paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Hill Paintball Field / Paintball Hill Paintball Field / Paintball Hill Paintball Field / Paintball Hill Paintball Field

Paintball Hill Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
26Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 859-433-3801or 948-2246
Address: 438 Windflower Way
Bryantsville, Kentucky 40410
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
tdaniels40516 Sunday, December 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: After an impulse decision to buy a marker, I needed to find someplace to play. After reading reviews on this site, I decided that Paintball Hill seemed like a good, close field to try. I've now played there two days in a row, and have had a ball. I'm no pro paintballer (the last and only time I played before yesterday was 11 years ago), but I think anyone looking to play recreationally could enjoy this field.

The facilities are still as spartan as some of the previous reviewers have written, especially for playing on a snowing December day. There's a porta-john and a cinder-block shed that houses the shop and a couple of propane heaters. Matt says he plans to re-frame and re-hang a lot of the netting once it warms up a bit before Spring. As far as friendliness goes, Matt & Ron were both great, as were the rest of the guys there to play this weekend. Matt says he's only been playing for five months and doesn't claim to be good at troubleshooting markers, but he knew enough to get me playing quickly with my out-of-the-box Pirahna.

The hyperball field is small and tight, which makes it pretty tough in my opinion. One of the owners tells me they've played 10-on-10 on that course before, but we only played 2-on-2 or 3-on-3. The bunkers are in several different designs including what they call the "rocket" right in the middle of the field. Everything's corrugated plastic drainpipe, so when someone hits your bunker, it's loud enough that you know it.

The speedball field is more along the lines of what I think of when I think of paintball. It's probably half the length of a football field and about as wide with plastic barrels, old auction house signboards, and other material making up the bunkers. It took me a little while to get used to some of the pits dugout behind the bunkers (there's one on the downhill side of the course that I didn't see until I got there and almost ended up rolling out of bounds and down the attack & defend course), but you could really dig in behind these things and not move.

The speedball field is also the Defend portion of the Attack & Defend course, though I didn't play either the A&D or the woods course this weekend.

I've also got to give the owners, Matt & Ron, compliments on a well-run Sunday toy drive for a local childrens' home. I'd only planned on playing Saturday with some friends, but when Matt told us about the toy drive I had to come back. Everyone who brought a new toy and wore a Santa hat (which was quite a few folks) got free field fees for the day. In exchange for showing up and making the toy drive successful, these guys gave out all kinds of free gear from themselves and some other local shops (Custom Cylinders, A&R Sports, Chubby's, etc.) - two complete Tippman gun packages, 4 Tippman jerseys, pod packs, workshop mats, a barrel, paint, free field fees for a year, etc. Nobody who showed up walked away with anything less than a ballcap, and hopefully there will be some happy kids in Danville on Christmas morning that wouldn't have been so happy without Matt's and Ron's help. I can only hope this'll be an annual event.

Needless to say, it'll be after Christmas before I play again, but I'll definitely go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

NightHawk Monday, August 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Asylum, Conders Paintball
Review: Paintball Hill is not the greatest field in the world but if youre bored or need to practice up it's like the only place in Lexington to play. First off the entracne to the field is pretty ahrd to find. When I went there they didnt even have a sign, but once you get there you'll know why they call it Paintball Hill. They have Attack/Defend (and if you're attaking you better be physically fit because the hill you gotta run up is a pain) also is a larger sized Speedball field and a really friggin small Hyperball field which is by far there best. The Speedball field hadn't been mowed in ages so it was pretty tall grass in some areas and I dont know that the field was exactly mirrored. Anydangway, the Hyperball field is pretty small and once a game starts its pretty hard to stay tight because of the small area.

This field is home to Parental advisory. I'm thinking the owner of the team is they guy who runs the field. it's basically a little garage where they have Paint, Rentals, Air, Cokes, Water, Benches and oh yea - A Lazy-Boy Recliner.

The guys at Paintball Hill are EXTREMELY nice. They know what there talking about and they have no problem helping out as far as tips and gun probs.

