paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Ambush Paintball Field / Ambush Paintball Field / Ambush Paintball Field / Ambush Paintball Field

Ambush Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
23Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 717-871-8632
Address: Hill Top Drive
Conestoga, Pennsylvania 17516
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
DaveNicholl Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Next Level & Skirmish
Review: This is a great field to play at. Ambush has some AWESOME fields, my personal favorite is the trailer field. They also have great scenario games that I suggest everyone goes to. The staff is great, they "Bend over backwards to make you have a great time" They also have great refs that can help you with your guns if they break. The refs are good in the way that they arnt always in your line of fire and they are always right there when you call for paint checks etc. There is generally the same people there everytime I go and they are great people to play paintball with, for all levels of paintballers. They have a wide area where you can set up your equipment Including emptied out trailers. They are also always changing the area around which keeps it new and exciting. I suggest that you play at this field as much as possible, whether its for their AWESOME scenario games or just a private party.
-Dave
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

freeballer02 Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
skirmish
poco loco
Review: well when i first got there I was surprised that it was 20 bucks to get in. At first glance it looks like a pretty crappy field but once you get in the woods and to the speed ball barrel field it is pretty sweet. they also have a trailer park place and a spool field in the woods. But the prices there are really crazy... its like 75 bucks to get 2000 paintballs.
though they do have free c02 fills so that is nice. they also have drinks and stuff for a dollar. over all this field ROCKS. i give it an 8 just because of the prices
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BunkerYou34 Friday, March 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
outlaw
Review: GOOD--this place rocks. they have so many different fields. they have the spool yard which is a bunch of huge spools in the middle of a open field, the trailer field which is one of the best i've played. they have the small woods and the big woods, but i played in cold, foggy weather so that made it hard and it was my first time but i still remember it like it was yesterday.

BAD--PRICE!! its 75$ for 2000 paintballs and its 20$ to get in. i thought it was very costly, but that's just me
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

massive toad Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Assualt Next level Outlaw
Review: This is the best field i have ever been to, i was very impressed with the general setup and staging area of Ambush. The fields are very well done. I enjoyed the woods field with the forts on them and of course the infamous "trailer field" was a blast. The refs were very professional and knowlegable they really made the games fun. The refs did'nt push us to do things and made sure everyone was playing fair. Just all around a great experince. i will be going back for sure.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

100% Accuracy Wednesday, March 31st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
-Skirmish (more expensive)
- Poco Loco (moderate prices)
Review: This field was my first time playing, and I thought it was awesome. I loved the trailer field, as most other players do. This is one of the local fields run by local people. This means that everyone loves the field because it's not as popular as Skirmish. Skirmish is great, but too many newb's go ther with their Angels and try to be all-that when they really suck. Ambush is the perfect place to practice on people who know paintball, and who know how to play. Everyone is friendly, and the refs do a great job doing what they're supposed to do.

IN CONCLUSION, GO TO AMBUSH IF YOU WANT TO PLAY PAINTBALL IN A PAINTBALL ORIENTATED ENVIRONMENT, NOT A MONEY ORIENTATED ENVIRONMENT.



Paint- 4-Pain
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintbizall Tuesday, March 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pocoloco , skirmish but not as good too expensive
Review: ambush was great most adrenaline rush ever there were 155 people there and bob the owner split the two teams up it was the best i was on the white team there were white and orange white usually won all the games but orange won one game. With so many people the game was harder but that makes it more fun. there were people
comming from from all directions it was great not 2 expensive. thanks all the reffs you did a great jobb
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Belisarius Saturday, February 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the immediate area.
Review: What can I say about Ambush? Well...like some of the previous posters in this review, I too can call Ambush my 'first' field, and perhaps my ‘home’ field as well. A good friend invited me several years back and I've had paintball fever ever since. The trailer park field in particular has stuck in my memory. I can recall one of the first games I ever played, using a rented Tippmann Pro-Carbine. I was the last man alive on my team (or second to last...which doesn't really matter since the other guy was at the opposite end of the field anyway) and had decided to wait out the opposition in an end room of one of the trailers where the Ref had thrown the flag. I sat down next to the wall, looking down it toward the door. I'd never played paintball before, but the Refs at Ambush were very encouraging...I felt welcome right away. Anyhow, the fact that I was a 'newbie' didn't mean I didn't have any tactical sense. My position inside that little 8 by 8 area was situated so that a person entering would look at my part of the room last. I took out six guys in five minutes and turned our defeat into a draw. The reason I'm posting this story is a little aspect that happened during my white-knuckled waiting period for another player to enter the room. The first guy I'd shot walked out...ticked off (as he had a right to be)...and started to tell his comrades where I was. Now, I don't blame him, since I would've done the same thing without thinking, but the Ref standing right outside the door to the trailer would have none of it. Even as the last member of a dying (and/or dead) team, he made sure I had my 'rights.' You have no idea how much I appreciated that...especially after holding off several more of the other team’s players. This is just one example of the kind of referees they have at Ambush...in my opinion, they're some of the best.

