paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Semper Fi Paintball Field / Semper Fi Paintball Field / Semper Fi Paintball Field / Semper Fi Paintball Field

Semper Fi Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
31Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 2149 E. Badger Rd.
Lynden, Washington 98264
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
pballboy16 Tuesday, April 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just friends' houses, but some of my other friends have played at others.
Review: This review is as of April 27, 2004.
The Good:
Carl the owner and operater is hilarious, he's an ex-marine that doesn't take crap from anyone.

He's putting in two new fields next to his shop, a Hyper ball field, and an Airball field, he says it's costing him 10K to put them in, so business must be good. Once they're in there will be more tournaments, my friends and I are making a team right now.

The rec field itself is good, no side really has much of an advantage over the other. Usually it isn't very muddy at all.

The barrel field is really fun, close range fighting, huge rush.

Doesn't overcharge at all, prices are very fair, gives big discounts if you use his paint, so don't bring your own. Besides he always has fresh paint that hasn't been sitting in a warehouse for a long time.

Carl is very friendly to regulars like me, he knows me by name and chats w/ me.

Gives out free hot dogs and pop for lunch, has big inventory of food and cold drinks to buy for cheaper than at a store, belive it or not, and if you forgot to bring some stuff from home, like a barrel bag or 4got your mask, he will let you borrow one.

The Bad:
The "refs" are just kids he has hired, some don't really do much, if you yell for a paint check, most the time you don't get one.

Walking out to the barrel field is a little muddy, but if you can't handle that you got problems.

Rental guns and masks are a bit old, beat up 98 customs, but they work fine.

Overall this field is awsome, and as sonn as the new fields are in (should be w/in the next week) its gonna rule even more.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jared Bailey Sunday, February 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Panther, semper fi is alot better no comparisen
Review: Semper fi is by far one of the best paintball fields that i have ever played at. Alot of the people making reviews here are saying carl is mean to ten year olds and he yells alot. Well i don't know about you guys but i wouldn't want to go to a field ran by a sissy. I think it is halarious when carl yells at people cause usually they deserve it. Theres nothing bad about the field except for the walk that you have to take when you are going out to the barrel maze. Oh and carl rocks.
Last edited on Sunday, February 8th, 2004 at 11:59 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Victor Miller Sunday, December 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
A few in everet and seattle
Review: I was at the field today and i though that it was great. Many of the other review here a older, at least 8 month +. The field has changed a lot since then. There are a total of three fields there now, but one is barely ever used. There is the normal field right by the shop of the field. The bunker field is what i think it is called. The field has four base and only two are used at a time as there two teams. All that means is that the two teams start at only one base, then they can go anywhere they want on the field after the blow horn goes off starting the game. The other field is the one that is almost ever used. It is the center forest field, and to tell the truth i have only played on it in 2 years. After the 2003 24 hour game the field depo field got larger, about X5. Bu t i am not sure if that part of the field is used, as a whole bunch of newbes were complaing about having to walk all the way over there. The field has barrels as bunkers and i is a lot of fun to kill newbes.

The field has very safe rules that everyone has to go by. Like 3 shot limit and always wear a mask durring play on the field. Karl the store owner may seem not to really give a dam( I had to spell this wrong as the stupid site would not let me spell it right.)
But over all he will talk to them and i it does continue he will bi*ch at them some more and that usually shuts them up. From the day i first went there i have always felt safe and in other reviews the people that are there are really nice. I f you were to go there for the first time i would help you.

The price for air will be $5 dollars flat fee in the new year and now it is $1 for air
For a 12 oz co2 it is $3 and for 20 $4

As said by Karl today " If i could not yell at people i would not have a reason to live anymore, so they should just kill me now." Or somthing like that. So if you ever go there and he starts to yell at you he does not mean it.

Buying a gun at his shop is also a great idea, as if the gun breaks, he will supply you for the rest of the day with a free rential gun which are Tippman 98 customs.

