paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Dark Armies Paintball Field / Dark Armies Paintball Field / Dark Armies Paintball Field / Dark Armies Paintball Field

Dark Armies Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (317) 353-1987
Address: 2525 N. Shadeland Ave.
Indianapolis, Indiana 46219
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
indianajks Monday, October 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatterzone - Splatterzone is amazing compared to this one, its much cheaper, much cleaner, they let you bring your gun, the firing rate there is higher so theres a better chance you can bring your gun.. unfortunately for the residents of indianapolis and the surrounding areas, it closed, leaving us no hope but to attempt to get dark armies to fix their problems
Review: where do i start, i've been to this place about 4 or 5 times and it never ceases to amaze me how much i get screwed by them, pardon my french.
1. its dark - darkness sucks, you can't see who's on ur team or on the other team, dont get me wrong, it can be fun but at dark armies, i might as well be playing blindfolded
2. its dirty - its definately slippery as of course every indoor field is, but when you walk in, you feel like you've been infected with some unknown disease, also when you rent guns or masks or w/e they just look dirty. this, among with the money factor, has lead me to purchase my own gun
3. expensive - it is definately expensive, i have here a price sheet that you get to make sure you get everything. i'll just list off the expense of a few ridiculous items.
a. 50 paintballs - $5
b. 200 paintballs - $18
c. to rent a semi auto gun (tippmann procarbine) - $10.50
d. Admission on a normal day - $29 for 2 hours, $22 for one hour, $35 for three hours, with walk ons being an extra five dollars on top of whatever hour increment you choose.
e. upgrades - they pretty much suck. if you have a 98 custom then your set. i mean, its a great gun already and your hundreds of miles ahead of some dude who rents the "ultimate" there. the "ultimate" consists of basically a procarbine or a cheap spyder with a keychain flashlight duct taped to the side and a $2 "red dot sight" on top. its pretty weak. the ultimate is $15 to rent
4. fps - 220 fps is the maximum. most guns don't go that low. you could throw a paintball faster than that. that is pretty much as slow as a 98 custom can go, trust me i've tried. with the higher fps requirements at other places such as 250 at splatterzone (which unfortunately closed) and i think 300 at gator pit, there is a better chance that your own gun will work on their field. this low fps is not for your safety as goggles will protect up to 320 fps, but rather so there is a much larger chance that you have to rent a gun from them and give them another 10 or 20 bucks.
5. dishonesty - one of the reviews up there was talking about how they got a blue coupon where you could get the standard package including admission for $8 (std. package maens pump gun , vest, mask, 50pballs) sometimes on saturdays and sundays they lower admission prices to $10 instead of 30 or w/e... so i walk in and im like "hey if i use this coupon will i get it for 8 instead of 19?" "oh no, that coupon doesnt include the std. package. so it will end up costing you more" "oh, ok, thanks for telling me" so i go on with my game dropping 50 or 60 bucks that day and on the way out the employees are laughing and im like "what?" "oh ya you couldve used that coupon, it wouldnt have cost u more" "well can i get a refund?" "oh no, you already played" so they ripped me out of like 50 bucks. so i wrote a letter to the manager and he's like "well thats too bad" and im like "i understand all the safety rules and regulations and i agree with them but, isnt the customer always right?" "oh no, not in paintball b/c what if someone takes off their mask? are they right?" "well i said i agree with the enforcement of the rules, but in terms of dishonesty among the employees, isnt the customer right?" "well, there havent been any complaints so i'll take action once there are" i was gonna respond with "well isnt THIS a complaint?" but you can't argue with stupid people, they'll just bring you down to their idiotic level and beat u with experience

in conclusion, if u walk on one day and decide to play patinball for 2 hours, that'll cost u 29 + 5 for walk on, then u rent a semi auto cause the pumps suck, add 10.50, plus say 100 pballs to be on the low side, add 10, with that alone, you are up to $54.50 for 2 hours. oh i forgot to remind you, as stated on their price sheet "Training time is part of playing time" which inevitably eats away at 30 mins of your ACTUAL playing time. leaving you with 90 minutes, $55 dollars poorer, a lot dirtier, probably infected with the SARS virus, crap, i forgot to add that walk on guns cost you $10 bucks anyway i mean wtf is that, dont most ppl buy guns to save the money that it costs to rent one? w/e this place is terrible, dont go there
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mal Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: So hear is the deal…I have played for about 4 years, mostly woods-ball. I wanted to get some of my friends interested in the sport, so I got 6 of them to play and decided on Dark Armies due mainly to location and reviews of it being good for newbies.