A few other bonuses about Ambush are the recently added towers in the middle of the trailer park field, and some reconfigured/modified aspects of the woodsball fields. I HIGHLY recommend the "Big Battle" scenario game set in the fall of each year...I believe one of the previous reviewers mentioned it. Ambush boasts three fully-functional vehicles...two tanks and one Mini Hummer. I won't spoil the effect for any of you that haven't played in the Big Battle before...but I will say to watch out for the big, green tank. It has this annoying quality for sneaking up on you, since it's so quiet. Ambush recently fixed up its HQ area (the 'safe zone')...and have made quite a few improvements since I started playing there.

In conclusion, I have to say that I'm glad I began my paintball ‘career’ at Ambush instead of another field. I have only good memories of playing there (unlike some of my friends, who had unfortunate 'first times' elsewhere). Whether you're just starting out, as all of us must do, or have been playing for years, this is a great field to test your mettle on. I hope this little review helps some of you out there looking for a new field to try, or perhaps some who are thinking about getting into paintball in Pennsylvania. Good luck, no matter where you decide to jump into the sport. Diving in is really the only way to find out how much you're gonna love it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jl10531 Friday, August 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I went ot this field for a birthday party so i do not know how the prices are but this was great place to play at. When I went we were the only people there and the were a lot of fields. The refs here were really nice and showed us all how to play and helped a lot because it wa the very first time for all of us.I think this was proboly the best place i've been to for paintball.
Last edited on Friday, August 15th, 2003 at 8:39 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zipy175 Monday, July 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Foxhole - A few nice fields, nothing more
Review: The site consists of 2-3 field. Over the years they have worked and change the configuration of the fields, but they have always remained fun and playable. The "Trailer Field" consists of 4 gutted trailer homes and numerous tire and barrel obstacles to hide behind with all of it built on a grassy slope. The second and third fields are wooded areas with plenty of fallen trees and thick bushes to hide behind. There are also nice trails to set up ambushes on and wooden shack fortresses to set up defenses.

The Refs are well trained and very professional. Their serious attitude towards safety and fairness makes this a good place to bring your children who are interested in paintball and wish to learn.

Rentals cost are very fair. You can rent a Tippman Marker, Mask, and CO2 tank for approx $10. I have never seen anyone having a problem with their markers and they appear to be maintained and well kept. CO2 refilling is usually free. A full body camo jumpsuit can be rented for approx $5.

All paintballs must be bought at Ambush. You may not bring your own paintballs. This is done mostly for safety reasons as old paintballs can harden and are more prone to injury. Paintballs at Ambush are best bought in bulk. A case of 2000 paintballs can cost approx. $75. Some might think that is costly but keep in mind you are assured fresh paintballs, making things better for your marker and better for your safety.

Another reason to watch for Ambush games is their annual Scenario Day game. These usually take place later in the year and involve two teams of a hundred people each, battle it out to score points by reaching assigned objectives. This event is also infamous for the presence of the "Tippman Tanks" which roll up and down the trails hosing you down with dual full auto paintball markers. I have heard of their night games, but have never had a chance to try them.

Overall this is easily my "Home Field". It is the field I learned on and field I enjoy playing the most.
Last edited on Wednesday, August 6th, 2003 at 11:07 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

darkreconx Tuesday, June 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish-OVERPRICED
Review: This field is great. Long long ago, it was the first "real" paintball field that I ever played at. I must say, it has been the best as well.

Its not really that expensive to play there, and paint is "only" $75 a case, which is very reasonable for a field. The trailor field is very intense, and their wooded fields are GREAT.

Everything is in good condition,....speedball IN the woods...everything is just so much better than other fields that I have played at. I really like it, because its a decent size, not too big, not to small... you don't have to walk 20 minutes after you got shot out (like you do at skirmish)

They have 1 weekend a month when the field fee is only $10, and paint is $75 a case....its great, all walk-on Rec players show up, and everyone is divided into 2 teams... FUN STUFF

New for this summer is their NightBall or something, they put lights around their trailor field, and different ones turn on/off periodically. I really want to try it...it sounds SWEET.... they also give you glow-in-the-dark paint to use for that...heh

The scenarios are also alot of fun. They try their best to get the BEST REFS....very friendly, trained, and willing to help. .;... Its just a great field to go to and hang out year round. It will always be MY home field :)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media