting time between walkon games can get a little long. I would suggest that they run the same field twice in a row, with each team changing sides on the second game. Also - once they had speedball going, and normal walkon going at the same time. If you wanted to play speedball, you could do that, or you can play normal walkon. This was a great choice. I suggest they do this routinely

People there can be a bit rude. (not the staff, but other players.)

The fields COULD be better. Not really an issue.

Waiting time to check in and get gear can get a little long also when the place is crowded.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

shockerluke14 Sunday, May 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
crazy paint- good prices 1 small field
cousins- great field could use better refs
Directions
to the Field:
map quest
Review: i go to liberty all the time and they are one of my favorite fields

fields- great they don't play x ball during rec games but great fields they added one called mission command
refs- are good and will help you with your gun (at least the expensed ones)
cost- is 25 all day with your own stuff paint is orgin for 70 a case so it could be better prices
staging- tables, bathrooms, workers, best staging I've ever seen
time- is OK 10 min or so but games are long so don't forget your pods
lunch- is good 2$ a hot dog 3 for a burger and vending mashienes

a great field try it out

8 out of 10 due to high prices
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shadow dweller Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
not much
Directions
to the Field:
check thunder ridge ski area un map quest
Review: Well I love the field and the scenarios are good but rare and the paint is 70 a case not bad. But anyway the wait time is so freaking long between rounds. Weeks ago we would divide into teams and would do a field then fip sides then go to the base. But the last few times its walk to field play round and then back to base then ....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

seavet2000 Thursday, December 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This field is great!
High Velocity (Coram), Cousins
Directions
to the Field:
Please check their website, it is well detailed and the directions are excellent and very easy.
Review: This is a unique field in my experience, a square donut with parking in the middle. I don't know how people drive in and out without getting hit by a paintball, but I've never seen it (another testament to their excellent safety practices). The staff and refs are courteous and very fair, and I haven't seen anyone actively cheating without the refs getting on their case (cheating there rarely occurs). Facilities are excellent; I love the self-fill air stations (safe, and provide higher pressure than I am used to at other fields, so I can stay in longer!), and registration or getting paint never takes a long time if you get there early enough.

We usually play all day there when we go, and we always have a terrific time, even if it rains. The price is a little cheaper than other fields I've been to, and appropriate for an all-day paintball game. This is a popular field, and we have seen 300-400 people there at a time. The scenarios are terrific, and they recently brought equipment such as mines and machine gun nests, and especially launchers back into play, which are great against their tanks and APC's. It is also fun to have the tank or APC on your side, especially when you are hitching a ride behind enemy lines. Air strikes are new to me (a general can call this in, and suddenly a ref comes up to you to tell you you've been bombed) but a new twist that can add to the realism. The variety of fields positioned continuously around the donut offer a nearly seamless blend of terrain that keeps you in your game, including woods, buildings, trenches, ravines, and speedball courts. The unique donut shape means that no matter where you are on the field, you won't have to walk back a mile after getting tagged out.

They have introduced some new twists to the scenario games, such as an all-morning attack and defend (with both teams switching off after 30-45 minutes), so the games have always remained exciting. The other players who also appear there are good sports as well, and it has been fun playing alongside them. Their last game like this was on November 25th, and we had a blast, no question.

Give Liberty a try, you'll have a great time! We plan on visiting them often!
Last edited on Thursday, December 20th, 2007 at 3:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheUnkown Sunday, November 11th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bunch.
Directions
to the Field:
map quest.
Review: Ok, first off, this field is great.