Overall a great field and people fun. FOR THE MOST PEOPLE, GO ON A SUNDAY AS THAT IS USUALLY THE MOST POPULATED DAY.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

snotnozedpete Saturday, September 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
ADR
Review: Yes its true Carl is a little harsh but if you were ever in the military he will make you feel like you are back in service. Not to mention hes totaly kidding . I think Semper Fi is pretty good I like the small main field the best. If you like it fast its a pretty good field . lots of cover, lots of bunkers. I dont really like the fuel depot but most people love it, just my personal taist. If you buy a marker from Semper Fi and have a problem they will take care of you ASAP. I havent met anyone there I didnt like and they are almost all honest. There will always be wipers and you cant do anything about that except shoot them again. I would recomend Semper Fi to anyone . Also if you have been thinking of playing and dont have anyone to go with just walk on and there will be someone who will make you feel like you belong there. (That sounded dumb but its true.) Theres also a bunch of older guys who always seem to be looking out for little kids to make sure they dont get lit up to much which is nice because when I get taken out I know my kid brother will be ok.(I would get in trouble If I brought him home hurt.) Oh and bring a lawn chair and some water.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shredder Tuesday, July 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Private woodsball
Review: The Good:


Excelent field layouts. . .Plenty of well made, sturdy bunkers for strategic play.

Reasonable prices. . .$60-65 per premium case (2000), 75 cent drinks, and lunch included with $10 entry due.

Good players. . .I have yet to meet one unlikable person at this field. When I started, everyone was helpfull, and made sure I stayed alive, lol. Even now that I have some experience, there's always some guys that are impossible to eliminate, which keeps the games interesting.

Laid back rules. . .300fps velocity limit, Smoke grenades are allowed, 3 shot rule very loosly enforced (just as long as you dont purposly unload a hopper on someone).


The Bad:


When it rains, the fields get very muddy. . .Not a big deal, but it isn't a good thing.

No running water. . .I bring my own so this doesn't bother me. It would be nice though.

No running water means no toilets. . .which means you have to use the outhouse.


Conclusion:


If this field had running water and a more elaborate concession stand, I'd give it a 9, But it doesn't. . .however the prices and fields are great, so I have to say 7


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Investorguy Monday, May 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Attack (Federal Way), Skinny Joe's (now defunct)
Review: I'm just getting started in Paintball and I count myself fortunate to live only about 7 miles from this field. I remember going about 12+ years ago and renting a pump. The game has changed a lot since then...

First, I'll address the comments about Karl, the owner. He's kinda gruff, but he's friendly enough. If you buy a gun from him, he gives you a year's worth of free play at his field. I would have bought a gun from him, but he wouldn't tell me what to buy. He's knowledgeable, but not exactly a salesman (many people probably prefer that). If he would have told me, "Okay, you need to buy this gun right here", I would've plunked down my $500 or whatever right there and bought what he told me to get. But instead, he filled my head w/ doubt about what I thought I wanted (a 98c w/ flatline) and I ended up having to do my research online (got an A-5 w/ egrip, flatline, etc). So I guess he saved me from getting the wrong gun (love my A-5!). Yeah, he will utter the occasional curse from time to time, but it's nuthin you won't hear on the Sopranos. That's not the way I would personally conduct myself as a business professional, but quite honestly, most of the people that play paintball don't really seem to care.

Now price:
It was only a buck to fill my 68/4500. Wasn't a full 4500 fill, but it was buck so who cares... It's $4 to fill a 20 oz CO2. Paint is not super expensive, but not too bad either. About $65+tax/case or more for good marbs or the equivalent, on down from there. Not internet prices, but not so bad you feel like you're getting ripped off either like at some of the Canadian FPO places that are close by. You can BYOP too. Field fee is only $15, $10 if you buy your paint from him. I'll probably buy my paint from him next time I go. Rentals are $15 for a Tippmann 98. Not too bad, but showing signs of age (not that age matters too much on a Tippy 98 anyway).