Pros: Started on time, Quick games, Large facility, and Excellent safety/equipment explanation.

Cons: Expensive, Too dark, Slippery, Cannot tell teams apart, and Humid

After we were done, I apologized to all my friends for wasting their time and money. It is not a good place to intro others to the sport. The only thing worthwhile was the safety/equipment explanation. Suggestion to Dark Armies....Turn some real lights on!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

orionwarrior Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
In Backyards and Local Woods
Review: its not good when i could already notice from the first step in, it was a dump. most of the stuff there is outdated and cheaply made. since there fts rate was 220 and my gun is set the lowest 240, i had to rent one of there gun. then i paid 10 bux for a semi auto pro-carbine. then i got 100 extra paintballs with the 50 paintballs that came with the package. those extra 100 cost me 10 more dollars, plus the 29 dollars for admittance. so then i played for 2 hours. the teams were super un-even. we got killed. all we did was play capture the flag. then at the end we played elimination. by the end i had spent 5 more dollars on 50 more paintballs and i was covered in white paint becasue the place is so mucky. the lights were dim and u could barely tell teams. and it wasnt like could have a stratagy with the dark. then i was hungry and guess what the 1 food vending machine was broken.one plus was there were exprienced guys there. All in all, it was a big place and it was fun, expecially if ur a first timer just trying to get a hold on the game, but if ur going there save up
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RRMPaintball16 Sunday, January 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None except my own or a friends
Review: Alright, this was the first real field that I have gone to, and i will probably go back although not that often. The place isn't the nicest looking place and they really need to lower the prices. I do not have the money to have to pay at least $30 everytime i play. The Gator Pit and Splatter Zone are much cheaper. And it was fun to play in the dark, but they could have brightened the place up a little more. It was difficult to tell who was on your team. I almost shot my teammate when he came around a corner once. It was pretty slick, but thats how all indoor places are. If the prices are lowered, i would rate the place higher just because of that. They may want to clean up the place a little too. Overall, it was a fun place to play, but could be cheaper and nicer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoDownInFlames Monday, September 29th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Well...this was my first field...first time ever physically paint balling.....and it was the most fun I have had in a long time!!! Everything was awesome, the guns worked great, no problems with the paint, goggles were okay...fogged up sometimes and had some trouble keeping them from sliding off my face occasionally. But here is a more formal review...

Pros: -Great equipment, no problems and refs on hand in case there were.
-Facility was nice, training was helpful. Refs were good, strict and kept it safe. Once you were eliminated, they got you right back out into the action. Nice setup, lots of places to hide and sneak up on others. Loud...but thats how a real battle would be.
-Games were really fun, lots of action and fun. Didn't have to be the best to have fun. Like I said...it was the most fun I'd had in a long time, maybe ever! I am definitely hooked now thanks to this place.

Cons: -Floor was slippery...but thats a given in indoor places.
-Kinda dark...it was hard to distinguish the teams.
-Goggles fogged up sometimes and would fall off my face from being wet...buts thats just those goggles.
-Price was kinda high...but the quality was good so almost worth it lol. The outside place is cheaper so I'll try that this weekend. Plus I heard outside places are more fun.

Overall: Awesome place...I definitely got an excellent first impression on paintball from this place. A few little problems, but they didn't hurt the overall experience that much. I have no regrets money wise, although it'd be nice if the prices dropped a little. The idea of modeling it like an abandoned city worked well, full of excellent places to shoot from. Also plenty of cover. Great firefights set up there. You're sure to stay in the action, but vending machines and whatnot if you need a break. And it is action, start to finish, they move things along nicely. Overall, this place was great and I'll definitely back. I recommend it to any first time players, it'll get you hooked!!!


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

RavonTUS Wednesday, August 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Newbie Player, just getting a feel for the game.
Review: Greetings,

We joined some friends for a birthday party at Dark Armies. This is my first time playing paintball. First impression is important, or so they say.

Our group package was pre-arranged, basic gear and 50 paint balls for $10.00. Their upgrade form was lightly confusing, so we passed, except to buy some extra balls 200 for $18.00. After I realized how all this stuff work, I noticed they stiffed me 50 balls (the ones that come with the basic gear). Lesson learned and we moved on. Good training course, a quick 3-step video and then a brief tour. The folks were friendly and look like they enjoyed their job.

