paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Liberty Paintball Field / Liberty Paintball Field / Liberty Paintball Field / Liberty Paintball Field

Liberty Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
104Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (845)878-6300
Address: Rt. 22 South
Patterson, New York 12563
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
jeneato1 Monday, June 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, TopGun, Ejam (indoor)
Directions
to the Field:
You can google map "Thunder Ridge Ski Area" to get a physical address. They have the same entrance.
Review: Facilities Pros:
1. Staging and parking lot are central to fields. Easy walk from field to field.
2. Bathrooms are indoors and relatively clean. Itís not the cleanest but itís not a pigsty or porto-potties.
3. Grounds are well kept. I saw little or no garbage/boxes on the grounds.
4. Decent cafeteria. They have your basic cheeseburger, hot dog and chips menu.
5. Refs were young but they were easy to work with.
6. Entrance and paint prices I would say are in the midrange. $70 for a case of paint here is better than $95 @ skirmish)

Facilities Cons:
1. Not enough lockers, but then again the parking lot is close enough to the fields. So you can always leave your stuff in the car.
2. They could add another chrono for faster velocity check turn around.
3. Proshop is small. If you forgot some basics like a barrel plug, spare orings, squeegees or air tanks they can accommodate. But donít expect to see the latest and greatest markers and upgrades for sale.
4. I would recommend bring your own drinks. Vending machine prices are on the high side.

Fields Pros:
1. Woodsball fields are well designed. Better than the bigger establishments Iíve played at.
2. Structured bunkers seem to be better thought out as supposed to just pilling left over wooden pallets randomly in the field.
3. Majority of woods fields we played in were thick woods, which provides plenty of shade and natural bunkers.
4. A good mix of terrains from hills to flat open fields.

Fields Cons: (None yet. We were able to go to the fields we wanted to play in)

Over all our private group had a great time here. We had experienced and beginner players in our group and all had a gratifying day of paintball. We prefer to play more woodsball than speedball so this place was able to accommodate our style of play.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Inquisitor23 Friday, May 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 21st, 2002
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NYC Paintball - LI City
E-Jam 1,3
Cousins - Plattelkill
Review: This place is OK, moderate prices, good fields for rec ball. However some of the staff and possibly owners are not very nice at all, at least from my experience. They only want to cater to newbs, experience players not need go unless you want to play with walk-ons or private have your own group of 20 or more. Protect your gear, even if one of their staff breaks your stuff, they won't take responsibility. I do feel bad for that one ref, and he told me the owner said it's his responsibility to replace the hopper he accidently stepped on. The refs are getting better, try to do a good job by calling players out when they should. There isn't much for speedball there. If you like occasional recball, great place to be! Paint prices could be better, maybe if they offered two types of paint, one at $70 and one at $45/35. They don't have much inflated bunkers for speedball - that photo on their site isn't accurate. Over all the field is good, we bring big groups there two to three times a year. Frank is a good guy....
Last edited on Monday, May 28th, 2007 at 7:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

cjd2411 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Directions
to the Field:
http://www.mapquest.com/maps/map.adp?formtype=address&co
untry=US&popflag=0&latitude=&longitude=&name
=&phone=&level=&addtohistory=&cat=Liberty+Pa
intball+Game&address=&city=&state=&zipcode=
Review: Great place, food is very good. Terrain is amazing, I love the crypt! You will get tired on the steep hills, but you'll be fine. Games every weekend, which is cool. Varying terrain is awesome, their tank is pretty cool(though it broke down in the middle of our game). I totally recommend going!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

vinyard223 Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: I would like to say that Liberty has grown alot since I first started going there.

The owner has changed his staff, added more playing fields, added more refs, has added older more knowlegable refs, lowered paint cost, added more fill stations, improved the check in desk area (by seperating rentals, fill station, and sign in area).

I played there last Sunday, and the games were great. There were alot of advanced players. They divided the walkons into beginner and advanced, I would say there were about 60-70 advanced players.

We played plenty of games. They have really pushed between games to get peolple ready for the next game, Maybe 10 min. between games.

And as for Frank ( the guy on the intercom). He's only doing his job by getting people down to the staging area intime, and he is advertising the Big game schedule for the field, yea commercials are boring, but its good business....Wouldn't you do the same???!!