The fields:
The main field is the best fast paced woodball field I've ever seen. The bunkers are spaced so that there is not a clear advantage to being on any certain side and there is a lot of opportunity for working good communications skills and clever tactics, i.e. it's not a case where he/she who can lay down the most paint wins. I was impressed by the wonderful mix of natural and man-made bunkers on this field. By far the best time I'd ever had playing paintball was on this field.

There was another field called the "Fuel Depot" that was really cool as well. There were large barrels piled on top of each other to make bunkers. I didn't get to play much on this field, but it seemed cool from the short time I got to play on it.

The last field was an overly-wooded veitnam-style field. Fun, the worst field considering the equipment we had. Maybe it's me, but I just don't the like the paranoia-inducing, waiting to get sniped by someone style of field. It'd be a really cool field if you gave everyone in-mask two-way radios or something, but there's just not enough visibility for my liking...

The people:
The less experienced people were pretty cool. I asked one of the seemingly more experienced players (read: guy holding a shinier, more expensive-looking gun and wearing a paintball jersey) what people usually do on a certain field in terms of strategy and he told me to "shoot the other team and avoid getting shot". Kind of an @sshole thing to say to a new person, albeit a 26-year-old married guy w/ 2 kids, but new nonetheless. Whatever, there are jerks around when I play golf too... In general, most of the people other than the angel-toting paintball 'elite' were very nice and approachable. There were enough walk-ons that were going solo that there wouldn't be a problem just showing up and having no one to talk to. Heck, whatcom county is pretty friendly place.

Overall:
I had a blast and feel very fortunate that I don't have to drive 100 miles to find a good field. If you played a lot, you'd probably become part of pretty tight-knit paintballing community--maybe even the angel guys would talk to you... I just hate all that highschoolish popularity stuff. I will certainly return to this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xtra32 Sunday, April 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have only played at friend's fields..which aren't great, but they do compare.
Review: Semper Fi is a fun place to go paintballing...its pretty much only fun if you are a newbie or someone who is skilled. If you're a noob and you go there u get a lot of experience against the various other noobs...but if ur good and have experience then its just point and shoot...mostly just a shooting gallery.

The fields are nice and most of the players there treat you well if ur new to the game. The fields that are set up out there need to be changed or more need to be made. I say this because if you've been there more than a couple times you get used to the play of the field. I know a way to go that will get you 3 kills in the beginning guaranteed. I like the fuel depot field and the 2nd field.

The fuel depot field has a lot of places to go on yet like the other field you get used to the play and it becomes more of a shooting gallery than a paintball match. There are lots of places to conceal yourself there, but most of them are not easily defended. Also at the fuel depot field its all about the head shots....I went a few weeks ago and got three head shots before getting shot in the head.

The 2nd field is all woods play..I enjoy it. There are fallen down trees and lots of brush to hide behind. Its all woods but in the center there is a blue 50 gallon drum....kinda pointless. The only thing I didn't like about the 2nd field was not knowing where the opponents base was..I had no idea where I was supposed to be shooting to and had no clue where I was getting shot from. I ended up shooting two of my own players.

Karl is a nice guy and he does have a language problem, but so does everyone else on the field...so get used to it you little babies! Nice selection of rentals..good prices. If you want to go paintballing for a birthday or something with a group of friends than I recommend Semper Fi. I have yet to go to a tournament, but I will go to the 24 hour tourney this year...On the whole the field is OK but if your experienced than don't go here ...unless you like shooting kids....you sick, twisted creep.

I will remain going there until I can afford to go to a different field or just get tired of the field..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

amsteel Monday, April 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
STP, Andrenaline Rush, Panther, TOP PB..they all beat it, except perhaps TOP
Review: I have been playing at Semper Fi for over 5 years, this was the first field I played at and I guess you could call it my home field. I will try to make this as short and to the point as possible, so here are some basic plusses and negitives, the earlier reviewer Dragonfire989 brought up many of these in his earlier review.