First, the refs. The veteran refs at Liberty are excellent. The guys on walk ons every week like mcnulty, james, parks, sully, big john, joe, and a few others are the best in the game. These guys work their butts off to do their job correctly. They are always focused on safety and do their best to take into account and correct any complaints that you might have in the day. They try to make the teams as even as possible, and they aren't afraid to split up the regulars. I know all these guys on a personal level, and they are all good guys. Now the new refs, are complete opposite. They are slow, lazy, and just plain dumb. Before every game, the veterans tell the new guys where they need to be when the game starts, ad the new guys always go to the wrong spot. When they actually do paint check, they take forever, and it takes you twenty minutes to get them to check the right spot. They are not vocal, and do not move around much on the field. The guys who have been there for a little while know what do, as long as the veteran guys are pointing them in the right direction. When the veteran guys all go off to college or get new jobs that pay them what they deserve, this place is in trouble. I've been playing here for a long time, and the veterans they have now are some of the best they've had up here. They've already lost shaggy, and rumor is james, mcnulty, sully, big john, and a few others are going to be leaving real soon.

The guys who work inside full time are all good guys who are on top of their game. They are fast, friendly, and know what they are doing. These guys are all veteran liberty guys, and are also god refs.

The fields here are excellent. The variety of the fields are huge, and they are well-maintained. There is the problem of the regular guys always sticking together, but the good refs are always good about making teams even.

Wiping can be a problem, but its just like at every other field. The best part about guys who get caught wiping here is that all the refs will point him out to everyone and call him a cheater and make him look like an idiot. Mcnulty and james are loud, and it is funny to watch them.

The prices here a good. Its 70 for a case, and 25 to get in, but with free air, and the large amount of fields, its worth the money.

Ok, my biggest problems with the field are this: The owner and manager. The manager is just plain incompetent, and always pins his mistakes on the other guys working there. He will stand there eating, telling other people to do his work, and will just watch as the counter is swamped. The owner used to be a great guy. He used to treat his workers well, but word on the block now, is that he is a greedy, greedy man. Now for the sake of the refs, they do not discuss their wages or things like that with customers. They are professional and keep that information between themselves. That doesn't mean that I haven't overheard them talking about things, and rumor is is that they get paid crappy wages and raises are rare, even for guys who have been working there for a long time. The owner has had the busiest year yet, and hasn't helped any of his workers out. The reason these guys pick this job up is so that they can play for a real cheap price, its no secret. But now, the refs rarely get to play like they used to. Here and there they get to play, but not that frequently. If your not going to let them play, at least pay them more. These guys work hard to make you money, and most of them do a decent job at this, and you return the favor by giving them the shaft; that's just poor leadership on your part. You do not treat your workers with respect, and that is why more and more guys are planning to quit or find other jobs.

But i'm not grading the owners, I'm grading the field, and while the good refs are still around, this field is excellent. Go here before the better guys go to college.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
11 Comments - Add Comment

mercenary42 Monday, July 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
EJAM1, EJAM3, HVII Coram, NJ NAM 07 at Cross Keys, West Point
Directions
to the Field:
Direction are on thier website. Very easy to find.
Review: I was the General for the Yellow team at Liberty’s Big game on the 29th. I came up with a group of 35 guys from the ERSA. To a person, we all had a great time. When all the fields are combined, you basically have one big donut with the parking in the middle so you have two fronts to deal with. If the enemy drops off troops with the APC, then you got three. I guess I will just air strike that bad boy, sorry you Blue guys.

The scenario involved a tank, ACP, air strikes, medics, missing people, and things. It keeps it interesting for people who like more that just shoot them up, but the shoot them up people have fun too.

Then fields range from flat very nicely setup towns, hills, ravines, woods, thicker woods, a swamp and impassable brush. In short, all terrain for all different people.

The refs were young but very professional. Safety was enforced and that is very important to our teams. The only thing I regret was not knowing the fields and the scenario rules before I went there.

You guys have great place, keep up the good work. We’ll be back.

Edit 8/1/07

I would be remiss if I did not thank all the Yellow and Blue players who played that day. Obviously both sides were trying to win, but it also seemed that everyone was there to have fun too. I personally did not observe any cheating or wiping. I also want to thank that Blue guy who surrendered me instead of shooting me from 10 feet away.
Last edited on Wednesday, August 1st, 2007 at 7:22 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media