paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Dark Armies Paintball Field / Dark Armies Paintball Field / Dark Armies Paintball Field / Dark Armies Paintball Field

Dark Armies Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (317) 353-1987
Address: 2525 N. Shadeland Ave.
Indianapolis, Indiana 46219
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
W4C_Jesus_Freak Monday, October 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Never played in Indiana.
Review: My Brother and I were in Indianapolis for a Church related competition and we had a hotel like 2 miles from Dark Armies and thought we would stop in and see what the Indiana paintball fields are like. Indiana-if all your fields are like this I'm sorry! Move to Ohio where all the real fields are!

We walked in to look around and I guess they were closed or something...you had to walk down some dark hallway and I thought I was going into a bomb shelter or something. No lights until you got downstairs. The owner (I assume he owned the place) *rudely* allowed us to walk the field and if it was nice we would come back and play the next day...we didn't go back. The prices were EXTREMELY high-if the fields here charged that I would've never played paintball! $5 for 50 shots? That's so dumb! I use 50 paintballs in less then 10 seconds with my marker.
I can play all day, get 2,000 rds., all day air, use my own gun (no charge) and field fee for $60- at any field in my area...or even my whole state. $30 if I only get 500 paintballs. If I got it @ this place it would be $100+ to play like I usually do. The costs were totally gouged, the equipment looked like it would fall apart 2 seconds into the first game, and you had to pay a lot to use it, if I brought my B2K it would cost as much as a rental...retarded. I've never seen such high prices...

The field itself was nasty, slippery, and I agree with the people that think they have a disease from going there ...I feel nausious now actually... They kind of have a cool idea with the black lights, but it's still WAY too dark to safely play. Maybe for laser tag, but not Paintball.

Playing was on pavement and they also had a rediculous 220 fps rule. If I set my gun to 220 the pb's would roll out of the barrel.

The guy that we talked to was rude, and the overall atmosphere was creepy...did anyone else feel like there was a drug deal going on in a back room? Also there was a picture board or something like that when I was there with some..."bad language"-not a place to bring the kids to play.

Overall, I give this place a triple negative ten (---10). Since I can only give it a "1" with a capital "W" for WORST, I guess that will have to do.

I hope the owners read these reviews because they won't be keeping buisness long if they don't change some things. That building has the potential to thrive as a paintball buisness but as it is now it's more like a haunted house than a paintball field.
Last edited on Monday, October 24th, 2005 at 8:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

8ight Monday, June 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
TreeHuggers Paintball - Sullivan, IN
Out Numbered Paintball - Paris, IL
Silver Spur Splat Paintball - Princeton, IN
Review: This is, without a doubt, hands down, no questions asked, the crappiest paintball field this side of the Mississippi... probably the other side too. I'm going to break this review down so it is a little easier to read rather than my normal rambling. I do this because I feel it is important to know how bad this place is.

Background - We played at Dark Armies for a friends bachelor party with a party of about ten to twelve guys. Two of us, me and another friend, brought our own guns, masks, and whatever else.

Arrival - You first walk down a very dark stairway and then to the front desk. When we got to the front desk we filled out a form about who we are and what equipment we would like to use along with prices. First thing I noticed was $22.00 flat fee per person to play!?!?! Holy crap! I ignored the gun prices because I had brought my own. However, the paint prices sure jumped out at me! As stated in an earlier review, $18 for 200 or $5 for 50 rounds. I explained to my less experienced buddies that $40 would normally buy you 2000 rounds, they too became annoyed. My total bill for the field fee, 400 rounds of paint and a lock for our locker was $62.00!!! After we finished playing that day a few of us were talking about our experiences we figured out that the two of us that brought our own guns saved a whole $5 over the guys who rented one!

Training - Oh the dreaded training video. As described in other reviews, you are taken to a room with bleachers for your lesson. Above you find two old, jumping, flashing, psychedelic TVs attached to a computer. It's actually not even a video, but a PowerPoint slideshow that is broken up in to three parts. A number of the parts are skipped past because to do not apply any longer, such as areas of the field that are no longer there. I can't remember much about it, other than wear your masks and sock (barrel condom) your gun was stressed. I do remember rolling my eyes quite a bit and looking around in disbelief at how retarded it all was. One of the rules I could not believe was "NO HEAD SHOTS". What? Huh? are you kidding. That's the number one exposed area of the body and that's why we wear masks! Getting hit in the head is the best because it doesn't hurt. Now getting hit in the back of the head is a different story, and who could tell what side of the head your shooting at in this dark dungeon. This is surely why they have the rule but come on... I'm shooting at heads regardless.