Negitives:

1. Karl, the owner and head ref has a severe attitude problem. I have seen him scream and yell at 10 year old children with vulgarities simply because they dropped one of their rental guns on the ground or didnt know how to adjust the velocity. He freaks out for no reason, and is generally abusive to players. He is an ex-marine, and has a drill instructors attitude towards his paying customers. I dont know about you, but when I come and pay money to play on your field, I expect to recieve at least a decent level of hospitality, I do not appreciate being screamed at when I am paying money.

2. Reffing, or lack therof. The reffing at this field is practicly non-existent most of the time, all you have to do is put on a jacket and you can be the head ref and start the games on the field. I have called for paint checks and the single ref came over and asked me what exactly I ment. When their are "refs" they usually have no job other then starting the game, after that they usually start cleaning the field, or start fires in burn barrels (which is very distracting, especially when smoke is blowing all over the field) I have even played when "refs" were using chainsaws on the field and cutting logs. Can this not be done sometime other then when people are paying to play?


3. Rules, strange and un-enforced. The rules at this field are fairly standard, although they are rarely enforced. Their are chronographs, but unless their is a very large group of new customers, the chornos are never set up. Even when they are setup, it is very rare if people are actually made to chrono their guns in front of a ref. There is also another strange rule, which a previous reviewer mentioned earlier, and that is the Firing Squad offense. If someone shoots a ref, they can be given the Firing Squad. This is pretty much as it sounds, 6 people get to line up and shoot you in the parking lot, usually once each. This is just rediculous, I have seen it enforced 3 times and it is one of the worst rules I have ever seen, on any paintball field. Barrel plugs are required, but again it is a rule that is rarely, if ever, enforced. I am routinly the only one with a barrel
plug/condom on my marker while walking in the staging area. People routinly take their masks off to wipe the fog out of them while playing on the field, since their are never any refs around to enforce the mask rule, this rule is broken regularly with impunity by anyone without a thermal lens. I have even seen a referee take his mask off to wipe it down, rediculous.



Masks are not required in the "target range", which in itself is in a horrible location. The target range consists of some trees and a few targets. The main problem here is that the path to the 2nd field runs parralel to the target range, off to the left about 10 feet or so. So players are exposed to fire from the target range AS THEY WALK to the second field, I have never come across something as stupid as this, in any field. I have been shot twice, one in the back of the head and once in the back, as i was walking out to the 2nd field.

Another issue that concerns me greatly with this field, is the way the field owner (karl) fills paintball HPA tanks. I have never seen tanks filled so quickly, he flash fills the tanks at insanely fast rates, and I refuse to even be near the van as he does this. I have seen two air systems leak concurrently as soon as they were filled by karl, which was from being filled to quickly. Tanks are sometimes too hot to even hold, this is irresponsible and dangerous.

There is also no compitition at this field, its pretty much a field for new people to the sport. What is hilarious, is that the people who think they are good because they have angels, only play at semper fi and nowhere else. This field is full of people who think they are good because they can shoot mom and pop first-timers.

Pluses:

1.Prices, the priced at this field are generally pretty good. Air is pretty much the cheapest i've seen at any field, at 50 cents per 1000 psi, or $5 all day air. C02 is $3 per 12 oz. Paint is pretty much the same as it is elsewhere, from $40 to $75.

2. The first field is generally fun to play, at least in the winter. In the spring and summer it turns into a giant field of nettles and becomes insanely overgrown with tall grass.

I have met some great people out there, and many friends. If the field was run in a more professional manner, it could turn into a great place to play.