If you're amateur/pro p-ball players then you will get along great with these guys. If you're new then you'll still see eye-to-eye - they will tell you everything there is to know. What I liked about this field was there wasnt much obscene language or anything like that so you feel a little more comfortable.

As far as facilities go they have a porta-pottie but thats about it. A few tables outside and the netting looked like it needed to be re-hung but besides that the fields were fun to play on. They have a small fort/posting tower for attack/defend and the hyperball field is located just behind the shop and is extremely fast-paced and nerve racking which I think adds to the adrenaline.

The guys up there are friendly and as long as there are atleast 2 or 3 reffing sometimes they'll play with you if your ok by it.

Rentals are you're choice of Tippmanns or Spyders. I think they had some pirahnas too. But for the most part if your needing to play or you wanna go have some fun with your buds this is a nice play to go.

Suggestions: They could upgrade the netting - spiff up the shop with some paint and glass counters. Cut the Speedball field in half make one side an Airball field and put some more tables outside along with some place to buy food/drinks. AND A HUGE FRIGGIN SIGN by the road that says paintballhill!

There website is better than there field!
Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 10:08 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

dburton Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Haven't played other fields in area.
Review: Played this field with a group of friends last weekend. Had a blast. The prices were reasonable. The speedball field was awesome. Didn't play the hyperball field...too close range for my tastes.

I do have a couple complaints. My biggest complaint involves the wooded field. It's on a major hillside and running up the hill kills you. I'm in good shape and I was zapped by the sprint to the flag. Also, several of my friends rented and had tons of problems with the rental guns. The semi-autos basically became bolt-action on several of the guns. Some of the problems were handled but not all. Next, the place needs a bathroom. There are plenty of trees to tinkle behind but if you require more (or are a woman), then you're out of luck. Finally (this one's more of a tip than a complaint), with the temps in 80s, they could have had some sort of beverages available for sale. Luckily, I'd brought my own but not everyone else had.

Don't want to sound like I'm beating up on the field too much. We had a blast but I wanted to point out some things I thought could use some improvement.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

cangelir3 Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
kriss cross no longer open 2 out of 10 is how they compare with this one
Review: This field has some problems. like some rocks on the field kind of hard on the knees but thats it except for restrooms and the guys that run the field talk a-lot some games takes some time to get going sometimes even an hour befor the first game starts other that that there are no problems The paint is not that expensive and is good quality,the hyperball field is where the rocks are but its a good field, and the guys that work there also gave me some advice on what i was doing wrong,the prices are really good too. their speed ball field is fun because it is big, their woods are pretty thick. this field is highly suggested for locals and beginners.
good job Paintball Hill
and go P.A.!!! (that the fields home team) good luck at Mardi Gras next mouth P.A.
Last edited on Wednesday, January 7th, 2004 at 11:28 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ericross Thursday, September 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball
Review: When i came here with my friends i was looking for a good time, and guess what i found one. The paint is not that expensive, and the fields arent 100% perfect but it was so much fun when i went there. We played the hyperball field with four people so we had about 20 games the entire day, and the guys that work there gave my friend and I some advice on what we were doing wrong. I played the speedball but like before we only had four people so it was not the greatest thing, but the hyperball field ROCKED,every time that i see my friend ( he lives in illinois and goes to Operation Paintball) he tells me how great Kentucky is for paintball because the paint is not that expensive and we had a blast. I have to say this was the greatest paintball experience i have ever had. Thank you Paintball Hill
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbcocker1888 Friday, March 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
die hard paintball, conders paintball
Review: this is a really fun field to play at, the prices are really good too. the only thing i dont like is that it is field paint only. that is a bad thing to me since i always have paintb i need to use at home. there is a little bit of profanity and vulgar language, not suggested for very young kids. other than those 2 things it is a great field. i love the small tournament field, their speed ball field is fun because it is big, their woods are pretty thick but the speed ball field is the prominant field anyways. highly suggested for locals and beginners
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media