We started with capture the flag, how in the world are you supposed to find an orange cone in the dark I'll never know. After an hour someone finally did. In that time, I came to find out that I did not get a standard Tippman Pump, that I had a semi-auto - cool that saved me $10.00 - till I set the gun down and some little kid took it and left me with his pump. Ah, newbies aye. The area is large, dark and has mostly angled walls to hind beside. I had plenty of room to move around and I think there were about 50 people playing. The guns worked well and they we very quick to fix any problems. I'm play paintball, how could it not be fun? The vest are pink or yellow, it is very hard to tell the difference between the groups, so I just start shooting everyone that I saw. I though I'd eventually get lucky and hit one. I got hit a few times by other players that couldn't tell the difference too.

We played "roll the ball" and then elimination, finishing up our 2 hours of play. After taking out 3 kids with my pump, I was out of balls and walked towards the exit. When I got to the middle of the room, my foot slipped, went flying up in the air and I landed flat on my back with my head absorbing the impact of the concern floor. Thud! After about 5 minutes a ref came to check on me. I dragged myself out the door.

So, three paint balls wounds, one 2" knot on my leg, one splitting headache and stiff back. I should probably own the place, but I had fun and still have a ticket for 100 balls and next Month's Special, with a blue pass, is 2 hours for $4.00.

I've since found this web site and others, so I guess I'm hooked.

Comments – Very slippery paint on the floor. Rent or Buy Kneepads!

-Ravon
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shift Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
splatter zone, gator pit, local wooded areas.
Review: The playing area is real sweet at dark armies and the people who worked there seemed to be knowledgeable and helpfull. They do cost way to much though. Paint is rediculous. When i can get 2000 RPS All Star paintballs on the internet for 47 bucks, it kinda sucks to have to pay as much as they charge. I cant remember exactly what it is though because i havnt been back for like a year since the last time i went and spent somewhere in the range of $80 bucks for the day. I didnt even play that long either. At the gator pit which is about an hour away, i can bring my own paint and pay a $10 field fee. Much cooler. Splatter Zone is also much cheeper than dark armies although they have gone up in prices quite a bit from when i first started playing there. Anyway, overall, Dark Armies is a cool place to play if you have rediculous amounts of money and like to spend it. The environment is cool and promotes tons of cool situations. Its slightly darker than i prefer, because i cant see when i mark someone, but the games are fun and the people keep them running. In the end, i have to give it a bad rating because its just to much. I cant afford to play there period.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Middletn Monday, June 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I have played all over the country and this is one of the best fields for several reasons:

1). The layout is fantastic...yes, its under black lights but that makes it "feel" more intense!. Almost like entering a video game.
2). THEY START ON TIME! The check in process was handled in a very efficent manner.
3). The training session is very thourough. It's computer generated and these guys are obviously very safety oriented.
4). I had no problem bringing my gun to the premises. They do expect the owner of the gun to make adjustments if necessary so bring your tools. They don't allow anything faster than the standard semi-feed rate but I'm not interested in playing with a bunch of fully autos anyway. (My soap box is why do they even make these guns...its a little like hunting deer with a machine gun.) This facility will make you hunt your opponent rather than just blasting him.
5). The place was clean!! They told me they've been in business for 13 years and the floor was not slick...no dirt or sand thrown on the floor. It had slick spots by the time we were done but hey WE'RE shooting paintballs that are going to break.
6). I have never seen a facility this large. I imagine the overhead cost for running an indoor facility is huge. I actually found the costs for playing reasonable for the great time I had.

I am not from around here but take my word... for someone that has seen alot of fields...Indianapolis is very lucky to have this location.

WARNING: This is not your typical "speedball" type facility. Don't expect to just blast away. It is more hunt and stealth mode but the nice thing is I only used about 150 paintballs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintkid4145 Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: this place sucks!! dont go here. i would rather play in a corn field than this place. First u cant bring ur own gun and also the jack the prices up really hight. there gunssuck the masks they give u fog after one breath and the worst part is thes som many fricken black lights u cnat even see ur own gun dont go here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

akunochi Tuesday, April 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
GAtor Pit
Review: OK the review above is absolutley correct. If I remember correctly it costs like 25$$ for 200 rounds of mishappen paintballs. The owner is a complete idiot who I doubt has ever played paintball. Also on a side note the refs make a point to threaten all the little kids that are playing for the first time about shooting them. I don't mean a warning I mena they literally say that they have a wall of 1000$ guns and will hunt the player down if they get shot....last I checked that was part of your job, almost.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media