Last edited on Friday, April 25th, 2003 at 3:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HickTownResiden Saturday, April 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
a lot in BC and 1 in seattle. They're nicer fields, but given only about 100,000 people live nearby this field its cool.
Review: I've been paintballing a long time and have played a lot of fields. Its tru what flatliner said that the language consists of sh** 'n' stuff, but who really cares? People in real cities fu** when they're 11 or 12. I did. So language isnt really all that bad, but sometimes, . . . well, u no.

The shop's prices are nice and the rentals even nicer.
the couple of fields are kinda small compared to some but its okay for what it is.

The ref (the owner) isnt a joke, hes cool. I mean, ppl break the rules and they're gone. Maybe thats what happened to the drag king person. Rules are cool also, and safety is well enforced.

THe owner dude actually nos alot about modern paintball. He's been in it for i dunno maybe 30 yrs so he nos alot.

One of his buddies was there when i went once he knew a sh**load. he'd been playing for 9 yrs.

Firing range offenses? report them if he doesnt see em, cuz he will boot thepeople fr at least a game.

The only major downside is its a kinda newb slayer field . . . a lot of teams will meet there and do a lot of a**whuppin during public games . . . thats never toooooo fun :).

Conclusin: Good field, but not excellent.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dragonfire989 Tuesday, April 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
.
Review: The field is barely maintain but is getting better. The reffing is a JOKE. usually if he is on the field he working on it or burning something on it. Other times there is no ref or one kid who just sits in a spot and never really refs. Safety not up to par. Reasoning on why safety not up to par: People choreographing off is not mandatory so alot people don't and if they do(he does check later in day to make sure they are under 300).His general lack of structure during and before play (no order). Way he fills your air tank very unsafe, especially for someone who knows alot better. He fill it up very fast and instead of gradually filling up your tank. If u can not drive or do not want to it will be only ok play at He has done better with the n2 tanks he offers 4500 now but really 3800 or so. But alot better then barely 2500 that used to be. Owner/runners do not know much about the paintball world and its products(to hickfield player comment response He does know about basics beginner wood ball or every once and while players but to the hardcores and tournements players he about as knowable as person who never played paintball. even people who play pretty often would give him a run for his money on knowledge about paintbalI. Just because he been around paintball does not mean u know about paintball. I play here only when i get lazy to drive through the boarder/down to STP or if i want to take someone new because i know not going to be ringers here. . I competition is bare minimum usually too. The prices are normal to high at fields i been too. The best thing he has going is that it legit field. But watch out because he does not keep up on poison ivy and those stringer plants. Another downfall is that there is only one field. He has few others Fields in a swamp but usually not accessible and not well taken care of too. Only see him use that field during his 24 hour game. Go somewhere else if u have a chance but if not, better then no play. Do not listen to him about firing range offenses. i believe it only a scare tactic Because I have never seen it.
People never show up until late and like to talk about paintball more then to play paintball here.
This field is good for a person who comes with experience player so that he can teach rules and not have worry about being beat up by some great players.
What Teams play here? I do not know very many that are actually teams (only team that was real in last 2 years that regularly played here was roughnecks but they do not exist anymore).

straight from his site
prices:
field fee:15.00 +Tax
use his paint: 10.00 +Tax
semi marker rentals:15.00+tax
Cheap paint 2000 rds:56.50 +Tax
normal paint 2000 rds: 65.50 +Tax
100 rds: 5.00 +tax
Air: 50 cents per 1000 (not sure if tax is included)

u judge if that is high for yourself or not. I believe it high for what u get. The prices has dropped big time it used to be about $10 higher for his cheap paint. This is one few fields that i been to that taxes where not included into the fees.

response back to The HICK on if i was kicked out that why my reviews tough. No i never been in trouble at this field. I m just saying what i see. NO reason to be rude about my review. Just my opinion. I like to give rating that justified the field. I might be critical on fields and equipment but that just because i give it alot thought into whats good and whats bad. Oh ya he has been around paintball for 30 years since paintball only been around for 20 years.
Last edited on Monday, April 14th, 2003 at 6:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media