paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Dark Armies Paintball Field / Dark Armies Paintball Field / Dark Armies Paintball Field / Dark Armies Paintball Field

Dark Armies Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (317) 353-1987
Address: 2525 N. Shadeland Ave.
Indianapolis, Indiana 46219
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
DyeHard238 Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None i live in ohio
Directions
to the Field:
ha in the middle of no where!!!
Review: This place SUCKS!!!! dont go here they over price everything they charged me 7 bucks for an allen wrench set that i had to buy because they "didnt lend out tools to players" it was around 35 bucks for 2 hours which is outragous all the staffworkers basically hate their job besides the one Asian guy, hes cool, but the refs dont do anything all they do is briefly explain the game then stand there and wave their flash lights around, their rentals suck and are over priced they charge like 12 bucks to rent (which i had to do becuase i couldnt use my gun) and its around 10 dollars if you bring your own gun the paint prices oh my gosh 5 dollars for 50 rounds of paint that explodes grey that you cant even see. the guy at the front desk is a total *** hole and doesnt chrono right he lifts up the chrono away from the barrel like 5 inches away and NO HEAD SHOTS!!! thats the most exposed part of the body, the only thing that i will remember 5 years from now is that this place sucks and to keep your mask down and sock your gun.

a little bit about the field: i like the idea of using an abandoned city that is all messed up with the car wreck scene but you cannot see at all you can see is the orange or the yellow vests of the teams which makes this game feel even more like laser tag then anything else, also its extremely easy to cheat there due to the lighting you cant see any paint explosions!!! and if you ever go there you basically have to crawl to get around or your gonna bust your head on the ground by how slippery it is. it also gets so humid in there that after you walk in there for 5 minutes you will fog up your goggles like it was raining in there even to thermal goggles it just takes a little longer

Employees: like i said before they're not very excited to be there they talk down to players like your retarded and they're mostly a bunch of 20 year old druggies that have a hangover from the night before. they also know absolutly nothing.

Field Regulations: ok i understand the keep your mask down and your gun socked out side of the field but it is very unneccessary when you get out to run down that 40 yard hallway and tap the counter and run back in only to get shot right when you go in, and no head shots!!!! you have to be kidding me!!!! another is the 220 FPS that is definetly not for safety because you have to be like sitting on top of the other player and let the ball roll out of the barrel and land on them or your not going to get them out that has to be so you have to pay extra money to use their equptment which is worth a whole 5 cents.

Rentals: Worst rental prices ever you have a choice to use a pump gun with no accuracy, a semi auto gun (tippmann pro carbine), or a semi auto gun with a little flash light on the side that you dont really get to use because you cant have it on for any longer than a second or your disqualified.

Conclusion: basically dont go here take the time to go down to anderson where i guess white river paintball is at. this place was not made for the love of the game it was to scam people of their money dont go here i'd give this place a triple negative 10 if i could but it gets the honor to be a one
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

haydenisking Friday, January 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
n/a
Review: 180 for a case of 32 degrees paint! I would never practice with this stuff let alone play

This field sucks sucks sucks, that simple, I am to outraged to write a full review.
buzz off, and he used another 4 letter word, not buzz. He said that I couldn't play with my g7, ever if I set to 3 bps.

He took the paint out of my hopper at then end of the day!, wow I just payed you at the price of 180$ a case then you take it away.


BS, Never ever go here

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

scorpions Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: THIS FIELD SUCKS DONT GO TO IT. PRICES ARE JACKED, FIELD SUCKS, I CANT BRING MY OWN GUN, AND IT ISNT A THING LIKE PAINTBALL. if u r a newb dnt go there cuz then u wil think tht is wat paintball is about. Sycamore sports and recreation is thirty times better. and cheaper. there is NO speedball and that is what paintball is about. i would rather go work than play there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

nathn Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
gator joes-much, much better
proving grounds-better. ok field, didnt have airball up when i went though
Review: .this field sucks. its that simple. since i dont feel like writing an original review, ill use the suggested points to cover

safety-decent. they make you watch a safety video. goes for about half an hour. basically, all you would need to know is that keep ur mask on while on the playing field, keep ur barrel covered in the neutral zone, dont point blank shoot people (bad grammar, sorry) and headshots dont count. yes, headshots dont count. someone tell me. if you get shot in the head, shouldnt that be an instant death? someone could turn their head around teh corner with NO FEAR of being shot. this is retarded. obviously getting shot in the back of the head is a bad idea. intentionally aiming for the head from 10-20 ft is a bad idea. but you cant aim paintballs accurately enough to insure you will shoot someone in the chest, leg, w/e. stupid rule

field-indoors in a basement. not a good idea. no windows, so little light. very little light. the black lights dont help much. much too dark. i like to see where my paintballs are going and where the other team is. likewise, im sure they would like to see where i am. much too dark. dont bother renting a flashlight either. you cant keep it on for more than a second<another questionable rule.

prices-grosely overpriced. if you work it out, its roughly $.10/paintball compared to $.03/paintball at gator joes. thats horrible. i shoot a lot of paintballs. it cost me around $60 for my gun (i have my own. ill get to that later), field fee, and paint for 3 hours and 150-200 paintballs. that is horrible. gator joes is (i think) $20 field fee + 1$5 for 500 paintballs. less if you have ur own gun.

rules-typical paintball rules, besides no headshots

staff-maybe they are better at paintball, but i was playin with people who never played before, and they way they talked down to them probly didnt help the initial experience. they should be drawing people to the sport, not pushing them away.