So for me and others I know Liberty is a great field for balling. They have lots of walk ons every weekend, good prices, large fields, multiple fields(9?) wooded and open w/ buildings, fast pace between games, and as far as I can tell the refs are doing all they can given the size of the fields and the number of players involved.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

RedAngelEyes Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Survival NY, Skirmish USA, survival is o.k, skirmish is the best i've ever been to.
Review: I went back to Liberty for my first time playing this season. It's still a nice place to play, close to where i live, fairly priced and fun. My major complaint is the paint that they sell. My friend and I bought a case of paint each, pulled the balls out, and every single ball was out of round in both cases, they resembled golf balls with the amount of dimples they have on it. For $70 a case, i'd expect a decent ball that actually goes straight, and does not break in your barrel all the time. Both of us had bore kits, and every ball had a different size, and even at .694 balls were breaking in the barrel, accuracy was not even an option, it was point and shoot and pray it goes where you want it to. They used to have much better paint, I don't know what happened, but the paint we got today absolutely ruined the day, I shot through half a case and gave the rest away and left. I do not plan on returning until they fix the paint problem. I brought both my Dm7 and A1 and for the first time ever, they shot like crap, along with about 5 or 6 other people that i asked. So for that i've dropped my rating of the field to 3 for the biggest waste of money and a day.
Last edited on Sunday, April 6th, 2008 at 1:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PballPlaya187 Sunday, April 1st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Velocity, Paintball Arena (L.I.), Skirmish, Hogans Alley, Survival NY, Paintball Long Island, Champion Paintball.
Directions
to the Field:
libertypaintball-ny.com
Review: Time for someone to actually post up a non-biased review of this place, so here it is.

I've been coming to tis field for a while now. It is EXCLUSIVELY the field i go to when I am bringing friends or family members who are new to the sport. It is absolutely great for that. The Rental Equipment is actually not bad, the fields are large, and they are either woods field or they have some pretty nice fields with purpose built plywood buildings and tanks and such. You can tell that they actually put alot of time into their fields. Most of the fields have netting around them, although even behind the netting they still make you wear your goggles. thats not really a big deal, you cant blame them for emphasizing safety.

Like I said, I come here when i'm bringing someone new to the sport. Because all of the players that go there pretty much suck, and all the ones that think they are good cheat. I've noticed over the 6+ years I've been going there that people have started to realize what I am saying, because in the time I've been going there, I have seen a steady and very significant decline in the number of players showing up with their own equipment. Me and my friends that play wont even go there, why shoot a bunch of N00bs with rental equipment?

I mean, the general feeling I get when I go there ( I have a Russian Legion Shocker and show up and wear my team jersey and s***, whatever gotta represent you know?)
But I feel like I am almost not welcome when I go there. The field is headed up by two Italian guys. One heavy guy with an annoying voice and another guy who I'm pretty sure is the owner. A while ago he seemed very hands on, but in the months (it might be longer than that, prob. like a year and a half or so) since the fatter guy started working there the guy I think is the owner has taken a more back seat role and it shows. There are all these annoying announcements over the PA. they push their cruddy Big game alot, and the fat guy doesnt even remotely care about walkons. I mean he has been downright rude to me on a number of occasions. I dont know if its because I have my own gun or because I'm not from westchester, but i've never gotten a bigger attitude from a guy when I was forking over $140 for two cases of paint (horrible paint I might add). perhaps if I was wearing a camo jumpsuit and playing with a Tippmann A-5 Imight get some manners...

The other guy has always been nice to me. he used to play with their field team but i think they disbanded. he has been a huge a**hole to some people though, but mostly when they deserve it.

To some of the refs that work there, I saw your posts, and you guys take alot of s*** at that place. I hope they pay you good because I know you guys never catch breaks... and you're there from 9:00 to what? 4:30 the earliest? I'd call the department of labor on those idiots that run the place.... but thats a whole nother thing.

Bottomline is this. If you are new to paintball or bringing a group of people who dont play regularly or dont have much experience, this is actually a great place to play. Competition isnt that great, rental equipment is ok.