Field - My of my what a disasters field this is! Our bachelor party gets thrown in with another group of guys. Unfortunately, the bachelor himself gets thrown on a team with two other guys from our group... everyone else is on the other team. I was told by an employee that the reason this happened was due to the computer picking teams automatically upon sign in. Back to the field. The field is just a concrete floor with wooden boxes and walls setup in various formations to form a "city". No incandescent lights were on in the field of play. All that is lighting the field are black lights hanging from above. I understand the effect, the coolness, the originality they're going for here... but it doesn't work! One thing about paintball is that you need to see where your previous ball shots to make adjustments to shoot again at your target. This technique does not work here, the simple reason being that it is entirely too dark to see much of anything, let alone your own paint. This stinks because you have to fire a good five to ten shots at someone to make sure you get them. After you light them up they start complaining about shooting them so much. Hell, I couldn't tell... I just keep shooting until they put their hands up in the air and walked off. So the field is dark, but the real kicker is what everyone has to say about this place. The field is so slippery. I was lucky enough not to crash and burn, although I came close quite a few times. Friends of mine were not so lucky. I thought it was funny that the training video states they haven't had an injury in over 70,000 players. No freaking way!!! Someone, sometime has got to have busted their head here. Don't expect to run at this place. You are either going to walk or if you walk fast you'll have to take small choppy steps. It was really hard for me because I suffered a completely severed ACL injury in my right knee just about five years ago. It has been surgically repaired and I never have a bit of trouble with it now. I run, play baseball, tennis, roller hockey and even racquetball and I have never had a bit of pain or discomfort in it. That is until I played here. I could feel so much stress on my knee and my ACL when I had to quickly move behind a bunker while standing in a pool of old paint that has built up. It felt a lot like the time I injured it when my foot slipped out and my knee buckled in. I was very careful not to reaggervate my injury... I could tell it would have been easy to do though. The one last thing about the field I have to say was the awful layout of the re-entry points. Once you get shot you have to walk down this long hall, touch the counter where you got your gun and go back down the hall to the field. This wouldn't have been so bad if it was just one team that had to do this, but it was both. They need another entry point for the other team on the other side of the field. It was such a cluster there at the tunnel entrance all the time. They would tell us not to camp out and take people out that just came in, but that was also the exit. So when we found the cone (flag) we were looking for we had to take it out that same tunnel. That thing just seemed like such a mess. Another thing I disliked about the field was the heat and humidity in there. I have a very nice JT mask with a thermal lens and it began to fog up after I played for awhile. Keep in mind, I didn't do any running due to the floor. That was a pain to deal with. There were two times that I just went out to wipe it down and stick it in front of one of the fans outside the field of play area to clear it up. This doesn't have to do with the field so much but one of the things you have to wear on the field. I'm talking about the hard plastic yellow or orange vest they give you. It really hurts when you move your head around quickly and catch your chin on the edge of it. I hated that stupid thing!

Employees - The employees were mostly kids. I'm 27, so they're kids to me. They were probably more like 16 to 20 year olds. One guy, surely the owner or manager was older. I did feel very uncomfortable around him due to the obvious flamer he is... seriously. The employees, as stated in another review, did talk down to the players. Being and avid player and quite a few years older than most of them I was annoyed by it. They are probably alright kids, but they are very much less than enthused about being there. Also, I wouldn't exactly call them refs. I'd more like to call them two guys that stand at the entrance of the field and talk. The one thing I did like about these guys that I have had problems with at other fields is that they made sure you understood what the object and rules of the game is that is about to be played. Now, they didn't present the object and rules to you well, but they told you about three times before the game started. Once in the "control room", once at the middle of the playing field and once over the loud speakers right before the game starts. One other thing that really stunk about this place was that they do not fill compressed air. I was not shooting with compressed air but my friend was. He was worried that he was running out and asked for it to be filled. They explained that they don't deal with compressed air because it is too expensive. Huh!?!? A paintball field that does not fill compressed air? He then asked if he could rent a CO2 tank if he happens to run out. One of the employees told him no, he would have to rent a whole gun package and use the tank from that. Now that's just weird.

Departure - After we were rushed off of the field (there were still three of us left in an every man left for himself final battle) we went through the checkout line. The one thing I couldn't believe was that the employee took my gun out of my hands, opened my hopper and poured the remaining 40 or so rounds into a container. He then turned around and did the same thing to my buddy and his 70 some rounds. We asked why they take the paint that we paid for (no refund is given) and the guy responded with "I don't know". I've heard of stories of places doing this, but never thought I would have seen it. Other than that, the checkout process went alright.