refs-seemed uninterested. stood at the entrance point and waved his flashlight around

players-i went with some friends, so they were fine

facilities-poorly layed out. one entry point for both teams. if you get shot, you leave, tap the desk outside the field, and go back in. the ref would send you to the "right" side upon return. the problem with this is that if one team has another team cornered, a returning player of the cornered team could shoot the other team in teh back. likewise, games go on and on and on and on. the gametype we played mostly was capture the cone (or flag. w/e). the teams could put the cone anywhere on their side as long as it was standing up and on the ground. we hid ours inside a spool. it woudl be impossible for the other team to find it. very slick. felt more like ice skating. slid into the wall a few times. hard to be stealthy when people hear *sssssssssssssss-BOOM"

too business orientated. not player orientated at all. gator joes will adjust for new players or experienced. they are very relaxed in choosing game style. they are serious about safety though.

so, any good points? of course. no matter how bad a place is, it cant kill the fun of paintball.

they day was fun BECAUSE it was paintball. and there was one fun game type. basically a big 3 ft high ball was placed in the middle. teams had to push it to the other side without being shot. first team to get the big ball to the other side wins. really fun. the other team was 3 ft from winning when my team turned it around. we ended up winning. if you want to go to dark armies, go for this game type. thats about the only good thing that came out of this place

finally, if you have an electric gun, dont bother taking it. if you have an a-5, like i do, dont bother taking it. they wont let you use it. why? i have no clue. the guy said they have a list of guns that cant be used, and an a-5 is one of them. makes no sense to me. made no sense to the guy working the desk either.

i wouldnt reccomend this field. at all. if you need a paintball fix over the winter, maybe. and thats only if you cant go out and build snow forts to play

shame the scale doesnt go lower than 1
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SM clan Thursday, September 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball valley
Directions
to the Field:
none
Review: This paintball field is ok... the lights need to improve. The floor was a little slippery but WE NEED TO BRING OUR PAINTBALL GUNS! well overall i thought it was ok to train,
honestly they should improve the prices because i spent over $300 on 1 game for a party of 4 people on a 1-10 scale i will give this a 5 because of the prices and the guns.
Last edited on Thursday, September 21st, 2006 at 5:32 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tbdave88 Saturday, June 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 27th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Proving Grounds, Splatter Zone
Directions
to the Field:
I'll spare you....
Review: The good side:
Cool environment, but it can become a little grimey feeling after a while...

Basically, it's a terrible choice and not worth wasting your money on. You can't even use LCD guns!!!! Every other field in 100 miles lets you! Its pitiful and no player with much of any experience should even waste time with it. Also, now you can't even play unless you reserve your game 24 hours in advance so... BYE BYE open play.....

Everyone is running around with bright neon vests on so it feels more like laser tag than anything else... and yes that includes you too...

Bottom line, don't mess with this field.... You're wasting your time, money, and everyone else's that you take....

Oh yeah dont let me forget that the guys who work there will depress the living..... out of you....

Well, now that I was able to get that out, I'll tell you the good side to this place. Here it is.... its within an hour of proving grounds so when you find out what Dark Armies is like you can head to Proving Grounds instead and have a good time without having to wait until the next day. Yup, thats it.
Last edited on Saturday, June 24th, 2006 at 8:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

F.E.A.R. Friday, June 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Proving Grounds in Sheridan is much much better.
Directions
to the Field:
You don't want to know.
Review: First of all the only reason I've been to this field more than once is that other people have invited me and paid for it. This field is extremely expensive. $30 for two hours! Paint is $18 for 200. That's $180 per case. I really wish I owned this place because they're making a killing. Also, you pay a $10 fee for bringing your own gun! Huh? They also have a cap at 220 fps which lets the ball roll right out and hit your target if you are sitting on them. If you have an electronic marker, can't come. N2, compressed air? Nope. Also, it's pitch black in there. Your lucky to see the team starting at the other end of the arena. The field has concrete floors too and they never clean them. so don't even think about running cause your going down. We were playing an elim match and it was only me and five other people. As I was running to a corner to get some cover I hit a patch of wet paint. Guess what, down I went. By the way I took the entire opposing team out after that just running around. No fire fights happened. Just one shot outs. It's a complete newb center. Also, it's so hot in there and your mask steams up before you put it on. The staff is awfull. When I played there I took so much crap from one employee that was playing I started unloading on him as he was talking to a ref. Just the other week I went to a friends house who has a paintball field in the back of his neighborhood. (Really just a woods with some bunkers.) We played with the brother in law of the owner. He and his sons refused to go there! The point is just don't come here. Never ever.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

drewolb17 Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 25th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
gator pit, backyards,
Review: this has to be the worst field in Indiana. this place is only good for first timers with no experience. i got once a year with friends cause they rarely play. and its almost impossible to play a full time cause your mask fogs up so much u cant see where the hell your going. prices are jacked up. there safety equipment suck. i never wanna go again id rather drive my butt to gator pit. that field is great for jus practicing and there guns don't fall apart in 3 seconds. o yea and you cant fall and bust your ass. overall i give it a 2 just cause its good for beginners who are new to the game. but for people who are experienced players i give it a ----10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jonathanjt Sunday, December 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 18th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gator joes
Ben davis
Review: This place is just about the most horrible place to go ever. You get a bunch of people that have never played paintball before and you get these horrible guns that someone put together in there garage, and its expensive. O and the floors are slicker than ice. I fell a few times and the place is pitch dark with a few black lights around.
I'll never go there again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jtmix Saturday, November 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 13th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Woods ball, Blast Factory, Splatter Zone
Review: This is the worst and most expensive field on earth. The staff sucks, equipment sucks, the field should be named "The Ass Buster" because it is so slick. Save your money and upgrade your marker. My experience was bad. The music they play is terrible unless you like Firehouse blaring in you ear. As you can see from the other reviews, DO NOT GO HERE!!!! How are they still in business?? Oh yeah, newbies, but after one time there, you don't go back.
Last edited on Saturday, November 12th, 2005 at 9:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media