But I'll say this. If you are a upper level player you probably dont want anything to do with that place. and its ok, because they dont want anything to do with you, either.
Its a crying shame too... because they have 2 decent tournament fields that could be put to good use if the people that ran it actually played paintball.

oh and one more thing to the refs. you cant even say you guys are all about safety, if you really, really emphasized safety, you wouldnt still be using barrel plugs. You might be the only field in the COUNTRY that doesnt require barrel condoms. Next time that fat guy at the counter yells at one of you just threaten to call their insurance company, i'm sure they'd love to hear that one...

Bottomline is that this isnt a field for real paintball players, because it isnt run by paintball players. Take the drive, go play at HiVi or Hogans, its worth it, its cheaper and the guys that run the show there (James and Nick, respectively) ACTUALLY PLAY PAINTBALL

And to the refs, you guys have more leverage than you think there, you should step up and use it...

I'm sure this will be disputed by somebody, but that's all the truth, and that's coming from someone who has been there countless times, for 6 years, and was just there this past weekend.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
27 Comments - Add Comment

suckorduck Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: March 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Champion, Skirmish, Rexplex, Cousins Survivor
Directions
to the Field:
www.mapquest.com
Review: I have been to this place plenty of times and its tons of fun for everyone. If you live in Westchester County its really easy to get to and its also close. One thing I really loved there is that they dropped their price on paint from $90 to $70 a box. Even though its still pricey its better than it was before.
The staff has improved also and I am very happy with it. Before the staff wouldn't do their jobs on the field. Now they are more strict with the paint checks and safety issues. The best thing there is that they are very strict about their safety which is a great positive. They always make sure you have your goggles on at all times.
This is a great place if you like woodsball more and some of their fields are small but not small enough for speedball.
Their food is decent but a little pricey. Quantity of food is small for the money you pay which doesn't satisfy your hunger. They only serve food once which is at their lunch time. But they will still serve you food after of what ever is left over but it wont hot.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Mgb Friday, January 26th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High velocity,cousins,and rex plex
Directions
to the Field:
believe me you dont want them
Review: My friends and I set up a group of people to go play paintball and since a few of my friends said its good their we agreed to go. Any way when we got their it was on top of a mountain and since you can ski on the mountain there was snow so we had to take a ski lift up and then walk about a half a mile to the waiting area and then we paid and all that.Then we started to hear the rules they were so stupid you cant shoot from 30ft away you must surrender.The fields were huge you would spend about a good 15 minutes until you saw somebody. The one rule I liked was you can shoot on full auto.The food was bad and the cafeteria smelled not even food,paint,or sweat.One thing I learned never listen to my friend about paintball again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
18 Comments - Add Comment

ghettoduck Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
this is the only field i have played at
Directions
to the Field:
IM not sure
Review: Safety- everything was very safe there and when i didnt have my barrel plug in everyone started making a comotion to put it back in

fields- the fields were great, there was a huge variety and all were very fun

Prices- they were expensive, 70 bucks for 1 case of paintballs (2000) is a little much but 20 bucks to get in was pretty good

staff/refs- in my experience one of the refs was good and into the game while the other was lagging around and not really doing his job

facilities- not the greatest but waht do you expect

food- not bad
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

DM592 Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
NYC Paintball
Stamford Madness
Crazy Paint
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
Review: Ever since I've been playing I've gone to Liberty. I thought it was the best place on Earth. Nice fields, indoor staging, and food. I must of gone there 10 times before I realized how much money this place costs. $70 a case, plus $20 entry, plus $10 for nitro, then another 5-10 for food. The refs weren't the best, I always called myself out. The November BIg Game was a mess. Move, shoot, get shot from behind. Not even the slightest bit of strategy coming from the so-called "leaders" of each team. During the Big Games, everyone was in "God-mode" there must have been 20 refs for like 200 people so wiping was just a habit. The food is very good, though. And the "fill-it-yourself" system is simpler. The chonro area is fairly good. My favorite field was Western Village, only place where the refs actually saw anything in my experience. I'm sur[irsed they idn't hire any more refs by now. I'm probably not going to go back for a good while, but would recomned it for people with cash to spend.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media