Overall - Crap. Don't play here. Save your money! This is not a field where a real paintballers would ever play. This is some place that generates business from advertising on local radio stations (they ask you your favorite radio station on the sign in form) and draws people in that would normally not play paintball. This is obvious by the training video and the dated equipment and corny field set up. That's sad beacuse these people that don't normally play think that this is what paintball is like after they've played here. I'm not from around the area so I don't know of any other fields to recommend... but whatever you do, steer clear of this trap.

Highlights - Expensive, dark, slippery, less than friendly staff, hot, poor field, slow guns (less than 220 fps), silly chest protectors, steal your paint when you're done, corny training "video" and cheap equipment.

1 out of 10 (lower if I could)
Last edited on Monday, June 6th, 2005 at 6:51 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Bellie Friday, May 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the Indy Area...Mostly back woods
Review: I'm sure that I will probably repeat some things that other people have said....but hopefully if enough people respond then some changes can be made..... I found that for the most part the staff was friendly except for a couple of unenthused employees but every place has that right.... And I did find that some of the games were different and I liked them....but hey no matter what the game I feel the prime objective is to get people out....it's much more fun to shoot someone then to find a cone, am I right. But I think that the biggest problem of the establishment and the reason for the low score is that the floor was absolutely horribly slick.... I took one step and fell on my butt. And I observed one guy there fall on his gun, his OWN gun...luckily it wasn't broken but come on there is no reason that the floor should be THAT bad....and this was just starting out....it didn't seem like the floor has EVER been cleaned. I agree if sand was put in it would make it a lot easier....I've played in sand and wow the difference is amazing....I saw that another review said something about not wanting to come home in paintball "juice" And mud....ummm yeah I'd rather have to wash off a little more dirt than come home with a busted knee, tailbone, or worse off my own gun broken....and the pricing WAY TOO HIGH!!! If some sand was added and the prices lowered I may go back....but I can find safer cheaper places to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

krazeguy8503 Saturday, March 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Zone is a much better facility.
Review: After playing at Dark Armies once I have decided that I will never go back. After receiving our equipment (from the less than excited to be there staff) we were hearded into a room full of bleachers for an update on rules and regulations. When I woke up half an hour had passed. After shaking off that groggy feeling my friends told me that all they said was "wear your goggles". Next we we got our paint (for an outrageous price) and proceeded to the playing field. While walking through a long hall to the field I smelled something very familiar, but what was it. All of the sudden it hit me. Someone on the staff was smoking an illegal, skunky, sweet smelling substance. After my gun became jamed I mentioned the smokey smell to one of the employees, and he let me use one of there guns at no extra charge. The field itself is very dark and small. Everything is covered in paint and you slide like crazy. The only fun part of the experience was when the staff helped us hunt down and shoot some kids that were camping the safe zone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

THATSHOWWEROLL Friday, March 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SPLATERZONE (CLOSED)
BLAST FACTORY (recently burned down)
The GATOR PIT
Review: I have been playing at Dark Armies for about 5 or 6 years. Mostly because it's closer to where I live than anywhere else. I've read these other reviews and understand, but it sounds like a lot of these guys have their panties twisted in a knot.

This field is on the expensive side. But they give you these coupons to come back every time you play. They hold an open game every month for like $5 per person. (you don't get any paint, the field fee plus a gun and gear) I attend almost every $5 session. Someone complained about not being able to use one, but you have to make a reservation. They though this idea was rediculous, but have you ever tried to get 5 or 10, let alone 30 people together to play ball?

The paint isn't as cheap obviously, but to adapt, it does make you more conservative with it. These are more like scenario games, not speedball. I go through 100-150 balls in a 2 hour game.

Personally, the employees didn't seem that bad. Maybe a lack of professionalism at times, but this is paintball! Disgruntled employees are common, or ones with mental problems...and the occasional hillbilly. I've seen a lot of bad employees come and go in 5 years. I can't say that some of them don't abuse their authority. The owner doesn't seem to be in it for love of the sport, and I have been witness to some questionable conduct towards customers. Your guess is as good as mine...I'd love his job.

The field used to be a little larger back in the day. I don't know why they changed it, but as far as indoor fields go, it is still pretty big. an acre and 2/3 is large inside compared to average 10 acres outdoors. REcently they've been updating it though, and building actual structures out there. They've been using 8X8 cargo crates. The floor gets slippery..there's nothing you can do about it. Someone suggested in another review that splatterzone had the right idea in putting dirt or sand on the ground, but I've played there and it's bad enough coming home in paintball juice, but mud too...nah. Sometimes it sucks though when you'd need ice skates to play. Like after a big game.

If they lowered their price they'd be awsome, but I don't find anything wrong with this field. It sounds like a lot of people on this forum like to have things done their way, but Dark Armies is strict about running it their way...I don't mind, but others do, and when they can't do it their way they get mad.

LOWER PRICES!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

rwizo Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Any field in the icc .The woods behind the house.
Review: This place sucks. The owner is a jerk who couldn't care less about you. The people who work there are complete hillbillies who only work there so they can play after you leave. It is dirty there is paint on the floor so you slip a lot. Some dude fell on the floor and broke his back and it took like a half hour for them to call 911 even after some convincing. They use crappy balls (my friends and i were speculating that they were filled with tide yes the detergent). Its way WAY to dark in there for my taste and for anyone with sense's taste. They limit stuff to much like the fps. The only thing cool about the place is that the field is cool looking, but if is not that big, I don't know what these other people are talking about. One more thing the flag is a fricking bright orange cone that is like 3 feet tall so everybody knows who has it and when.


They are lucky that there is no zero
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DASOLJA Sunday, February 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: This field rocks, it is perfect for the type of playing it is, the people there rock they are cool they hook you up if your cool to them they treat you good the field was a little slippery but they told us that it was and to be careful it's a little dark but what do you expect its called dark armies its a good place to play if you are playing for the first time and its good for all different type of weather since it's inside i think this place rocks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

wildchild7912 Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
rogue fields,OPSGEAR(its in Utah)
Review: This has to be the worst field i ever played floors are slick and they are grossly overpriced i felt they only wanted you to come once and squeeze you for every nickle at first i thought it was me but i went 2 more times and i got the same feeling they don't have a pro shop(sounds petty but someone like me i like having all the bells and whistles that i can) paint is ridiculously overpriced and its not even any kind of premium paint to bring your own gear is next to impossible due to the fact of low fps and notihng that can shoot fast(if you own a Tippmann A-5 plan to rent) they give you 50 paintballs to play with (not nearly enough) AND THEN you have to buy more after that their rental equipment looks like it was bought at a flea market (and these are my first impressions) when you go onto the field its dirty and nasty the floors are slick (i don't even think they clean up at closing)AND THE REALY BAD THING IS ITS SO DARK you cant tell another player from a turd the staff has an attitude there is nothing good about this place.in my opinion if you are new to paintball and don't know of any other place to go play and dont like your the color of your money and not afraid of the dark or getting some infectious disease then i would play here.the only reason i gave it a 1 is because the scale doesn't go lower.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Infiltrator Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatterzone is Closed Forever.
Review: Well I went there and only saw the most basic paintball gear on the shelf. They invited me to look at the field because no one was playing on a weekday. I field walked and it was too dark for me. It's an iinteresting field though. It's so big that you could probably play a mini scenario game in it.


They gave me the rates but they need to improve on alot of things. For one, paintball should not be on a reservation only basis. You pay for every hour that you spend at Dark Armies. Markers are limited to 220 fps. I was thinking that maybe when my brother-in-llaw wants to play there again I could bring my Jackal RDL. But no. Markers must be limited to 7 bps. It's much needed though because the field is just way too dark. I think you would have to be on top of each other before you got in a firefight. If I played there all I would do is roomclear. But wait. All I get is a rental with 100 rounds. That's not enough for me. There was just too much limitations for me to even try this field. I left disappointed. There should be a name for people who are stuck in the past.

I wanted to apply for a job there but decided maybe not. Real paintball fields have two virtues; freedom and liberty. You show up and play without any harrassment about the rules other than keep your mask on and shoot under 300fps. It's sad because dark armies would make alot more money if they setup 3 sup airball fields. That's how much space they had for one field. They said I could make a reservation for my bro and I but it will just be us playing. I think we would run around the entire field for an hour before we found each other. It would be better fo me and him to just setup our own field and go outlaw for way cheaper.
Last edited on Wednesday, November 10th, 2004 at 8:29 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Indiana Thursday, October 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Please DO NOT GO HERE! The owner is a complete *** and talked down to everyone that was playing in our group. I am 25 and it made me feel uncomfortable. He has a mullet down to his shoulder blades too LOL! The floors are so slippery from all the previous paintballs shot there that the oil runs down the boxes and and builds up on the floors then you slip. They say you can't bring a gun that can shoot over 6 bps, but yet they have semi auto tippmans that easliy do that so......um go figure. I am really warning you people not to go here. I didn't have any specific bad thing that happened to me, it was just the "vibe" of the place. Go play outside in the woods, its cheaper and more fun, trust me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media